Level Two Club

Best EV Chargers for the Kia EV9

The EV9 makes this purchase unusually simple, and most charger shopping gets it wrong in the same direction. Kia fits the same 10.9 kW onboard charger to every trim, so 48 amps is the most the car will ever use at home - and the expensive 80-amp units are money set on fire. Here is what to buy instead, and why the cable already in your trunk is costing you almost six hours.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Kia’s own specification tables do most of the work here. Across all five 2026 EV9 trims — Light RWD, Light Long Range RWD, Wind AWD, Land AWD and GT-Line AWD — the Onboard Charger Power row reads the same figure: 10.9 kW. There is no optional upgrade, no trim that gets more, and nothing you can buy for the wall that changes it. At 240 volts, 10.9 kW is about 45 amps of draw, which means a 48-amp charger feeds the car everything it can accept and a 50-amp one feeds it exactly the same. The 80-amp units at the top of the market do nothing for an EV9 at all.

The second fact is the port. Kia lists a North American Charging System (NACS)charge port on every 2026 trim, so a NACS charger plugs straight in and a J1772 charger — still most of what is sold — needs a passive adapter. So we ranked on four things, in this order: whether the charger can actually deliver 45 amps; whether its cable matches your port or needs an adapter; what circuit it demands, because 48 amps means a 60-amp breaker and 40 amps means a 50-amp one; and then reach, enclosure rating and a named safety listing, because the EV9 is a 197-inch, two-and-a-half-ton SUV that often lives outside.

One thing we do differently on this page: instead of the site’s usual ~3.5 miles per kWh reference, the miles-per-hour figures below come from Kia’s own range-and-battery pairs, which work out between 2.8 and 3.1 miles per kWh depending on trim. An EV9 is heavy and the generic figure flatters it. Every charger here was checked as purchasable on the day we published, and we say plainly which ones weren’t.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) Charger

Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) Charger

For a Tesla owner who doesn't want to babysit an adapter: a native NACS (J3400) connector plugs straight into the car, at a full 48 amps, with the safety listings you want. No app, but Teslas schedule charging in the car anyway.

Best overall for a NACS-port EV9
$449.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money: a full 48 amps, WiFi with scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. A strong value alternative to Emporia if you want maximum reach.

Best value at 48 amps
$449.99 · View on Amazon

$510.0012% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that doesn't feel cheap: a full 48 amps, ENERGY STAR listing, WiFi with genuine energy monitoring, and a 25 ft cable — for well under what the big names charge. It's the one we point most people to first.

Best app and energy tracking
4
Autel MaxiCharger Home

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the harshest driveway. The NEMA 4X enclosure is rated to keep charging in extreme cold and heat, it pushes a full 50 amps, and the app is capable. If your charger lives fully exposed to the weather, this is the one.

Best for an outdoor wall or a cold climate
$499.00 · View on Amazon

$568.0012% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Lectron Portable Level 2 Tesla Charger (NACS)

Lectron Portable Level 2 Tesla Charger (NACS)

The portable to buy if your car has a NACS port and you would rather not travel with an adapter. It is the Lectron 40A portable with a Tesla connector on the end: a full 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50, a 16-foot cable, ETL to UL 2594 / UL 2231 and an ENERGY STAR listing. The gap is documentation - Lectron publishes no enclosure rating, temperature range or warranty term for this SKU.

Best without an electrician
$279.89 · View on Amazon

$319.9913% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A

Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A

One box, two cables, one circuit. The Duo Connect lets a two-EV household charge both cars overnight without a second charger, a second breaker or a panel upgrade — because it splits one 40-amp supply between the connectors rather than doubling it. That is the whole trade: convenience and a much cheaper install, at half the speed each when both cars are plugged in.

Best for an EV9 plus a second EV
$899.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall for a NACS-port EV9

Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) Charger

For a Tesla owner who doesn't want to babysit an adapter: a native NACS (J3400) connector plugs straight into the car, at a full 48 amps, with the safety listings you want. No app, but Teslas schedule charging in the car anyway.

Strengths

  • Native NACS connector — no J1772-to-Tesla adapter to lose
  • Full 48A output and a weather-rated IP66 body
  • UL/ETL safety listings plus ENERGY STAR

Trade-offs

  • No WiFi app — you schedule in the Tesla app instead
  • NACS connector is best for Tesla/NACS cars; other EVs need a NACS-to-J1772 adapter
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
NACS
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
No
Certifications
UL 2594/2231/2251 (ETL listed), ENERGY STAR, FCC

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, about 40 miles of range per hour into a Tesla.

Build note. Native NACS (J3400) connector plugs straight into a Tesla with no adapter; includes a holster.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best value at 48 amps

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money: a full 48 amps, WiFi with scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. A strong value alternative to Emporia if you want maximum reach.

Strengths

  • 48A output with WiFi scheduling at a value price
  • 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable — excellent reach
  • UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR listings

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired version needs a 60A circuit and an electrician
  • Smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint or Wallbox
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, about 40 miles of range per hour.

Build note. Ships with a 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable — among the longest reach in class.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best app and energy tracking

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that doesn't feel cheap: a full 48 amps, ENERGY STAR listing, WiFi with genuine energy monitoring, and a 25 ft cable — for well under what the big names charge. It's the one we point most people to first.

Strengths

  • 48A output and ENERGY STAR at a value price
  • The app actually tracks energy use, not just on/off
  • Long 25 ft cable and a remote holster in the box

Trade-offs

  • 48A hardwired needs a 60A circuit; on a NEMA 14-50 plug it's limited to 40A
  • App polish trails ChargePoint's, and support is smaller
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds about 40 miles of range per hour hardwired; on a 40A plug-in circuit, about 34.

Build note. 48A hardwired, or 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, with a 25 ft cable and remote holder.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best for an outdoor wall or a cold climate

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the harshest driveway. The NEMA 4X enclosure is rated to keep charging in extreme cold and heat, it pushes a full 50 amps, and the app is capable. If your charger lives fully exposed to the weather, this is the one.

Strengths

  • NEMA 4X enclosure rated for very cold and hot conditions
  • Full 50A output with a 25 ft cable
  • WiFi, Bluetooth and a capable app

Trade-offs

  • Autel's own page specifies a 70A circuit for full output, and the unit is hardwired only
  • App and ecosystem are newer than ChargePoint's
  • Autel publishes CSA and ENERGY STAR for this unit, not a UL listing
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
CSA certified, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 42 miles of range per hour.

Build note. IP65 / NEMA 4X enclosure with a published operating range of -40F to 131F (-40C to 55C), output adjustable from 16 to 50 A, a 25 ft cable, Bluetooth / WiFi / Ethernet / CAN / RS485 connectivity, and a 13.2 x 7.4 x 3.8 in body weighing 15.4 lb. Autel states a 70 A circuit is required for full output, and that its Adaptive Load Management 'requires compatible additional hardware' while charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing does not.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on October 10, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best without an electrician

Lectron Portable Level 2 Tesla Charger (NACS)

The portable to buy if your car has a NACS port and you would rather not travel with an adapter. It is the Lectron 40A portable with a Tesla connector on the end: a full 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50, a 16-foot cable, ETL to UL 2594 / UL 2231 and an ENERGY STAR listing. The gap is documentation - Lectron publishes no enclosure rating, temperature range or warranty term for this SKU.

Strengths

  • Native NACS connector - no adapter to lose in a hotel parking lot
  • A genuine 40A / 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50, and ENERGY STAR certified
  • ETL listed to UL 2594 / UL 2231, with a UL 2251 handle

Trade-offs

  • Lectron publishes no enclosure rating, temperature range or warranty term for this SKU
  • A 16 ft cable is short if the charger has to reach across a garage
  • The base unit has no app - the WiFi version is a separate, dearer SKU
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
NACS
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
16 ft
Warranty
Not published
WiFi + app
No
Certifications
ETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231), ENERGY STAR, FCC; UL 2251 handle

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour.

Build note. Portable NACS unit on a NEMA 14-50 plug with a 16 ft cable and LED status indicators; Lectron describes it as weather-resistant for indoor or outdoor use while advising against extreme weather exposure, and publishes no enclosure rating for it.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#6Best for an EV9 plus a second EV

Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A

One box, two cables, one circuit. The Duo Connect lets a two-EV household charge both cars overnight without a second charger, a second breaker or a panel upgrade — because it splits one 40-amp supply between the connectors rather than doubling it. That is the whole trade: convenience and a much cheaper install, at half the speed each when both cars are plugged in.

Strengths

  • Charges two EVs from one 40 A circuit — no second breaker, no panel upgrade
  • Grizzl-E's cast-aluminum, IP67-sealed body with two 25 ft cold-flexible cables
  • Per-connector current limits and scheduling in the Grizzl-E Connect app

Trade-offs

  • 40 A is the TOTAL, not per car — two cars charging at once get about 4.8 kW each
  • Costs roughly what two single chargers cost, so the saving is in the wiring, not the box
  • This Amazon SKU is NACS-to-NACS; a mixed-fleet household needs a different cable pairing
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
NACS
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug or hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
Not published
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL tested and certified

Our charging-speed math. The 40 A / 9.6 kW rating is for the whole unit. One car alone gets the full 9.6 kW — about 34 miles of range per hour at ~3.5 mi/kWh. Two cars at once split it: roughly 4.8 kW, or about 17 miles per hour, each.

Build note. Two 25 ft output cables from a single cast-aluminum, IP67-sealed body rated -30C to +50C, with an LED per connector and a DIP-switch current selector (16/24/32/40 A). Grizzl-E states dual charging automatically splits the available current in half, or you can set each connector's current in the Grizzl-E Connect app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 12, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Each pick against the 10.9 kW onboard charger Kia publishes on every EV9 trim. Rated amps are the brand’s; the kW and circuit figures are our arithmetic (amps x 240 V; NEC 125% continuous-load rule). “Adapter on a NACS port” means a J1772 cable needs a J1772-to-NACS adapter on the 2026 car.
ChargerRated ampsWhat the EV9 getsPortCircuit needed
Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) Charger48 AThe full 10.9 kW (11.5 kW available)NACS - plugs straight in60 A hardwired
EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger48 AThe full 10.9 kW (11.5 kW available)J1772 - adapter on a NACS port60 A hardwired
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger48 A10.9 kW hardwired; 9.6 kW on the 14-50 plugJ1772 - adapter on a NACS port60 A hardwired / 50 A plug-in
Autel MaxiCharger Home50 AThe full 10.9 kW (12 kW available)J1772 - adapter on a NACS port60 A hardwired
Lectron Portable Level 2 Tesla Charger (NACS)40 A9.6 kW - about 88% of the moduleNACS - plugs straight in50 A for the NEMA 14-50
Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A40 A9.6 kW alone; about 4.8 kW each with two carsNACS x2 (this SKU)50 A plug-in or hardwired

The one number that settles it: 10.9 kW

The box on your wall is a switch and a safety device. The part that actually converts household AC into the DC your battery stores lives inside the car, and its rating is the hard ceiling on home charging speed. For the EV9 that rating is 10.9 kW, published identically on every trim — a refreshing change from cars like the Cadillac LYRIQ, where the module changes with the trim and the right charger changes with it. Our onboard charger explainercovers why this number, not the charger’s, is the one that matters.

Work the arithmetic and the shopping list gets short. 10.9 kW at 240 V is about 45 amps. A 48-amp charger offers 11.5 kW, so the car takes its full 10.9 kW and leaves a little on the table. A 50-amp charger offers 12 kW — same result. A 40-amp charger offers 9.6 kW, which is about 88% of what the car can accept: a real difference, but a small one. An 80-amp charger offers 19.2 kW and the EV9 still takes 10.9 kW, so you would be paying roughly three times as much, plus a 100-amp circuit, for nothing. If you want that argument in full, our fastest Level 2 chargers page ranks the tiers and explains where the ceiling bites.

In miles: using Kia’s published EPA range against its published battery capacity — 305 miles on 99.8 kWh for the Light Long Range RWD, down to 280 miles on 99.8 kWh for the GT-Line AWD — the EV9 works out at roughly 2.8 to 3.1 miles per kWh. At 10.9 kW that is about 31 to 33 miles of range per hour. At 9.6 kW it is about 27 to 29. Both numbers are ours, not Kia’s, and both assume EPA-condition efficiency you will not see in February with three rows of passengers and the heat on.

What the cable in the trunk already does — and what it costs you

Kia lists a Dual Level 120V / 240V Portable Charging Cableamong the EV9’s standard convenience features, so most owners already have something that will charge at 240 volts. This is the part of the decision that usually goes unexamined, and Kia publishes the answer in its own charge-time rows.

On the 99.8 kWh battery, a 10–100% charge takes approximately 8 hours and 45 minuteson a 240 V, 11 kW supply — in other words, on a proper 48-amp wall unit. The same charge with the in-cable control box takes approximately 14 hours and 35 minutes. That is five hours and fifty minutes of difference. On the 76.1 kWh battery in the Light RWD it is 6 hours 45 minutes against 11 hours 15 minutes — a four-and-a-half hour gap. Kia does not publish the cable’s amperage; its own times imply roughly 6 kW, which is our arithmetic from Kia’s numbers rather than a Kia figure.

That gap is the honest case for buying a charger. Under nine hours fits inside an overnight window and inside most time-of-use off-peak windows. Nearly fifteen hours does not, which means paying peak rates for the tail of the charge, or waking up short. If you drive 30 or 40 miles a day and can plug in every night, the bundled cable genuinely is enough and you should keep your money. If you use the third row, tow, or run the battery down on weekends, the wall unit pays for itself in convenience within a month.

The port: NACS on the 2026 car

Kia lists a NACS charge port on every 2026 EV9 trim, alongside the 800-volt architecture and a Tesla Supercharger-compatible DC story. For home charging that means a NACS-cabled unit — the Lectron Nexus NACS and the Grizzl-E Duo below — plugs in with nothing in between. A J1772 charger needs a J1772-to-NACS adapter. Adapters are passive: as Lectron’s own FAQ puts it, they “don’t generate power — they only enable compatibility between chargers and vehicles,” and Lectron rates its J1772-to-Tesla adapter — the same NACS shape — to 80 amps, so a listed adapter is not the bottleneck at 45. It is one more thing to keep in the frunk and one more thing to lose.

If your EV9 is an earlier model year, check the port on your own car rather than trusting the year. The J1772 picks here plug directly into a J1772-shaped port, and the NACS picks would be the ones needing an adapter — exactly the reverse of the 2026 car. Our connector guidecovers both shapes and the transition between them. And it is worth knowing that the adapter logic is not universal: Volkswagen tells ID.4 owners in writing not to use its NACS adapter on any Level 2 charger, which makes the NACS units above the wrong buy for that car — our Volkswagen ID.4 picks are J1772 throughout for that reason.

Reach, because this is a 197-inch SUV

Kia publishes the EV9 at 197.2 inches long (197.4 for the GT-Line), 77.9 inches wide, on a 122-inch wheelbase, weighing between 5,106 and 5,851 pounds. That matters for one boring reason: a vehicle this long parks deep in a garage or hangs off the end of a driveway, and the charger has to reach it from wherever the panel and the conduit allow. Four of our six picks ship a 25-foot cable for that reason, and the EVIQO adds a 40-inch input lead on top, which buys real flexibility in where the box itself lands. Our placement and mounting guide is worth ten minutes before the electrician quotes, because this is the decision you live with for a decade.

How we separated them

Lectron Nexus NACStakes the top slot because it is the cheapest honest way to give a 2026 EV9 everything it can take with nothing in between: a native NACS connector, a full 48 amps (11.5 kW against the car’s 10.9 kW ceiling), an IP66 body, a 23-foot cable, ETL listing to UL 2594 / 2231 / 2251 plus ENERGY STAR, and a 3-year warranty. The cons are real. There is no app, so scheduling has to live in the car’s own charge settings or your utility’s program instead — which is where many owners set it anyway. Lectron publishes no operating-temperature range for the unit, which is a genuine gap if the charger is going on an exterior wall in a cold climate. And 23 feet is the shortest cable of the four wall units here.

EVIQO 48A is the value 48-amp unit and the one we would pick on reach alone: a 25-foot charging cable plus a 40-inch input lead, an IP66 / NEMA 4 enclosure, UL / ETL / FCC listings with ENERGY STAR, WiFi scheduling and a 3-year warranty. Cons: the cable is J1772, so a 2026 EV9 needs the adapter every time; it is hardwired, so it needs a 60-amp circuit and an electrician; and EVIQO is a smaller brand with a shorter track record than the names above it in the category. Read the full EVIQO review if the reach is what sells you.

Emporia Level 2is the pick if you want to see the energy, not just schedule it. A full 48 amps hardwired, ENERGY STAR, a 25-foot cable, a remote holster in the box, and an app that tracks consumption rather than just toggling the charger. Its quiet advantage on this page is the dual install: Emporia sells one unit as “NEMA plug or hardwire,” so the same charger does 48 amps on a 60-amp circuit or plugs into a NEMA 14-50 at 40 amps if your panel can only spare a 50-amp circuit today. Cons: on the plug it is capped at 40 amps and gives up that 88% figure; the app is less polished than ChargePoint’s; and the connector is J1772, so the adapter note applies.

Autel MaxiCharger Homeis the one to buy if the charger lives fully outside. A NEMA 4X enclosure rated for operation down to about -40°F is the toughest weather specification on this page, it pushes 50 amps (12 kW, comfortably over the EV9’s ceiling) down a 25-foot cable, and it is CSA certified with ENERGY STAR and a 3-year warranty. Cons: 50 amps needs a 60-amp circuit and a hardwired install, so there is no plug-in shortcut; Autel’s app and ecosystem are newer than ChargePoint’s; and it is the most expensive wall unit here. Our cold-weather picks compare the published low-temperature ratings side by side.

Lectron Portable Level 2 Tesla Charger (NACS)is the no-electrician route with a native plug. If there is already a NEMA 14-50 in the garage — or you can have one added, which is a far smaller job than a hardwired 60-amp circuit — this gives an EV9 40 amps, 9.6 kW, about 88% of the car’s maximum, with a NACS connector that needs no adapter. It is ETL listed to UL 2594 / 2231 with a UL 2251 handle and an ENERGY STAR listing. Three honest cons. Lectron publishes no enclosure rating, no temperature range and no warranty term for this SKU, which is a documentation gap we will not paper over. The cable is 16 feet, which is short for a 197-inch SUV. And the base unit has no app; the WiFi version is a separate, dearer model.

Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40Ais for the household adding an EV9 to an EV that is already there. Two 25-foot cold-flexible cables run from one cast-aluminum IP67 body rated to -22°F, on a single 40-amp supply, with per-connector current limits in the Grizzl-E Connect app. The trade is arithmetic and Grizzl-E is open about it: 40 amps is the total, so one car alone gets 9.6 kW and two cars charging together get roughly 4.8 kW each — about 17 miles of range per hour into an EV9. The Amazon SKU we link is the NACS-to-NACS pairing, which is right for two NACS-port cars and wrong for a mixed pair (Grizzl-E sells other cable combinations direct). It also costs about what two single chargers cost; the saving is in the wiring, not the box. Our two-car roundup works through the amps properly.

The two chargers Kia itself names

Kia’s EV9 page has a home-charging section that names exactly two products, and both are worth addressing directly because buyers will see them.

The first is the ChargePoint Home Flex, which Kia describes as “available with J1772 or NACS connectors and backed by a 3-year limited warranty.” It is a genuinely excellent charger and normally near the top of our own lists — adjustable 16 to 50 amps in the app, the most mature app in the category, and a factory NACS cable option that would suit a 2026 EV9 perfectly. We have not ranked it here for one reason: on the day we published, both Amazon listings we track for it, the J1772 and the NACS version, returned “Currently unavailable” with no price from the retailer feed we use. We do not feature a product we cannot verify is purchasable. Our ChargePoint Home Flex review and NACS review stay up, and Kia points at a dealer rather than a price, so a dealer may well have one.

The second is the Ampure Goportable, which Kia describes as delivering “dependable Level 1 and Level 2 charging using standard 120V or 240V outlets.” It is the best-documented portable we track — UL 2594 / 2231 listed, ENERGY STAR, an IP67 body rated -22°F to 122°F, nine pounds — and it is in stock. But it is a 32-amp unit, 7.7 kW, roughly 70% of what the EV9 can take, which on a 99.8 kWh battery means about 22 to 24 miles of range an hour. For a renter, a second home or a road trip it is the right answer, and our portable charger picks rank it as such. As the everyday charger for a three-row electric SUV, it is slower than the car deserves.

What else we left off, and why

The Autel MaxiCharger 80A and every other high-amp unit, because 80 amps into a 10.9 kW module is 10.9 kW. You would pay a premium and a 100-amp circuit for a number the car ignores. The one scenario where it makes sense is a household planning a second, faster-charging EV on the same wall, and even then a 48-amp unit plus a future second circuit is usually cheaper. The 40-amp portables from Lectron and ELEGRP, which are fine chargers but carry J1772 cables, so on a NACS-port EV9 you get the adapter hassle and the 9.6 kW ceiling at the same time; the Lectron NACS portable above solves half of that. The Wallbox Pulsar Plus and Emporia Pro, both capable 48-amp smart units that would feed the EV9 in full but add nothing EV9-specific over the picks here — and the Wallbox listing showed only two units left when we checked, which is not a supply we want to send a reader at. And the Tesla Wall Connector, which comes up constantly for NACS cars: Tesla’s own pages do not return specifications to us, and we will not compare against a spec sheet we cannot read.

The short version

2026 EV9, one EV, garage wall: the Lectron Nexus NACS on a 60-amp circuit. Native plug, full speed, no app you did not ask for. Want the app and the energy data:the Emporia Level 2, or the EVIQO 48A if reach is the problem — both J1772, so budget for an adapter. Charger going outside in a real winter: the Autel MaxiCharger Home. No appetite for an electrician: the Lectron NACS portable on a NEMA 14-50, and accept 88% of the speed. Two EVs, one circuit: the Grizzl-E Duo in the cable pairing that matches both cars. And if you drive 30 miles a day:the cable Kia already gave you is genuinely fine — just know it is nearly six hours slower on a full charge.

Frequently asked questions

What Level 2 charger does a Kia EV9 need?

A 48-amp charger on a 60-amp circuit, which feeds the EV9's 10.9 kW onboard charger at its full rate. Kia publishes that same 10.9 kW figure on every 2026 trim, so there is no faster option to buy and no trim that benefits from more. A 40-amp plug-in charger on a NEMA 14-50 also works and delivers about 88% of that rate.

How many amps can the Kia EV9 accept at home?

About 45 amps. Kia publishes the onboard charger as 10.9 kW rather than in amps; 10.9 kW at 240 volts is roughly 45 amps, which is our arithmetic from Kia's figure. That is why a 48-amp charger is the practical ceiling: it covers the car with a little headroom, and an 80-amp charger delivers exactly the same 10.9 kW.

Does the Kia EV9 use NACS or J1772?

Kia lists a North American Charging System (NACS) charge port on every 2026 EV9 trim. A NACS charger plugs straight in; a J1772 charger needs a passive J1772-to-NACS adapter, which does not slow charging down. If your EV9 is an earlier model year, check the port shape on your own car rather than assuming from the year.

How long does it take to charge a Kia EV9 on Level 2?

Kia publishes both figures. On a 240 V, 11 kW supply - a 48-amp wall charger - a 10-100% charge takes approximately 8 hours 45 minutes on the 99.8 kWh battery and 6 hours 45 minutes on the 76.1 kWh battery in the Light RWD. With the in-cable control box on the bundled portable cable, the same charges take approximately 14 hours 35 minutes and 11 hours 15 minutes.

Does the Kia EV9 come with a charger?

Kia lists a Dual Level 120V / 240V Portable Charging Cable among the EV9's standard convenience features, so you should have something that charges at 240 volts. It is slower than a wall unit: by Kia's own published times, nearly six hours slower for a full charge on the 99.8 kWh battery. Check what is actually in your vehicle, since equipment can vary.

Is an 80-amp charger worth it for a Kia EV9?

No. The onboard charger is the ceiling, and on the EV9 it is 10.9 kW on every trim. An 80-amp charger can deliver 19.2 kW, but the car will still draw 10.9 kW, so you pay roughly three times as much for the charger plus a 100-amp circuit and get nothing. Spend the difference on a longer cable, a tougher enclosure or the install itself.

Can I charge a Kia EV9 from a NEMA 14-50 outlet?

Yes, at 40 amps or less - the plug-in ceiling under the NEC's continuous-load rule on a 50-amp circuit - which is 9.6 kW, or about 88% of what the car can accept. It charges overnight comfortably and skips the hardwired install. The Lectron NACS portable and the Grizzl-E Duo on this page are both built for that route.

Which charger does Kia recommend for the EV9?

Kia's own EV9 page names two: the ChargePoint Home Flex (available with J1772 or NACS connectors) and the Ampure Go portable. Both are real, well-documented products. On our publish date the ChargePoint Home Flex listings we track were unavailable at retail, and the Ampure Go is a 32-amp unit that under-feeds the EV9's 10.9 kW module, so neither is our top pick - but both are covered on the site.

Sources

  • Kia - 2026 EV9 Features & Specifications (official specs page) — Kia's own EV9 specification tables, read across all five 2026 trims (Light RWD, Light Long Range RWD, Wind AWD, Land AWD, GT-Line AWD). Under Technical Specifications, 'Onboard Charger Power' reads '10.9 kW' on EVERY trim. 'Drive Battery Energy' is 76.1 kWh on Light RWD and 99.8 kWh on the other four; '800V Charging Architecture', 'North American Charging System (NACS)', 'Dual Level 120V / 240V Portable Charging Cable' and 'Onboard Power Generator (V2L)' are listed across the line. Charge times: 'AC Normal Charge Time (10-100% @ 240V / 11kw via Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment) Level 2 Charger' is 'Approx. 6 hours & 45 minutes' on the 76.1 kWh battery and 'Approx. 8 hours & 45 minutes' on the 99.8 kWh battery, while 'AC Normal Charge Time (10-100% @ 240V w/ In-Cable Control Box)' is 'Approx. 11 hours & 15 minutes' and 'Approx. 14 hours & 35 minutes' respectively. DC fast charging is 'Approx. 20 min.' / 'Approx. 24 min.' at 350 kW and 'Approx. 27 min.' / 'Approx. 34 min.' on NACS. Trim highlights publish EPA-estimated range of 230 miles (76.1 kWh), 305 miles (Light Long Range RWD), 283 miles (Wind AWD and Land AWD) and 280 miles (GT-Line AWD). Dimensions: length 197.2 in. (197.4 in. GT-Line), width 77.9 in., wheelbase 122.0 in., curb weight 5,106-5,851 lb. Kia does NOT publish a maximum onboard-charger amperage, so the ~45 A figure on our page is our own arithmetic from 10.9 kW at 240 V, and the mi/hr figures are ours from Kia's own range-and-battery pairs (accessed September 26, 2026)
  • Kia - 2026 EV9 (official vehicle page, 'Charge up at home and on the go') — Kia's own EV9 vehicle page. Its home-charging section, headed 'Charge up at home and on the go.', names exactly two chargers. ChargePoint Home Flex: 'Charge confidently at home and take everyday by storm with a powerful Level 2 home charger-available with J1772 or NACS connectors and backed by a 3-year limited warranty.' Ampure Go Portable Charger: 'Designed for drivers on the move, the Ampure Go portable charger delivers dependable Level 1 and Level 2 charging using standard 120V or 240V outlets. Perfect for charging at home or on the go and backed by a 3-year limited warranty.' Both point to 'Find A Dealer' rather than to a price. The page also states the EV9 'supports vehicle-to-home (V2H) backup power capabilities with the ability to deliver power back to your home', and describes an 'available 99.8 kWh battery, dual motor e-AWD, and a generous 122-in. wheelbase'. It does not publish the onboard charger's rating - that figure is on the specs page (accessed September 26, 2026)
  • Lectron — NEXUS Level 2 J1772 EV Charging Station, 240V, 48 Amp, Hardwired — Lectron's own product page: up to 48 A continuous at 240 V for 11.5 kW, hardwire-only install by a licensed electrician on a dedicated 240 V circuit, IP66 weatherproof housing for indoor or outdoor use, 23 ft output cable of 15.0 mm (±0.3 mm) heavy-duty compound the brand states is 'engineered to stay flexible and easy to wrap around the wall mount, even in freezing weather', wall-mount J-hook and plug holder included, ETL listed to UL 2594 / UL 2231 / UL 2251 with ENERGY STAR and FCC certification, and a 3-year Lectron warranty. No operating-temperature range and no Wi-Fi or app support are published for this model (accessed August 20, 2026)
  • EVIQO — Level 2 EV Charger, 40A (9.6 kW), NEMA 14-50 plug-in (Gen 2) — EVIQO's own product page: 40A / 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50 plug, SAE J1772, 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable, IP66 / NEMA 4 enclosure, UL / ETL / FCC / ENERGY STAR listings, 3-year standard warranty, app-adjustable 6-40A output, and a note that it needs an EV-grade 4-prong 14-50 receptacle rather than a dryer outlet. RE-READ September 15, 2026 for the garage roundup: the page additionally states an operating temperature range of -22F to 122F, that the app needs a 2.4 GHz WiFi connection, that the standard 3-year warranty is extendable to 4, and that the unit ships in 1-2 business days (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Emporia - EV Chargers (Classic vs Pro) — Emporia's own Classic-vs-Pro comparison page: both units publish a 25 ft cable, 'NEMA Plug or Hardwire' installation, 'Up to 48A' and a 3-year warranty. The feature rows list Smart Scheduling, Home Energy Monitoring, Solar Charging Integration, Peak Demand Management and PowerSmart Load Management, footnoted for the Classic as 'Requires Vue Home Energy Monitor' and for the Pro as 'Requires Vue Home Energy Monitor and PowerSmart upgrade'. The Classic section states 'Add the Vue Home Energy Monitor and we'll manage Peak Demand and automatically charge with your excess solar power', and Emporia's platform lists 'Excess Solar Management' as a named feature. The page also states 'PowerSmart comes standard with the Emporia Pro, but can be added to the Emporia Classic for an extra cost'. Emporia's own listed prices on the date accessed are not reprinted here. RE-READ October 17, 2026 for the smart-home roundup: every figure above is unchanged, the page additionally publishes 'Intelligent Load Sharing' for multiple chargers on one circuit and an in-app assistant ('Ask questions about your energy usage and get instant answers'), and it names NO third-party or smart-home integration of any kind - no Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home / HomeKit, Matter, Home Assistant, IFTTT, OCPP or public API appears anywhere on it (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • Autel Energy — MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 50A product page — Autel's own listing: compliant with NEMA 4X standards, operating temperature -40F to 131F, 25 ft cable, 3-year warranty. RE-READ October 10, 2026 for the Emporia head-to-head, and the page now publishes materially more: 'Maximum Output | 12 kW / 50 A' with output 'Adjustable 16-50 A'; installation given as 'Hardwired - 70 A Circuit for Full Output'; an 'SAE J1772' connector; an enclosure rating of 'IP65 / NEMA 4X'; an operating range of '-40 to 131 F (-40 to 55 C)'; a '3 Years' warranty quoted as a single term with no component split; 'CSA and ENERGY STAR compliance' (no UL listing is claimed on this page); connectivity listed as 'Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Ethernet, CAN, RS485'; app control to start, stop and schedule charging, monitor activity and adjust current; dimensions of 13.2 x 7.4 x 3.8 in (336 x 187 x 97 mm) and a weight of 15.4 lbs (7 kg); and the load-management sentence this comparison turns on - 'Supports both Adaptive Load Management (ALM) and charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing (DLB). ALM requires compatible additional hardware, while DLB works between chargers without additional hardware.' The page publishes no solar-specific feature (accessed October 10, 2026)
  • Lectron - Portable Level 2 Tesla (NACS) EV Charger, 240V, 40 Amp, NEMA 14-50 — Lectron's own product page: 40 A / 240 V / 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50 plug with a native NACS connector for Tesla Models S/3/X/Y/Cybertruck and any NACS EV, 16 ft cable, ETL listed to UL 2594 / UL 2231 with a UL 2251 handle plus ENERGY STAR and FCC, LED status indicators on the base SKU with app control only on the separate WiFi version. Lectron describes the unit as weather-resistant for indoor or outdoor use while advising against extreme weather exposure, and its spec block publishes no enclosure rating, no operating-temperature range and no warranty term. RE-READ October 17, 2026 for the review, and the page is unchanged on every spec above. Additional detail captured on that visit: the page sells two SKUs at different prices, a WiFi version and a 'Plug & Play' version, and states that the Lectron App works on the 'WiFi version ONLY'; the range claims are inconsistent across the same page - '260+ miles overnight', 'up to 36 miles of range per hour' and '30+ miles of range per hour' - with a disclaimer that actual speed depends on the vehicle, state of charge and temperature; the enclosure figures appear only in image copy and disagree with each other (IP65 described as dust and water resistance, IP54 described as dust-tight and splash-resistant), while the body copy publishes no rating at all; the UL references are likewise inconsistent (the sidebar and FAQ read 'UL2594 / UL2231 Certified' while the body text attributes UL 2251 to the handle); a carrying case is included; a CCS1-to-NACS adapter is offered as a paid bundle add-on rather than included; J1772 cars are said to work through a Tesla/NACS-to-J1772 adapter; shipping is quoted at 1-2 working days with 30-day returns. Still NOT published anywhere on the page: operating-temperature range, warranty term, weight, dimensions, a complete box inventory, a single consistent IP rating or a single consistent UL standard for the charger itself (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A technical specifications — Grizzl-E's own spec table for the Duo Connect 40A: two output cables, Type 1 (J1772) and NACS Level 2 connections, aluminum enclosure, operating temperature -30C to +50C, IP67 protection, 25 ft output cable length, 18 in input cable, 208-240 VAC, nominal input current 16/24/32/40 A, maximum output current 40 A, one LED indicator per connector, DIP-switch power selector, 40 lb unit weight (accessed August 12, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A product overview — Grizzl-E's own overview for the Duo Connect 40A: a dual-port Wi-Fi connected 40A plug-in charger whose dual charging 'automatically splits the available current in half, or you can set individual charging currents for each connector with the Grizzl-E Connect app', with scheduling, usage history, remote lockout, monitoring and diagnostics in the app (accessed August 12, 2026)
  • Ampure - Ampure Go portable Level 2 EV charger product page — Ampure's own specifications for the Go: 32 A / 7.7 kW at 240 V or 12 A / 1.4 kW at 120 V, input range 85-265 VAC at 45-65 Hz, SAE J1772 coupler, NEMA 14-50 and NEMA 5-15 cords, 20 ft (6 m) cable, IP67 rated 'submersible up to 3 feet' with a NEMA 6P watertight enclosure, operating range -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), 9 lb (4.1 kg) module, and listings to UL, cUL, UL 2594, UL 2231, UL 817, ICES, FCC, ENERGY STAR, REACH and RoHS. Ampure states 'up to 25 miles of range per hour' at 240 V. RE-READ October 10, 2026 for the review: every figure above is unchanged on the page. Confirmed again that this page publishes NO warranty term (that figure is on the store listing), NO app, WiFi or scheduling feature, and NO description of the unit's internal safety protections (no GFCI / CCID figure, no over-temperature behavior). The page describes the unit as an 'IP67-rated IC-CPD', i.e. an in-cable control and protection device, and the specification block gives the plug types as 'NEMA 14-50 & NEMA 5-15' alongside an 'IEC grid plug'. Ampure's current line separates this unit from a distinct 'Go 2 (NACS)' model; the specifications above are the Gen 1 J1772 unit Amazon lists as the 'Go 1' (accessed October 10, 2026)
  • Lectron - EV Charging FAQ — Lectron's own FAQ, read for its plug-and-cord guidance: 'It's recommended to plug the charger directly into a dedicated outlet without extension cords', with a safety list that reads 'Always match plug and outlet ratings (volts/amps)', 'Use GFCI protection for outdoor plugs', 'Avoid extension cords or daisy-chaining', 'Inspect plugs and cables regularly' and 'Hire a licensed electrician for installation'. Its NEMA table publishes 5-15 as 120V / 15A, 5-20 as 120V / 20A, 6-20 as 240V / 20A, 10-30 / 14-30 as 240V / 30A ('Common in older dryers') and 14-50 as 240V / 50A, and states that Lectron offers NEMA 5-15, 14-50 and 10-30 plug options for portable charging. Also states that a Tesla owner can use the J1772-to-Tesla adapter 'included with most Tesla', and that adapters 'don't generate power - they only enable compatibility between chargers and vehicles' (accessed September 17, 2026)
  • SAE International — J3400 North American Charging System (NACS) — The SAE J3400 / NACS standard (the Tesla-derived connector) now being adopted industry-wide (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • SAE International — J1772 Conductive Charge Coupler — The SAE J1772 connector standard for AC Level 1 and Level 2 charging in North America (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger Installations — NFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Electric Vehicle Charging Stations — US DOE on charging levels: Level 1 (~1.9 kW, ~5 mi/hr), Level 2 (2.9-19.2 kW, ~7.2 kW typical residential, ~25 mi/hr), and DC fast charging (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • NEMA — Enclosure Types (definitions from NEMA 250) — NEMA's own definitions: Type 3R protects against falling dirt and rain, sleet and snow; Type 4 adds windblown dust, splashing and hose-directed water; Type 4X adds protection against corrosion. NEMA also states its NEMA-to-IP table cannot be used to convert IP designations back to NEMA types (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • UL Solutions — EV Charging Infrastructure Services — UL on EVSE safety certification: ANSI/UL 2594 is the Standard for Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading