Level Two Club

Autel MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 40A Review

The MaxiCharger most people should actually buy — the same weather-rated body and 25-foot cable as its hardwired siblings, ending in a plug rather than a wire nut.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Autel’s MaxiCharger range runs from this 40-amp plug-in unit up to an 80-amp monster that needs a 100-amp circuit. The attention goes to the top of that range. The interesting one is at the bottom.

This is the model that fits the install most households actually have: a NEMA 14-50 plug, 40 amps, a 25-foot cable, a NEMA 4 enclosure and an in-body holster so the connector is not living on the garage floor. Where the outlet already exists, there is no electrician in the story at all.

Two specifications Autel publishes for its 50A and 80A units are absent from this one’s page, and we will not paper over them. They are covered below.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

#1Best weather-rated plug-in charger

Autel MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 40A

Autel's weather-hardened hardware in the install almost everyone can actually have. It is the 50A MaxiCharger's smaller sibling: same 25 ft cable and app, same NEMA 4 body, but it ends in a NEMA 14-50 plug instead of a wire nut — so it goes on an existing outlet, comes off the wall when you move, and needs a 50-amp circuit rather than a 60. The in-body holster is a small thing that stops mattering only if you have never coiled a cold cable.

Strengths

  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet — no electrician needed if the outlet already exists
  • NEMA 4 enclosure with a 25 ft cable and an in-body holster, so nothing dangles
  • Output adjustable up to 40 A in the Autel Charge app, with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and Ethernet

Trade-offs

  • 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling — the hardwired 50A sibling is the one to buy for more
  • Autel's page for this SKU does not publish a UL or ENERGY STAR listing, or a temperature range
  • Needs a genuine EV-grade 14-50 receptacle, which an old dryer outlet is not
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
Not published

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour — an overnight charge covering any ordinary commute.

Build note. Plug-in NEMA 14-50 unit in a NEMA 4 enclosure with a 25 ft J1772 cable and an in-body holster; output is adjustable up to 40 A in the Autel Charge app, with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Ethernet, CAN and RS485 on board.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

What it is

Autel publishes this unit as the MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 40A in its NEMA 14-50 form. Output is adjustable up to 40 amps— 9.6 kW — through an SAE J1772 connector on a 25-foot cable, from a NEMA 4 enclosure, with a three-year limited warranty. Connectivity is unusually complete for a home charger: Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Ethernet, CAN and RS485.

At 40 amps and a reference 3.5 miles per kWh that is about 34 miles of range per hour, or roughly 340 miles across a ten-hour night. For any ordinary commute, that is a full recharge with hours to spare.

The plug is the point

Forty amps is the ceiling for any plug-in charger, and not because of Autel. A NEMA 14-50 is a 50-amp receptacle, the NEC treats charging as a continuous load, and a continuous load is limited to 80% of the circuit rating. Forty amps is that limit; no plug-in charger anywhere exceeds it.

What you get for accepting that ceiling is substantial. If a suitable receptacle exists, there is no electrician, no permit and no wait for an inspection slot. When you move, the charger comes with you. If it ever fails, replacing it is ten minutes rather than a service call. Our hardwired vs plug-in comparison weighs that properly, and the install, start to finish shows what you are skipping.

One caution that applies to every plug-in charger and is worth repeating here: the receptacle must be EV-grade. Hours of near-maximum continuous draw is duty that budget receptacles are documented to fail under, and an old dryer outlet is not a 14-50. Our 14-50 guide covers what to ask for.

The details that separate it from cheaper plug-ins

The in-body holster. A small thing that stops mattering only if you have never coiled a cold cable in the dark. The connector has a defined home on the unit rather than hanging from a hook or resting on the floor, which matters more on an outdoor or driveway install than in a tidy garage.

The 25-foot cable.The long end of the market, and on a plug-in install the outlet position is fixed — so cable reach is doing more work than it would on a hardwired unit you could site anywhere. See chargers with long cables if reach is your binding constraint.

Ethernet.Genuinely differentiating. Garages defeat WiFi routinely — concrete, foil-faced insulation, a metal door — and a wired option is the only permanent fix. If your garage is a known dead spot, this feature alone may decide the purchase. Our connectivity guide covers the alternatives.

App adjustment.Output is set in the Autel Charge app, not on a DIP switch. Convenient against Grizzl-E’s physical selector, and it means the charger can be matched to a smaller circuit without opening anything.

The two things Autel does not publish

We record specs from the manufacturer’s own documentation, and where a figure is not published we say so rather than borrowing one from a sibling product or a retail listing. Two apply here, and both have practical consequences.

No UL or ENERGY STAR listing on this SKU’s page.Autel’s pages for the 50A and 80A units publish theirs; this one does not. That is not evidence of absence — but it is not evidence of presence either, and a utility rebate program requiring ENERGY STAR will want the certification, not a reasonable inference. If your rebate depends on it, confirm with Autel and with the program before ordering. It is also why we keep this unit off our ENERGY STAR roundup.

No operating-temperature range.The 50A MaxiCharger publishes -40°F to 131°F. This page does not publish a range at all. In a mild climate that is academic; in a northern winter it is exactly the specification you would want stated. The cold-weather picks that do publish one are in our winter roundup.

The NEMA 4 enclosure it does publish is a real outdoor rating — windblown dust, splashing and hose-directed water — and a step above the NEMA 3R many wall units carry. What the enclosure code does and does not cover is in NEMA and IP ratings explained.

Who should buy it

Buy it if you have or can have a NEMA 14-50, the charger will live outside or in a rough garage, and you want a weather-rated unit with a long cable, a proper holster and a wired network option.

Buy the EVIQO 40A insteadif you want the same 40 amps with a documented ENERGY STAR listing and the best total reach in the class — it adds a 40-inch input lead to the same 25-foot cable. That is the top pick in our plug-in roundup.

Buy the 50A MaxiCharger insteadif you are hardwiring anyway and want the NEMA 4X enclosure with its published -40°F rating — the full review is here.

Buy nothing yetif you have not checked what your car accepts. A vehicle capped at 7.7 kW draws 32 amps from this charger and would have been equally happy on a smaller circuit — the charger is inside your car explains why that is the first number to look up.

Frequently asked questions

How fast is the Autel MaxiCharger 40A?

Up to 40 amps, which is 9.6 kW — about 34 miles of range per hour at our reference efficiency of 3.5 miles per kWh, or roughly 340 miles across a ten-hour night. Output is adjustable up to 40 amps in the Autel Charge app, so it can be dialed down to suit a smaller circuit.

Does the Autel MaxiCharger 40A need an electrician?

Only if you do not already have a suitable NEMA 14-50 receptacle. It plugs in, so where a properly protected EV-grade outlet exists, mounting the bracket and plugging it in is a homeowner job. If the outlet has to be installed, that is electrical work requiring an electrician and a permit.

Is it ENERGY STAR certified?

Autel's own product page for this SKU does not state an ENERGY STAR listing, so we record it as not published rather than assuming it inherits its siblings' certifications. That matters specifically if a utility rebate requires ENERGY STAR, which many do — verify with the program before ordering.

Can it be installed outdoors?

The charger publishes a NEMA 4 enclosure, which covers windblown dust, splashing and hose-directed water — a strong outdoor rating. Autel's page for this SKU does not publish an operating-temperature range, unlike its 50A page, so in a genuinely cold climate that is a question worth putting to Autel rather than assuming.

How is it different from the 50-amp MaxiCharger?

Install type and enclosure grade, mostly. The 50A model is hardwired, delivers 12 kW, and publishes a NEMA 4X enclosure rated -40F to 131F. This one plugs into a 14-50, delivers 9.6 kW, and publishes NEMA 4 without a stated temperature range. For most homes the plug-in install is the more useful difference.

Does it have Ethernet?

Yes — Autel lists Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Ethernet, CAN and RS485 for this unit. The wired option is genuinely valuable in a garage where WiFi does not reach, which is a common problem and one of the few ways to solve it permanently.

Sources

Keep reading