Level Two Club

Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A Review

Two cables, one circuit, one box on the wall. The dual-port charger that lets a two-EV household stop moving a cable — and the arithmetic that decides whether the halved speed matters.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

The second EV creates a problem that is electrical, not automotive. Two chargers means two circuits, two breakers, two conductor runs and a load calculation that has to accommodate both at full output — which for many homes is the moment a service upgrade appears on the quote. The Duo Connect exists to avoid all of that: one 40-amp supply, one box, and two 25-foot cables.

The specification you must understand before buying is that 40 amps is the total for the unit, not per connector. Grizzl-E states that dual charging automatically splits the available current in half, or you can set individual currents per connector in the Grizzl-E Connect app. So one car alone gets the full 9.6 kW; two cars at once get about 4.8 kW each. That single sentence is the entire trade this product asks you to make, and the rest of this review is about whether it is a good one for you.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

#1Best dual-port charger

Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A

One box, two cables, one circuit. The Duo Connect lets a two-EV household charge both cars overnight without a second charger, a second breaker or a panel upgrade — because it splits one 40-amp supply between the connectors rather than doubling it. That is the whole trade: convenience and a much cheaper install, at half the speed each when both cars are plugged in.

Strengths

  • Charges two EVs from one 40 A circuit — no second breaker, no panel upgrade
  • Grizzl-E's cast-aluminum, IP67-sealed body with two 25 ft cold-flexible cables
  • Per-connector current limits and scheduling in the Grizzl-E Connect app

Trade-offs

  • 40 A is the TOTAL, not per car — two cars charging at once get about 4.8 kW each
  • Costs roughly what two single chargers cost, so the saving is in the wiring, not the box
  • This Amazon SKU is NACS-to-NACS; a mixed-fleet household needs a different cable pairing
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
NACS
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug or hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
Not published
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL tested and certified

Our charging-speed math. The 40 A / 9.6 kW rating is for the whole unit. One car alone gets the full 9.6 kW — about 34 miles of range per hour at ~3.5 mi/kWh. Two cars at once split it: roughly 4.8 kW, or about 17 miles per hour, each.

Build note. Two 25 ft output cables from a single cast-aluminum, IP67-sealed body rated -30C to +50C, with an LED per connector and a DIP-switch current selector (16/24/32/40 A). Grizzl-E states dual charging automatically splits the available current in half, or you can set each connector's current in the Grizzl-E Connect app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 12, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

The current split, in numbers

Start with the specification everything else follows from. Grizzl-E’s spec table for the Duo Connect 40A gives a maximum output current of 40 A and a maximum output power of 10 kW on a 50-amp breaker. Those are figures for the unit, not per connector. The overview page then states the behavior explicitly: dual charging automatically splits the available current in half, or you set individual currents per connector in the app.

Turned into the numbers that matter to a driver, at 240 volts and our standard reference of about 3.5 miles of range per kWh:

  • One car plugged in: 40 A, 9.6 kW, about 34 miles of range per hour.
  • Two cars plugged in: roughly 20 A each, about 4.8 kW each, about 17 miles per hour each— roughly 34 miles per hour of combined throughput.
  • Across a ten-hour night with both plugged in: around 170 miles into each car.

That last figure is the one to sit with. For two commuters, 170 miles of overnight replenishment each is an enormous surplus. For two households sharing one vehicle’s worth of long-distance driving, it may not be. Work out your own numbers with our charging time guide before deciding the split is a compromise.

What you are actually buying: the avoided install

Be clear-eyed about the economics. The Duo costs roughly what two decent single chargers cost, so the hardware is not where you save. The saving is on the other side of the wall:

  • One circuit instead of two. One breaker, one run of conductors, one set of terminations. On a long run to a detached garage, the conductor cost alone can be several hundred dollars.
  • One load in the panel calculation instead of two.This is the big one. Two 40-amp chargers is 80 amps of continuous load to account for; the Duo is 40. That difference decides whether a service upgrade appears on your quote — see our panel capacity guide.
  • One thing to mount, permit and inspect. Simpler job, simpler paperwork, and one inspection.

So the honest framing is not “a dual charger is cheaper than two chargers.” It is “a dual charger lets a two-EV household spend a normal single-charger electrical budget.” If your panel has ample spare capacity and both bays are close to it, two independent chargers may well be the better buy — you get full speed to both cars and independent failure. If the panel is the constraint, the Duo is solving exactly the right problem.

Build and weather

Physically it is a Grizzl-E: an aluminum enclosure with IP67 protection, rated by the company from -30°C to +50°C (-22°F to 122°F), with two 25-foot output cables, an 18-inch input lead and an LED indicator per connector. It weighs about 40 pounds, which is roughly double a single unit and worth knowing before you choose a mounting position — this wants proper structure behind it, not drywall anchors.

Two 25-foot cables from one point is a real planning advantage. Mounted centrally between two bays, each cable only has to reach one car, so you avoid the long diagonal run that makes single-charger two-bay setups awkward. Grizzl-E also builds its cables to stay flexible in cold weather, which matters twice as much when there are two of them to coil. Our placement guide covers how to work out the position before the electrician arrives.

The app, and the per-connector control

Grizzl-E’s overview describes the Duo Connect as a Wi-Fi connected charger shipping with the Grizzl-E Connectapp, with schedules, usage history, remote lockout, monitoring and diagnostics — and, specifically for this model, the ability to set amperages for each connector.

That last capability is more useful than it first appears. An automatic 50/50 split is the sensible default, but real households are not symmetrical: one car may be a long-range EV that needs most of the current and one a plug-in hybrid that cannot use it anyway. Being able to allocate, say, 30 amps to one connector and 10 to the other turns the Duo from a blunt splitter into something closer to a small load-management system. If your two vehicles have very different appetites — see our PHEV guide— that alone can remove the speed objection entirely.

The connector caveat, said clearly

The Amazon SKU we track for the Duo Connect 40A is the NACS-to-NACS variant — two Tesla-style plugs. Grizzl-E lists the Duo Connect with J1772 and NACS cable options, so other pairings exist, but the cables are not user-swappable and you are committing to a connector layout for the life of the unit.

For a two-Tesla household that is ideal, and removes two adapters from your life at once. For a mixed fleet, check the exact listing before ordering, and consider whether a J1772 pairing plus the Tesla’s own bundled adapter is the more flexible arrangement — it covers every car either way. Our connector guide lays out the whole picture.

What Grizzl-E does not publish

Two gaps worth stating rather than glossing. Grizzl-E’s spec table for the Duo Connect 40A does not publish a warranty termfor this model, so our spec table records “Not published” — ask the seller before you buy, because Grizzl-E does publish warranty terms for other models in its range. And it does not state an ENERGY STARcertification for this unit, which matters only if you are chasing a rebate that requires one; check the exact model against the program’s qualifying list, and see our ENERGY STAR roundup for units where the manufacturer publishes it.

Who should buy it — and who should skip it

Buy it if you have two NACS vehicles, a panel with room for exactly one 40-amp charger, and no appetite for moving a cable every night. It is the cleanest solution to that specific problem: one permit, one circuit, one box, two cars, and a build tough enough to sit outside in a real winter. Buy it too if your two cars have different charging appetites, because per-connector allocation makes the split work in your favor rather than against it.

Skip itif both cars regularly need most of a night’s charging — then you need two real circuits, and the roundup at best chargers for two cars covers the load-shared alternatives. Skip it if your vehicles use different connectors and this SKU does not match them. Skip it if your panel has plenty of headroom and both bays are close by, where two Grizzl-E Smart units would give full speed to each car for similar money. And skip it if you have not yet tried the free option: for a great many two-EV households, one charger and a cable moved twice a week is genuinely enough.

Frequently asked questions

Does the Grizzl-E Duo charge two cars at full speed?

No. Grizzl-E's own documentation states that dual charging automatically splits the available current in half, or you can set individual charging currents per connector in the Grizzl-E Connect app. With both cars plugged in, each receives roughly 20 amps — about 4.8 kW, or around 17 miles of range per hour at our reference efficiency. A single car plugged in on its own receives the full 40 amps, about 34 miles per hour.

What circuit does the Grizzl-E Duo Connect need?

For its full 40 amps, a 50-amp circuit — the same as any single 40-amp charger, because the unit's total draw is capped at 40 amps regardless of how many cars are plugged in. That is the point of the product. The DIP switch also sets 32, 24 or 16 amps, which correspondingly allows a 40, 30 or 20 amp circuit. Grizzl-E offers the Duo Connect 40A as a NEMA 14-50 plug-in unit and states it can also be hardwired.

Is a dual-port charger cheaper than two separate chargers?

Rarely as hardware — expect to pay roughly what two mid-range chargers cost. The saving is in the electrical work: one circuit instead of two, one breaker, one conductor run, one wall penetration, and only one charger's worth of load in the panel calculation. Where the panel is tight or the run is long, that saving is substantial and can be the difference between a straightforward job and a service upgrade.

Which connectors does the Grizzl-E Duo come with?

It depends on the SKU, and this matters. Grizzl-E builds the Duo Connect 40A with J1772 and NACS cable options, and the Amazon listing we track is the NACS-to-NACS variant — two Tesla-style plugs, suited to a household where both vehicles are NACS. If your two cars use different connectors, check the specific listing carefully before ordering, because the cables are not something you swap later.

Is it rated for outdoor installation?

Grizzl-E publishes an aluminum enclosure with IP67 protection and an operating temperature range of -30C to +50C (-22F to +122F) for the Duo Connect 40A. Under IEC 60529, a first numeral of 6 means dust-tight and a second numeral of 7 means protected against temporary immersion. That is a strong rating for a wall unit. As with any plug-in charger installed outdoors, the receptacle itself needs a weatherproof in-use enclosure and correct ground-fault protection.

Is the Duo Connect better than load-sharing two separate chargers?

Two load-shared chargers give each car full speed when the other is unplugged and split output only when both are charging, which is functionally better — but it needs two chargers that support sharing, two mounting positions, and correct configuration. The Duo does the same job from one box on one circuit with nothing to coordinate. Choose the Duo for simplicity and a single install; choose two shared chargers if you want each bay independently serviceable.

Sources

Keep reading