Level Two Club

Best EV Chargers for Homes With Solar

Every charger on the market runs on solar electricity, because electricity is electricity. The question worth paying for is narrower: can the charger see what your panels are producing right now and charge the car with the surplus instead of exporting it? Two units here can. The rest get you most of the way with a clock.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

“Solar-compatible” is the emptiest phrase in charger marketing. A Level 2 charger draws 240-volt AC from your panel; it neither knows nor cares whether the electrons arrived from the grid or the roof. What a small number of chargers can do is watch a meter on your service entrance, work out how much you are exporting, and throttle the car to soak up exactly that surplus. That is a real, named feature, and only two brands in our registry publish it.

Whether you need it depends on one fact about your utility. Under full net metering, a kilowatt-hour exported at noon is credited against one imported at midnight, and the timing of your charging barely matters — a plain charger on an overnight schedule does the job. Where export is credited at less than the retail rate, or where you have a home battery, charging during production is worth real money, and a charger that can follow the sun earns its premium. We work the numbers in solar and EV charging; this page picks the hardware.

We ranked on three things: whether the brand publishes an excess-solar mode and what it requires; what the charger does when you simply schedule it into the midday peak; and the usual rails — a safety listing, a published enclosure rating and an ENERGY STAR mark, because many utility solar and EV programs use that certification as an eligibility gate.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Emporia Pro

Emporia Pro

The answer to a panel that says no. The Pro ships with Emporia's Vue 3 energy monitor in the same box, watches what the rest of the house is drawing, and throttles the car in real time so the total never exceeds what the service can carry — which is how a 48-amp charger ends up on a panel that a load calculation says has no room for one. You pay roughly Home Flex money for it, and only the load management justifies that.

Best for charging on excess solar
$599.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Wallbox Pulsar Plus

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to buy when wall space is tight: it's among the smallest 48A units you can get, with dynamic load management so it can share a circuit without tripping the main. A polished premium charger — and priced like one.

Best compact solar-following unit
$799.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that doesn't feel cheap: a full 48 amps, ENERGY STAR listing, WiFi with genuine energy monitoring, and a 25 ft cable — for well under what the big names charge. It's the one we point most people to first.

Best value, upgradable to solar
$449.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Best for midday scheduling
$549.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Lectron Nexus 48A J1772

Lectron Nexus 48A J1772

A full 48 amps with nothing to log into. Lectron's Nexus body is IP66-sealed for an outdoor wall, the cable is a heavy 15 mm compound the brand says is built to stay flexible in freezing weather, and the safety paperwork is the real thing — ETL to UL 2594/2231/2251, plus ENERGY STAR. Hardwired only, and there is no app, which is the entire point.

Best no-app option
$429.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best for charging on excess solar

Emporia Pro

The answer to a panel that says no. The Pro ships with Emporia's Vue 3 energy monitor in the same box, watches what the rest of the house is drawing, and throttles the car in real time so the total never exceeds what the service can carry — which is how a 48-amp charger ends up on a panel that a load calculation says has no room for one. You pay roughly Home Flex money for it, and only the load management justifies that.

Strengths

  • PowerSmart throttles charging against real-time whole-home load, so a small service can host a big charger
  • 48 A hardwired or 40 A on a NEMA 14-50 plug — one unit covers both installs
  • UL listed, ENERGY STAR certified and NEMA 4 rated for indoor or outdoor, with a 25 ft cable

Trade-offs

  • PowerSmart depends on the bundled Vue 3 monitor being installed in your panel too — it is not a charger-only feature
  • Costs meaningfully more than Emporia's own Classic, which charges just as fast
  • 48 A still needs a 60-amp circuit; PowerSmart manages the load, it does not create capacity
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A hardwired (11.5 kW by our arithmetic of 48 x 240 V) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds about 40 miles of range per hour; on a NEMA 14-50 plug it is capped at 40A, about 34 miles per hour. When PowerSmart is protecting the service it will deliberately deliver less than that at peak household load.

Build note. Ships bundled with Emporia's Vue 3 energy monitor, which reads the whole home's draw at the panel; the charger then raises or lowers its own current to keep total service load inside its limit. NEMA 4 body, 25 ft cable, and a J1772 or NACS cable option.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best compact solar-following unit

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to buy when wall space is tight: it's among the smallest 48A units you can get, with dynamic load management so it can share a circuit without tripping the main. A polished premium charger — and priced like one.

Strengths

  • Genuinely compact for a 48A charger — easy to place
  • Dynamic load management avoids a panel upgrade in some homes
  • Bluetooth plus WiFi, OCPP 1.6j, and a clean app
  • Now offered with a factory NACS connector as well as J1772

Trade-offs

  • One of the pricier chargers here
  • The 48A model is hardwired only — plugging in means dropping to the 40A version
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired (40A model plugs in)
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL 2594/2231, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, about 40 miles of range per hour. Dynamic load management can throttle it to protect a shared circuit.

Build note. One of the most compact 48A chargers in its class (7.8 x 7.9 x 3.9 in, 4.4 lb without the cable), with Bluetooth, WiFi and OCPP 1.6j, and a hardware current selector from 16A alongside 6A software control. The 48A model is hardwired; Wallbox's separate 40A model is offered on a NEMA 14-50 plug or hardwired, and both are sold with a J1772 or a factory NACS connector.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best value, upgradable to solar

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that doesn't feel cheap: a full 48 amps, ENERGY STAR listing, WiFi with genuine energy monitoring, and a 25 ft cable — for well under what the big names charge. It's the one we point most people to first.

Strengths

  • 48A output and ENERGY STAR at a value price
  • The app actually tracks energy use, not just on/off
  • Long 25 ft cable and a remote holster in the box

Trade-offs

  • 48A hardwired needs a 60A circuit; on a NEMA 14-50 plug it's limited to 40A
  • App polish trails ChargePoint's, and support is smaller
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds about 40 miles of range per hour hardwired; on a 40A plug-in circuit, about 34.

Build note. 48A hardwired, or 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, with a 25 ft cable and remote holder.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best for midday scheduling

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A means it fits a small panel now and a bigger circuit later
  • The most mature app of the group — scheduling, reminders, usage history, over-the-air firmware
  • 3-year warranty and a long 23 ft cable
  • Sold hardwired or on a NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50 plug, in J1772 or NACS

Trade-offs

  • You pay a premium over value 48A chargers for the app and brand
  • Full 50A output needs a 60A circuit most older panels don't have to spare
  • The plug-in SKUs cap at 40A, so the top speed is a hardwired-only feature
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired, NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and a typical 3.5 miles per kWh, the Home Flex adds roughly 42 miles of range per hour. Dial it down to 40A to fit a 50A circuit and you get about 34. ChargePoint's own, more conservative claim is up to 37 miles per hour hardwired and 30 on the plug-in SKUs.

Build note. Amperage is set in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A. The plug-in SKUs are capped at 40A, so the full 50A is a hardwired-only figure. UL and cUL listed per UL 2594 and UL 2231; firmware updates over the air, and the station stores up to 90 days of session data locally if the network drops.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best no-app option

Lectron Nexus 48A J1772

A full 48 amps with nothing to log into. Lectron's Nexus body is IP66-sealed for an outdoor wall, the cable is a heavy 15 mm compound the brand says is built to stay flexible in freezing weather, and the safety paperwork is the real thing — ETL to UL 2594/2231/2251, plus ENERGY STAR. Hardwired only, and there is no app, which is the entire point.

Strengths

  • Full 48A / 11.5 kW hardwired, with ENERGY STAR and ETL listings to UL 2594/2231/2251
  • IP66 enclosure and a 15 mm cable Lectron builds to stay flexible in freezing weather
  • Ships with the wall-mount J-hook and plug holder, and there is no app or account

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired only — a licensed electrician and a 60-amp circuit, with no plug-in option
  • 23 ft cable is shorter than the 25 ft several rivals ship
  • Lectron publishes no operating-temperature range, so we can't state a cold rating
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
No
Certifications
UL 2594/2231/2251 (ETL listed), ENERGY STAR, FCC

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, about 40 miles of range per hour — a full overnight charge for almost any battery on the market.

Build note. IP66-sealed housing for indoor or outdoor mounting, with a heavy-duty 15.0 mm (±0.3 mm) 23 ft output cable Lectron states is engineered to stay flexible and easy to wrap in freezing weather. Wall-mount J-hook and plug holder included; hardwired install on a dedicated 240V circuit by a licensed electrician.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

What each brand publishes about solar on its own product pages (cited below). Where a brand publishes no solar feature we say so rather than assume one.
ChargerSolar behaviorWhat it needsThe catch
Emporia ProExcess Solar Management (named feature)Vue energy monitor - bundled with the ProSolar tracking is a two-device system: the charger plus the monitor on your panel
Wallbox Pulsar PlusSolar Charging supported (datasheet)Wallbox Power Meter accessory, sold separatelyWallbox states solar charging is not compatible with multi-charger installs or OCPP
Emporia Level 2 (Classic)Excess-solar charging with the Vue add-onVue Home Energy Monitor, sold separatelyWithout the Vue it is a scheduling charger, not a solar-following one
ChargePoint Home FlexNo solar mode publishedNothing - schedule in the appCharges on a clock, not on production; a cloudy day is invisible to it
Lectron Nexus 48ANo app, no solar modeNothing - schedule from the carThe cheapest honest option when the car's own scheduler is good enough

Excess-solar charging: what it is and what it needs

A charger cannot see your panels. To follow production, it needs a second device: a current transformer clamped on your main service conductors, reporting how much power is flowing in or out of the house. The charger’s controller reads that number and sets its output to match the surplus — ramping up as clouds clear, down as the dishwasher starts. Both units that publish this feature require the meter, and neither works as a solar follower without it.

Emporia names the feature: its platform lists Excess Solar Management, and its comparison page footnotes solar charging as requiring the Vue Home Energy Monitor. The Pro bundles a Vue 3 in the box, which is why it ranks first: it is the only unit here that is a solar follower as sold, with nothing else to buy. The Classic gets the same capability when a Vue is added, which Emporia states directly — “add the Vue Home Energy Monitor and we’ll manage Peak Demand and automatically charge with your excess solar power.”

Wallboxlists “Solar Charging supported” on the Pulsar Plus datasheet with the footnote “may require power meter accessory,” and its US product page sells that Power Meter separately. Two caveats from the same page matter: solar charging is not compatible with multiple-charger installations, and not with OCPP. If you run two Wallboxes on power sharing, or your utility program uses OCPP, the solar mode is off the table.

Nobody else in our registry publishes a solar-following mode. ChargePoint, Autel, EVIQO, Grizzl-E and Lectron units will all charge on a schedule — in the app or from the car — and that is the honest limit of what they do.

The schedule-only route, and when it is enough

Set a charger to run from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. and on a clear day it will consume a large share of your production. It will also draw from the grid at full rate on a cloudy one, because a clock does not know the weather. Under full net metering that costs you nothing; under a reduced export rate it costs you the difference on the bad days only. For a lot of households that is a rounding error next to a few hundred dollars of energy-monitor hardware, and a plain scheduling charger is the rational buy.

The DOE’s homeowner guidance notes that compensation for exported power depends on state policy and the local utility, and points at its PVWatts tool for estimating output. Do that estimate against your car’s daily energy need before deciding. A commuter using 10 kWh a day on a 7 kW array will export plenty at noon; a two-EV household on the same array may need every kilowatt-hour, and then the question is a battery, not a charger.

How we separated them

Emporia Proranks first because it is the only charger sold with the meter it needs already in the box. It is 48 amps hardwired or 40 on a NEMA 14-50 plug, UL listed, ENERGY STAR, NEMA 4 rated with a 25 ft cable and a 3-year warranty. Its other trick — PowerSmart load management on a full panel — is a bonus here, not the reason. The honest con is price: you are paying for a Vue 3 whether or not you would have bought one.

Wallbox Pulsar Plus is the smallest 48-amp smart charger we list, with WiFi and Bluetooth, dynamic load management and a solar mode that works once the Power Meter is added. It is the premium option, and the accessory is an extra line on the bill. If you already own a Wallbox, or want the compact body, buy the meter and it becomes a follower.

Emporia Level 2is the value route. Buy the charger now, add the Vue later if the export math turns out to justify it. Same 48-amp hardwired / 40-amp plug-in body as the Pro, same listings, and Emporia’s app already reports per-session kWh, which is useful for reconciling against a solar production log.

ChargePoint Home Flexhas no solar mode, and we say so. It is here because its app schedule is the most reliable of the group, its datasheet publishes power measurement to ±2%, and it stores up to 90 days of session data locally if the network drops — the right tool for a net-metering household that just wants clean midday charging with a good record.

Lectron Nexus 48A is the no-app pick: 48 amps, IP66, ETL listed to UL 2594, ENERGY STAR, and nothing to configure. Every modern EV can be given a charging window from its own screen, and if that is how you would schedule anyway, the app on the wall was never load-bearing.

What we left off, and why

The Autel MaxiCharger units publish OpenADR on the 80A model, which is a utility demand-response protocol, not solar following; useful for a managed charging program, not for this question. EVIQO and Grizzl-E publish scheduling only, and would duplicate the ChargePoint’s role at a lower spec. And we do not list bidirectional (V2H) chargers here because none in our registry has a live price; our V2H explainer covers where that market stands.

The two questions to answer first

One: what does your utility pay for export? If it is the full retail rate, stop reading roundups and buy the cheapest listed charger that fits your circuit. Two: do you have, or plan, a home battery? If so, the battery’s own controller usually decides what happens to surplus, and a solar-following charger can end up competing with it. In both cases, the charger is the least important part of the system, which is exactly why we would not overpay for one.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need a special EV charger for solar panels?

No. Any Level 2 charger runs on the 240 V AC your panel supplies, whatever its source. What a few chargers add is an excess-solar mode that throttles the car to match what your array is exporting. In our registry only Emporia (with its Vue energy monitor) and Wallbox (with its Power Meter accessory) publish that feature.

Which EV chargers can charge from excess solar?

Emporia — the Pro ships with the Vue 3 monitor it needs, and the Classic gains the feature when a Vue is added; Emporia names it Excess Solar Management. And the Wallbox Pulsar Plus, whose datasheet lists solar charging as supported with the separately sold Power Meter, with Wallbox's caveat that it is not compatible with multi-charger installs or OCPP.

Is solar charging worth it under net metering?

Usually not as a hardware purchase. With full net metering, a kilowatt-hour exported at noon offsets one imported at night, so the timing of charging does not change your bill. A plain scheduling charger does the job. The feature earns its cost where export is credited below the retail rate, or where a home battery changes what surplus is worth.

Can I just schedule my charger for midday instead?

Yes, and for many households that is the right answer. A midday schedule captures a large share of production on clear days; on cloudy days it draws from the grid at full rate because a clock cannot see the weather. Under a reduced export rate that costs you the difference on bad days only.

How big a solar array do I need to charge an EV?

Start from the car's daily energy: miles driven divided by roughly 3.5 miles per kWh. A 35-mile commute is about 10 kWh a day. DOE cites NREL's assumption of an average residential system around 7.15 kW DC; run your location through DOE's PVWatts tool to see what that produces month by month before deciding whether surplus exists to chase.

Does an ENERGY STAR charger matter for a solar home?

It can, for two reasons. ENERGY STAR states certified chargers use about 40% less energy in standby, which matters when a unit sits idle most of the day. And many utility rebate and managed-charging programs use ENERGY STAR certification as an eligibility condition. Every pick on this page publishes ENERGY STAR certification; check the exact model number against your program's qualifying list before buying.

Sources

  • Emporia - EV Chargers (Classic vs Pro)Emporia's own Classic-vs-Pro comparison page: both units publish a 25 ft cable, 'NEMA Plug or Hardwire' installation, 'Up to 48A' and a 3-year warranty. The feature rows list Smart Scheduling, Home Energy Monitoring, Solar Charging Integration, Peak Demand Management and PowerSmart Load Management, footnoted for the Classic as 'Requires Vue Home Energy Monitor' and for the Pro as 'Requires Vue Home Energy Monitor and PowerSmart upgrade'. The Classic section states 'Add the Vue Home Energy Monitor and we'll manage Peak Demand and automatically charge with your excess solar power', and Emporia's platform lists 'Excess Solar Management' as a named feature. The page also states 'PowerSmart comes standard with the Emporia Pro, but can be added to the Emporia Classic for an extra cost'. Emporia's own listed prices on the date accessed are not reprinted here (accessed September 17, 2026)
  • Emporia Energy — Pro EV Charger product pageEmporia's own listing for the Pro: up to 48 A hardwired on a 60-amp circuit or up to 40 A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, 25 ft cable, NEMA 4 rated for indoor or outdoor, UL listed and ENERGY STAR certified, 3-year warranty, and PowerSmart load management that requires the bundled Vue 3 energy monitor (accessed August 18, 2026)
  • Emporia — Classic Level 2 EV Charger spec sheet (PDF)Emporia's own spec sheet: watertight NEMA Type 4 indoor/outdoor enclosure, operating temperature -22F to 122F, 25 ft cable (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • Emporia - Classic Level 2 EV Charger (store listing)Emporia's own store listing for the Classic: 'Need advanced features like home energy monitoring, solar charging, or PowerSmart Load Management? Check out the Emporia Pro EV Charger', and 'PowerSmart can also be added to the Classic charger for an additional cost if your electrical panel doesn't have enough capacity for a Level 2 charger'. The listing's install notes describe continuous Level 2 charging as 'a fundamentally different demand than the dryers and ranges most NEMA 14-50 outlets were designed for' (accessed September 17, 2026)
  • Wallbox — Pulsar Plus North America technical datasheet (NACS edition, version 10/25, PDF)Wallbox's own current North America datasheet (document version Wallbox_Datasheet_PulsarPlus_NA_NACS_EN_b, 10/25) for the Pulsar Plus, model PUP2. Two electrical models: the 40A model is 9.6 kW with connection type 'NEMA 14-50 or hardwired', and the 48A model is 11.5 kW and hardwired. Charging protocol 'SAE J1772 or NACS'; connector type 'SAE J1772 Type 1 and NACS'; 25 ft cable; 7.8 x 7.9 x 3.9 in and 4.4 lbs without cable; environmental rating 'Indoor & Outdoor: NEMA Type 4 per UL 50E'; operating temperature -22F to 104F and storage -40F to 158F; rated voltage 208/240V (Level 2) 60Hz; configurable current by hardware selector 16A to rated current and by software 6A to rated current; connectivity WiFi and Bluetooth with the Wallbox App and Portal; OCPP 1.6j; energy management listing 'Static Load Management, Dynamic Load Management' and 'Solar Charging supported', both footnoted 'May require power meter accessory'; electrical safety 'UL Certification (NRTL) UL 2594 - UL 2231'; integrated CCID20 plus ground monitoring per UL 2231; ENERGY STAR certification: Yes. The part-number structure confirms both a Type 1 and a NACS EVC code and both a hardwired and a NEMA 14-50P version code (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • Wallbox — Pulsar Plus (US) product pageWallbox's own US product page for the Pulsar Plus: sold in '40 and 48 Amps', with the 40A variant offering 'easy NEMA 14-50 plug installation'; 'Up to 11.5kW'; available with 'J1772 or NACS connectors' and 'No adapters needed'; 25 ft cable; Bluetooth and WiFi controlled through the Wallbox app; 'Dynamic Load Management' described as 'Maximize charging speed while staying within your home's power limit'; solar charging supported with the separately sold Power Meter accessory, with the caveat that 'Solar charging is not compatible with multiple-charger installations and OCPP'. Wallbox's own listed starting price on this page was $649.99 and the Power Meter accessory $299.00 on the date accessed (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex datasheet (PDF)ChargePoint's own datasheet: enclosure rating Type 3R per UL 50E, operating temperature -22F to 122F, 23 ft cable, plus installer notes that an outdoor plug-in install requires an outdoor-rated GFCI breaker upstream while an external GFCI may conflict with the charger's internal ground-fault protection on a hardwired install. RE-READ September 3, 2026 for the review refresh: the same datasheet also publishes maximum 12 kW (240V AC x 50A) with output amperage adjustable via the mobile app to 16A, 24A, 32A, 40A, 48A or 50A; a required dedicated dual-pole breaker rated for 125% of maximum load; 'Software Updates: Firmware updated over-the-air (OTA)'; 2.4/5 GHz Wi-Fi (802.11 a/b/g/n); local storage of up to 90 days of charging session data (100 sessions) if the network drops; power measurement accuracy +/- 2.0%; ground-fault detection by 20 mA CCID with auto retry; and UL and cUL listing per UL 2594, UL 2231-1 and UL 2231-2, NEC Article 625 compliant. Ordering information lists the plug-in station models CPH50-NEMA6-50-L23 and CPH50-NEMA14-50-L23 (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • Lectron — NEXUS Level 2 J1772 EV Charging Station, 240V, 48 Amp, HardwiredLectron's own product page: up to 48 A continuous at 240 V for 11.5 kW, hardwire-only install by a licensed electrician on a dedicated 240 V circuit, IP66 weatherproof housing for indoor or outdoor use, 23 ft output cable of 15.0 mm (±0.3 mm) heavy-duty compound the brand states is 'engineered to stay flexible and easy to wrap around the wall mount, even in freezing weather', wall-mount J-hook and plug holder included, ETL listed to UL 2594 / UL 2231 / UL 2251 with ENERGY STAR and FCC certification, and a 3-year Lectron warranty. No operating-temperature range and no Wi-Fi or app support are published for this model (accessed August 20, 2026)
  • Autel Energy — MaxiCharger 80A 19.2kW Residential EV Charger (US store listing)Autel's own US listing: 19.2 kW (240V AC 80A), 208/240V AC 50/60 Hz, SAE J1772, hardwired, 25 ft (7.5 m) cable, output adjustable from 6A to 80A in the app and 16/24/32/40/48/50/64/72/80 A by DIP switch, UL 2594, UL 2231-1, UL 2231-2, UL 1998, CSA C22.2 No. 280, FCC Part 15 Class B, ENERGY STAR, OpenADR 2.0b, NEC Article 625, Wi-Fi / Ethernet / RS485 with the Autel Charge app and cloud, and a warranty of 5 years on the charger body, backplate and internal components with 1 year on the display screen, charging cable and connector (accessed August 12, 2026)
  • U.S. Department of Energy — Homeowner's Guide to Going SolarDOE on residential solar: how photovoltaic panels generate electricity, what net metering is and that compensation for exported power depends on state policy and the local utility, and NREL's analysis assumption of an average residential system size of 7.15 kW DC with a 3-11 kW range; DOE points homeowners at the PVWatts tool to estimate output before comparing against their utility bill (accessed August 12, 2026)
  • ENERGY STAR — Electric Vehicle ChargersENERGY STAR on EVSE efficiency: certified chargers use about 40% less energy in standby than non-certified units (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Utility IncentivesDOE's catalog of utility incentives by customer type: 114 utilities listed offering residential Level 2 charging station purchase rebates and 74 offering Level 2 installation rebates, plus make-ready/pre-wiring rebates, managed-charging programs and EV time-of-use rates. RE-READ September 3, 2026: the residential counts were unchanged at 114 participating utilities for the EV Level 2 Charging Station Purchase Rebate and 74 for the EV Level 2 Charging Station Installation Rebate, alongside 17 for the Make-Ready or Pre-Wiring Rebate for EV Chargers, 109 for the EV Time-of-Use (TOU) Rate and 9 for the EV Managed Charging Program (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • FuelEconomy.gov — Electric Vehicles: Learn More About the LabelDOE/EPA on EV efficiency: kWh per 100 miles and MPGe, accounting for AC charging losses (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading