Level Two Club

Best Plug-In (NEMA 14-50) EV Chargers

A charger that ends in a plug is a different product from one that ends in a wire nut — cheaper to install, portable between houses, capped at 40 amps, and the right answer for far more people than the hardwired marketing suggests.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

A plug-in charger buys you three things a hardwired one cannot: an install you may be able to do yourself, a unit that comes off the wall when you move, and a replacement that takes ten minutes rather than an electrician’s visit. It costs you one thing — 40 amps is the ceiling, because that is 80% of a 50-amp receptacle and the NEC treats charging as a continuous load.

For most households that ceiling is not a real constraint. Forty amps is 9.6 kW, around 34 miles of range an hour at our reference efficiency — roughly 340 miles across a ten-hour night. The trade only bites if your car accepts more than 40 amps and you routinely need it.

All four below terminate in a NEMA 14-50 plug. We have ranked them on what actually separates plug-in units: cable reach, enclosure, whether the app earns its place, and how gracefully each one dials down for a smaller circuit.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
EVIQO 40A NEMA 14-50 Charger

EVIQO 40A NEMA 14-50 Charger

The most charger you can get without an electrician's invoice. It plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet for a full 40 amps, keeps the WiFi app, the ENERGY STAR listing and the 25 ft cable from EVIQO's hardwired unit, and can be unplugged and taken with you when you move.

Best overall
$395.98 · View on Amazon

$469.9916% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Autel MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 40A

Autel MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 40A

Autel's weather-hardened hardware in the install almost everyone can actually have. It is the 50A MaxiCharger's smaller sibling: same 25 ft cable and app, same NEMA 4 body, but it ends in a NEMA 14-50 plug instead of a wire nut — so it goes on an existing outlet, comes off the wall when you move, and needs a 50-amp circuit rather than a 60. The in-body holster is a small thing that stops mattering only if you have never coiled a cold cable.

Best weather-rated pick
$446.50 · View on Amazon

$470.005% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Grizzl-E Smart 40A

Grizzl-E Smart 40A

Grizzl-E's cast-aluminum build with a WiFi radio bolted on. You get the IP67 body and the cold-flexible 25 ft cable that made the brand's name, plus scheduling and usage history in the Grizzl-E Connect app — in a plug-in unit that comes off the wall when you move. The amperage is still set with a DIP switch, which is either charmingly honest or annoyingly analog depending on your taste.

Best build quality
4
Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

One of the cheapest honest ways into real Level 2 charging. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, get a genuine 40A / 9.6 kW, and unplug it to take on a trip. No app and a shorter warranty are the trade-offs for the price.

Best budget, most portable and no app
$269.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

EVIQO 40A NEMA 14-50 Charger

The most charger you can get without an electrician's invoice. It plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet for a full 40 amps, keeps the WiFi app, the ENERGY STAR listing and the 25 ft cable from EVIQO's hardwired unit, and can be unplugged and taken with you when you move.

Strengths

  • Plugs into an existing NEMA 14-50 outlet — no hardwiring, and it comes with you
  • Real WiFi app with 6-40A adjustment, scheduling and energy tracking
  • 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input lead, in an IP66 / NEMA 4 body

Trade-offs

  • 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling — for 48A you need the hardwired version
  • Needs a proper EV-grade 14-50 receptacle (an old dryer outlet is not the same thing)
  • Smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint or Wallbox
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour — an overnight charge for almost any daily commute.

Build note. Plug-in Gen-2 unit: 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in NEMA 14-50 input lead, with app-adjustable output from 6 to 40 amps.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best weather-rated pick

Autel MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 40A

Autel's weather-hardened hardware in the install almost everyone can actually have. It is the 50A MaxiCharger's smaller sibling: same 25 ft cable and app, same NEMA 4 body, but it ends in a NEMA 14-50 plug instead of a wire nut — so it goes on an existing outlet, comes off the wall when you move, and needs a 50-amp circuit rather than a 60. The in-body holster is a small thing that stops mattering only if you have never coiled a cold cable.

Strengths

  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet — no electrician needed if the outlet already exists
  • NEMA 4 enclosure with a 25 ft cable and an in-body holster, so nothing dangles
  • Output adjustable up to 40 A in the Autel Charge app, with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and Ethernet

Trade-offs

  • 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling — the hardwired 50A sibling is the one to buy for more
  • Autel's page for this SKU does not publish a UL or ENERGY STAR listing, or a temperature range
  • Needs a genuine EV-grade 14-50 receptacle, which an old dryer outlet is not
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
Not published

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour — an overnight charge covering any ordinary commute.

Build note. Plug-in NEMA 14-50 unit in a NEMA 4 enclosure with a 25 ft J1772 cable and an in-body holster; output is adjustable up to 40 A in the Autel Charge app, with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Ethernet, CAN and RS485 on board.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best build quality

Grizzl-E Smart 40A

Grizzl-E's cast-aluminum build with a WiFi radio bolted on. You get the IP67 body and the cold-flexible 25 ft cable that made the brand's name, plus scheduling and usage history in the Grizzl-E Connect app — in a plug-in unit that comes off the wall when you move. The amperage is still set with a DIP switch, which is either charmingly honest or annoyingly analog depending on your taste.

Strengths

  • Cast-aluminum NEMA 4 / IP67 body rated -22F to 122F, in a plug-in unit
  • WiFi and the Grizzl-E Connect app for scheduling, usage history and remote lockout
  • 25 ft output cable, and OCPP 1.6J support if you ever want third-party software

Trade-offs

  • 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling — no 48A option in this model
  • Amperage is set by a physical DIP switch, not in the app
  • Grizzl-E's own pages don't publish an ENERGY STAR certification for this model
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL tested and certified

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour. The DIP switch also sets 32, 24 or 16 amps if your circuit is smaller.

Build note. Cast-aluminum enclosure with IP67 sealing, rated -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F); 25 ft output cable on an 18 in input lead, current set by DIP switch (16/24/32/40 A), status on an LED, and WiFi to the Grizzl-E Connect app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 12, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best budget, most portable and no app

Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

One of the cheapest honest ways into real Level 2 charging. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, get a genuine 40A / 9.6 kW, and unplug it to take on a trip. No app and a shorter warranty are the trade-offs for the price.

Strengths

  • A real 40A / 9.6 kW at a budget price
  • Plug-in and portable — take it with you, no hardwiring
  • ETL listed to UL 2594 / UL 2231 safety standards

Trade-offs

  • No WiFi or app on the base model — the smart version is a separate SKU
  • Shorter 16 ft cable and a 2-year warranty
  • Brand doesn't publish an outdoor/IP enclosure rating
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
16 ft
Warranty
2 years
WiFi + app
No
Certifications
ETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour.

Build note. Portable plug-in unit — no hardwiring needed; the base model has no WiFi or app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Every unit here terminates in a NEMA 14-50 plug and is capped at 40 amps — the plug-in ceiling, set by the NEC’s continuous-load rule on a 50-amp receptacle, not by any of these manufacturers. Specs as published by each brand.
ChargerMax ampsCableEnclosureApp
EVIQO 40A NEMA 14-50 Charger40 A25 ftIP66 / NEMA 4Yes
Autel MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 40A40 A25 ftNEMA 4Yes
Grizzl-E Smart 40A40 A25 ftNEMA 4 (IP67)Yes
Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger40 A16 ftNot publishedNo

Why 40 amps is the ceiling

This is not a manufacturer choice, and it is worth understanding before you go looking for a 48-amp plug-in charger that does not exist. Under the NEC, EV charging is a continuous load, so a circuit is sized at 125% of the charger’s current — which read backwards means a receptacle supports 80% of its rating. A NEMA 14-50 is a 50-amp receptacle, so 40 amps is the limit.

There is no common household receptacle rated for a 48-amp continuous load, which is why every 48-amp charger on the market is hardwired. If you need 48, you are choosing hardwired by definition — the reasoning is in hardwired vs plug-in, and the segment is our 48-amp roundup.

Get the receptacle right, or none of this works

The single most consequential detail in a plug-in install is not the charger. It is the outlet behind it.

It must be an EV-grade receptacle. A charging session is hours of near-maximum continuous draw, which is duty that budget receptacles are documented to fail under. This is the one place not to save twenty dollars, and it is worth naming specifically when you brief an electrician.

An old dryer outlet is not a NEMA 14-50. A NEMA 14-30 is a 30-amp receptacle supporting 24 amps of charging — still genuine Level 2 — and an older NEMA 10-30 has no separate ground at all. Neither is something to adapt casually. Our plug and outlet reference lays out every type, and the 14-50 install guide covers what to ask for.

GFCI protection is usually required for a receptacle-fed charger, and it is the most common source of nuisance tripping in plug-in installs. If that is already happening to you, our GFCI guide works through the causes in order.

How we separated them

EVIQO 40A takes the top spot because it gives up the least. It has the full 25-foot cable plus a 40-inch input lead — the best total reach here by a clear margin, and reach matters more than people expect on a plug-in install where the outlet position is fixed. It keeps a real app with 6-to-40-amp adjustment, scheduling and energy tracking, in an IP66 / NEMA 4 body, with UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR listings. That ENERGY STAR certification is also the most common eligibility filter in utility rebate programs.

Autel MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 40A is the one to buy if the charger lives outside. It is the 50-amp MaxiCharger’s plug-in sibling: same 25-foot cable, same NEMA 4 enclosure, same Autel Charge app, plus an in-body holster that stops the connector living on the floor. Two honest caveats — Autel’s page for this SKU does not publish a UL or ENERGY STAR listing or a temperature range, unlike its 50A and 80A pages, so we record both as not published rather than assuming they carry over. If a rebate depends on ENERGY STAR, that matters.

Grizzl-E Smart 40A is the best-built box here. Cast aluminum, NEMA 4 / IP67, rated -22°F to 122°F, with a 25-foot cable engineered to stay flexible in the cold — which is the specification northern owners actually feel every winter morning. It adds WiFi, the Grizzl-E Connect app and OCPP 1.6J. The quirk: the amperage is set by a physical DIP switch, not in the app. We compare it directly with its cheaper sibling in Classic vs Smart.

One honest omission. The Grizzl-E Classic — the Smart with the radio removed, and the cheaper way into the same cast-aluminum box — used to sit on this list, and no longer does. Grizzl-E builds that model for a NEMA 14-50 or a NEMA 6-50, and as of our 20 August 2026 check the only Classic listed on Amazon is the NEMA 6-50 version. This page promises chargers that plug into a 14-50, so putting a 6-50 unit on it would be a small lie for the sake of one more pick. If a 6-50 is what you have, or what you’re having installed, the Classic is an excellent charger and we still recommend it — see our Grizzl-E Classic review and our no-app roundup.

Lectron 40A is the cheapest honest route to real Level 2 charging and the most genuinely portable unit here — a 16-foot cable and no pretense of being a permanent fixture. It is ETL listed to UL 2594 / UL 2231, and Lectron does not publish an outdoor or IP rating for it, which is a finding rather than a gap in our research: treat it as an indoor unit unless you hear otherwise from the brand. If the charger will genuinely travel rather than just come off the wall once, the units designed for that — sealed bodies, a second cord for a 120V socket — are in our portable charger roundup.

Can you install a plug-in charger yourself?

If a suitable, correctly protected NEMA 14-50 already exists and you are mounting the charger on the wall beside it, that is genuinely a homeowner job — you are hanging a bracket and plugging something in.

If the outlet does not exist, the outlet is the electrical work, and it needs an electrician and a permit exactly as a hardwired circuit would. The plug-in advantage is real but it is a one-time advantage: it does not apply to the first install unless the circuit is already there. Our honest take on where the line falls is in can I install a Level 2 charger myself, and the whole sequence is in the install, start to finish.

Who should not buy plug-in

Three cases. If your car accepts more than 40 amps and you genuinely need the speed, hardwired is the only route to 48 — check the car’s rating first using the charger is inside your car. If your panel is tight enough that load management is the difference between installing anything and not, the load-managing units are hardwired — see chargers for small panels. And if the charger will live somewhere fully exposed on a post, a hardwired install avoids having a plug and receptacle sitting outdoors at all — see mounting with no wall.

Frequently asked questions

What is the fastest plug-in EV charger?

Forty amps, from any of them — that is the plug-in ceiling. A NEMA 14-50 is a 50-amp receptacle and the NEC limits a continuous load to 80% of the circuit rating, so 40 amps is the maximum any plug-in charger can deliver. Anything advertising more than 40 amps on a plug is either misdescribed or not a 14-50 unit.

Is a plug-in charger as safe as a hardwired one?

Yes, when the receptacle is right. All the units here carry safety listings to the same standards as hardwired chargers. The safety variable is the outlet: a plug-in install adds a plug-and-socket connection carrying a continuous load for hours, which is why an EV-grade receptacle and correct GFCI protection matter more here than anywhere else in the project.

Can I take a plug-in charger with me when I move?

That is one of the main reasons to buy one. Unplug it, unscrew the bracket, take it. The new house needs a compatible receptacle, but the charger itself moves with you — which is also why plug-in units dominate our roundup for renters.

Do I need an electrician for a plug-in charger?

Only if the outlet does not already exist — and then you need one for the outlet, with a permit, just as you would for a hardwired circuit. If a properly protected EV-grade NEMA 14-50 is already in place, mounting the charger and plugging it in is a homeowner job.

Why does my plug-in charger keep tripping the breaker?

Most commonly the GFCI protection on the circuit rather than the charger. Receptacle-fed EV chargers are usually required to be GFCI protected, and the interaction between that protection and the charger's own internal ground-fault monitoring is a well-known source of nuisance trips. Our GFCI guide works through the causes in order before you replace any hardware.

Is a plug-in charger okay outdoors?

The charger can be, if its enclosure is rated for it — several here publish NEMA 4 or IP66/IP67. The receptacle is the weaker link outdoors, because it needs a weatherproof in-use cover and stays exposed whether or not the charger is plugged in. For a fully exposed location, hardwiring removes that connection entirely.

Sources

  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger InstallationsNFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • EVIQO — Level 2 EV Charger, 40A (9.6 kW), NEMA 14-50 plug-in (Gen 2)EVIQO's own product page: 40A / 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50 plug, SAE J1772, 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable, IP66 / NEMA 4 enclosure, UL / ETL / FCC / ENERGY STAR listings, 3-year standard warranty, app-adjustable 6-40A output, and a note that it needs an EV-grade 4-prong 14-50 receptacle rather than a dryer outlet (accessed August 11, 2026)
  • Autel Energy — MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 40A (NEMA 14-50) product pageAutel's own listing: output adjustable up to 40 A / 9.6 kW, SAE J1772 connector on a NEMA 14-50 input cord, 25 ft cable, NEMA 4 enclosure, Wi-Fi / Bluetooth / Ethernet, three-year limited warranty; the page does not publish a UL or ENERGY STAR listing or an operating-temperature range (accessed August 18, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Smart 40A technical specificationsGrizzl-E's own spec table for the Smart: Type 1 (J1772) Level 2, aluminum enclosure, operating temperature -30C to +50C (-22F to +122F), IP67 protection, 25 ft output cable on an 18 in input lead, 208-240 VAC, nominal input current 16/24/32/40 A set by DIP switch, maximum output current 40 A, LED indicator (accessed August 12, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Classic user manual (PDF)Grizzl-E's own manual: NEMA 4 indoor/outdoor installation rating, operating temperature -22F to 122F, a caution that the enclosure's water rating cannot be guaranteed if the unit is mounted upside down, and a note to use a 20mA GFCI breaker where one is required because a 5mA breaker may cause disruptions (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • Lectron — Portable Level 2 J1772 EV Charger (40A) product pageLectron's own listing: 40A / 240V / 9.6 kW, NEMA 14-50 plug, 16 ft cable, UL 2594 / UL 2231 certified, 2-year warranty, app control on the WiFi version only (accessed July 23, 2026)
  • NEMA — Enclosure Types (definitions from NEMA 250)NEMA's own definitions: Type 3R protects against falling dirt and rain, sleet and snow; Type 4 adds windblown dust, splashing and hose-directed water; Type 4X adds protection against corrosion. NEMA also states its NEMA-to-IP table cannot be used to convert IP designations back to NEMA types (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • ENERGY STAR — Electric Vehicle ChargersENERGY STAR on EVSE efficiency: certified chargers use about 40% less energy in standby than non-certified units (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading