Level Two Club

Best EV Chargers for New Construction

Our pick is the ChargePoint Home Flex, because in a new build the charger is the cheap half of the decision and the circuit is the expensive one — and the Home Flex is the unit that fits any circuit you end up with, from 16 amps to 50.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Our pick for a new build is the ChargePoint Home Flex, and the reason is the build rather than the charger. You are making two decisions here, not one: what goes in the wall, and what hangs onit. The first is nearly irreversible and costs real money to change later; the second you can swap in an afternoon. The Home Flex is the charger that refuses to constrain the first decision — its output is adjustable from 16 to 50 amps in the app, so whatever circuit your electrician and your panel end up agreeing on, this unit fits it, today and after a future service upgrade.

If the charger will live on an exterior wall or in a carport, take the Autel MaxiCharger Homeinstead — it publishes an IP65 / NEMA 4X enclosure and the widest operating range we track. If you are watching the budget, the EVIQO 48A is the cheapest fully-certified 48 amps. If the garage has two bays and you expect two EVs, the Grizzl-E Duo Connectis the only unit we track that serves two cars from one circuit — which in a new build is a genuinely large saving, because the second circuit is the part that costs.

Here is the thing nobody selling you a charger will say: the charger is the least consequential choice on this page. Conduit, breaker space, the service size and where the box lands on the wall are all decided once, by people who are on site for a few weeks and then gone. Get those right and any competent charger works. Get them wrong and the best charger in the world is bolted to the wrong wall on an undersized circuit. So this page spends its first half on the rough-in and its second half on the hardware.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Best overall
$516.71 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Autel MaxiCharger Home

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the harshest driveway. The NEMA 4X enclosure is rated to keep charging in extreme cold and heat, it pushes a full 50 amps, and the app is capable. If your charger lives fully exposed to the weather, this is the one.

Best for an exterior wall
$499.00 · View on Amazon

$568.0012% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money: a full 48 amps, WiFi with scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. A strong value alternative to Emporia if you want maximum reach.

Best value 48 amps
$449.99 · View on Amazon

$510.0012% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A

Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A

One box, two cables, one circuit. The Duo Connect lets a two-EV household charge both cars overnight without a second charger, a second breaker or a panel upgrade — because it splits one 40-amp supply between the connectors rather than doubling it. That is the whole trade: convenience and a much cheaper install, at half the speed each when both cars are plugged in.

Best for a two-bay garage
$899.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Autel MaxiCharger 80A

Autel MaxiCharger 80A

The ceiling of home AC charging: 19.2 kW on a 100-amp circuit, which is roughly double what a 48-amp charger does. Almost no car can actually take it — most cap their onboard charger somewhere between 7.7 and 11.5 kW — so buy this for a specific vehicle that accepts 80 amps, or for a future-proofed circuit you already have. Otherwise it is a very good, very expensive 48-amp charger.

Best if you are speccing the service
$908.65 · View on Amazon

$1,299.0030% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A means it fits a small panel now and a bigger circuit later
  • The most mature app of the group — scheduling, reminders, usage history, over-the-air firmware
  • 3-year warranty and a long 23 ft cable
  • Sold hardwired or on a NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50 plug, in J1772 or NACS

Trade-offs

  • You pay a premium over value 48A chargers for the app and brand
  • Full 50A output needs a 60A circuit most older panels don't have to spare
  • The plug-in SKUs cap at 40A, so the top speed is a hardwired-only feature
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired, NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and a typical 3.5 miles per kWh, the Home Flex adds roughly 42 miles of range per hour. Dial it down to 40A to fit a 50A circuit and you get about 34. ChargePoint's own, more conservative claim is up to 37 miles per hour hardwired and 30 on the plug-in SKUs.

Build note. Amperage is set in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A. The plug-in SKUs are capped at 40A, so the full 50A is a hardwired-only figure. UL and cUL listed per UL 2594 and UL 2231; firmware updates over the air, and the station stores up to 90 days of session data locally if the network drops.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best for an exterior wall

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the harshest driveway. The NEMA 4X enclosure is rated to keep charging in extreme cold and heat, it pushes a full 50 amps, and the app is capable. If your charger lives fully exposed to the weather, this is the one.

Strengths

  • NEMA 4X enclosure rated for very cold and hot conditions
  • Full 50A output with a 25 ft cable
  • WiFi, Bluetooth and a capable app

Trade-offs

  • Autel's own page specifies a 70A circuit for full output, and the unit is hardwired only
  • App and ecosystem are newer than ChargePoint's
  • Autel publishes CSA and ENERGY STAR for this unit, not a UL listing
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
CSA certified, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 42 miles of range per hour.

Build note. IP65 / NEMA 4X enclosure with a published operating range of -40F to 131F (-40C to 55C), output adjustable from 16 to 50 A, a 25 ft cable, Bluetooth / WiFi / Ethernet / CAN / RS485 connectivity, and a 13.2 x 7.4 x 3.8 in body weighing 15.4 lb. Autel states a 70 A circuit is required for full output, and that its Adaptive Load Management 'requires compatible additional hardware' while charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing does not.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on October 10, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best value 48 amps

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money: a full 48 amps, WiFi with scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. A strong value alternative to Emporia if you want maximum reach.

Strengths

  • 48A output with WiFi scheduling at a value price
  • 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable — excellent reach
  • UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR listings

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired version needs a 60A circuit and an electrician
  • Smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint or Wallbox
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, about 40 miles of range per hour.

Build note. Ships with a 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable — among the longest reach in class.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best for a two-bay garage

Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A

One box, two cables, one circuit. The Duo Connect lets a two-EV household charge both cars overnight without a second charger, a second breaker or a panel upgrade — because it splits one 40-amp supply between the connectors rather than doubling it. That is the whole trade: convenience and a much cheaper install, at half the speed each when both cars are plugged in.

Strengths

  • Charges two EVs from one 40 A circuit — no second breaker, no panel upgrade
  • Grizzl-E's cast-aluminum, IP67-sealed body with two 25 ft cold-flexible cables
  • Per-connector current limits and scheduling in the Grizzl-E Connect app

Trade-offs

  • 40 A is the TOTAL, not per car — two cars charging at once get about 4.8 kW each
  • Costs roughly what two single chargers cost, so the saving is in the wiring, not the box
  • This Amazon SKU is NACS-to-NACS; a mixed-fleet household needs a different cable pairing
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
NACS
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug or hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
Not published
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL tested and certified

Our charging-speed math. The 40 A / 9.6 kW rating is for the whole unit. One car alone gets the full 9.6 kW — about 34 miles of range per hour at ~3.5 mi/kWh. Two cars at once split it: roughly 4.8 kW, or about 17 miles per hour, each.

Build note. Two 25 ft output cables from a single cast-aluminum, IP67-sealed body rated -30C to +50C, with an LED per connector and a DIP-switch current selector (16/24/32/40 A). Grizzl-E states dual charging automatically splits the available current in half, or you can set each connector's current in the Grizzl-E Connect app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 12, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best if you are speccing the service

Autel MaxiCharger 80A

The ceiling of home AC charging: 19.2 kW on a 100-amp circuit, which is roughly double what a 48-amp charger does. Almost no car can actually take it — most cap their onboard charger somewhere between 7.7 and 11.5 kW — so buy this for a specific vehicle that accepts 80 amps, or for a future-proofed circuit you already have. Otherwise it is a very good, very expensive 48-amp charger.

Strengths

  • 80 A / 19.2 kW — the fastest AC charging you can install at a house
  • Output adjustable from 6 A to 80 A in the app, so it can be dialed to any circuit
  • NEMA 3S / IK10 enclosure rated -40F to 131F, with UL and CSA listings and ENERGY STAR

Trade-offs

  • Needs a 100-amp circuit for full output — a service upgrade for most homes
  • Very few EVs accept more than 11.5 kW on AC, so the extra amps often go unused
  • Autel's own pages disagree on the warranty term (5 years on the body vs 3 extendable to 5)
Max output
80 A
Power
19.2 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
5 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL 2594, UL 2231-1/2, UL 1998, CSA C22.2 No. 280, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its full 80A (19.2 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it would add roughly 67 miles of range per hour — but only into a car that accepts 19.2 kW on AC. Dialed to 48A (11.5 kW) it is about 40 miles per hour, the same as any other 48-amp charger.

Build note. Hardwired 19.2 kW unit with a 25 ft cable; output is adjustable 6-80 A in the Autel Charge app and by DIP switch (16/24/32/40/48/50/64/72/80 A), in a NEMA 3S / IK10 enclosure rated -40F to 131F, with WiFi, Ethernet and RS485.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 12, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

What to put in the wall, in order of regret

Ranked by how much it costs to fix later. The first three are the ones worth arguing with a builder about.

One: the service size.This is the only item on the list you will probably never get another cheap shot at. A load calculation decides what the house needs, and in a new build the result is negotiable in a way it never is afterwards — specifying a larger service while the utility is already pulling a drop costs a fraction of upgrading one later, which is a permit, a meter swap and a utility appointment. Our service-upgrade page covers what that job looks like when you leave it until later, which is the best argument for not leaving it.

Two: empty conduit from the panel to the charger location.The cheapest future-proofing in construction. Conduit is inexpensive while the walls are open and nearly impossible to add afterwards without cutting drywall. Size it for a bigger conductor than you are pulling today, and leave a pull string in it. If you later want to go from a 40-amp charger to 48 amps, or add a second run for a second bay, the difference between “an afternoon” and “a renovation” is whether that conduit exists.

Three: breaker space, reserved and labelled. A 240-volt circuit takes two adjacent positions. Panels in new houses get filled by the people installing them, and a full panel means a subpanel or a tandem-breaker conversation later. Ask for two adjacent spaces to be left and marked. Our subpanel page is what this looks like when it is not done.

Four: the circuit itself, sized to the charger you might want. EV charging is a continuous loadunder the NEC, which is why the circuit is sized to 125% of the charger’s rated output rather than to the output itself: a 48-amp charger wants a 60-amp circuit, a 40-amp charger wants 50. The honest default in a new build is a 60-amp circuit, because it covers every 48-amp unit on the market and costs very little more than a 50 while the wire is being pulled anyway. Full detail is in the wire-and-breaker guide.

Five: where it lands on the wall. Free to get right now. Think about which side of the car the charge port is on, which way you will back in, and whether the cable will cross a path people walk on. Between the bays beats the end of a bay in a two-car garage. Our placement guide has the specifics, including the mounting heights the manufacturers publish.

Six: the receptacle-or-hardwire decision — which affects the wire. This is the one rough-in item that is not purely mechanical. A NEMA 14-50 receptacle needs a neutral conductor pulled to it; a hardwired charger generally does not, because it runs on two hots and a ground. If you want the option of either, tell the electrician before the wire goes in the conduit. We wrote a whole page on that distinction because it is the detail that most often surprises people mid-install, and the NEMA 14-50 guide covers what the receptacle itself has to be.

Then, and only then, the charger

With the circuit settled, the hardware question gets small. Here is what each of our picks asks of the build.

What each pick asks of the build. Every cell is read off the manufacturer’s own spec sheet on the dated visit recorded with that product; a spec a maker does not publish reads “Not published” rather than being filled in. The circuit column is OUR arithmetic from the continuous-load rule — 125% of the rated output — except where a manufacturer publishes a larger figure of its own, which is noted.
ChargerOutputCircuit it wantsInstallEnclosureCableOutdoor rated
ChargePoint Home Flex50 A50 AHardwired, NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50NEMA 3R23 ftYes
Autel MaxiCharger Home50 A70 A per AutelHardwiredIP65 / NEMA 4X25 ftYes
EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger48 A60 AHardwiredIP66 / NEMA 425 ftYes
Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A40 A50 ANEMA 14-50 plug or hardwiredIP6725 ftYes
Autel MaxiCharger 80A80 A100 AHardwiredNEMA 3S (IK10)25 ftYes

Two columns in that table deserve a second look. The circuit it wantscolumn is where the surprises live: the Autel MaxiCharger Home is rated 50 amps but Autel’s own page specifies a 70-amp circuit for full output, and the 80-amp unit needs 100 amps— which is a whole service for some houses. Dial either one down and it installs normally; buy either one expecting the headline number on a 60-amp circuit and you will be disappointed. And outdoor ratedmatters more in new construction than people expect, because garages in a half-built house are open to the weather for weeks and plans change — a charger that can go outside gives you a free option on the mounting location.

The picks, in plain terms

The ChargePoint Home Flex wins because it is the one unit that does not care how your circuit conversation ended. Output sets anywhere from 16 to 50 amps in the app; it is sold hardwired or on a NEMA 6-50 or 14-50 plug, in J1772 or NACS; the app is the most mature of the group and firmware arrives over the air; the warranty is three years and the cable is 23 feet. The honest costs: you pay a premium, and the full 50 amps needs a 60-amp circuit. See the review.

The Autel MaxiCharger Homeis the pick for an exterior wall, a carport or a detached structure. IP65 / NEMA 4X — the 4X adding corrosion resistance — an operating range of -40°F to 131°F, ENERGY STAR, and output adjustable 16 to 50 amps over WiFi, Bluetooth or Ethernet. The Ethernet port is quietly the best feature on a new build: you can run a data cable to the garage while the walls are open and never think about garage WiFi again. The 70-amp circuit note applies. See the review and the outdoor roundup.

The EVIQO 48A is the value answer on a 60-amp circuit: UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR published together, IP66 / NEMA 4, a 25-foot cable plus a 40-inch input lead that decides where it can mount. No adjustable range is published, so treat 48 amps as the configuration you are buying. See the review.

The Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A is the two-bay answer, and the saving is real: one circuit, two cars, rather than a second 50-amp run through finished walls. Both cars charging at once halves the rate, which overnight almost never matters. Note Grizzl-E publishes no warranty term for this unit. See the review and the two-car roundup.

The Autel MaxiCharger 80Ais the only situation in which we would recommend it: you are specifying the service anyway, you want a 100-amp circuit in the garage, and you would rather overbuild once than regret it. It publishes 19.2 kW, adjustable 6 to 80 amps, a NEMA 3S / IK10 body and a five-year warranty — the longest term we track. Be clear-eyed that almost no car accepts more than 11.5 kW on AC, so most of that capability is a bet on the future rather than a benefit today. See the review and the fastest-chargers roundup.

One number to budget, and one to stop budgeting

Budget the circuit, not the charger. On a retrofit the electrical work is usually the larger half of the total; in new construction it is cheaper, because nobody is cutting drywall or fishing walls, but it is still the part that varies. Our install-cost breakdown has the components, and the state-by-state page covers the labor half.

Stop budgeting the federal credit. The IRS 30C credit for home charging equipment was terminated for property placed in service after June 30, 2026, so a charger energised in a house finishing now does not qualify. State and utility programmes are separate, locally administered and in many places still running — our utility rebates page is where to check, and the incentives page covers what the federal picture now looks like.

Frequently asked questions

What should I rough in for an EV charger in a new build?

At minimum: one dedicated 240-volt circuit to the garage wall where the car's charge port will sit, sized for the charger you want rather than the one you are buying first, plus a run of empty conduit from the panel to that point so the wire can be upsized later without opening walls. Have the electrician reserve two adjacent breaker spaces, and ask for the load calculation in writing. Charging is a continuous load under the NEC, so the circuit is sized to 125% of the charger's rated output -- 60 amps for a 48-amp unit, 50 amps for a 40-amp unit.

Should I install a NEMA 14-50 outlet or hardwire the charger?

In new construction, do both: pull the circuit, and decide at the end. A NEMA 14-50 receptacle keeps the charger portable and makes a warranty replacement a five-minute job rather than an electrician's visit, which is a real advantage. Hardwiring is what lets a charger run above 40 amps -- every plug-in unit we track caps at 40 -- and removes a connection point that can loosen and heat up. The receptacle route does need a neutral conductor pulled, which hardwiring usually does not, so tell your electrician which way you are leaning before the wire goes in.

How big an electrical service do I need for an EV charger?

There is no single number, because it depends on everything else the house will run. What there is instead is a load calculation your electrician performs to the NEC, and in a new build you are in the rare position of being able to change the answer: a 200-amp service instead of a 100-amp one is dramatically cheaper to specify now than to upgrade in five years. If the budget is fixed and the service is small, the honest alternative is a charger with load management -- the Emporia Pro throttles against whole-home demand -- rather than an undersized circuit.

Where should the EV charger go in a new garage?

Mount it so the cable reaches the car's charge port with slack and without crossing a walkway. That means thinking about which side of the car the port is on and which way you will park -- and if you may own a different EV in ten years, biasing toward the middle of the bay. Manufacturers generally specify a mounting height around chest level, and a longer cable buys you forgiveness: our picks here run 23 to 25 feet, which covers almost any single-bay geometry. In a two-bay garage, mounting between the bays is usually better than at the end of one.

Can I claim the federal tax credit on an EV charger in a new house?

Not any more, if the charger goes into service now. The IRS 30C alternative fuel refueling property credit -- 30% up to $1,000 for a home charger in an eligible census tract -- was terminated for property placed in service after June 30, 2026. State and utility programmes are a separate question and many are still running; our utility rebates page is where to check what applies where you are building, because those are administered locally and change often.

Should I install two chargers for two EVs?

Usually not two circuits, which is the expensive part. Two realistic routes exist: a single charger that splits one circuit between two cars -- the Grizzl-E Duo Connect is the only one we track -- or two chargers that share a circuit through dynamic load balancing, which Autel publishes as working between its chargers without extra hardware. Both halve the charging rate when both cars draw at once, which in practice almost never matters overnight. The one thing to do now, regardless, is have the conduit sized for the second run.

Sources

  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger Installations — NFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Charging Electric Vehicles at Home — US DOE on home EV charging: most owners charge overnight on Level 1 or Level 2, installs follow NEC Article 625, with example home-charging costs (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Electric Vehicle Charging Stations — US DOE on charging levels: Level 1 (~1.9 kW, ~5 mi/hr), Level 2 (2.9-19.2 kW, ~7.2 kW typical residential, ~25 mi/hr), and DC fast charging (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • IRS — Alternative Fuel Vehicle Refueling Property Credit — IRS on the 30C credit: 30% (max $1,000 per item) for a home charger in an eligible census tract, claimed on Form 8911 — terminated for property placed in service after June 30, 2026 (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex datasheet (PDF) — ChargePoint's own datasheet: enclosure rating Type 3R per UL 50E, operating temperature -22F to 122F, 23 ft cable, plus installer notes that an outdoor plug-in install requires an outdoor-rated GFCI breaker upstream while an external GFCI may conflict with the charger's internal ground-fault protection on a hardwired install. RE-READ September 3, 2026 for the review refresh: the same datasheet also publishes maximum 12 kW (240V AC x 50A) with output amperage adjustable via the mobile app to 16A, 24A, 32A, 40A, 48A or 50A; a required dedicated dual-pole breaker rated for 125% of maximum load; 'Software Updates: Firmware updated over-the-air (OTA)'; 2.4/5 GHz Wi-Fi (802.11 a/b/g/n); local storage of up to 90 days of charging session data (100 sessions) if the network drops; power measurement accuracy +/- 2.0%; ground-fault detection by 20 mA CCID with auto retry; and UL and cUL listing per UL 2594, UL 2231-1 and UL 2231-2, NEC Article 625 compliant. Ordering information lists the plug-in station models CPH50-NEMA6-50-L23 and CPH50-NEMA14-50-L23 (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • Autel Energy — MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 50A product page — Autel's own listing: compliant with NEMA 4X standards, operating temperature -40F to 131F, 25 ft cable, 3-year warranty. RE-READ October 10, 2026 for the Emporia head-to-head, and the page now publishes materially more: 'Maximum Output | 12 kW / 50 A' with output 'Adjustable 16-50 A'; installation given as 'Hardwired - 70 A Circuit for Full Output'; an 'SAE J1772' connector; an enclosure rating of 'IP65 / NEMA 4X'; an operating range of '-40 to 131 F (-40 to 55 C)'; a '3 Years' warranty quoted as a single term with no component split; 'CSA and ENERGY STAR compliance' (no UL listing is claimed on this page); connectivity listed as 'Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Ethernet, CAN, RS485'; app control to start, stop and schedule charging, monitor activity and adjust current; dimensions of 13.2 x 7.4 x 3.8 in (336 x 187 x 97 mm) and a weight of 15.4 lbs (7 kg); and the load-management sentence this comparison turns on - 'Supports both Adaptive Load Management (ALM) and charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing (DLB). ALM requires compatible additional hardware, while DLB works between chargers without additional hardware.' The page publishes no solar-specific feature (accessed October 10, 2026)
  • EVIQO — Level 2 EV Charger, 40A (9.6 kW), NEMA 14-50 plug-in (Gen 2) — EVIQO's own product page: 40A / 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50 plug, SAE J1772, 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable, IP66 / NEMA 4 enclosure, UL / ETL / FCC / ENERGY STAR listings, 3-year standard warranty, app-adjustable 6-40A output, and a note that it needs an EV-grade 4-prong 14-50 receptacle rather than a dryer outlet. RE-READ September 15, 2026 for the garage roundup: the page additionally states an operating temperature range of -22F to 122F, that the app needs a 2.4 GHz WiFi connection, that the standard 3-year warranty is extendable to 4, and that the unit ships in 1-2 business days (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A technical specifications — Grizzl-E's own spec table for the Duo Connect 40A: two output cables, Type 1 (J1772) and NACS Level 2 connections, aluminum enclosure, operating temperature -30C to +50C, IP67 protection, 25 ft output cable length, 18 in input cable, 208-240 VAC, nominal input current 16/24/32/40 A, maximum output current 40 A, one LED indicator per connector, DIP-switch power selector, 40 lb unit weight (accessed August 12, 2026)
  • Autel Energy — MaxiCharger 80A 19.2kW Residential EV Charger (US store listing) — Autel's own US listing: 19.2 kW (240V AC 80A), 208/240V AC 50/60 Hz, SAE J1772, hardwired, 25 ft (7.5 m) cable, output adjustable from 6A to 80A in the app and 16/24/32/40/48/50/64/72/80 A by DIP switch, UL 2594, UL 2231-1, UL 2231-2, UL 1998, CSA C22.2 No. 280, FCC Part 15 Class B, ENERGY STAR, OpenADR 2.0b, NEC Article 625, Wi-Fi / Ethernet / RS485 with the Autel Charge app and cloud, and a warranty of 5 years on the charger body, backplate and internal components with 1 year on the display screen, charging cable and connector (accessed August 12, 2026)
  • ENERGY STAR — Electric Vehicle Chargers — ENERGY STAR on EVSE efficiency: certified chargers use about 40% less energy in standby than non-certified units (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Electricians (47-2111) — BLS's official May 2025 OEWS estimates for electricians (SOC 47-2111): 757,220 employed nationally, mean hourly wage $34.37, mean annual wage $71,490 and median annual wage $63,190. The state-level mean hourly wages used in our table were pulled series by series from the BLS public data API (api.bls.gov/publicAPI/v2, OEWS state series for occupation 47-2111, data type 03 'hourly mean wage', survey year 2025) on the date accessed, covering all 50 states and the District of Columbia (accessed September 3, 2026)

Keep reading