Level Two Club

Best EV Charger Brands for Home

Our pick is ChargePoint, for the buyer who wants one charger that fits whatever circuit they have now and whatever they upgrade to later. Eight other brands beat it on something specific — here is which, and who should buy each one instead.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

If you want one answer: buy ChargePoint, and buy the Home Flex. It is the brand with the longest track record in home charging, the most mature app of the group, and a single unit whose output you can set anywhere from 16 to 50 amps — so it fits the circuit your panel can spare today and still fits after a service upgrade. It is also the charger two automakers name by name on their own vehicle pages, which is a kind of endorsement nobody else in this list has.

But “best brand” is the wrong question asked slightly wrong, because each of these nine brands is genuinely the right answer for somebody. If the charger lives fully outdoors in a hard climate, Autel publishes the widest temperature range we track. If you want nothing to log into, Grizzl-E builds a cast-aluminum box that charges perfectly well with no account at all. If your panel is maxed out, Emporia’s Pro is the one designed around that problem. If you want the cheapest honest 48 amps, Lectron or EVIQO.

What a brand actually decides is narrower than the marketing suggests, and it is worth naming: the app and whether it will still exist in five years, which safety listings get published, how you change the amperage (a tap, or a screwdriver inside the enclosure), and how the enclosure is rated. Those four follow the badge far more reliably than charging speed does — 48 amps is 48 amps from anyone. We own none of these units and have not bench-tested them; everything below is read off the makers’ own published specs on a dated visit, and the rankings are ours and argued in plain language.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Best brand overall
$516.71 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Autel MaxiCharger Home

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the harshest driveway. The NEMA 4X enclosure is rated to keep charging in extreme cold and heat, it pushes a full 50 amps, and the app is capable. If your charger lives fully exposed to the weather, this is the one.

Best for weather
$499.00 · View on Amazon

$568.0012% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Grizzl-E Ultimate 48A

Grizzl-E Ultimate 48A

The tank of the 48-amp class: cast-aluminum body, IP67 sealing, a full 11.5 kW, a 25 ft cable built to stay flexible in the cold and a DIP switch instead of a setup wizard. We recorded it as discontinued in August 2026 after its Amazon listing went dark; Grizzl-E sells it and Amazon lists it again as of our 2026-09-28 check, so that record is corrected here.

Best with no app
$479.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Emporia Pro

Emporia Pro

The answer to a panel that says no. The Pro ships with Emporia's Vue 3 energy monitor in the same box, watches what the rest of the house is drawing, and throttles the car in real time so the total never exceeds what the service can carry — which is how a 48-amp charger ends up on a panel that a load calculation says has no room for one. You pay roughly Home Flex money for it, and only the load management justifies that.

Best for a tight panel
$599.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money: a full 48 amps, WiFi with scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. A strong value alternative to Emporia if you want maximum reach.

Best value 48 amps
$449.99 · View on Amazon

$510.0012% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Lectron Nexus 48A J1772

Lectron Nexus 48A J1772

A full 48 amps with nothing to log into. Lectron's Nexus body is IP66-sealed for an outdoor wall, the cable is a heavy 15 mm compound the brand says is built to stay flexible in freezing weather, and the safety paperwork is the real thing — ETL to UL 2594/2231/2251, plus ENERGY STAR. Hardwired only, and there is no app, which is the entire point.

Cheapest hardwired 48 A
$449.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best brand overall

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A means it fits a small panel now and a bigger circuit later
  • The most mature app of the group — scheduling, reminders, usage history, over-the-air firmware
  • 3-year warranty and a long 23 ft cable
  • Sold hardwired or on a NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50 plug, in J1772 or NACS

Trade-offs

  • You pay a premium over value 48A chargers for the app and brand
  • Full 50A output needs a 60A circuit most older panels don't have to spare
  • The plug-in SKUs cap at 40A, so the top speed is a hardwired-only feature
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired, NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and a typical 3.5 miles per kWh, the Home Flex adds roughly 42 miles of range per hour. Dial it down to 40A to fit a 50A circuit and you get about 34. ChargePoint's own, more conservative claim is up to 37 miles per hour hardwired and 30 on the plug-in SKUs.

Build note. Amperage is set in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A. The plug-in SKUs are capped at 40A, so the full 50A is a hardwired-only figure. UL and cUL listed per UL 2594 and UL 2231; firmware updates over the air, and the station stores up to 90 days of session data locally if the network drops.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best for weather

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the harshest driveway. The NEMA 4X enclosure is rated to keep charging in extreme cold and heat, it pushes a full 50 amps, and the app is capable. If your charger lives fully exposed to the weather, this is the one.

Strengths

  • NEMA 4X enclosure rated for very cold and hot conditions
  • Full 50A output with a 25 ft cable
  • WiFi, Bluetooth and a capable app

Trade-offs

  • Autel's own page specifies a 70A circuit for full output, and the unit is hardwired only
  • App and ecosystem are newer than ChargePoint's
  • Autel publishes CSA and ENERGY STAR for this unit, not a UL listing
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
CSA certified, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 42 miles of range per hour.

Build note. IP65 / NEMA 4X enclosure with a published operating range of -40F to 131F (-40C to 55C), output adjustable from 16 to 50 A, a 25 ft cable, Bluetooth / WiFi / Ethernet / CAN / RS485 connectivity, and a 13.2 x 7.4 x 3.8 in body weighing 15.4 lb. Autel states a 70 A circuit is required for full output, and that its Adaptive Load Management 'requires compatible additional hardware' while charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing does not.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on October 10, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best with no app

Grizzl-E Ultimate 48A

The tank of the 48-amp class: cast-aluminum body, IP67 sealing, a full 11.5 kW, a 25 ft cable built to stay flexible in the cold and a DIP switch instead of a setup wizard. We recorded it as discontinued in August 2026 after its Amazon listing went dark; Grizzl-E sells it and Amazon lists it again as of our 2026-09-28 check, so that record is corrected here.

Strengths

  • Full 48A / 11.5 kW in Grizzl-E's cast-aluminum, IP67-sealed body
  • Rated to -22F, with a 25 ft cable built to stay flexible in cold weather
  • Amperage set by DIP switch (16/24/32/40/48A) — no account or setup wizard

Trade-offs

  • Its Amazon listing went dark for five weeks in 2026 — stock can be patchy
  • Hardwired only — no plug-in option, and 48A needs a 60-amp circuit
  • Grizzl-E does not publish WiFi/app support for this SKU, so no scheduling or energy data
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Not published
Certifications
UL tested and certified

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, about 40 miles of range per hour. The DIP switch drops it to 40A (about 34 mi/hr) for a 50-amp circuit.

Build note. Cast-aluminum enclosure with IP67 sealing, rated -22F to 122F; amperage is set by a DIP switch (16/24/32/40/48A) and status shown on an LED.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 28, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best for a tight panel

Emporia Pro

The answer to a panel that says no. The Pro ships with Emporia's Vue 3 energy monitor in the same box, watches what the rest of the house is drawing, and throttles the car in real time so the total never exceeds what the service can carry — which is how a 48-amp charger ends up on a panel that a load calculation says has no room for one. You pay roughly Home Flex money for it, and only the load management justifies that.

Strengths

  • PowerSmart throttles charging against real-time whole-home load, so a small service can host a big charger
  • 48 A hardwired or 40 A on a NEMA 14-50 plug — one unit covers both installs
  • UL listed, ENERGY STAR certified and NEMA 4 rated for indoor or outdoor, with a 25 ft cable

Trade-offs

  • PowerSmart depends on the bundled Vue 3 monitor being installed in your panel too — it is not a charger-only feature
  • Costs meaningfully more than Emporia's own Classic, which charges just as fast
  • 48 A still needs a 60-amp circuit; PowerSmart manages the load, it does not create capacity
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A hardwired (11.5 kW by our arithmetic of 48 x 240 V) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds about 40 miles of range per hour; on a NEMA 14-50 plug it is capped at 40A, about 34 miles per hour. When PowerSmart is protecting the service it will deliberately deliver less than that at peak household load.

Build note. Ships bundled with Emporia's Vue 3 energy monitor, which reads the whole home's draw at the panel; the charger then raises or lowers its own current to keep total service load inside its limit. NEMA 4 body, 25 ft cable, and a J1772 or NACS cable option.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best value 48 amps

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money: a full 48 amps, WiFi with scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. A strong value alternative to Emporia if you want maximum reach.

Strengths

  • 48A output with WiFi scheduling at a value price
  • 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable — excellent reach
  • UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR listings

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired version needs a 60A circuit and an electrician
  • Smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint or Wallbox
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, about 40 miles of range per hour.

Build note. Ships with a 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable — among the longest reach in class.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#6Cheapest hardwired 48 A

Lectron Nexus 48A J1772

A full 48 amps with nothing to log into. Lectron's Nexus body is IP66-sealed for an outdoor wall, the cable is a heavy 15 mm compound the brand says is built to stay flexible in freezing weather, and the safety paperwork is the real thing — ETL to UL 2594/2231/2251, plus ENERGY STAR. Hardwired only, and there is no app, which is the entire point.

Strengths

  • Full 48A / 11.5 kW hardwired, with ENERGY STAR and ETL listings to UL 2594/2231/2251
  • IP66 enclosure and a 15 mm cable Lectron builds to stay flexible in freezing weather
  • Ships with the wall-mount J-hook and plug holder, and there is no app or account

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired only — a licensed electrician and a 60-amp circuit, with no plug-in option
  • 23 ft cable is shorter than the 25 ft several rivals ship
  • Lectron publishes no operating-temperature range, so we can't state a cold rating
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
No
Certifications
UL 2594/2231/2251 (ETL listed), ENERGY STAR, FCC

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, about 40 miles of range per hour — a full overnight charge for almost any battery on the market.

Build note. IP66-sealed housing for indoor or outdoor mounting, with a heavy-duty 15.0 mm (±0.3 mm) 23 ft output cable Lectron states is engineered to stay flexible and easy to wrap in freezing weather. Wall-mount J-hook and plug holder included; hardwired install on a dedicated 240V circuit by a licensed electrician.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

The nine brands at a glance

The nine brands in our registry. The “Best at” column is ours — an editorial read of each brand’s own published feature set across its range, never a test result, because we own none of these units. Amperage, connectivity and unit counts come from the manufacturers’ own spec sheets on the dated visits recorded with each product.
BrandUnits we trackBest atOutputApp
ChargePoint2The most mature app, and output adjustable 16-50 A in softwareUp to 50 AYes, WiFi
Autel3The widest published temperature range we track, and the only 80 A unit40, 50 or 80 AYes, WiFi + Ethernet
Grizzl-E4Cast aluminum and IP67, with a model that has nothing to log into40 or 48 AOn two of four units
Emporia2Energy monitoring, and a Pro that throttles to fit a small panel48 AYes, WiFi
EVIQO2The most complete safety paperwork at the price, plus long reach40 or 48 AYes, WiFi
Lectron4The cheapest route to 48 hardwired amps, and native NACS options40 or 48 ANo
Wallbox1The smallest body of any 48 A unit, with load balancing48 AYes, WiFi
Ampure1A dual-voltage portable an automaker names on its own vehicle pages32 ANot published
ELEGRP1Full 40 A and the longest cable in a portable, at the lowest price40 ANo

That table is the short version. Below is the longer one, brand by brand, including the three that did not make the picks above and why.

The brands we would buy from

ChargePointis the default. One unit, output adjustable 16 to 50 amps in the app, sold hardwired or on a NEMA 6-50 or 14-50 plug, in J1772 or NACS, with a three-year warranty, a 23-foot cable and over-the-air firmware. The adjustability is the real argument: it is the only brand here where “what size circuit do I have?” stops being a purchase decision. You pay a premium for it, and full 50-amp output needs a 60-amp circuit that older panels often cannot spare. Read the Home Flex review, or the ChargePoint versus Emporia head-to-head if that is the decision you are actually making.

Autelis the weather brand. The MaxiCharger Home publishes an IP65 / NEMA 4X enclosure — 4X being the rating that adds corrosion resistance — and an operating range of -40°F to 131°F, the widest we track, with output adjustable 16 to 50 amps over WiFi, Bluetooth or Ethernet. Autel also builds the only 80-amp unit we track. Two honest cautions: Autel states its 50-amp unit needs a 70-amp circuit for full output, which is a bigger electrical job than the headline suggests, and its smaller 40-amp sibling publishes neither a UL listing nor an ENERGY STAR certification. See the MaxiCharger review and our outdoor roundup.

Grizzl-Eis the brand for people who do not want a relationship with a software company. Cast-aluminum bodies, NEMA 4 / IP67 sealing, a 25-foot cold-flexible cable, and a published UL/cUL file — and on the Classic and the Ultimate, no radio at all. Amperage is set with a DIP switch inside the enclosure, which is a non-issue on a charger you install once and an annoyance if you ever move it. Grizzl-E also builds the Duo Connect, the only unit we track that charges two cars from one circuit. See the Ultimate 48A review and the no-app roundup.

Emporiais the measurement brand, and its Pro is the answer to one specific problem: a panel with nothing left to give. It throttles the charger against whole-home load so a 48-amp unit can live on a service that could not otherwise carry it. Read the footnote honestly though — Emporia states that PowerSmart comes bundled with the Vue 3 energy monitor, so the load management is a two-device system. Our Pro review and small-panel roundup go deeper.

EVIQO is the value brand with the most complete paperwork: UL, ETL, FCC andENERGY STAR published together, an IP66 / NEMA 4 body, a 25-foot cable plus a 40-inch input lead, and app-adjustable output on the 40-amp unit. It is a younger brand than ChargePoint or Wallbox, which is a fair thing to weigh against the saving. Its 48-amp unit is the cheapest fully-certified route to 11.5 kW we track — see the review and EVIQO versus ChargePoint.

Lectron is the cheapest honest route to hardwired 48 amps, with the broadest connector choice of any brand here: the Nexus 48A in J1772, the Nexus NACS for Tesla and NACS cars, and a 40-amp portable in both. No apps, no accounts, no firmware. The trade is that you get no energy data and no remote anything, and the portables carry a two-year warranty rather than three. See the Nexus 48A review.

The three that did not make the picks

Wallboxdid not miss on quality — the Pulsar Plus is the smallest 48-amp body we track, with load balancing and a NEMA 4 enclosure, and it is the right buy in a cramped garage where a big box will not fit. It is kept off the list above only because every job it does well, something else on the list does too at lower cost. Our Pulsar Plus review and the ChargePoint head-to-head cover the case for it.

Ampuremakes one unit we track, the Go: a dual-voltage portable certified for both 120 V and 240 V, in an IP67 watertight body — and the only charger in our registry that an automaker names on its own vehicle pages alongside the ChargePoint. It caps at 32 amps, which is why it is a travel and backup recommendation rather than a primary home charger. See the Ampure Go review.

ELEGRPis the price floor done properly: a full 40 amps and a 25-foot cable in a portable, which is the longest reach in that form factor we track, at the lowest price in the registry. Its connector is rated IP54 against an IP67 station, it has no app, and the warranty is two years. For a trunk backup it is excellent value — see the review and the portable roundup.

What the brand does not decide

Two things, and both are worth knowing before you spend extra on a badge.

Charging speed. It is set by the lower of your circuit and your car’s onboard charger. A 48-amp unit delivers 11.5 kW regardless of whose name is on it, and if your car accepts 7.7 kW that is what you get from all of them. Our amperage guide has the arithmetic.

Installation cost.The electrician charges for the circuit, the run and the panel work, not for the logo on the box — and on most installs that is the larger half of the budget. Our install-cost breakdown and the timeline page cover it. The one brand-adjacent exception is plug-in versus hardwired: a plug-in unit on an existing outlet skips the electrician entirely, which is covered in the hardwired-versus-plug-in comparison.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best EV charger brand for home?

ChargePoint, if you want one recommendation that suits the most households. Its Home Flex sets output anywhere from 16 to 50 amps in the app, so one unit fits a small panel now and a bigger circuit later; the app is the most capable of the group; and it is sold hardwired or on a plug, in J1772 or NACS. The honest cost is money -- you pay a premium over EVIQO or Lectron for the same amperage. If price is the deciding factor, EVIQO and Lectron are the value brands; if the charger lives outdoors in a hard climate, Autel publishes the widest operating range we track.

Which EV charger brands do not need an app?

Grizzl-E, Lectron and ELEGRP all sell units with no WiFi radio and nothing to log into. Grizzl-E's Classic and the Lectron Nexus 48A set their amperage with a physical DIP switch inside the enclosure; the ELEGRP 40A and Lectron 40A portables set it on the unit. The real argument for them is longevity rather than privacy: a charger with no cloud service cannot be orphaned when a company changes its mind about an app, and your car almost certainly already schedules charging for free.

Are cheaper EV charger brands safe?

What makes a charger safe is a listing to the EV-charging standards -- UL 2594 for the equipment and UL 2231 for personnel protection -- by a recognized lab, whether that is UL itself or ETL. Several of the value brands publish those listings in full: EVIQO publishes UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR together, and Lectron publishes a UL listing on its Nexus units. What we will not do is let a unit inherit its siblings' paperwork -- Autel's own page for the AC Elite Home 40A publishes no UL or ENERGY STAR listing even though its bigger siblings do, and we record that gap rather than assuming.

Is ChargePoint better than Emporia?

They win on different things. ChargePoint's Home Flex adjusts from 16 to 50 amps and has the more mature app; Emporia is the better energy-measurement brand and its Pro is built around a specific problem ChargePoint does not solve -- a panel with no spare capacity -- by throttling the charger against whole-home load. Emporia is usually the cheaper of the two. One thing to read carefully on the Emporia side: the company states that its PowerSmart load management comes bundled with its Vue 3 energy monitor, so that feature is a two-device system rather than something the charger does alone.

Which brand should I buy if I drive a Tesla?

Either Lectron or ChargePoint, because both sell a native NACS connector so there is no adapter dangling off the car in the rain. Lectron's Nexus NACS is the cheaper route and has no app; ChargePoint's Home Flex NACS pairs the native plug with the full app. One warning that applies to the reverse case: if you drive a non-Tesla with a NACS port, check your automaker's own guidance before buying a NACS wall charger -- Volkswagen states in writing that its NACS adapter is for DC fast charging only and should not be used with Level 2 home chargers.

Does the brand affect how fast my EV charges at home?

Almost never, and this is the most useful thing on the page. Charging speed is set by the lower of two numbers: the amperage your circuit and charger support, and the rating of the onboard charger inside your car. A 48-amp unit from any brand delivers the same 11.5 kW, and if your car's onboard charger caps at 7.7 kW then every 48-amp charger on earth gives you 7.7 kW. Pick the brand on the app, the paperwork, the enclosure and the cable -- not on speed.

Sources

  • ChargePoint — Home Flex datasheet (PDF) — ChargePoint's own datasheet: enclosure rating Type 3R per UL 50E, operating temperature -22F to 122F, 23 ft cable, plus installer notes that an outdoor plug-in install requires an outdoor-rated GFCI breaker upstream while an external GFCI may conflict with the charger's internal ground-fault protection on a hardwired install. RE-READ September 3, 2026 for the review refresh: the same datasheet also publishes maximum 12 kW (240V AC x 50A) with output amperage adjustable via the mobile app to 16A, 24A, 32A, 40A, 48A or 50A; a required dedicated dual-pole breaker rated for 125% of maximum load; 'Software Updates: Firmware updated over-the-air (OTA)'; 2.4/5 GHz Wi-Fi (802.11 a/b/g/n); local storage of up to 90 days of charging session data (100 sessions) if the network drops; power measurement accuracy +/- 2.0%; ground-fault detection by 20 mA CCID with auto retry; and UL and cUL listing per UL 2594, UL 2231-1 and UL 2231-2, NEC Article 625 compliant. Ordering information lists the plug-in station models CPH50-NEMA6-50-L23 and CPH50-NEMA14-50-L23 (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex home charger product page — ChargePoint's own current product page for the Home Flex, read for the 2026-09-03 review refresh: three install configurations are offered — hardwired, NEMA 6-50 plug and NEMA 14-50 plug — with 'up to 50 amps of power delivered to your EV' on the hardwired model and 'up to 40A of power' on the plug-in models. ChargePoint's own range claim is 'up to 37 miles of range per hour' hardwired and '30 miles of range per hour' plug-in. J1772 and NACS connectors are offered across all configurations, and ChargePoint states the unit is 'UL Listed for safety', 'ENERGY STAR certified for efficiency' and carries a '3-year warranty' (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • Autel Energy — MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 50A product page — Autel's own listing: compliant with NEMA 4X standards, operating temperature -40F to 131F, 25 ft cable, 3-year warranty. RE-READ October 10, 2026 for the Emporia head-to-head, and the page now publishes materially more: 'Maximum Output | 12 kW / 50 A' with output 'Adjustable 16-50 A'; installation given as 'Hardwired - 70 A Circuit for Full Output'; an 'SAE J1772' connector; an enclosure rating of 'IP65 / NEMA 4X'; an operating range of '-40 to 131 F (-40 to 55 C)'; a '3 Years' warranty quoted as a single term with no component split; 'CSA and ENERGY STAR compliance' (no UL listing is claimed on this page); connectivity listed as 'Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Ethernet, CAN, RS485'; app control to start, stop and schedule charging, monitor activity and adjust current; dimensions of 13.2 x 7.4 x 3.8 in (336 x 187 x 97 mm) and a weight of 15.4 lbs (7 kg); and the load-management sentence this comparison turns on - 'Supports both Adaptive Load Management (ALM) and charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing (DLB). ALM requires compatible additional hardware, while DLB works between chargers without additional hardware.' The page publishes no solar-specific feature (accessed October 10, 2026)
  • Autel Energy — MaxiCharger 80A 19.2kW Residential EV Charger (US store listing) — Autel's own US listing: 19.2 kW (240V AC 80A), 208/240V AC 50/60 Hz, SAE J1772, hardwired, 25 ft (7.5 m) cable, output adjustable from 6A to 80A in the app and 16/24/32/40/48/50/64/72/80 A by DIP switch, UL 2594, UL 2231-1, UL 2231-2, UL 1998, CSA C22.2 No. 280, FCC Part 15 Class B, ENERGY STAR, OpenADR 2.0b, NEC Article 625, Wi-Fi / Ethernet / RS485 with the Autel Charge app and cloud, and a warranty of 5 years on the charger body, backplate and internal components with 1 year on the display screen, charging cable and connector (accessed August 12, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Ultimate 48A specifications — Grizzl-E's own spec page for the Ultimate 48A: 11.5 kW max output on J1772 or NACS, aluminum enclosure, 25 ft output cable, 208-240 VAC, selectable 48/40/32/24/16 A input current, operating temperature -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), IP67 protection, LED indicator, DIP-switch power selector, hardwire-only install. RE-CHECKED September 28, 2026: every spec above is unchanged, and the page sells the Ultimate 48A at $383.99 with a J1772 or a NACS connector, listed alongside the 80A / 19.2 kW unit rather than replaced by it. This corrects our August 20, 2026 note, which recorded the 48A as no longer sold on the strength of a dead Amazon listing. RE-READ October 17, 2026 for the EVIQO head-to-head, and the page HAS CHANGED in two ways worth recording. (1) Connectivity is now published: the smart-function row reads 'Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz); Mobile Application' and the communication-protocol row reads 'OCPP', where our September reading of this same page published no app support for the unit. (2) The enclosure row now reads 'UL Type 4 Indoor/Outdoor Rating' with no IP figure alongside it, where the September reading carried IP67. Also published on this visit: an adjustable-current list of '40A, 32A, 24A, 16A' (the 48 A headline is not repeated in that list), 'Hardwire Only', a 25 ft output cable, -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), 'UL E510712', enclosure dimensions of 10.25 x 6.25 x 3.75 in, a unit weight of 11.00 kg / 24.25 lbs, country of origin Canada, a price of $479.99, SKU GRS-HW-25NACS48-B, and a warranty selector offering '3 Year' or '5 Year' without stating what either covers. No ETL and no ENERGY STAR certification is published, and no Alexa, Google Home, HomeKit, Matter or Home Assistant integration is published (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Classic product overview — Grizzl-E's own overview for the Classic: 'built with a sturdy, water-resistant cast aluminum enclosure and comes with a 25ft output cable that remains flexible in cold temperatures', an aluminum IP67 enclosure rated from -22F, an 18-inch input cable with either a NEMA 14-50 or a NEMA 6-50 plug, adjustable maximum output current of 40, 32, 24 or 16 amps, and 'multiple plug-in configurations of NEMA 14-50 or NEMA 6-50 and hardwire ready' (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • Emporia - EV Chargers (Classic vs Pro) — Emporia's own Classic-vs-Pro comparison page: both units publish a 25 ft cable, 'NEMA Plug or Hardwire' installation, 'Up to 48A' and a 3-year warranty. The feature rows list Smart Scheduling, Home Energy Monitoring, Solar Charging Integration, Peak Demand Management and PowerSmart Load Management, footnoted for the Classic as 'Requires Vue Home Energy Monitor' and for the Pro as 'Requires Vue Home Energy Monitor and PowerSmart upgrade'. The Classic section states 'Add the Vue Home Energy Monitor and we'll manage Peak Demand and automatically charge with your excess solar power', and Emporia's platform lists 'Excess Solar Management' as a named feature. The page also states 'PowerSmart comes standard with the Emporia Pro, but can be added to the Emporia Classic for an extra cost'. Emporia's own listed prices on the date accessed are not reprinted here. RE-READ October 17, 2026 for the smart-home roundup: every figure above is unchanged, the page additionally publishes 'Intelligent Load Sharing' for multiple chargers on one circuit and an in-app assistant ('Ask questions about your energy usage and get instant answers'), and it names NO third-party or smart-home integration of any kind - no Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home / HomeKit, Matter, Home Assistant, IFTTT, OCPP or public API appears anywhere on it (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • Emporia Energy — Pro EV Charger product page — Emporia's own listing for the Pro: up to 48 A hardwired on a 60-amp circuit or up to 40 A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, 25 ft cable, NEMA 4 rated for indoor or outdoor, UL listed and ENERGY STAR certified, 3-year warranty, and PowerSmart load management that requires the bundled Vue 3 energy monitor (accessed August 18, 2026)
  • EVIQO — Level 2 EV Charger, 40A (9.6 kW), NEMA 14-50 plug-in (Gen 2) — EVIQO's own product page: 40A / 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50 plug, SAE J1772, 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable, IP66 / NEMA 4 enclosure, UL / ETL / FCC / ENERGY STAR listings, 3-year standard warranty, app-adjustable 6-40A output, and a note that it needs an EV-grade 4-prong 14-50 receptacle rather than a dryer outlet. RE-READ September 15, 2026 for the garage roundup: the page additionally states an operating temperature range of -22F to 122F, that the app needs a 2.4 GHz WiFi connection, that the standard 3-year warranty is extendable to 4, and that the unit ships in 1-2 business days (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Lectron — NEXUS Level 2 J1772 EV Charging Station, 240V, 48 Amp, Hardwired — Lectron's own product page: up to 48 A continuous at 240 V for 11.5 kW, hardwire-only install by a licensed electrician on a dedicated 240 V circuit, IP66 weatherproof housing for indoor or outdoor use, 23 ft output cable of 15.0 mm (±0.3 mm) heavy-duty compound the brand states is 'engineered to stay flexible and easy to wrap around the wall mount, even in freezing weather', wall-mount J-hook and plug holder included, ETL listed to UL 2594 / UL 2231 / UL 2251 with ENERGY STAR and FCC certification, and a 3-year Lectron warranty. No operating-temperature range and no Wi-Fi or app support are published for this model (accessed August 20, 2026)
  • Wallbox — Pulsar Plus (US) product page — Wallbox's own US product page for the Pulsar Plus: sold in '40 and 48 Amps', with the 40A variant offering 'easy NEMA 14-50 plug installation'; 'Up to 11.5kW'; available with 'J1772 or NACS connectors' and 'No adapters needed'; 25 ft cable; Bluetooth and WiFi controlled through the Wallbox app; 'Dynamic Load Management' described as 'Maximize charging speed while staying within your home's power limit'; solar charging supported with the separately sold Power Meter accessory, with the caveat that 'Solar charging is not compatible with multiple-charger installations and OCPP'. Wallbox's own listed starting price on this page was $649.99 and the Power Meter accessory $299.00 on the date accessed (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • Ampure - Ampure Go portable Level 2 EV charger product page — Ampure's own specifications for the Go: 32 A / 7.7 kW at 240 V or 12 A / 1.4 kW at 120 V, input range 85-265 VAC at 45-65 Hz, SAE J1772 coupler, NEMA 14-50 and NEMA 5-15 cords, 20 ft (6 m) cable, IP67 rated 'submersible up to 3 feet' with a NEMA 6P watertight enclosure, operating range -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), 9 lb (4.1 kg) module, and listings to UL, cUL, UL 2594, UL 2231, UL 817, ICES, FCC, ENERGY STAR, REACH and RoHS. Ampure states 'up to 25 miles of range per hour' at 240 V. RE-READ October 10, 2026 for the review: every figure above is unchanged on the page. Confirmed again that this page publishes NO warranty term (that figure is on the store listing), NO app, WiFi or scheduling feature, and NO description of the unit's internal safety protections (no GFCI / CCID figure, no over-temperature behavior). The page describes the unit as an 'IP67-rated IC-CPD', i.e. an in-cable control and protection device, and the specification block gives the plug types as 'NEMA 14-50 & NEMA 5-15' alongside an 'IEC grid plug'. Ampure's current line separates this unit from a distinct 'Go 2 (NACS)' model; the specifications above are the Gen 1 J1772 unit Amazon lists as the 'Go 1' (accessed October 10, 2026)
  • ELEGRP Store - 40A Level 2 portable J1772 EV charger (NEMA 14-50) — ELEGRP's own listing: 40 A / 9.6 kW on 240 V AC at 50/60 Hz with selectable output at 16, 20, 24, 32 or 40 A, SAE J1772 connector on a NEMA 14-50 plug ('For NEMA 14-50 Outlets Only'), 25 ft cable (16 ft and 21 ft also offered), IP67 charging station and IP54 connector, operating range -22F to +122F (-30C to +50C), 1-to-12-hour delayed-start timer, 2-year warranty, 'ETL & UL' listed. RE-READ September 5, 2026 for the review: the specification table is unchanged, and the page additionally states 'Fully ETL certified and built with UL-listed components - including the J1772 plug, cable, and NEMA 14-50 connector', a built-in display reporting charging current, voltage, total energy delivered (kWh) and internal temperature with LED fault patterns, a wall-mounted holder plus anchors and a carry bag in the box, Tesla compatibility via a J1772-to-NACS adapter sold separately, a 30-day return window and 60-day price protection. The page does not name the UL standards, publish a weight, publish an ENERGY STAR certification, or publish app support for this SKU, and its marketing copy carries two conflicting range claims ('Up to 37 Miles/H' and '30 Miles Per Hour') plus an operating range ('-21F to 121F') that disagrees with its own specification table (accessed September 5, 2026)
  • UL Solutions — EV Charging Infrastructure Services — UL on EVSE safety certification: ANSI/UL 2594 is the Standard for Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • ENERGY STAR — Electric Vehicle Chargers — ENERGY STAR on EVSE efficiency: certified chargers use about 40% less energy in standby than non-certified units (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading