Level Two Club

Best 40-Amp Level 2 EV Chargers

A 40-amp charger is the sweet spot for most homes: it delivers a full 9.6 kW on a standard 50-amp circuit, plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet without a panel upgrade, and adds roughly 34 miles of range an hour. These are the ones worth buying — and what you give up to save money.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Search “best 40 amp EV charger” and you’ve usually already made the important decision. Forty amps — a full 9.6 kW at 240 volts — is the amperage most homes land on, and for good reason: it runs on a common 50-amp circuit, it’s the ceiling for a plug-in NEMA 14-50 install, and it adds about 34 miles of range per hour, which covers an overnight charge for almost anyone. Going higher, to 48 amps, means a 60-amp circuit and usually a hardwired install — more panel, more electrician, more money for eight extra amps you may never use.

So we ranked this segment on the criteria a 40-amp buyer actually weighs, in this order. One: it delivers a genuine 40 amps — either natively or by dialing a higher-rated unit down to run cleanly on a 50-amp circuit. Two: how it installs, because the whole appeal of 40 amps is that you can plug in rather than hardwire. Three: a real UL or ETL safety listing to the EV-charging standard. Four: cable length, since reach decides where you can park. Five: the smart features you’ll actually use — scheduling and energy tracking earn their price only if your utility has time-of-use rates. And six: warranty and price.

We own none of these units and haven’t bench-tested them — we read the specs off the manufacturers’ own sheets on a dated visit, do our own charging-speed math (and print the assumption), and argue the ranking in plain language with the downsides on every pick. Prices are pulled live and shown as “Check price” when we can’t confirm one, never anchored to a stale number.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Best overall
$528.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that doesn't feel cheap: a full 48 amps, ENERGY STAR listing, WiFi with genuine energy monitoring, and a 25 ft cable — for well under what the big names charge. It's the one we point most people to first.

Best value smart
$449.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

The full-speed portable. A genuine 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50, an IP67 station body rated -22F to 122F, and a 25-foot cable - the longest here by five feet - for less than the 32A unit costs. It is the heaviest thing here to coil and there is no app, but if the portable is also going to be your everyday charger, this is the one that does not make you choose.

Best no-frills
$209.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

One of the cheapest honest ways into real Level 2 charging. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, get a genuine 40A / 9.6 kW, and unplug it to take on a trip. No app and a shorter warranty are the trade-offs for the price.

Best budget
$269.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Autel MaxiCharger Home

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the harshest driveway. The NEMA 4X enclosure is rated to keep charging in extreme cold and heat, it pushes a full 50 amps, and the app is capable. If your charger lives fully exposed to the weather, this is the one.

Best weatherproof
$568.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A means it fits a small panel now and a bigger circuit later
  • The most mature app of the group — scheduling, reminders, usage history, over-the-air firmware
  • 3-year warranty and a long 23 ft cable
  • Sold hardwired or on a NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50 plug, in J1772 or NACS

Trade-offs

  • You pay a premium over value 48A chargers for the app and brand
  • Full 50A output needs a 60A circuit most older panels don't have to spare
  • The plug-in SKUs cap at 40A, so the top speed is a hardwired-only feature
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired, NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and a typical 3.5 miles per kWh, the Home Flex adds roughly 42 miles of range per hour. Dial it down to 40A to fit a 50A circuit and you get about 34. ChargePoint's own, more conservative claim is up to 37 miles per hour hardwired and 30 on the plug-in SKUs.

Build note. Amperage is set in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A. The plug-in SKUs are capped at 40A, so the full 50A is a hardwired-only figure. UL and cUL listed per UL 2594 and UL 2231; firmware updates over the air, and the station stores up to 90 days of session data locally if the network drops.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best value smart

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that doesn't feel cheap: a full 48 amps, ENERGY STAR listing, WiFi with genuine energy monitoring, and a 25 ft cable — for well under what the big names charge. It's the one we point most people to first.

Strengths

  • 48A output and ENERGY STAR at a value price
  • The app actually tracks energy use, not just on/off
  • Long 25 ft cable and a remote holster in the box

Trade-offs

  • 48A hardwired needs a 60A circuit; on a NEMA 14-50 plug it's limited to 40A
  • App polish trails ChargePoint's, and support is smaller
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds about 40 miles of range per hour hardwired; on a 40A plug-in circuit, about 34.

Build note. 48A hardwired, or 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, with a 25 ft cable and remote holder.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best no-frills

ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

The full-speed portable. A genuine 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50, an IP67 station body rated -22F to 122F, and a 25-foot cable - the longest here by five feet - for less than the 32A unit costs. It is the heaviest thing here to coil and there is no app, but if the portable is also going to be your everyday charger, this is the one that does not make you choose.

Strengths

  • A real 40A / 9.6 kW, selectable down to 32, 24, 20 or 16 amps for a smaller circuit
  • 25 ft cable - the longest here, and enough to cross a garage
  • IP67 station body rated -22F to 122F, with a 1-to-12-hour delayed-start timer built in

Trade-offs

  • A 25 ft cable is the heaviest thing here to coil and carry - portability is relative
  • The connector is rated IP54, well below the station's IP67, so keep it off wet ground
  • No app, and ELEGRP does not publish an ENERGY STAR listing for this SKU
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
2 years
WiFi + app
No
Certifications
ETL listed

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour - the same speed as any 40A wall unit.

Build note. Portable plug-in unit with selectable output at 16, 20, 24, 32 or 40 amps and a 1-to-12-hour delayed-start timer, on a 25 ft cable; IP67 station and IP54 connector, rated -22F to 122F.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best budget

Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

One of the cheapest honest ways into real Level 2 charging. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, get a genuine 40A / 9.6 kW, and unplug it to take on a trip. No app and a shorter warranty are the trade-offs for the price.

Strengths

  • A real 40A / 9.6 kW at a budget price
  • Plug-in and portable — take it with you, no hardwiring
  • ETL listed to UL 2594 / UL 2231 safety standards

Trade-offs

  • No WiFi or app on the base model — the smart version is a separate SKU
  • Shorter 16 ft cable and a 2-year warranty
  • Brand doesn't publish an outdoor/IP enclosure rating
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
16 ft
Warranty
2 years
WiFi + app
No
Certifications
ETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour.

Build note. Portable plug-in unit — no hardwiring needed; the base model has no WiFi or app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best weatherproof

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the harshest driveway. The NEMA 4X enclosure is rated to keep charging in extreme cold and heat, it pushes a full 50 amps, and the app is capable. If your charger lives fully exposed to the weather, this is the one.

Strengths

  • NEMA 4X enclosure rated for very cold and hot conditions
  • Full 50A output with a 25 ft cable
  • WiFi, Bluetooth and a capable app

Trade-offs

  • 50A needs a 60A circuit and typically a hardwired install
  • App and ecosystem are newer than ChargePoint's
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
CSA certified, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 42 miles of range per hour.

Build note. NEMA 4X weatherproof enclosure rated for operation down to about -40 degrees F.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Why 40 amps is the number most homes should buy

The appeal of a 40-amp charger isn’t the charger — it’s the circuit behind it. EV charging is a continuous load, so the National Electrical Code sizes the branch circuit to 125% of the charger’s draw (the “80% rule”). Run that math backwards and a 40-amp charger needs a 50-amp circuit, while a 48-amp charger needs a 60-amp one. A 50-amp circuit is common, it’s exactly what a NEMA 14-50 outlet is wired for, and it’s far more likely to fit in an existing panel without an upgrade. That is the whole reason 40 amps and plug-in installs travel together: pick 40 amps and you can usually skip both a panel upgrade and a hardwired job.

And you give up very little speed for that. At 40 amps a charger delivers 9.6 kW, which on a reference 3.5 miles per kWh EV works out to roughly 34 miles of range per hour. A 48-amp charger makes about 40. Over a normal overnight charging window — you’re asleep for eight hours, the car needs to replace maybe 30 to 50 miles — that six-mile-per-hour gap is invisible. We work the whole comparison through in 40 amps vs 48 amps; the short version is that 48 amps earns its extra circuit only for very high-mileage drivers on a tight refill schedule.

Before you shop, confirm what your panel can actually spare with our panel-capacity guide. If a 50-amp circuit fits, a 40-amp charger is very likely the right call; if even that is a stretch, some of these units dial down further still.

Native 40-amp vs a bigger charger set to 40

There are two honest ways to get a full 40 amps, and the table below sorts our picks into both. A native 40-amp charger — the ELEGRP 40A and the Lectron 40A — is built for exactly this circuit and priced accordingly; there’s no headroom to pay for and none to unlock. A higher-rated unit — the ChargePoint Home Flex (adjustable 16–50A), the Emporia (48A hardwired, 40A on a plug) and the Autel MaxiCharger (50A) — is set to 40 amps to run cleanly on a 50-amp circuit today, and can be turned up later if you ever move it to a bigger circuit. You pay a little more now for that option.

Every unit here delivers a full 40 amps — 9.6 kW, about 34 miles of range per hour at ~3.5 mi/kWh. Two are native 40-amp chargers; three are higher-rated units you set to 40A to run on a standard 50-amp circuit. Specs are read from each maker’s own spec sheet.
ChargerRated maxHow it makes 40AInstallCableApp
ChargePoint Home Flex50 ASet to 40A in the app (adjustable 16-50A)Hardwired, NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-5023 ftYes
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger48 A40A on a NEMA 14-50 plug (48A hardwired)Hardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug25 ftYes
ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger40 ANative 40A (NEMA 14-50 plug)NEMA 14-50 plug25 ftNo
Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger40 ANative 40ANEMA 14-50 plug16 ftNo
Autel MaxiCharger Home50 ASet to 40A on a 50A circuit (50A max)Hardwired25 ftYes

Neither approach is “better” in the abstract — it depends on how settled your plans are. If you know 40 amps is your ceiling (renting, a modest panel, no interest in a future rewire), a native unit is the cleaner buy. If you might upgrade the panel someday, or you want the most capable app, an adjustable charger is a reasonable hedge. What you should not do is overbuy amps you can’t reach: a 48-amp charger on a 50-amp circuit just runs at 40, so you’d be paying for a number you can’t use.

The picks, in plain terms

The ChargePoint Home Flex is our overall pick because it fits the most homes with the fewest regrets: adjustable amperage means one charger works on a 50-amp circuit now and a bigger one later, the app is the most mature here, and the warranty is long. It’s a premium price for that flexibility — if you want the same idea for less, read our full Home Flex review and then weigh the value picks below.

The Emporia Level 2 is the value-smart choice: a genuine app with real energy monitoring, an ENERGY STAR listing, and a long 25-foot cable for well under the big-name price. On a NEMA 14-50 plug it runs at 40 amps, and it can be hardwired to 48 later — a tidy way to buy 40 amps now with room to grow. Our Emporia review has the detail. The ELEGRP 40A goes the opposite direction on purpose: a native 40-amp unit with no app, no account and no firmware to fail — you schedule charging in the car instead. It is the cheapest full 40 amps here, on a 25-foot cable, with an IP67 station body rated -22°F to 122°F and a built-in delayed-start timer if the car will not schedule for you. Two honest limits: the connector is rated IP54, well below the station, and ELEGRP publishes no ENERGY STAR listing for this SKU. The full spec picture is in our ELEGRP 40A review, and our no-app roundup has the rest of that argument.

This slot was the Grizzl-E Classic until our 3 September 2026 check found it no longer listed on Amazon in any plug or finish. Grizzl-E has not discontinued it and still sells it directly, but we only link Amazon, so its review stays up as a spec record with the buy link removed. The Grizzl-E you can still buy here is the Classic Connect, which adds WiFi and an app.

The Lectron 40A is the cheapest honest way into real Level 2 charging: a native 40 amps, ETL-listed to the UL 2594/2231 safety standards, and portable, so you can unplug it and take it along. The trade-offs are a shorter 16-foot cable, a two-year warranty, no app on the base model, and no published outdoor rating — fine for a garage, not for an exposed wall. When price is the whole story, it’s also on our budget charger list. Finally, the Autel MaxiCharger is here for one specific buyer: someone who wants a 40-amp install but whose charger has to live fully outdoors. Its NEMA 4X enclosure is rated for corrosion, cold and heat; set it to 40 amps on a 50-amp circuit now, and it has room to 50 amps if you upgrade. The catch is that its full output is a hardwired, 60-amp-circuit job — at 40 amps you’re buying the weatherproofing, not the speed.

Plug in, or hardwire?

Forty amps is where the plug-in route makes the most sense, and it’s worth being deliberate about it. A plug-in charger drops onto a NEMA 14-50 outlet, stays removable if you move, and skips the electrician’s hardwiring labor — but the receptacle itself needs a proper 50-amp install, and under current code that circuit generally needs GFCI protection, usually a GFCI breaker. A hardwired charger has no plug to weatherproof and can, on some units, run at higher amperage — but it’s a permanent install and removes the renter-friendly flexibility that makes 40 amps attractive in the first place. Our hardwired vs plug-in comparison weighs the whole trade, and the NEMA 14-50 guide covers the outlet and its code requirements.

Whichever way you connect it, budget the job before you buy the box. Hardware is only part of the bill — the circuit run, the outlet or hardwiring labor, the permit and any panel work all move the total, and we break every line down in the installation cost guide.

How to choose between these five

Start with how permanent your setup is. If you rent, or you just want the lowest price for real 240V charging in a garage, the Lectron 40A is the budget answer. If you want a charger you never have to think about — no app, nothing to update — and don’t mind scheduling in the car, the ELEGRP 40A is the rugged, native-40A workhorse. If you do want scheduling and energy data without the big-name markup, the Emporia is the value-smart pick with the longest reach. If you want the most flexible, most future-proof charger and the best app — and you’ll pay for it — the ChargePoint Home Flex is the safe default. And if your charger has to survive a fully exposed outdoor spot, step up to the Autel MaxiCharger for its weather-rated enclosure.

Every one of these delivers the same core thing: a full 40 amps, 9.6 kW, about 34 miles of range an hour, on a circuit most homes can carry. The differences are the app, the build and the cable — convenience and durability, which are real but optional. Once you’ve chosen, it’s worth a minute with our cost-to-charge calculator to see what those overnight kilowatt-hours actually cost on your electric rate — the part no charger brand puts on the box.

If you are not yet certain 40 amps is your number, work it from first principles in what size charger do I need — your panel, your car’s onboard charger and your actual mileage, taken in that order. If the panel is the constraint, our small-panel picks cover the units you can dial down to 32 or 24 amps and still charge overnight without noticing.

Frequently asked questions

Is a 40-amp EV charger enough for a home?

For nearly everyone, yes. A 40-amp charger delivers 9.6 kW and adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour at a typical 3.5 miles per kWh, so an overnight charge easily replaces a normal day's driving and then some. The extra speed of a 48-amp charger (about 40 miles per hour) only matters if you regularly drive hundreds of miles a day and need to refill in a narrow window. For a daily commuter, 40 amps has hours of slack every night.

What size circuit and breaker does a 40-amp charger need?

A 50-amp circuit on a 50-amp breaker. EV charging is a continuous load, so the National Electrical Code sizes the circuit to 125% of the charger's draw — the '80% rule' — which means a 40-amp charger needs a 50-amp circuit, and a 48-amp charger needs a 60-amp one. That 50-amp circuit is exactly what a NEMA 14-50 outlet is wired for, which is why 40 amps and plug-in installs go together.

Can I plug a 40-amp charger into a NEMA 14-50 outlet?

Yes — a NEMA 14-50 outlet is on a 50-amp circuit, and a plug-in charger on that outlet is limited to 40 amps continuous by the 80% rule. That's the standard, code-compliant plug-in setup, and it's what most native 40-amp chargers ship for, including every plug-in unit on this page. Check the specific SKU anyway: some makers ship a NEMA 6-50 variant of the same charger, and which one is listed changes over time. Under current code the circuit generally also needs GFCI protection (usually a GFCI breaker); your electrician and local inspector confirm what's required.

Should I buy a 48-amp charger and just run it at 40 amps?

It can be a smart hedge. Several units here — the ChargePoint Home Flex, Emporia and Autel — are rated above 40 amps but let you set a lower limit, so you can run at 40 amps on a 50-amp circuit today and unlock more speed later if you upgrade to a 60-amp circuit. You pay a little more up front for headroom you may reach someday. If you're certain 40 amps is your ceiling, a native 40-amp unit like the ELEGRP or Lectron costs less and does the same job now.

Do 40-amp chargers charge slower than 48-amp ones?

A little. At 40 amps you get 9.6 kW and about 34 miles of range per hour; at 48 amps, 11.5 kW and about 40 miles per hour. That's roughly six miles per hour of difference — real, but modest against a full overnight charging window. And it only exists if your panel and install can carry the bigger 60-amp circuit; on a 50-amp circuit a 48-amp charger simply runs at 40 anyway.

Does a 40-amp charger qualify for the federal tax credit?

There is no federal charger credit to claim on a new install. The 30C credit terminated for property placed in service after June 30, 2026, and amperage was never the deciding factor while it ran — eligibility depended on where you live (the home had to be in a qualifying census tract) and it was claimed on IRS Form 8911 for 30% of the hardware and install cost, capped at $1,000 per item. If your 40-amp charger was placed in service on or before that date it qualifies the same as any other home charger. State and utility rebates are unaffected; our incentives page covers them.

Sources

  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Electric Vehicle Charging StationsUS DOE on charging levels: Level 1 (~1.9 kW, ~5 mi/hr), Level 2 (2.9-19.2 kW, ~7.2 kW typical residential, ~25 mi/hr), and DC fast charging (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger InstallationsNFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Charging Electric Vehicles at HomeUS DOE on home EV charging: most owners charge overnight on Level 1 or Level 2, installs follow NEC Article 625, with example home-charging costs (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • ENERGY STAR — Electric Vehicle ChargersENERGY STAR on EVSE efficiency: certified chargers use about 40% less energy in standby than non-certified units (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • UL Solutions — EV Charging Infrastructure ServicesUL on EVSE safety certification: ANSI/UL 2594 is the Standard for Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex datasheet (PDF)ChargePoint's own datasheet: enclosure rating Type 3R per UL 50E, operating temperature -22F to 122F, 23 ft cable, plus installer notes that an outdoor plug-in install requires an outdoor-rated GFCI breaker upstream while an external GFCI may conflict with the charger's internal ground-fault protection on a hardwired install. RE-READ September 3, 2026 for the review refresh: the same datasheet also publishes maximum 12 kW (240V AC x 50A) with output amperage adjustable via the mobile app to 16A, 24A, 32A, 40A, 48A or 50A; a required dedicated dual-pole breaker rated for 125% of maximum load; 'Software Updates: Firmware updated over-the-air (OTA)'; 2.4/5 GHz Wi-Fi (802.11 a/b/g/n); local storage of up to 90 days of charging session data (100 sessions) if the network drops; power measurement accuracy +/- 2.0%; ground-fault detection by 20 mA CCID with auto retry; and UL and cUL listing per UL 2594, UL 2231-1 and UL 2231-2, NEC Article 625 compliant. Ordering information lists the plug-in station models CPH50-NEMA6-50-L23 and CPH50-NEMA14-50-L23 (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • Emporia — Classic Level 2 EV Charger spec sheet (PDF)Emporia's own spec sheet: watertight NEMA Type 4 indoor/outdoor enclosure, operating temperature -22F to 122F, 25 ft cable (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • ELEGRP Store - 40A Level 2 portable J1772 EV charger (NEMA 14-50)ELEGRP's own listing: 40 A / 9.6 kW on 240 V AC at 50/60 Hz with selectable output at 16, 20, 24, 32 or 40 A, SAE J1772 connector on a NEMA 14-50 plug ('For NEMA 14-50 Outlets Only'), 25 ft cable (16 ft and 21 ft also offered), IP67 charging station and IP54 connector, operating range -22F to +122F (-30C to +50C), 1-to-12-hour delayed-start timer, 2-year warranty, 'ETL & UL' listed. RE-READ September 5, 2026 for the review: the specification table is unchanged, and the page additionally states 'Fully ETL certified and built with UL-listed components - including the J1772 plug, cable, and NEMA 14-50 connector', a built-in display reporting charging current, voltage, total energy delivered (kWh) and internal temperature with LED fault patterns, a wall-mounted holder plus anchors and a carry bag in the box, Tesla compatibility via a J1772-to-NACS adapter sold separately, a 30-day return window and 60-day price protection. The page does not name the UL standards, publish a weight, publish an ENERGY STAR certification, or publish app support for this SKU, and its marketing copy carries two conflicting range claims ('Up to 37 Miles/H' and '30 Miles Per Hour') plus an operating range ('-21F to 121F') that disagrees with its own specification table (accessed September 5, 2026)
  • Autel Energy — MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 50A product pageAutel's own listing: compliant with NEMA 4X standards, operating temperature -40F to 131F, 25 ft cable, 3-year warranty (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • Lectron — Portable Level 2 J1772 EV Charger (40A) product pageLectron's own listing: 40A / 240V / 9.6 kW, NEMA 14-50 plug, 16 ft cable, UL 2594 / UL 2231 certified, 2-year warranty, app control on the WiFi version only (accessed July 23, 2026)

Keep reading