Level Two Club

Best EV Chargers for Cold Weather

In a real winter the charger is the easy part — but only if you bought one rated for it. Here's what a published low-temperature rating actually promises, which cable stays flexible at -20F, and the units built for a driveway that freezes.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Cold weather changes home charging in two separate ways, and it’s worth keeping them apart. The first is the car: the US DOE and EPA report that EV range in mixed driving can fall by about 41% at 20°F versus 75°F when the cabin heater is running — roughly two-thirds of that extra energy goes to heating the cabin, not the drivetrain. That means you need to put more kilowatt-hours back every night in January than in July, which is an argument for charging at home rather than a specific charger.

The second is the hardware, and that is what this page ranks. A charger bolted to an exterior wall in Minnesota has to survive temperatures its plastics and electronics were designed around, keep water out through freeze-thaw cycles, and — the part nobody mentions — have a cable you can still bend at -15°F. So we ranked on: one, the manufacturer’s own published low-temperature rating, quoted rather than paraphrased; two, the enclosure rating (NEMA 3R, 4, 4X or an IP code) that defines what water and dust it keeps out; three, cable construction and length, since a stiff cable in the cold is the most common real-world winter complaint; four, a genuine UL or ETL listing; and five, price and warranty.

One honesty note up front. We own none of these units and have not put any of them through a winter — nobody should trust a site that claims otherwise without publishing the test. Every temperature figure below is quoted from the manufacturer’s own datasheet on a dated visit, and where a maker doesn’t publish a figure we say so rather than guess.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Autel MaxiCharger Home

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the harshest driveway. The NEMA 4X enclosure is rated to keep charging in extreme cold and heat, it pushes a full 50 amps, and the app is capable. If your charger lives fully exposed to the weather, this is the one.

Best for extreme cold
$499.00 · View on Amazon

$568.0012% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Grizzl-E Smart 40A

Grizzl-E Smart 40A

Grizzl-E's cast-aluminum build with a WiFi radio bolted on. You get the IP67 body and the cold-flexible 25 ft cable that made the brand's name, plus scheduling and usage history in the Grizzl-E Connect app — in a plug-in unit that comes off the wall when you move. The amperage is still set with a DIP switch, which is either charmingly honest or annoyingly analog depending on your taste.

Best built for winter
3
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that doesn't feel cheap: a full 48 amps, ENERGY STAR listing, WiFi with genuine energy monitoring, and a 25 ft cable — for well under what the big names charge. It's the one we point most people to first.

Best value
$449.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app anywhere from 16A to 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, and the warranty is long.

Best smart
$456.74 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Wallbox Pulsar Plus

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to buy when wall space is tight: it's among the smallest 48A units you can get, with Power Boost load balancing so it can share a circuit without tripping the main. A polished premium charger — and priced like one.

Best compact
$614.99 · View on Amazon

$699.9912% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best for extreme cold

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the harshest driveway. The NEMA 4X enclosure is rated to keep charging in extreme cold and heat, it pushes a full 50 amps, and the app is capable. If your charger lives fully exposed to the weather, this is the one.

Strengths

  • NEMA 4X enclosure rated for very cold and hot conditions
  • Full 50A output with a 25 ft cable
  • WiFi, Bluetooth and a capable app

Trade-offs

  • 50A needs a 60A circuit and typically a hardwired install
  • App and ecosystem are newer than ChargePoint's
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
CSA certified, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 42 miles of range per hour.

Build note. NEMA 4X weatherproof enclosure rated for operation down to about -40 degrees F.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best built for winter

Grizzl-E Smart 40A

Grizzl-E's cast-aluminum build with a WiFi radio bolted on. You get the IP67 body and the cold-flexible 25 ft cable that made the brand's name, plus scheduling and usage history in the Grizzl-E Connect app — in a plug-in unit that comes off the wall when you move. The amperage is still set with a DIP switch, which is either charmingly honest or annoyingly analog depending on your taste.

Strengths

  • Cast-aluminum NEMA 4 / IP67 body rated -22F to 122F, in a plug-in unit
  • WiFi and the Grizzl-E Connect app for scheduling, usage history and remote lockout
  • 25 ft output cable, and OCPP 1.6J support if you ever want third-party software

Trade-offs

  • 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling — no 48A option in this model
  • Amperage is set by a physical DIP switch, not in the app
  • Grizzl-E's own pages don't publish an ENERGY STAR certification for this model
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL tested and certified

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour. The DIP switch also sets 32, 24 or 16 amps if your circuit is smaller.

Build note. Cast-aluminum enclosure with IP67 sealing, rated -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F); 25 ft output cable on an 18 in input lead, current set by DIP switch (16/24/32/40 A), status on an LED, and WiFi to the Grizzl-E Connect app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 12, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best value

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that doesn't feel cheap: a full 48 amps, ENERGY STAR listing, WiFi with genuine energy monitoring, and a 25 ft cable — for well under what the big names charge. It's the one we point most people to first.

Strengths

  • 48A output and ENERGY STAR at a value price
  • The app actually tracks energy use, not just on/off
  • Long 25 ft cable and a remote holster in the box

Trade-offs

  • 48A hardwired needs a 60A circuit; on a NEMA 14-50 plug it's limited to 40A
  • App polish trails ChargePoint's, and support is smaller
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds about 40 miles of range per hour hardwired; on a 40A plug-in circuit, about 34.

Build note. 48A hardwired, or 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, with a 25 ft cable and remote holder.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best smart

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app anywhere from 16A to 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A means it fits a small panel now and a bigger circuit later
  • The most mature app of the group — scheduling, reminders, usage history
  • 3-year warranty and a long 23 ft cable

Trade-offs

  • You pay a premium over value 48A chargers for the app and brand
  • Full 50A output needs a 60A circuit most older panels don't have to spare
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired (plug-in NEMA 14-50 SKU also sold)
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and a typical 3.5 miles per kWh, the Home Flex adds roughly 42 miles of range per hour. Dial it down to 40A to fit a 50A circuit and you get about 34.

Build note. Flexible amperage is adjustable in the app from 16A up to 50A.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best compact

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to buy when wall space is tight: it's among the smallest 48A units you can get, with Power Boost load balancing so it can share a circuit without tripping the main. A polished premium charger — and priced like one.

Strengths

  • Genuinely compact for a 48A charger — easy to place
  • Power Boost load balancing avoids a panel upgrade in some homes
  • Bluetooth plus WiFi, with a clean app

Trade-offs

  • One of the pricier chargers here
  • Hardwired only — no plug-in option for renters
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, about 40 miles of range per hour. Power Boost can throttle it to protect a shared circuit.

Build note. One of the most compact 48A chargers in its class, with both Bluetooth and WiFi.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

What a temperature rating actually promises

Every charger here publishes an operating temperature range. That figure is the manufacturer’s statement about the conditions the equipment is designed to work in — the electronics, the plastics, the seals. It is not a promise that your specific installation will be fine, and it is not the same thing as the enclosure rating, which is about water and dust rather than temperature.

Those two specs answer different questions and you want both. NEMA’s own definitions are the reference: a Type 3R enclosure protects against falling dirt and rain, sleet and snow; Type 4 adds windblown dust, splashing water and hose-directed water; Type 4X adds corrosion resistance on top. The IP codes say something similar in different language —IP67 means dust-tight and protected against temporary immersion, though NEMA itself warns you cannot convert IP ratings back into NEMA types. For a snowbelt driveway, a 3R rating and a good low-temperature figure is genuinely enough; for a coastal or road-salted install, 4X earns its money. We decode all of this in the outdoor charger guide.

Published operating-temperature ranges, quoted from each manufacturer’s own datasheet (linked in Sources). A rating is a manufacturer’s statement about where the unit is designed to operate — not a promise about your driveway.
ChargerPublished operating rangeEnclosureCableMax amps
Autel MaxiCharger Home-40°F to 131°FNEMA 4X25 ft50 A
Grizzl-E Smart 40A-22°F to 122°FNEMA 4 (IP67)25 ft40 A
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger-22°F to 122°FNEMA 425 ft48 A
ChargePoint Home Flex-22°F to 122°FNEMA 3R23 ft50 A
Wallbox Pulsar Plus-22°F to 104°FNEMA 425 ft48 A

Read that table with a margin in mind. If your winter low is around 0°F, a unit rated to -22°F has room to spare. If you regularly see -20°F or worse, the Autel’s published -40°F rating is the one with genuine headroom.

The cold makes the car the bottleneck, not the charger

The single most useful thing to understand about winter charging is that most of what people blame on the charger is the battery. A cold lithium-ion pack has higher internal resistance and the vehicle’s own management system deliberately limits how much power it will accept until the pack warms up — so a session that starts at 15°F may ramp rather than jump straight to full power. Nothing about the wall unit changes that; it offers power and the car takes what it will. Our guide to how Level 2 works explains that division of labor properly.

The other half is consumption. DOE and EPA figures put winter range loss at roughly 41% in mixed driving at 20°F versus 75°F with the heater running, with about two-thirds of the extra energy going to cabin heat. Practically: the same commute needs meaningfully more kilowatt-hours in January, so your overnight window has more work to do. Two things help, and both are free. Precondition while plugged in — the DOE notes that preheating on shore power rather than on the battery extends range. And schedule charging to finish near departure, so the pack is warm when you leave rather than having sat cold for six hours. A charger with an app can do that; so can nearly every EV’s own timer, which is why we don’t treat WiFi as a winter requirement.

The picks, and who each one is for

The Autel MaxiCharger is our pick for genuinely extreme cold, and the reason is on Autel’s own spec sheet: an operating range published from about -40°F to 131°F in a NEMA 4X enclosure, which adds corrosion resistance to the dust and hose-directed water protection of Type 4. It pushes a full 50 amps with a 25-foot cable and a capable WiFi and Bluetooth app. The costs are real: 50 amps needs a 60-amp circuit and a hardwired install, and Autel’s software ecosystem is younger than ChargePoint’s. If your charger lives fully exposed somewhere that hits -30, it is the one we’d specify. Full detail in the Autel MaxiCharger review.

The Grizzl-E Smart 40A is the winter build. Cast aluminum, IP67-sealed, rated -30°C to +50°C (-22°F to 122°F), and the one unit here whose maker specifically builds the 25-foot cable to stay flexible in cold weather — which is the difference between hanging the cable back on the holster and wrestling it. The costs are honest ones: 40 amps is its ceiling, it plugs into a NEMA 14-50 rather than hardwiring, amperage is set with a physical DIP switch rather than in software, and Grizzl-E’s own pages don’t publish an ENERGY STAR certification for this model even though the Amazon listing badges one. What you get for that is the toughest physical package here, plus the Grizzl-E Connect app for scheduling and usage history. Read the Grizzl-E Smart review.

This slot was the Grizzl-E Ultimate 48A until August 2026, when Grizzl-E discontinued it and moved the Ultimate line to an 80-amp unit. Its review stays on record with the buy link removed. The Smart is the same cast-aluminum box and the same published temperature range, at 40 amps on a plug instead of 48 hardwired.

The Emporia Level 2 is the value pick that gives up almost nothing to the cold: a watertight NEMA 4 enclosure rated -22°F to 122°F, a 25-foot cable, ENERGY STAR, a real energy-monitoring app, and 48 amps hardwired (40 on a NEMA 14-50 plug) for well under premium money. If your winters are cold but not brutal, this is the sensible buy — and the plug-in option keeps a renter’s door open. The app is less polished than ChargePoint’s and support is a smaller operation. See our Emporia review.

The ChargePoint Home Flex is the smart pick for a cold climate because of what the app lets you do with it: schedule around off-peak rates and finish close to departure so the pack is warm when you unplug. ChargePoint publishes a Type 3R enclosure and a -22°F to 122°F range, with adjustable 16–50A output and a 23-foot cable. Note one installer detail from ChargePoint’s own datasheet: an outdoor plug-in install wants an outdoor-rated GFCI breaker upstream, while an external GFCI can conflict with the charger’s internal ground-fault protection on a hardwired install — a genuine cause of nuisance tripping, which we cover in the GFCI guide. It is a premium price for the app and the flexibility. Our Home Flex review has more.

The Wallbox Pulsar Plus is the compact option, and the one whose rating we’d read most carefully: Wallbox publishes -22°F to 104°F in a NEMA 4 body — the same cold floor as most of this group, with a lower ceiling that only matters in desert heat. It is the smallest 48-amp unit here, and Power Boost load balancing can let a full panel take a charger without a service upgrade. It is the priciest pick and hardwired only. See the Pulsar Plus review.

Installing for winter, not just for today

A few decisions matter more in a cold climate than a mild one, and they cost nothing to get right at install time.

  • Mount it under cover if you can. A soffit, a carport roof or the garage wall next to the door keeps snow load and ice off the unit and the holster. Rated for outdoors is not the same as happier outdoors.
  • Mount it high enough. Snow drifts. A charger and a cable holster at waist height stay usable in February; ones at shin height do not.
  • Think about where the cable falls. A 25-foot cable that has to lie on the ground gets frozen into ice. Position the box so the cable hangs and drapes rather than pools.
  • Get the GFCI arrangement right. Moisture in a receptacle and doubled-up ground-fault protection are the two most common causes of a breaker that trips on cold, wet mornings — see why chargers trip GFCI breakers.
  • Permit and inspect the work. A 240V circuit outdoors in a freeze-thaw climate is exactly the job you want an inspector to have looked at — see permits and inspection.

Do those five things and a properly rated charger becomes the least interesting part of your winter. The car will still lose range in the cold, but a Level 2 unit on the wall means you start every morning full — which is precisely when that matters most. If you’re still deciding whether the upgrade is worth it at all, we work the numbers in is a Level 2 charger worth it.

Frequently asked questions

Do EV chargers stop working in cold weather?

A charger rated for the temperature does not. Every unit here publishes an operating range, and four of the five are rated to -22F, with the Autel MaxiCharger rated to about -40F. What changes in the cold is the car: batteries accept charge more slowly when they are very cold, and the vehicle may spend the first part of a session warming the pack rather than filling it. That is the car's behavior, not a charger fault.

Does cold weather make an EV charge more slowly?

Often, yes — and the charger is rarely the reason. A cold battery has higher internal resistance, so the car's own management system limits how much power it will accept until the pack warms. On Level 2 at home this usually shows up as a slower start that recovers over the session. Preconditioning the car while it is still plugged in helps, and the DOE notes that preheating on shore power extends usable range.

How much range do you lose in winter?

DOE and EPA figures put the drop at about 41% in mixed driving at 20F versus 75F with the cabin heater running, and about 12% with the heater off. That is a big enough swing that a home charger effectively becomes more valuable in winter, not less — you are replacing more kilowatt-hours per mile driven.

What temperature rating should I look for?

Match it to your actual climate with margin. If your winters bottom out near 0F, a unit rated to -22F has comfortable headroom. If you see -20F or colder, look for a charger published to -40F, like the Autel. And treat the rating as the manufacturer's design statement about the equipment, not a guarantee about a specific installation — mounting, exposure and sun all matter.

Does a stiff charging cable in the cold actually matter?

It is the complaint winter owners raise most. A charging cable that goes rigid at -15F is awkward to uncoil, hard to hang back on the holster, and easier to damage if you force it. Grizzl-E specifically states that the Smart's output cable remains flexible in cold temperatures; other makers publish less about the cable compound, which is one reason we call it out as a criterion rather than a spec.

Should I put the charger in the garage instead?

If you have the choice, yes — an unheated garage still buffers the extremes, keeps snow and ice off the unit, and makes the cable easier to handle. Outdoor mounting is entirely workable with a properly rated enclosure; it is just the harder version of the job. Our outdoor charger guide decodes what each NEMA and IP rating actually protects against.

Sources

  • FuelEconomy.gov — Fuel Economy in Cold Weather (U.S. DOE / EPA)DOE/EPA on cold weather: EV range can drop about 41% in mixed driving at 20F versus 75F with the cabin heater running (about 12% with the heater off), roughly two-thirds of the extra energy goes to heating the cabin, and preheating while still plugged in extends range (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • NEMA — Enclosure Types (definitions from NEMA 250)NEMA's own definitions: Type 3R protects against falling dirt and rain, sleet and snow; Type 4 adds windblown dust, splashing and hose-directed water; Type 4X adds protection against corrosion. NEMA also states its NEMA-to-IP table cannot be used to convert IP designations back to NEMA types (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • IEC 60529 — Degrees of protection provided by enclosures (IP Code), full textThe IP code standard (verbatim national adoption, IS/IEC 60529:2001): first numeral 6 = dust-tight; second numeral 6 = protected against powerful water jets; second numeral 7 = protected against temporary immersion, and a 7 alone does not imply water-jet protection unless dual coded (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger InstallationsNFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Electric Vehicle Charging StationsUS DOE on charging levels: Level 1 (~1.9 kW, ~5 mi/hr), Level 2 (2.9-19.2 kW, ~7.2 kW typical residential, ~25 mi/hr), and DC fast charging (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • Autel Energy — MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 50A product pageAutel's own listing: compliant with NEMA 4X standards, operating temperature -40F to 131F, 25 ft cable, 3-year warranty (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Smart 40A technical specificationsGrizzl-E's own spec table for the Smart: Type 1 (J1772) Level 2, aluminum enclosure, operating temperature -30C to +50C (-22F to +122F), IP67 protection, 25 ft output cable on an 18 in input lead, 208-240 VAC, nominal input current 16/24/32/40 A set by DIP switch, maximum output current 40 A, LED indicator (accessed August 12, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Smart product overviewGrizzl-E's own overview for the Smart: described as a Wi-Fi connected charger shipping with the Grizzl-E Connect app, a NEMA 4 water-resistant cast aluminum enclosure, UL tested and certified with a 3-year or 5-year replacement warranty, built-in GFCI, over-current, over-voltage, ground fault and over-temperature protections, plug-in NEMA 14-50 or NEMA 6-50 and hardwire-ready configurations, and OCPP 1.6J compatibility (accessed August 12, 2026)
  • Emporia — Classic Level 2 EV Charger spec sheet (PDF)Emporia's own spec sheet: watertight NEMA Type 4 indoor/outdoor enclosure, operating temperature -22F to 122F, 25 ft cable (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex datasheet (PDF)ChargePoint's own datasheet: enclosure rating Type 3R per UL 50E, operating temperature -22F to 122F, 23 ft cable, plus installer notes that an outdoor plug-in install requires an outdoor-rated GFCI breaker upstream while an external GFCI may conflict with the charger's internal ground-fault protection on a hardwired install (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • Wallbox — Pulsar Plus (North America) datasheet (PDF)Wallbox's own datasheet: NEMA Type 4 per UL 50E for indoor and outdoor installation, operating temperature -22F to 104F, 25 ft cable (accessed July 20, 2026)

Keep reading