Level Two Club

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A Review

Grizzl-E's answer to the obvious criticism of its own chargers: the cast-aluminum, weather-sealed box people buy it for, with a WiFi radio and a real app added — and a DIP switch still deciding the amps.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Updated 3 September 2026: this page used to cover the Grizzl-E Smart, which Grizzl-E has discontinued — its product page is gone from the company’s own shop and its Amazon listing returns “Currently unavailable.” The review now covers the charger that replaced it, the Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A, which Grizzl-E calls “the next-generation Grizzl-E Charger” with “updated electronics and improved performance.” Every spec below was re-read from Grizzl-E’s own pages for the Classic Connect on that date.

Grizzl-E built its reputation on a deliberately unfashionable idea: put the electronics in a cast-aluminum box, seal it properly, and leave the software out. That produced chargers people trusted in a Canadian winter and criticized for having no app. The Classic Connect is the answer to the criticism — the same enclosure philosophy with WiFi and the Grizzl-E Connect app added, in a unit that plugs in rather than hardwiring.

The specification list is genuinely unusual for the money: a NEMA 4 / IP67 cast-aluminum body rated by Grizzl-E from -22°F to 122°F, a 25-foot cable built to stay flexible in the cold, scheduling, usage history and utility demand-response in the app, and a NEMA 14-50 plug with a choice of J1772 or NACS on the car end. The compromises are equally specific: 40 amps is the ceiling, the amperage is set on a physical DIP switch rather than in the app, and Grizzl-E’s own pages do not publish an ENERGY STAR certification for this model. Here is the whole picture.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

#1Best built plug-in

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A

Grizzl-E's cast-aluminum build with a WiFi radio in it. You get the IP67 body and the cold-flexible 25 ft cable that made the brand's name, plus scheduling, usage history and utility demand-response programs in the Grizzl-E Connect app — in a plug-in unit that comes off the wall when you move. The amperage is still set with a DIP switch, which is either charmingly honest or annoyingly analog depending on your taste.

Strengths

  • Cast-aluminum NEMA 4 / IP67 body rated -22F to 122F, in a plug-in unit
  • WiFi and the Grizzl-E Connect app for scheduling, usage history and remote lockout
  • 25 ft cold-flexible output cable, offered with a J1772 or a NACS connector

Trade-offs

  • 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling — no 48A option in this model
  • Amperage is set by a physical DIP switch, not in the app
  • Grizzl-E's own pages don't publish an ENERGY STAR certification for this model
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL/cUL listed (file E510712)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour. The DIP switch also sets 32, 24 or 16 amps if your circuit is smaller.

Build note. Cast-aluminum enclosure with IP67 sealing, rated -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F); 25 ft output cable on an 18 in input lead, current set by DIP switch (16/24/32/40 A), status on an LED, and WiFi to the Grizzl-E Connect app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

The build, which is still the reason to buy it

Grizzl-E’s spec table for the Classic Connect lists an aluminum enclosure with IP67 protection and an operating range of -30°C to +50°C (-22°F to 122°F); the company’s own overview page describes it as a UL Type 4 water-resistant cast aluminum enclosure. Read the IP code carefully, because it is worth understanding rather than nodding at: under IEC 60529, a first numeral of 6 means dust-tight, and a second numeral of 7 means protected against temporary immersion in water. NEMA is explicit that you cannot convert IP designations back into NEMA types, which is why we quote both exactly as published rather than translating one into the other.

In plain terms: this is a properly sealed metal box. The practical difference against a plastic-bodied budget charger is not usually water — most survive rain — it is impact, UV, and a decade of thermal cycling. Aluminum shrugs off the reversing trailer that would crack a polycarbonate housing.

The 25-foot cable matters more than the enclosure for daily life in a cold climate. Grizzl-E specifically builds its output cables to stay flexible in low temperatures, and that is the winter complaint owners actually have — not that the charger stopped, but that the cable turned into a frozen hose and coiling it became a two-handed fight. It is why Grizzl-E units keep appearing on our cold-weather list.

What “Connect” means here

Grizzl-E’s own overview for this model is unambiguous: it is “the Wi-Fi Connected Smart Level 2 EVSE for home use”, shipping with the Grizzl-E Connect app, offering charging statistics, charging schedules, remote control, lockout to stop anyone else using it, updates and diagnostics. That is a real feature set rather than a marketing adjective, and it is the specific gap the model exists to close in Grizzl-E’s line-up. The lockout in particular is why this unit tops our rental-property roundup, and the cast body is why it holds its own against the plastic reference unit in Grizzl-E vs ChargePoint Home Flex.

The more interesting claim is utility Demand/Response participation, which Grizzl-E publishes for the connected unit. Managed-charging programs pay you to let the utility shift or trim your charging at peak, and they require a charger the utility can actually talk to — which a Grizzl-E Classic cannot be. If your utility runs one, that enrollment is worth more per year than the price difference between the two models. Check the program’s own approved-hardware list first.

One thing this model does not publish, which the discontinued Smart did, is OCPP 1.6J support — the open protocol that would let third-party software drive the charger instead of the manufacturer’s app. Grizzl-E advertises OCPP access for some of its hardware, but not on this model’s spec sheet or overview, so we do not credit it here. If vendor independence is the reason you were buying, ask Grizzl-E directly before you order.

Whether any of this is worth paying for depends on your car. If your EV schedules charging natively — and nearly all do — the app’s scheduling is duplicative, and its real value is the energy history, the lockout and the utility program. We argue that case both ways in smart vs dumb chargers.

The DIP switch: an inconvenience that is also a feature

Maximum current is set physically at 16, 24, 32 or 40 amps. There is no slider in the app. Changing it means getting the cover off, which is a genuine inconvenience compared with the ChargePoint Home Flex’s 16–50 A app adjustment.

It is worth arguing the other side, though, because that setting is doing safety work. On a constrained panel, the charger’s amperage limit is what keeps the installation inside the service capacity an electrician calculated. A physical switch cannot be raised by a housemate poking at an app, cannot drift after a firmware update, and cannot be changed remotely. Under the NEC’s continuous-load rule the ladder is simple, and Grizzl-E publishes it in exactly these terms:

  • 40 A setting→ 50-amp circuit → 9.6 kW → about 34 miles of range per hour
  • 32 A setting→ 40-amp circuit → 7.7 kW → about 27 miles per hour
  • 24 A setting→ 30-amp circuit → 5.8 kW → about 20 miles per hour
  • 16 A setting→ 20-amp circuit → 3.8 kW → about 13 miles per hour

That range is why this unit shows up in our small-panel roundup. Set it once, correctly, and forget it — which is a fair description of the whole product.

Plug-in, and what that costs you

This is a NEMA 14-50 plug-in charger, and unlike the Classic and the old Smart, the 14-50 is the only input Grizzl-E publishes for it — there is no NEMA 6-50 or hardwire-ready variant of the Classic Connect. What you do choose is the car end: Grizzl-E offers the 25-foot output cable with a J1772 or a NACS connector. The ASIN we track is the J1772 version, which fits every non-Tesla EV and a Tesla through its adapter; if your household is Tesla-only, the NACS cable saves you the adapter. See J1772 vs NACS if you are unsure which to order.

Plugging in caps output at 40 amps, because a 50-amp circuit under the continuous-load rule cannot supply more. It also means the charger is portable property that comes off the wall when you move, which is the whole argument for renters. And it usually means a cheaper installation, assuming a suitable receptacle exists or can be added — see our NEMA 14-50 guide and hardwired vs plug-in.

One installation note specific to Grizzl-E: the company’s manual for its Classic advises using a 20 mA GFCI breaker where a ground-fault device is required, because a 5 mA breaker may cause disruptions. That is a useful signal for any Grizzl-E install — ground-fault protection is the single most common source of nuisance tripping on EV circuits, and it is worth raising with your electrician before the work rather than after the third 2am trip. We cover it fully in why chargers trip GFCI breakers.

The certification question, stated plainly

Grizzl-E publishes that the Classic Connect is UL and cUL certified under file E510712, with built-in GFCI, over-current, over-voltage, ground-fault and over-temperature protections, and a three-year warranty as standard — the company sells a five-year extension for this model separately. That is the certification that matters for safety, and it is present.

What is not present on either of Grizzl-E’s own pages for this model is an ENERGY STAR statement — even though some marketplace listing titles for it carry the badge. We record that as “not published” rather than asserting it, and we deliberately left this unit off our ENERGY STAR roundup. If you are buying to satisfy a rebate condition, check the exact model number against the program’s own qualifying list, because that is what an administrator will do.

Who should buy it — and who should skip it

Buy it if you want a charger built like a hardwired unit that plugs in like a portable one. It is the best-armored plug-in charger we track: a cast-aluminum, IP67 body rated to -22°F with a cold-flexible 25-foot cable, at a price well below the premium brands. Buy it if the charger is going somewhere exposed, if you live somewhere with real winters, if your utility runs a managed-charging program, or if your panel needs a charger you can pin at 24 or 32 amps and leave there.

Skip it if you want 48 amps — that means hardwiring, and this unit caps at 40. Grizzl-E’s own 48-amp answer is the Ultimate 48A, which the brand sells at $383.99 in J1772 or NACS; the Lectron Nexus 48A is the other no-app 48-amp charger we point people to. Skip it if you expect to adjust amperage regularly from your phone, where the Home Flex’s app-set 16–50 A range is simply better. Skip it if you want energy monitoring detailed enough to reconcile against a utility bill, where Emporia leads. And skip it if a published ENERGY STAR certification is a hard requirement for your rebate.

Frequently asked questions

What happened to the Grizzl-E Smart?

It was discontinued. As of 3 September 2026 its Amazon listing returns 'Currently unavailable', no other Amazon listing for a Grizzl-E Smart exists in any finish or connector, and grizzl-e.com's own shop no longer has a product page for it — only an archived spec sheet. Grizzl-E's replacement is the Classic Connect 40A, which the company describes as the next-generation charger with updated electronics. The specs a Smart buyer cared about carry straight over: the same cast-aluminum IP67 body, the same -30C to +50C rating, the same 25-foot cold-flexible cable, the same 16/24/32/40 A DIP switch, the same 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50 plug, and the same Grizzl-E Connect app. The one published feature that does not carry over is OCPP 1.6J, which Grizzl-E stated for the Smart and does not state for this model.

Does the Grizzl-E Classic Connect have WiFi and an app?

Yes. Grizzl-E's own product overview describes it as 'the Wi-Fi Connected Smart Level 2 EVSE for home use', shipping with the Grizzl-E Connect app for charging statistics, charging schedules, remote control, lockout to prevent unauthorized use, updates and diagnostics. Grizzl-E also publishes that a connected unit can participate in utility Demand/Response programs, which is the one app feature your car genuinely cannot replace.

Can I change the amperage from the app?

No — the maximum current is set with a physical DIP switch on the board at 16, 24, 32 or 40 amps. That is less convenient than an app slider, since changing it means opening the unit. It is also impossible to alter by accident, by a firmware update, or by anyone with the app on their phone, which is a real advantage when that setting is the thing keeping your installation inside your panel's capacity.

What circuit does the Grizzl-E Classic Connect need?

For its full 40 amps, a 50-amp circuit with a NEMA 14-50 receptacle, because the NEC sizes EV charging as a continuous load at 125% of the charger's current. Grizzl-E publishes the ladder itself: 40 A for a 50-amp breaker, 32 A for a 40-amp breaker, 24 A for a 30-amp breaker and 16 A for a 20-amp breaker. That range makes it a practical choice for homes with limited panel capacity.

Is the Grizzl-E Classic Connect good for outdoor and cold-weather use?

It is one of the better plug-in options for it. Grizzl-E publishes a cast-aluminum enclosure with IP67 sealing — dust-tight and protected against temporary immersion under IEC 60529 — described on its own overview as a UL Type 4 water-resistant enclosure, with an operating range of -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F). Grizzl-E also builds its output cables to stay flexible in cold weather, which is the practical winter complaint most owners actually have.

Is the Grizzl-E Classic Connect ENERGY STAR certified?

Grizzl-E's own pages for this model do not state an ENERGY STAR certification, so we record it as 'not published' rather than guessing in either direction — even though some marketplace listing titles for it carry the badge. If you are buying to qualify for a rebate that requires ENERGY STAR, verify the exact model number against the program's own qualifying-product list before you purchase. Several units in our ENERGY STAR roundup have the certification published by the manufacturer.

Grizzl-E Classic Connect or Grizzl-E Ultimate?

Different jobs. The Classic Connect is a 40-amp plug-in charger with WiFi and an app, on a NEMA 14-50 receptacle. The Ultimate 48A is hardwired, delivers 11.5 kW and needs a 60-amp circuit — Grizzl-E sells it at $383.99 in J1772 or NACS, and it has no app at all. (We recorded it as discontinued in August 2026 on the strength of a dead Amazon listing and corrected that on 28 September.) Choose the Classic Connect if you want to plug in, keep the charger portable, and have scheduling from the unit itself.

Sources

  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A technical specifications — Grizzl-E's own spec table for the Classic Connect: Type 1 (J1772) or NACS Level 2, aluminum enclosure, operating temperature -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), IP67 protection, 25 ft output cable on an 18 in input lead, 208-240 VAC, nominal input current 16/24/32/40 A set by a DIP-switch power selector, maximum output current 40 A, LED indicator, 21 lb unit weight (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A product overview — Grizzl-E's own overview for the Classic Connect: 'the Wi-Fi Connected Smart Level 2 EVSE for home use' at 40A / 9.6 kW, shipping with the Grizzl-E Connect app for charging statistics, schedules, Demand/Response utility programs, remote control, lockout to prevent unauthorized use, updates and diagnostics; a UL Type 4 water-resistant cast aluminum enclosure with IP67 sealing, a NEMA 14-50 input cable and a 25 ft output cable with a J1772 or NACS connector, 'UL Tested and Certified' with built-in GFCI, over-current, over-voltage, ground-fault and over-temperature protections, and adjustable maximum current set with DIP switches at 40A / 32A / 24A / 16A for a 50A / 40A / 30A / 20A breaker. No ENERGY STAR certification and no OCPP support are published for this model (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Classic user manual (PDF) — Grizzl-E's own manual: NEMA 4 indoor/outdoor installation rating, operating temperature -22F to 122F, a caution that the enclosure's water rating cannot be guaranteed if the unit is mounted upside down, and a note to use a 20mA GFCI breaker where one is required because a 5mA breaker may cause disruptions (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger Installations — NFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • IEC 60529 — Degrees of protection provided by enclosures (IP Code), full text — The IP code standard (verbatim national adoption, IS/IEC 60529:2001): first numeral 6 = dust-tight; second numeral 6 = protected against powerful water jets; second numeral 7 = protected against temporary immersion, and a 7 alone does not imply water-jet protection unless dual coded (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • NEMA — Enclosure Types (definitions from NEMA 250) — NEMA's own definitions: Type 3R protects against falling dirt and rain, sleet and snow; Type 4 adds windblown dust, splashing and hose-directed water; Type 4X adds protection against corrosion. NEMA also states its NEMA-to-IP table cannot be used to convert IP designations back to NEMA types (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • FuelEconomy.gov — Fuel Economy in Cold Weather (U.S. DOE / EPA) — DOE/EPA on cold weather: EV range can drop about 41% in mixed driving at 20F versus 75F with the cabin heater running (about 12% with the heater off), roughly two-thirds of the extra energy goes to heating the cabin, and preheating while still plugged in extends range (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Electric Vehicle Charging Stations — US DOE on charging levels: Level 1 (~1.9 kW, ~5 mi/hr), Level 2 (2.9-19.2 kW, ~7.2 kW typical residential, ~25 mi/hr), and DC fast charging (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading