Level Two Club

Best EV Chargers for the Toyota bZ (bZ4X)

The bZ is the easiest car on this site to buy a charger for, and the reason is one sentence on Toyota's own page: the car has a NACS port and ships with a J1772 adapter. Every charger we list fits it. So the only decision left is amperage, and Toyota settles that too.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Our top pick for a Toyota bZ is the Lectron Nexus NACS 48A. It plugs straight into the car’s NACS port with no adapter, and its 48 amps deliver 11.5 kW — slightly more than the 11 kW Toyota says the bZ can accept, which means the car charges as fast as it is physically able to. It is for the owner who charges at home and wants the fastest the car can take, with nothing to log into. If you want an app and a longer warranty on the same connector, the ChargePoint Home Flex NACS does the same job for more; if your household also has a J1772 car, read on, because the adapter in the bZ’s trunk changes the answer.

Two facts from Toyota’s own 2027 bZ page decide this purchase. The first: “The 11-kW onboard AC charger allows you to take advantage of its Level 2 charging capability to charge your vehicle from 10% to 100% in around seven hours.” Eleven kilowatts at 240 volts is about 46 amps, which is our arithmetic, not Toyota’s — Toyota does not publish a maximum amperage. A 48-amp charger covers it with room to spare. An 80-amp charger does nothing extra.

The second: “bZ is equipped with a North American Charging System (NACS) charging port and includes separate CCS1 and J1772 adapters that expand your charging options.” That one line is why this page looks different from our Volkswagen ID.4 guide, where VW explicitly tells owners not to use its NACS adapter on a Level 2 charger. Toyota does the opposite: it hands you the adapter that makes J1772 chargers work. So the bZ can use a native NACS unit, or any J1772 unit through the included adapter, and you should pick on price, reach and whether you want software — not on connector shape.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) Charger

Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) Charger

For a Tesla owner who doesn't want to babysit an adapter: a native NACS (J3400) connector plugs straight into the car, at a full 48 amps, with the safety listings you want. No app, but Teslas schedule charging in the car anyway.

Best overall for the bZ
$449.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
ChargePoint Home Flex NACS

ChargePoint Home Flex NACS

The Home Flex smarts with a factory NACS cable. Tesla owners who want ChargePoint's mature app and adjustable 16-50A amperage — rather than a plain no-app NACS unit — pay a premium for exactly that.

Best NACS unit with an app
$516.71 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money: a full 48 amps, WiFi with scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. A strong value alternative to Emporia if you want maximum reach.

Best value 48A, via the included adapter
$449.99 · View on Amazon

$510.0012% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Best if you may also charge a J1772 car
$516.71 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Lectron Portable Level 2 Tesla Charger (NACS)

Lectron Portable Level 2 Tesla Charger (NACS)

The portable to buy if your car has a NACS port and you would rather not travel with an adapter. It is the Lectron 40A portable with a Tesla connector on the end: a full 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50, a 16-foot cable, ETL to UL 2594 / UL 2231 and an ENERGY STAR listing. The gap is documentation - Lectron publishes no enclosure rating, temperature range or warranty term for this SKU.

Best portable with a native NACS plug
$279.89 · View on Amazon

$319.9913% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A

Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A

One box, two cables, one circuit. The Duo Connect lets a two-EV household charge both cars overnight without a second charger, a second breaker or a panel upgrade — because it splits one 40-amp supply between the connectors rather than doubling it. That is the whole trade: convenience and a much cheaper install, at half the speed each when both cars are plugged in.

Best for a two-car NACS household
$899.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall for the bZ

Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) Charger

For a Tesla owner who doesn't want to babysit an adapter: a native NACS (J3400) connector plugs straight into the car, at a full 48 amps, with the safety listings you want. No app, but Teslas schedule charging in the car anyway.

Strengths

  • Native NACS connector — no J1772-to-Tesla adapter to lose
  • Full 48A output and a weather-rated IP66 body
  • UL/ETL safety listings plus ENERGY STAR

Trade-offs

  • No WiFi app — you schedule in the Tesla app instead
  • NACS connector is best for Tesla/NACS cars; other EVs need a NACS-to-J1772 adapter
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
NACS
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
No
Certifications
UL 2594/2231/2251 (ETL listed), ENERGY STAR, FCC

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, about 40 miles of range per hour into a Tesla.

Build note. Native NACS (J3400) connector plugs straight into a Tesla with no adapter; includes a holster.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best NACS unit with an app

ChargePoint Home Flex NACS

The Home Flex smarts with a factory NACS cable. Tesla owners who want ChargePoint's mature app and adjustable 16-50A amperage — rather than a plain no-app NACS unit — pay a premium for exactly that.

Strengths

  • Native NACS cable with ChargePoint's flexible 16-50A amperage
  • The most mature app of the NACS options here
  • 3-year warranty and outdoor-rated NEMA 3R body

Trade-offs

  • Priciest NACS pick — you're paying for the app and brand
  • 50A output needs a 60A circuit to use fully
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
NACS
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, roughly 42 miles of range per hour into a Tesla.

Build note. Same Home Flex hardware with a factory NACS cable for Tesla and NACS EVs.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best value 48A, via the included adapter

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money: a full 48 amps, WiFi with scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. A strong value alternative to Emporia if you want maximum reach.

Strengths

  • 48A output with WiFi scheduling at a value price
  • 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable — excellent reach
  • UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR listings

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired version needs a 60A circuit and an electrician
  • Smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint or Wallbox
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, about 40 miles of range per hour.

Build note. Ships with a 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable — among the longest reach in class.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best if you may also charge a J1772 car

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A means it fits a small panel now and a bigger circuit later
  • The most mature app of the group — scheduling, reminders, usage history, over-the-air firmware
  • 3-year warranty and a long 23 ft cable
  • Sold hardwired or on a NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50 plug, in J1772 or NACS

Trade-offs

  • You pay a premium over value 48A chargers for the app and brand
  • Full 50A output needs a 60A circuit most older panels don't have to spare
  • The plug-in SKUs cap at 40A, so the top speed is a hardwired-only feature
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired, NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and a typical 3.5 miles per kWh, the Home Flex adds roughly 42 miles of range per hour. Dial it down to 40A to fit a 50A circuit and you get about 34. ChargePoint's own, more conservative claim is up to 37 miles per hour hardwired and 30 on the plug-in SKUs.

Build note. Amperage is set in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A. The plug-in SKUs are capped at 40A, so the full 50A is a hardwired-only figure. UL and cUL listed per UL 2594 and UL 2231; firmware updates over the air, and the station stores up to 90 days of session data locally if the network drops.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best portable with a native NACS plug

Lectron Portable Level 2 Tesla Charger (NACS)

The portable to buy if your car has a NACS port and you would rather not travel with an adapter. It is the Lectron 40A portable with a Tesla connector on the end: a full 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50, a 16-foot cable, ETL to UL 2594 / UL 2231 and an ENERGY STAR listing. The gap is documentation - Lectron publishes no enclosure rating, temperature range or warranty term for this SKU.

Strengths

  • Native NACS connector - no adapter to lose in a hotel parking lot
  • A genuine 40A / 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50, and ENERGY STAR certified
  • ETL listed to UL 2594 / UL 2231, with a UL 2251 handle

Trade-offs

  • Lectron publishes no enclosure rating, temperature range or warranty term for this SKU
  • A 16 ft cable is short if the charger has to reach across a garage
  • The base unit has no app - the WiFi version is a separate, dearer SKU
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
NACS
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
16 ft
Warranty
Not published
WiFi + app
No
Certifications
ETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231), ENERGY STAR, FCC; UL 2251 handle

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour.

Build note. Portable NACS unit on a NEMA 14-50 plug with a 16 ft cable and LED status indicators; Lectron describes it as weather-resistant for indoor or outdoor use while advising against extreme weather exposure, and publishes no enclosure rating for it.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#6Best for a two-car NACS household

Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A

One box, two cables, one circuit. The Duo Connect lets a two-EV household charge both cars overnight without a second charger, a second breaker or a panel upgrade — because it splits one 40-amp supply between the connectors rather than doubling it. That is the whole trade: convenience and a much cheaper install, at half the speed each when both cars are plugged in.

Strengths

  • Charges two EVs from one 40 A circuit — no second breaker, no panel upgrade
  • Grizzl-E's cast-aluminum, IP67-sealed body with two 25 ft cold-flexible cables
  • Per-connector current limits and scheduling in the Grizzl-E Connect app

Trade-offs

  • 40 A is the TOTAL, not per car — two cars charging at once get about 4.8 kW each
  • Costs roughly what two single chargers cost, so the saving is in the wiring, not the box
  • This Amazon SKU is NACS-to-NACS; a mixed-fleet household needs a different cable pairing
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
NACS
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug or hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
Not published
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL tested and certified

Our charging-speed math. The 40 A / 9.6 kW rating is for the whole unit. One car alone gets the full 9.6 kW — about 34 miles of range per hour at ~3.5 mi/kWh. Two cars at once split it: roughly 4.8 kW, or about 17 miles per hour, each.

Build note. Two 25 ft output cables from a single cast-aluminum, IP67-sealed body rated -30C to +50C, with an LED per connector and a DIP-switch current selector (16/24/32/40 A). Grizzl-E states dual charging automatically splits the available current in half, or you can set each connector's current in the Grizzl-E Connect app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 12, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Why 48 amps is the ceiling worth paying for

Charging speed at home is set by the lower of two numbers: what the charger can push, and what the car’s onboard charger can accept. Toyota publishes the second number — 11 kW — and that is the end of the argument. A 48-amp charger delivers 11.5 kW, so it saturates the bZ. A 50-amp charger delivers 12 kW, and the extra half kilowatt is thrown away inside the car. The 80-amp MaxiCharger we rank as the fastest Level 2 charger on the market would charge a bZ at exactly the same rate as a unit costing a third as much, while demanding a 100-amp circuit to do it.

It is worth seeing what the step down costs, because for a lot of owners it is the right trade. A 40-amp charger delivers 9.6 kW, which is 87% of what the bZ accepts. Scaling Toyota’s own figure — 10% to 100% in around seven hours at 11 kW — that becomes roughly eight hours on a 40-amp unit. One extra hour, overnight, on a full charge you will rarely do. If you already have a NEMA 14-50 outlet where the car parks, a 40-amp plug-in charger is the cheaper and faster route to being done, and our plug-in roundup covers it.

In miles, the comparison depends on an efficiency figure Toyota does not publish. The page gives EPA-estimated range ratings of 236 miles on the XLE, 314 on the XLE FWD Plus and 288 on the XLE AWD, but it does not publish the battery’s capacity in kilowatt-hours, so there is no way to derive the car’s own miles-per-kWh from Toyota’s numbers. Using this site’s standing reference of about 3.5 miles per kWh, 11 kW is roughly 38 miles of range per hour and 9.6 kW is roughly 34. Those are our figures with our assumption stated, and a bZ driven in winter will beat neither.

The adapter question, answered properly

An adapter sitting between a wall charger and the car is the thing most bZ owners worry about, and the worry is mostly misplaced for AC charging. Toyota supplies the J1772 adapter itself and describes it as expanding your charging options, which is about as clear an endorsement as a manufacturer gives. A Level 2 AC adapter is a passive connector — it does not convert anything, and as Lectron’s own FAQ puts it, adapters “don’t generate power — they only enable compatibility between chargers and vehicles.”

What it does cost you is a daily step and a thing to lose. The adapter lives on the end of the charging cable or in the car, it has to go on and come off every session unless you leave it attached to the handle, and an adapter left attached outdoors is one more unsealed junction in the weather. If the bZ is the only EV in the household and it will live on one charger, a native NACS unit removes all of that for no extra money — which is why our top two picks are NACS. If a second, J1772 car shares the driveway, the calculation flips and a J1772 charger plus the bZ’s own adapter covers both cars from one cable. Our mixed-household guide works through all three routes.

What Toyota puts in the trunk, and whether it is enough

The bZ ships with what Toyota calls a “portable dual-voltage charging cable,” and the page claims that with it “you can take advantage of Level 2 charging capabilities at home without needing additional charging hardware.” Read that carefully before you decide you need nothing. The cable does 240-volt charging, so it is genuinely Level 2 — but Toyota does not publish its amperage, its power in kilowatts, or its cord length anywhere on that page. Our own 120-volt reference for an included cable is around 1.4 kW; Toyota publishes no 240-volt figure at all for this one.

So the honest position is this: the included cable will charge the car at 240 volts, at a rate Toyota has not disclosed, from an outlet you probably do not have yet. You still need a 240-volt outlet installed, which is most of the cost of a charger install anyway — see our NEMA 14-50 guide and our install cost breakdown. Once you are paying an electrician to put a 240-volt circuit where the car parks, the marginal cost of a known-rate 48-amp charger over an unspecified bundled cable is small, and it is the difference between a figure you can plan around and one you cannot.

Picking by where the car parks

Everything above is about speed. The specs that actually decide which of these six you should buy are reach and weather, and they come down to your driveway rather than your car.

Reach.The charging cables here run from 16 to 25 feet. Measure from where the box will be mounted to the bZ’s charge port in the position it actually parks, along the route the cable will take, with slack so it is never taut. The EVIQO adds a 40-inch input lead on top of its 25-foot cable, which buys the box some freedom from the outlet. Our long-cable roundup ranks on reach alone, and extension cords are not a fix.

Weather. If the charger lives outside, the enclosure rating matters more than the amperage. Of the picks here, EVIQO publishes IP66 / NEMA 4 and an operating range of -22F to 122F; Lectron publishes IP66 on the Nexus units but no temperature range; ChargePoint publishes Type 3R; the Grizzl-E Duo publishes IP67. The portable Lectron publishes no enclosure rating at all, which is a finding rather than a gap in our research. Our ratings explainer covers what each code protects against, and our outdoor roundup ranks on it.

The circuit.Every 48-amp pick here is hardwired onto a 60-amp circuit, because the NEC treats EV charging as a continuous load and requires the circuit to be sized at 125% of it. If your panel cannot spare 60 amps, that is not the end of the project — read panel capacity and our small-panel picks before you assume you need a service upgrade.

What we did not do on this page

We did not rank the Toyota-branded or dealer-supplied wall charger, because Toyota’s own bZ page does not publish its specifications and we do not fill in a spec table from a dealer blog. We have not driven or instrumented a bZ, and nothing above is a measured charging result — the seven-hour and 30-minute figures are Toyota’s, the amperage and miles-per-hour figures are our arithmetic with the assumption printed, and the charger specs come from each manufacturer’s own documents on the dated visits in our sources. Our methodology page spells out exactly what that means.

Frequently asked questions

What size charger does a Toyota bZ need?

A 48-amp charger on a 60-amp circuit, if you want the car's full speed. Toyota publishes an 11 kW onboard AC charger for the bZ, which is about 46 amps at 240 volts by our arithmetic, so a 48-amp unit delivering 11.5 kW saturates it and anything larger is wasted. A 40-amp charger delivers 9.6 kW, about 87% of the car's capability, which by our scaling of Toyota's own seven-hour figure means roughly an eight-hour full charge instead of seven.

Does the Toyota bZ use NACS or J1772?

Both, in practice. Toyota states the bZ 'is equipped with a North American Charging System (NACS) charging port and includes separate CCS1 and J1772 adapters that expand your charging options.' So the car's port is NACS, and the J1772 adapter in the box lets it use any J1772 home charger. That is the opposite of the Volkswagen ID.4, whose own page tells owners not to use its NACS adapter on a Level 2 charger.

Can I use the charging cable that came with the bZ instead of buying a charger?

At 240 volts, yes - Toyota says the included dual-voltage cable lets you 'take advantage of Level 2 charging capabilities at home without needing additional charging hardware.' But Toyota does not publish that cable's amperage, power or cord length anywhere on the bZ page, so you cannot plan around its charging rate, and you still need a 240-volt outlet installed, which is most of the cost of a charger install. If you are paying for the circuit anyway, a charger with published specs is a small step up.

How long does it take to charge a Toyota bZ at home?

Toyota's own figure is 'from 10% to 100% in around seven hours' on its 11 kW onboard charger. Scaling that by power, a 40-amp (9.6 kW) charger works out to roughly eight hours for the same charge - our arithmetic from Toyota's number, not a figure Toyota publishes. Toyota separately states DC fast charging takes the car from 10% to 80% in around 30 minutes under ideal conditions.

Is an 80-amp charger worth it for a bZ?

No. The car accepts 11 kW, so an 80-amp, 19.2 kW charger would charge a bZ at exactly the same rate as a 48-amp unit while requiring a 100-amp circuit and costing substantially more. Our fastest-charger roundup exists for the small number of cars with a 19.2 kW onboard charger; the bZ is not one of them.

Do I need an adapter for a home charger with the bZ?

Only if you buy a J1772 charger - and in that case Toyota already supplied the adapter. A native NACS charger like the Lectron Nexus NACS plugs straight in with nothing in between, which is why it is our top pick for a single-bZ household. If a second, J1772 car shares the driveway, a J1772 charger plus the bZ's own adapter covers both cars from one cable.

What is the difference between the bZ and the bZ4X?

It is the same model line - Toyota renamed the bZ4X to simply 'bZ' for the 2026 model year onward. The 2027 bZ page we cite publishes the 11 kW onboard charger, the NACS port and the included CCS1 and J1772 adapters. If you own an earlier bZ4X, check your own charge port and included equipment against the car's documentation, because the connector changed across model years.

Sources

  • Toyota - 2027 bZ (official US model page, 'Charging with Confidence' panels) — Toyota's own US page for the 2027 bZ, the model previously sold as the bZ4X. Its 'Flexible AC Charging' panel states that 'bZ's 11-kW onboard charger transforms powering up into a simple part of your routine'. The 'Level 2: 240-Volt' panel states: 'The 11-kW onboard AC charger allows you to take advantage of its Level 2 charging capability to charge your vehicle from 10% to 100% in around seven hours.' The 'NACS Charging Port' panel states: 'bZ is equipped with a North American Charging System (NACS) charging port and includes separate CCS1 and J1772 adapters that expand your charging options.' The 'Level 1: 120-Volt' panel states it is 'A great pick for drivers who don’t routinely take long trips. Simply use a common household 3-prong outlet and the included dual-voltage charging cable to top off your charge when you’re not on the go', and the 'Toyota Dual-Voltage Charging Cable' panel states: 'With bZ’s included portable dual-voltage charging cable, you can take advantage of Level 2 charging capabilities at home without needing additional charging hardware.' DC fast charging is '10% to 80% in around 30 minutes' under ideal conditions. EPA-estimated range ratings on the page are 236 miles (XLE), 314 miles (XLE FWD Plus) and 288 miles (XLE AWD). Toyota does NOT publish the battery capacity in kWh, a maximum onboard-charger amperage, the dual-voltage cable's amperage or cord length, or the connector type on the included J1772 adapter - so the ~46 A figure on our page is our own arithmetic from 11 kW at 240 V, and the miles-per-hour figures are ours. Vehicle pricing shown on the page is not reprinted here (accessed October 5, 2026)
  • Lectron — NEXUS Level 2 J1772 EV Charging Station, 240V, 48 Amp, Hardwired — Lectron's own product page: up to 48 A continuous at 240 V for 11.5 kW, hardwire-only install by a licensed electrician on a dedicated 240 V circuit, IP66 weatherproof housing for indoor or outdoor use, 23 ft output cable of 15.0 mm (±0.3 mm) heavy-duty compound the brand states is 'engineered to stay flexible and easy to wrap around the wall mount, even in freezing weather', wall-mount J-hook and plug holder included, ETL listed to UL 2594 / UL 2231 / UL 2251 with ENERGY STAR and FCC certification, and a 3-year Lectron warranty. No operating-temperature range and no Wi-Fi or app support are published for this model (accessed August 20, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex datasheet (PDF) — ChargePoint's own datasheet: enclosure rating Type 3R per UL 50E, operating temperature -22F to 122F, 23 ft cable, plus installer notes that an outdoor plug-in install requires an outdoor-rated GFCI breaker upstream while an external GFCI may conflict with the charger's internal ground-fault protection on a hardwired install. RE-READ September 3, 2026 for the review refresh: the same datasheet also publishes maximum 12 kW (240V AC x 50A) with output amperage adjustable via the mobile app to 16A, 24A, 32A, 40A, 48A or 50A; a required dedicated dual-pole breaker rated for 125% of maximum load; 'Software Updates: Firmware updated over-the-air (OTA)'; 2.4/5 GHz Wi-Fi (802.11 a/b/g/n); local storage of up to 90 days of charging session data (100 sessions) if the network drops; power measurement accuracy +/- 2.0%; ground-fault detection by 20 mA CCID with auto retry; and UL and cUL listing per UL 2594, UL 2231-1 and UL 2231-2, NEC Article 625 compliant. Ordering information lists the plug-in station models CPH50-NEMA6-50-L23 and CPH50-NEMA14-50-L23 (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex home charger product page — ChargePoint's own current product page for the Home Flex, read for the 2026-09-03 review refresh: three install configurations are offered — hardwired, NEMA 6-50 plug and NEMA 14-50 plug — with 'up to 50 amps of power delivered to your EV' on the hardwired model and 'up to 40A of power' on the plug-in models. ChargePoint's own range claim is 'up to 37 miles of range per hour' hardwired and '30 miles of range per hour' plug-in. J1772 and NACS connectors are offered across all configurations, and ChargePoint states the unit is 'UL Listed for safety', 'ENERGY STAR certified for efficiency' and carries a '3-year warranty' (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • EVIQO — Level 2 EV Charger, 40A (9.6 kW), NEMA 14-50 plug-in (Gen 2) — EVIQO's own product page: 40A / 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50 plug, SAE J1772, 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable, IP66 / NEMA 4 enclosure, UL / ETL / FCC / ENERGY STAR listings, 3-year standard warranty, app-adjustable 6-40A output, and a note that it needs an EV-grade 4-prong 14-50 receptacle rather than a dryer outlet. RE-READ September 15, 2026 for the garage roundup: the page additionally states an operating temperature range of -22F to 122F, that the app needs a 2.4 GHz WiFi connection, that the standard 3-year warranty is extendable to 4, and that the unit ships in 1-2 business days (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Lectron - Portable Level 2 Tesla (NACS) EV Charger, 240V, 40 Amp, NEMA 14-50 — Lectron's own product page: 40 A / 240 V / 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50 plug with a native NACS connector for Tesla Models S/3/X/Y/Cybertruck and any NACS EV, 16 ft cable, ETL listed to UL 2594 / UL 2231 with a UL 2251 handle plus ENERGY STAR and FCC, LED status indicators on the base SKU with app control only on the separate WiFi version. Lectron describes the unit as weather-resistant for indoor or outdoor use while advising against extreme weather exposure, and its spec block publishes no enclosure rating, no operating-temperature range and no warranty term. RE-READ October 17, 2026 for the review, and the page is unchanged on every spec above. Additional detail captured on that visit: the page sells two SKUs at different prices, a WiFi version and a 'Plug & Play' version, and states that the Lectron App works on the 'WiFi version ONLY'; the range claims are inconsistent across the same page - '260+ miles overnight', 'up to 36 miles of range per hour' and '30+ miles of range per hour' - with a disclaimer that actual speed depends on the vehicle, state of charge and temperature; the enclosure figures appear only in image copy and disagree with each other (IP65 described as dust and water resistance, IP54 described as dust-tight and splash-resistant), while the body copy publishes no rating at all; the UL references are likewise inconsistent (the sidebar and FAQ read 'UL2594 / UL2231 Certified' while the body text attributes UL 2251 to the handle); a carrying case is included; a CCS1-to-NACS adapter is offered as a paid bundle add-on rather than included; J1772 cars are said to work through a Tesla/NACS-to-J1772 adapter; shipping is quoted at 1-2 working days with 30-day returns. Still NOT published anywhere on the page: operating-temperature range, warranty term, weight, dimensions, a complete box inventory, a single consistent IP rating or a single consistent UL standard for the charger itself (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A technical specifications — Grizzl-E's own spec table for the Duo Connect 40A: two output cables, Type 1 (J1772) and NACS Level 2 connections, aluminum enclosure, operating temperature -30C to +50C, IP67 protection, 25 ft output cable length, 18 in input cable, 208-240 VAC, nominal input current 16/24/32/40 A, maximum output current 40 A, one LED indicator per connector, DIP-switch power selector, 40 lb unit weight (accessed August 12, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A product overview — Grizzl-E's own overview for the Duo Connect 40A: a dual-port Wi-Fi connected 40A plug-in charger whose dual charging 'automatically splits the available current in half, or you can set individual charging currents for each connector with the Grizzl-E Connect app', with scheduling, usage history, remote lockout, monitoring and diagnostics in the app (accessed August 12, 2026)
  • Lectron - EV Charging FAQ — Lectron's own FAQ, read for its plug-and-cord guidance: 'It's recommended to plug the charger directly into a dedicated outlet without extension cords', with a safety list that reads 'Always match plug and outlet ratings (volts/amps)', 'Use GFCI protection for outdoor plugs', 'Avoid extension cords or daisy-chaining', 'Inspect plugs and cables regularly' and 'Hire a licensed electrician for installation'. Its NEMA table publishes 5-15 as 120V / 15A, 5-20 as 120V / 20A, 6-20 as 240V / 20A, 10-30 / 14-30 as 240V / 30A ('Common in older dryers') and 14-50 as 240V / 50A, and states that Lectron offers NEMA 5-15, 14-50 and 10-30 plug options for portable charging. Also states that a Tesla owner can use the J1772-to-Tesla adapter 'included with most Tesla', and that adapters 'don't generate power - they only enable compatibility between chargers and vehicles' (accessed September 17, 2026)
  • SAE International — J3400 North American Charging System (NACS) — The SAE J3400 / NACS standard (the Tesla-derived connector) now being adopted industry-wide (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • SAE International — J1772 Conductive Charge Coupler — The SAE J1772 connector standard for AC Level 1 and Level 2 charging in North America (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger Installations — NFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Electric Vehicle Charging Stations — US DOE on charging levels: Level 1 (~1.9 kW, ~5 mi/hr), Level 2 (2.9-19.2 kW, ~7.2 kW typical residential, ~25 mi/hr), and DC fast charging (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • FuelEconomy.gov — Electric Vehicles: Learn More About the Label — DOE/EPA on EV efficiency: kWh per 100 miles and MPGe, accounting for AC charging losses (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading