Level Two Club

Best EV Chargers for the Volkswagen ID.4

Two sentences on Volkswagen's own ID.4 page decide this purchase, and one of them contradicts advice you will see everywhere else. The ID.4 accepts 11 kW at most, so 48 amps is the ceiling worth paying for. And VW states plainly that its NACS adapter must not be used on a Level 2 charger - so a NACS wall unit, the fashionable buy in 2026, is the wrong box for this car.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Volkswagen does not make you hunt for the number that matters. In the disclaimer attached to its own ID.4 home-charging FAQ, VW states: “Vehicle maximum AC acceptance rate is 11kW.” That is the hard ceiling on how fast an ID.4 can charge from any wall box, in any garage, forever. At 240 volts, 11 kW is about 46 amps of draw, which means a 48-amp charger feeds the car everything it can take and a 50-amp charger feeds it exactly the same. The 80-amp units at the top of the market do nothing for an ID.4 at all.

The second fact is the one that catches people out. Volkswagen sells an approved NACS adapter so an ID.4 can use Tesla Superchargers — and its own footnote for that adapter reads: “Do not use NACS DC adapter with any Level 1 or Level 2 AC chargers, including Tesla Destination chargers and home chargers with NACS connectors.” Most of the big names in this category now sell a NACS-cabled version of their home charger — ChargePoint, Wallbox, Lectron, Emporia and Grizzl-E all do — because so many new EVs have switched to that port. The ID.4 has not. Buy a NACS wall unit for one and, by Volkswagen’s own instruction, you have no sanctioned way to connect it. Every charger on this page carries a J1772 cable for exactly that reason.

So we ranked on four things, in this order: whether the charger delivers a full 46 amps; what circuit it demands, because 48 amps means a 60-amp breaker and that is the real cost of this project; reach, because an ID.4 parked nose-in is a long way from the panel; and then enclosure rating, published safety listing and whether the app earns its money. One more thing we will put up front rather than bury: Volkswagen includes a cable that already does 9.6 kW, so a meaningful number of ID.4 owners should not buy any of these. The section below says who. Every charger here was verified purchasable on the day we published.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Best overall for an ID.4
$516.71 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Lectron Nexus 48A J1772

Lectron Nexus 48A J1772

A full 48 amps with nothing to log into. Lectron's Nexus body is IP66-sealed for an outdoor wall, the cable is a heavy 15 mm compound the brand says is built to stay flexible in freezing weather, and the safety paperwork is the real thing — ETL to UL 2594/2231/2251, plus ENERGY STAR. Hardwired only, and there is no app, which is the entire point.

Best value at the full 11 kW
$449.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that doesn't feel cheap: a full 48 amps, ENERGY STAR listing, WiFi with genuine energy monitoring, and a 25 ft cable — for well under what the big names charge. It's the one we point most people to first.

Best app and energy tracking
4
EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money: a full 48 amps, WiFi with scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. A strong value alternative to Emporia if you want maximum reach.

Best reach for a deep garage
$449.99 · View on Amazon

$510.0012% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Autel MaxiCharger Home

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the harshest driveway. The NEMA 4X enclosure is rated to keep charging in extreme cold and heat, it pushes a full 50 amps, and the app is capable. If your charger lives fully exposed to the weather, this is the one.

Best for an exposed wall or a hard winter
$499.00 · View on Amazon

$568.0012% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Emporia Pro

Emporia Pro

The answer to a panel that says no. The Pro ships with Emporia's Vue 3 energy monitor in the same box, watches what the rest of the house is drawing, and throttles the car in real time so the total never exceeds what the service can carry — which is how a 48-amp charger ends up on a panel that a load calculation says has no room for one. You pay roughly Home Flex money for it, and only the load management justifies that.

Best when the panel can't spare 60 amps
$599.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall for an ID.4

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A means it fits a small panel now and a bigger circuit later
  • The most mature app of the group — scheduling, reminders, usage history, over-the-air firmware
  • 3-year warranty and a long 23 ft cable
  • Sold hardwired or on a NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50 plug, in J1772 or NACS

Trade-offs

  • You pay a premium over value 48A chargers for the app and brand
  • Full 50A output needs a 60A circuit most older panels don't have to spare
  • The plug-in SKUs cap at 40A, so the top speed is a hardwired-only feature
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired, NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and a typical 3.5 miles per kWh, the Home Flex adds roughly 42 miles of range per hour. Dial it down to 40A to fit a 50A circuit and you get about 34. ChargePoint's own, more conservative claim is up to 37 miles per hour hardwired and 30 on the plug-in SKUs.

Build note. Amperage is set in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A. The plug-in SKUs are capped at 40A, so the full 50A is a hardwired-only figure. UL and cUL listed per UL 2594 and UL 2231; firmware updates over the air, and the station stores up to 90 days of session data locally if the network drops.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best value at the full 11 kW

Lectron Nexus 48A J1772

A full 48 amps with nothing to log into. Lectron's Nexus body is IP66-sealed for an outdoor wall, the cable is a heavy 15 mm compound the brand says is built to stay flexible in freezing weather, and the safety paperwork is the real thing — ETL to UL 2594/2231/2251, plus ENERGY STAR. Hardwired only, and there is no app, which is the entire point.

Strengths

  • Full 48A / 11.5 kW hardwired, with ENERGY STAR and ETL listings to UL 2594/2231/2251
  • IP66 enclosure and a 15 mm cable Lectron builds to stay flexible in freezing weather
  • Ships with the wall-mount J-hook and plug holder, and there is no app or account

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired only — a licensed electrician and a 60-amp circuit, with no plug-in option
  • 23 ft cable is shorter than the 25 ft several rivals ship
  • Lectron publishes no operating-temperature range, so we can't state a cold rating
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
No
Certifications
UL 2594/2231/2251 (ETL listed), ENERGY STAR, FCC

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, about 40 miles of range per hour — a full overnight charge for almost any battery on the market.

Build note. IP66-sealed housing for indoor or outdoor mounting, with a heavy-duty 15.0 mm (±0.3 mm) 23 ft output cable Lectron states is engineered to stay flexible and easy to wrap in freezing weather. Wall-mount J-hook and plug holder included; hardwired install on a dedicated 240V circuit by a licensed electrician.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best app and energy tracking

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that doesn't feel cheap: a full 48 amps, ENERGY STAR listing, WiFi with genuine energy monitoring, and a 25 ft cable — for well under what the big names charge. It's the one we point most people to first.

Strengths

  • 48A output and ENERGY STAR at a value price
  • The app actually tracks energy use, not just on/off
  • Long 25 ft cable and a remote holster in the box

Trade-offs

  • 48A hardwired needs a 60A circuit; on a NEMA 14-50 plug it's limited to 40A
  • App polish trails ChargePoint's, and support is smaller
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds about 40 miles of range per hour hardwired; on a 40A plug-in circuit, about 34.

Build note. 48A hardwired, or 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, with a 25 ft cable and remote holder.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best reach for a deep garage

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money: a full 48 amps, WiFi with scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. A strong value alternative to Emporia if you want maximum reach.

Strengths

  • 48A output with WiFi scheduling at a value price
  • 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable — excellent reach
  • UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR listings

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired version needs a 60A circuit and an electrician
  • Smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint or Wallbox
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, about 40 miles of range per hour.

Build note. Ships with a 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable — among the longest reach in class.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best for an exposed wall or a hard winter

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the harshest driveway. The NEMA 4X enclosure is rated to keep charging in extreme cold and heat, it pushes a full 50 amps, and the app is capable. If your charger lives fully exposed to the weather, this is the one.

Strengths

  • NEMA 4X enclosure rated for very cold and hot conditions
  • Full 50A output with a 25 ft cable
  • WiFi, Bluetooth and a capable app

Trade-offs

  • Autel's own page specifies a 70A circuit for full output, and the unit is hardwired only
  • App and ecosystem are newer than ChargePoint's
  • Autel publishes CSA and ENERGY STAR for this unit, not a UL listing
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
CSA certified, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 42 miles of range per hour.

Build note. IP65 / NEMA 4X enclosure with a published operating range of -40F to 131F (-40C to 55C), output adjustable from 16 to 50 A, a 25 ft cable, Bluetooth / WiFi / Ethernet / CAN / RS485 connectivity, and a 13.2 x 7.4 x 3.8 in body weighing 15.4 lb. Autel states a 70 A circuit is required for full output, and that its Adaptive Load Management 'requires compatible additional hardware' while charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing does not.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on October 10, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#6Best when the panel can't spare 60 amps

Emporia Pro

The answer to a panel that says no. The Pro ships with Emporia's Vue 3 energy monitor in the same box, watches what the rest of the house is drawing, and throttles the car in real time so the total never exceeds what the service can carry — which is how a 48-amp charger ends up on a panel that a load calculation says has no room for one. You pay roughly Home Flex money for it, and only the load management justifies that.

Strengths

  • PowerSmart throttles charging against real-time whole-home load, so a small service can host a big charger
  • 48 A hardwired or 40 A on a NEMA 14-50 plug — one unit covers both installs
  • UL listed, ENERGY STAR certified and NEMA 4 rated for indoor or outdoor, with a 25 ft cable

Trade-offs

  • PowerSmart depends on the bundled Vue 3 monitor being installed in your panel too — it is not a charger-only feature
  • Costs meaningfully more than Emporia's own Classic, which charges just as fast
  • 48 A still needs a 60-amp circuit; PowerSmart manages the load, it does not create capacity
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A hardwired (11.5 kW by our arithmetic of 48 x 240 V) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds about 40 miles of range per hour; on a NEMA 14-50 plug it is capped at 40A, about 34 miles per hour. When PowerSmart is protecting the service it will deliberately deliver less than that at peak household load.

Build note. Ships bundled with Emporia's Vue 3 energy monitor, which reads the whole home's draw at the panel; the charger then raises or lowers its own current to keep total service load inside its limit. NEMA 4 body, 25 ft cable, and a J1772 or NACS cable option.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Each pick against the 11 kW maximum AC acceptance rate Volkswagen publishes for the ID.4. Rated amps and cable lengths are the brands’ own; the kW and circuit figures are our arithmetic (amps x 240 V, then the NEC’s 125% continuous-load rule). Every charger here carries a J1772 cable, which is what an ID.4 needs.
ChargerRated ampsWhat the ID.4 drawsCableInstallCircuit needed
ChargePoint Home Flex50 AThe full 11 kW (12 kW available at 50 A)23 ftHardwired, or a 14-50 / 6-50 plug at 40 A70 A at 50 A, 60 A set to 48 A, 50 A plug-in
Lectron Nexus 48A J177248 AThe full 11 kW (11.5 kW available)23 ftHardwired only60 A hardwired
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger48 AThe full 11 kW hardwired; 9.6 kW on the plug25 ftHardwired or a NEMA 14-50 plug60 A hardwired / 50 A plug-in
EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger48 AThe full 11 kW (11.5 kW available)25 ftHardwired only60 A hardwired
Autel MaxiCharger Home50 AThe full 11 kW (12 kW available at 50 A)25 ftHardwired only70 A at 50 A, 60 A set to 48 A
Emporia Pro48 AThe full 11 kW, throttled when the house needs it25 ftHardwired or a NEMA 14-50 plug60 A hardwired / 50 A plug-in

The one number that settles it: 11 kW

The box on your wall is a switch and a safety device. The part that actually converts household AC into the DC your battery stores lives inside the car, and its rating is the hard ceiling on home charging speed. Volkswagen publishes the ID.4’s as 11 kW, with no trim exception offered: the same disclaimer sits under the home-charging answer whether you are looking at an ID.4 Pro, a Pro S, or any of the AWD trims. Our onboard charger explainer covers why this figure, not the charger’s, is the one that decides your overnight charge.

Work the arithmetic and the shopping list gets short. 11 kW at 240 V is about 46 amps. A 48-amp charger offers 11.5 kW, so the car takes its full 11 kW and leaves a sliver on the table. A 50-amp charger offers 12 kW — same result, and under the National Electrical Code’s 125% continuous-load rule it wants a 70-amp circuit instead of a 60, which is heavier wire for nothing. A 40-amp charger offers 9.6 kW, which is about 87% of what the car can accept: a real difference, but a modest one. An 80-amp charger offers 19.2 kW and the ID.4 still draws 11 kW, so you would pay roughly three times as much, plus a 100-amp circuit, for a number the car ignores. Our fastest Level 2 chargers page ranks the tiers and explains exactly where that ceiling bites.

In miles, we use Volkswagen’s own figure rather than the site’s usual reference. VW states that the ID.4’s included cable on a 240-volt outlet delivers “approx. 9.6kW for up to 27 miles per hour.” Scale that to 11 kW and you get roughly 31 miles of range per hour from a 48-amp wall charger. That is our arithmetic from VW’s pair of numbers, and it is deliberately more conservative than the ~3.5 miles per kWh this site normally quotes, which would put 9.6 kW nearer 34 miles per hour. When the manufacturer publishes a figure for its own car, we use theirs.

Volkswagen also publishes the whole-charge number: with home charging “at up to 11 kW with the available home wall charger” the 2026 ID.4 “typically takes up to 8 hours to go from a completely empty battery to a full charge.” Eight hours at 11 kW. Run the same charge at 9.6 kW and it takes about 9 hours 10 minutes by our arithmetic — roughly seventy minutes longer. Hold onto that number; it is the honest size of what a wall charger buys an ID.4 owner, and it is smaller than most roundups imply.

The adapter trap: why a NACS charger is the wrong buy here

This is the part of ID.4 charger shopping that goes wrong most often, and it goes wrong because the advice is correct for other cars. A Kia EV9 or a 2027 Cadillac LYRIQhas a NACS port, so a NACS wall charger plugs straight in and a J1772 charger needs a passive adapter. For an ID.4, the direction reverses. Volkswagen never names the AC connector type anywhere on its ID.4 page — a small documentation gap we are not going to paper over — but it is unambiguous about what you cannot do: the approved NACS adapter is “for use with compatible DC chargers only,” and the footnote goes on to say do not use it with any Level 1 or Level 2 AC charger, naming “home chargers with NACS connectors” specifically, and adding that “the use of any third-party adapters is at your own risk.”

Read that as a purchasing instruction and it is simple. The NACS adapter in the frunk is a DC fast-charging tool for Supercharger stops. It is not the thing that lets you buy whichever charger is on sale. If you want a sanctioned home install, buy a charger with a J1772 cable. Our connector guide explains both shapes and why the industry is mid-transition between them, and the guide to charging a Tesla and a non-Tesla covers the mixed-household version of this problem, which is the one case where adapters earn their keep.

The practical upside: J1772 is still most of what is sold, so this restriction costs you nothing in choice. Every pick on this page is a J1772 unit, and the best chargers in the category — the ones with the longest cables, the toughest enclosures and the real safety paperwork — are all available that way.

What the cable in the trunk already does — and when that is enough

Volkswagen does something here that most manufacturers do not, and it changes the recommendation for a lot of readers. The ID.4 ships with what VW calls a 2-in-1 EV Charge Cable, and VW publishes exactly what it does: “capable of charging from standard 120v household outlets (approx. 1.2kW for about 3 miles per hour), or 240v outlets for quicker charging (approx. 9.6kW for up to 27 miles per hour).”

Read that again, because 9.6 kW is not a token figure. It is 40 amps — the same output as every plug-in wall charger we rank on our 40-amp page, and 87% of everything the car can accept. An ID.4 owner who has a 240-volt receptacle installed and uses the bundled cable is not making do. They are getting about 27 miles of range an hour by VW’s own reckoning, and a full charge in roughly nine hours instead of eight.

That reframes the whole purchase. The honest case for one of the chargers below is notspeed — it is about seventy minutes on a full charge, and far less on a typical overnight top-up. It is everything else: a cable you are not coiling into the trunk every morning, a holster, a sealed enclosure rated for a wall rather than a bag, scheduling that survives without your phone, energy data you can put against a time-of-use rate, and a 60-amp circuit that will still be right if your next car accepts more than 11 kW. Those are real reasons. “It charges much faster” is not one of them, and we are not going to pretend otherwise to sell you a box.

So: if you drive 40 miles a day, park in a garage with a 14-50 already on the wall, and plug in most nights, keep your money.Have an electrician confirm the receptacle is EV-grade and move on — our NEMA 14-50 guide covers what that means and outlet versus charger settles the terminology. If you are getting an electrician out anyway, if the charger is going outside, if two people share the car, or if you want the thing on the wall to look and behave like permanent infrastructure, then buy once and buy at 48 amps.

The circuit is the real cost, not the charger

Every 48-amp charger on this page needs a 60-amp circuit, because the NEC treats EV charging as a continuous load and sizes the branch circuit at 125% of the charger’s current. That is 6 AWG copper and a 60-amp double-pole breaker with space for it in the panel. A 40-amp charger runs on a 50-amp circuit, which is a cheaper install and far more likely to fit an older service. Our wire size and breaker guide has the full table, and panel capacity shows you how to check whether yours can carry it before anyone quotes.

This is why “buy the biggest number” is bad advice even when the car can use it. A 48-amp charger on a panel that can only spare a 40-amp circuit runs at 40 amps — you paid for headroom you cannot reach. If a load calculation says your service has no room, you have three routes: dial a 48-amp unit down and accept 9.6 kW, use a charger with real load management (the Emporia Pro below), or upgrade the service. Our small-panel picks and load management guide work through all three. Volkswagen itself points ID.4 buyers at Qmerit for installation pricing rather than publishing a figure, which tells you how much this varies by house — our installation cost breakdown explains what actually moves the number.

How we separated them

ChargePoint Home Flextakes the top slot because it is the charger an ID.4 owner is least likely to regret. Amperage is set in the app — 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50 — so one unit fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later, and at 48 it covers the ID.4’s 11 kW completely. It is UL and cUL listed and ENERGY STAR certified, which matters if you are chasing a utility rebate, the app is the most mature in the category, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is three years. The cons are real. You pay a premium over the value 48-amp units below for the app and the brand. Its full 50-amp setting needs a 70-amp circuit, so the headline number is not the one most people will actually run. The enclosure is NEMA 3R, the weakest rating on this page, which is fine for a garage wall and marginal for a fully exposed one. And the 23-foot cable is shorter than the 25 feet several rivals ship. Our full Home Flex review goes deeper, and Home Flex versus Emporia is the head-to-head most ID.4 buyers end up running.

Lectron Nexus 48Ais the cheapest honest way to give an ID.4 everything it can take. A full 48 amps, an IP66-sealed body, a 23-foot cable Lectron builds in a heavy 15 mm compound it says stays flexible in freezing weather, ETL listing to UL 2594 / 2231 / 2251, ENERGY STAR, and the wall-mount J-hook and plug holder in the box. There is no app, which is the entire point — and worth noting for an ID.4 specifically, because the car schedules its own charging, so the function a cheap charger’s app duplicates is one you already have. Cons: hardwired only, so there is no plug-in shortcut and you are committing to the 60-amp circuit; 23 feet is on the short side; and Lectron publishes no operating-temperature range for the Nexus, which is a genuine gap if this is going on an exterior wall in a cold climate. See the Lectron Nexus 48A review for the full spec read.

Emporia Level 2is the pick if you want to see the energy rather than just schedule it. A full 48 amps hardwired, ENERGY STAR, a NEMA 4 body, a 25-foot cable, a remote holster in the box, and an app that tracks consumption instead of merely toggling the charger. Its quiet advantage for an ID.4 is the dual install: Emporia sells one unit as “NEMA plug or hardwire,” so the same charger does 48 amps on a 60-amp circuit or plugs into a NEMA 14-50 at 40 amps if your panel can only spare a 50-amp circuit for now. Cons: on the plug it is capped at 40 amps, which is exactly what the bundled VW cable already does, so the plug-in route only makes sense for the convenience and not the speed; the app is less polished than ChargePoint’s; and support is a smaller operation. The Emporia review has the detail.

EVIQO 48Ais the one we would pick on reach alone, and reach deserves more attention than it usually gets: the panel is wherever the builder put it, the car parks wherever the garage allows, and the inlet is on one specific corner of the vehicle — so walk the distance with a tape measure before you buy, not after. EVIQO ships a 25-foot charging cable plus a 40-inch input lead, which buys real freedom in where the box itself lands, inside an IP66 / NEMA 4 enclosure with UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR listings, WiFi scheduling and a 3-year warranty. Cons: hardwired, so a 60-amp circuit and an electrician; and EVIQO is a smaller brand with a shorter track record than the names above it. Our long-cable roundup ranks the field on reach alone if that is the binding constraint, and the EVIQO review covers the unit itself.

Autel MaxiCharger Homeis the one to buy if the charger lives fully outside. A NEMA 4X enclosure rated for operation down to about -40°F is the toughest weather specification on this page, it pushes 50 amps down a 25-foot cable, and it is CSA certified with ENERGY STAR and a 3-year warranty. For an ID.4 you would sensibly set it to 48 and run a 60-amp circuit rather than chase the 50-amp rating the car cannot use. Cons: hardwired only; Autel’s app and ecosystem are newer than ChargePoint’s; and it is among the pricier wall units here. Our cold-weather pickscompare the published low-temperature ratings side by side, which is the only way to shop this honestly — two of the units on this page publish no temperature range at all.

Emporia Prois the answer to a panel that says no. It ships with Emporia’s Vue 3 energy monitor in the same box, watches what the rest of the house is drawing, and throttles the car in real time so the total never exceeds what the service can carry — which is how a 48-amp charger ends up on a panel a load calculation says has no room for one. It is UL listed, ENERGY STAR certified and NEMA 4 rated, with a 25-foot cable, and it installs hardwired at 48 amps or on a NEMA 14-50 at 40. Cons, and they are the reason it is last rather than higher: PowerSmart depends on the bundled Vue 3 monitor being installed in your panel too, so this is a two-device install, not a charger feature; it costs meaningfully more than Emporia’s own 48-amp unit, which charges an ID.4 at exactly the same rate; and 48 amps still needs a 60-amp circuit — PowerSmart manages load, it does not create capacity. Compare it against its cheaper sibling in Emporia Classic versus Pro.

What we left off, and why

Every NACS charger we rank elsewhere— the Lectron Nexus NACS, the ChargePoint Home Flex NACS, the NACS portables, the Grizzl-E Duo in its NACS pairing. They are good chargers and they are the right answer for a NACS-port car. Volkswagen’s own instruction not to use its adapter on a Level 2 AC charger takes them off the table for an ID.4, and we are not going to route around a manufacturer’s written warning with a third-party adapter VW explicitly disclaims.

The Autel MaxiCharger 80A and the high-amp tier, because 80 amps into an 11 kW acceptance rate is 11 kW. You would pay a large premium and a 100-amp circuit for nothing the car can use. The only scenario that justifies it is a household planning a second EV that accepts far more, and even then a 48-amp unit plus a future second circuit is usually cheaper — our 48 versus 80 amps page works the economics.

The 40-amp plug-in units and portables— EVIQO’s 14-50 model, the ELEGRP and Lectron portables, the Ampure Go. Not because they are bad; several are excellent, and our portable picks rank them properly. They are off this page because the ID.4 already comes with a 9.6 kW cable, so buying a second 9.6 kW cable adds convenience and no speed. If that is the trade you want, the Emporia units above do it on a plug too.

The Wallbox Pulsar Plus and the Grizzl-E Ultimate 48A, both capable 48-amp J1772 units that would feed an ID.4 in full and both currently purchasable. The Wallbox sits a long way above this group on price without offering an ID.4 owner anything the Home Flex does not; the Grizzl-E Ultimate is a genuinely tough cast-aluminum IP67 box rated to -22°F, but it publishes no WiFi or app support for this SKU and its Amazon listing went dark for five weeks earlier this year, so we would rather point an outdoor install at the Autel. Both are reviewed on the site if you want to weigh them yourself.

The short version

ID.4, garage wall, one circuit, buy once: the ChargePoint Home Flex set to 48 amps on a 60-amp circuit. Same thing for less money, no app: the Lectron Nexus 48A. You want the energy data:the Emporia Level 2 — and it is the one to buy if you might start on a 14-50 and hardwire later. The car parks a long way from the panel: the EVIQO 48A, for the 25-foot cable plus the 40-inch input lead. The charger is going outside in a real winter: the Autel MaxiCharger Home. A load calculation says your panel has no room: the Emporia Pro, and read the load-management guide first. And if you drive 40 miles a day with a 14-50 already on the wall: the cable Volkswagen gave you does 9.6 kW and about 27 miles of range an hour. Buying a wall box will save you roughly seventy minutes on a full charge. Buy it for the convenience, not the speed — or do not buy it at all.

Frequently asked questions

What Level 2 charger does a Volkswagen ID.4 need?

A 48-amp charger with a J1772 cable, on a 60-amp circuit. Volkswagen publishes the ID.4's maximum AC acceptance rate as 11 kW, which is about 46 amps at 240 volts, so 48 amps feeds the car in full and there is no faster option worth buying. The connector matters as much as the amps: VW's own footnote says not to use its NACS adapter with any Level 1 or Level 2 AC charger, so a NACS home charger is the wrong purchase for this car.

How many amps can a VW ID.4 accept at home?

About 46 amps. Volkswagen publishes the figure in kilowatts rather than amps - 'Vehicle maximum AC acceptance rate is 11kW' - and 11 kW at 240 volts works out to roughly 46 amps, which is our arithmetic from VW's number. That is why 48 amps is the practical ceiling: it covers the car with a little headroom, and an 80-amp charger still delivers the same 11 kW.

Can I use a NACS charger on a Volkswagen ID.4?

Not according to Volkswagen. VW sells an approved NACS adapter so the ID.4 can use Tesla Superchargers, but its footnote states the adapter is 'for use with compatible DC chargers only' and says 'do not use NACS DC adapter with any Level 1 or Level 2 AC chargers, including Tesla Destination chargers and home chargers with NACS connectors.' It also notes that using any third-party adapter is at your own risk. Buy a charger with a J1772 cable instead - that is most of what is sold, so it costs you nothing in choice.

How long does it take to charge a VW ID.4 on Level 2?

Volkswagen publishes the figure: with home charging at up to 11 kW, the 2026 ID.4 'typically takes up to 8 hours to go from a completely empty battery to a full charge.' On the 9.6 kW the car's own included cable delivers from a 240-volt outlet, the same charge takes about 9 hours 10 minutes by our arithmetic - roughly seventy minutes longer. Both are empty-to-full figures; a normal overnight top-up is far shorter.

Does the Volkswagen ID.4 come with a charger?

Yes. VW states that the 2026 ID.4 includes a 2-in-1 EV Charge Cable 'capable of charging from standard 120v household outlets (approx. 1.2kW for about 3 miles per hour), or 240v outlets for quicker charging (approx. 9.6kW for up to 27 miles per hour).' That 9.6 kW is 87% of what the car can accept, so an owner with a 240-volt receptacle already has genuine Level 2 charging. Check what is actually in your vehicle, since included equipment can vary.

Is a 48-amp charger worth it over the cable the ID.4 comes with?

It depends on why you want it. On speed alone the gain is small - about seventy minutes on a full charge, by our arithmetic from VW's own 8-hour figure at 11 kW. What you are really buying is a fixed cable and holster instead of coiling 25 feet into the trunk, a sealed enclosure rated for a wall, scheduling and energy data, and a 60-amp circuit that will still be right for your next car. Those are good reasons. 'Much faster charging' is not one of them for this car.

Is an 80-amp charger worth it for a VW ID.4?

No. The onboard charger is the ceiling and Volkswagen publishes it as 11 kW. An 80-amp unit can deliver 19.2 kW, but the ID.4 will still draw 11 kW, so you pay roughly three times as much for the charger plus a 100-amp circuit and get nothing back. Spend the difference on a longer cable, a tougher enclosure or the install itself.

Can I charge a VW ID.4 from a NEMA 14-50 outlet?

Yes, and the car comes with the cable to do it. A 14-50 on a 50-amp circuit supports 40 amps under the NEC's continuous-load rule, which is 9.6 kW, or about 87% of what the ID.4 can accept. That is also exactly what VW's included 2-in-1 cable delivers from a 240-volt outlet. If you would rather have a permanent wall unit on the same circuit, the Emporia Level 2 and Emporia Pro on this page both install on a 14-50 plug at 40 amps.

Which charger does Volkswagen recommend for the ID.4?

VW does not name a third-party model on its ID.4 page. It refers to charging 'at up to 11 kW with the available home wall charger' and points buyers to Qmerit for customized installation pricing rather than publishing a figure or a product. So the specification, not a recommendation, is what you shop against: 48 amps, a J1772 cable, and a 60-amp circuit.

Sources

  • Volkswagen - 2026 ID.4 (official US model page, charging content slider + FAQs + disclaimers) — Volkswagen's own US ID.4 page. The decisive figure is in disclaimer DIS_0321, attached to the home-charging FAQ answer: 'Vehicle maximum AC acceptance rate is 11kW. Charging times will vary and depend on a variety of factors, including ambient temperature, kW, charging rate of home charger, battery condition and initial state of charge, vehicle condition and others.' The FAQ itself reads: 'In optimal conditions, using DC fast charging, the 2026 Volkswagen ID.4 can charge from 10% to 80% battery in approximately 28 minutes... With home charging, and at up to 11 kW with the available home wall charger, the 2026 Volkswagen all-electric ID.4 EV typically takes up to 8 hours to go from a completely empty battery to a full charge.' The 'At-Home Charging' panel of the charging content slider states: 'We make charging your 2026 ID.4 at home simple with the included 2-in-1 EV Charge Cable, capable of charging from standard 120v household outlets (approx. 1.2kW for about 3 miles per hour), or 240v outlets for quicker charging (approx. 9.6kW for up to 27 miles per hour)', and points owners at Qmerit for installation pricing. Disclaimer 18, attached to the Tesla Supercharger panel, is the other load-bearing line: 'Volkswagen approved NACS DC adapter is sold separately. NACS DC adapter is for use with compatible DC chargers only, including Tesla Superchargers identified by Tesla as an “NACS Partner Site.” ... Do not use NACS DC adapter with any Level 1 or Level 2 AC chargers, including Tesla Destination chargers and home chargers with NACS connectors. The use of any third-party adapters is at your own risk.' EPA-estimated range by trim, from VW's own FAQ: ID.4 Pro 291 miles, Pro S 291, AWD Pro 263, AWD Pro S 263, AWD Pro S Plus 263. The page also lists a 2-year Electrify America Pass+ membership with Plug&Charge. Volkswagen does NOT name the AC connector type (J1772 is never written), does NOT publish the battery's kWh capacity, and does NOT publish a maximum onboard-charger amperage - so the ~46 A figure on our page is our own arithmetic from VW's 11 kW at 240 V, and the 11 kW miles-per-hour figure is ours, scaled from VW's own 9.6 kW / 27 mi-per-hour pair. Vehicle pricing shown on the page is not reprinted here (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex datasheet (PDF) — ChargePoint's own datasheet: enclosure rating Type 3R per UL 50E, operating temperature -22F to 122F, 23 ft cable, plus installer notes that an outdoor plug-in install requires an outdoor-rated GFCI breaker upstream while an external GFCI may conflict with the charger's internal ground-fault protection on a hardwired install. RE-READ September 3, 2026 for the review refresh: the same datasheet also publishes maximum 12 kW (240V AC x 50A) with output amperage adjustable via the mobile app to 16A, 24A, 32A, 40A, 48A or 50A; a required dedicated dual-pole breaker rated for 125% of maximum load; 'Software Updates: Firmware updated over-the-air (OTA)'; 2.4/5 GHz Wi-Fi (802.11 a/b/g/n); local storage of up to 90 days of charging session data (100 sessions) if the network drops; power measurement accuracy +/- 2.0%; ground-fault detection by 20 mA CCID with auto retry; and UL and cUL listing per UL 2594, UL 2231-1 and UL 2231-2, NEC Article 625 compliant. Ordering information lists the plug-in station models CPH50-NEMA6-50-L23 and CPH50-NEMA14-50-L23 (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex home charger product page — ChargePoint's own current product page for the Home Flex, read for the 2026-09-03 review refresh: three install configurations are offered — hardwired, NEMA 6-50 plug and NEMA 14-50 plug — with 'up to 50 amps of power delivered to your EV' on the hardwired model and 'up to 40A of power' on the plug-in models. ChargePoint's own range claim is 'up to 37 miles of range per hour' hardwired and '30 miles of range per hour' plug-in. J1772 and NACS connectors are offered across all configurations, and ChargePoint states the unit is 'UL Listed for safety', 'ENERGY STAR certified for efficiency' and carries a '3-year warranty' (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • Lectron — NEXUS Level 2 J1772 EV Charging Station, 240V, 48 Amp, Hardwired — Lectron's own product page: up to 48 A continuous at 240 V for 11.5 kW, hardwire-only install by a licensed electrician on a dedicated 240 V circuit, IP66 weatherproof housing for indoor or outdoor use, 23 ft output cable of 15.0 mm (±0.3 mm) heavy-duty compound the brand states is 'engineered to stay flexible and easy to wrap around the wall mount, even in freezing weather', wall-mount J-hook and plug holder included, ETL listed to UL 2594 / UL 2231 / UL 2251 with ENERGY STAR and FCC certification, and a 3-year Lectron warranty. No operating-temperature range and no Wi-Fi or app support are published for this model (accessed August 20, 2026)
  • Emporia - EV Chargers (Classic vs Pro) — Emporia's own Classic-vs-Pro comparison page: both units publish a 25 ft cable, 'NEMA Plug or Hardwire' installation, 'Up to 48A' and a 3-year warranty. The feature rows list Smart Scheduling, Home Energy Monitoring, Solar Charging Integration, Peak Demand Management and PowerSmart Load Management, footnoted for the Classic as 'Requires Vue Home Energy Monitor' and for the Pro as 'Requires Vue Home Energy Monitor and PowerSmart upgrade'. The Classic section states 'Add the Vue Home Energy Monitor and we'll manage Peak Demand and automatically charge with your excess solar power', and Emporia's platform lists 'Excess Solar Management' as a named feature. The page also states 'PowerSmart comes standard with the Emporia Pro, but can be added to the Emporia Classic for an extra cost'. Emporia's own listed prices on the date accessed are not reprinted here. RE-READ October 17, 2026 for the smart-home roundup: every figure above is unchanged, the page additionally publishes 'Intelligent Load Sharing' for multiple chargers on one circuit and an in-app assistant ('Ask questions about your energy usage and get instant answers'), and it names NO third-party or smart-home integration of any kind - no Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home / HomeKit, Matter, Home Assistant, IFTTT, OCPP or public API appears anywhere on it (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • EVIQO — Level 2 EV Charger, 40A (9.6 kW), NEMA 14-50 plug-in (Gen 2) — EVIQO's own product page: 40A / 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50 plug, SAE J1772, 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable, IP66 / NEMA 4 enclosure, UL / ETL / FCC / ENERGY STAR listings, 3-year standard warranty, app-adjustable 6-40A output, and a note that it needs an EV-grade 4-prong 14-50 receptacle rather than a dryer outlet. RE-READ September 15, 2026 for the garage roundup: the page additionally states an operating temperature range of -22F to 122F, that the app needs a 2.4 GHz WiFi connection, that the standard 3-year warranty is extendable to 4, and that the unit ships in 1-2 business days (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Autel Energy — MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 50A product page — Autel's own listing: compliant with NEMA 4X standards, operating temperature -40F to 131F, 25 ft cable, 3-year warranty. RE-READ October 10, 2026 for the Emporia head-to-head, and the page now publishes materially more: 'Maximum Output | 12 kW / 50 A' with output 'Adjustable 16-50 A'; installation given as 'Hardwired - 70 A Circuit for Full Output'; an 'SAE J1772' connector; an enclosure rating of 'IP65 / NEMA 4X'; an operating range of '-40 to 131 F (-40 to 55 C)'; a '3 Years' warranty quoted as a single term with no component split; 'CSA and ENERGY STAR compliance' (no UL listing is claimed on this page); connectivity listed as 'Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Ethernet, CAN, RS485'; app control to start, stop and schedule charging, monitor activity and adjust current; dimensions of 13.2 x 7.4 x 3.8 in (336 x 187 x 97 mm) and a weight of 15.4 lbs (7 kg); and the load-management sentence this comparison turns on - 'Supports both Adaptive Load Management (ALM) and charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing (DLB). ALM requires compatible additional hardware, while DLB works between chargers without additional hardware.' The page publishes no solar-specific feature (accessed October 10, 2026)
  • Emporia Energy — Pro EV Charger product page — Emporia's own listing for the Pro: up to 48 A hardwired on a 60-amp circuit or up to 40 A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, 25 ft cable, NEMA 4 rated for indoor or outdoor, UL listed and ENERGY STAR certified, 3-year warranty, and PowerSmart load management that requires the bundled Vue 3 energy monitor (accessed August 18, 2026)
  • SAE International — J1772 Conductive Charge Coupler — The SAE J1772 connector standard for AC Level 1 and Level 2 charging in North America (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • SAE International — J3400 North American Charging System (NACS) — The SAE J3400 / NACS standard (the Tesla-derived connector) now being adopted industry-wide (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger Installations — NFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Electric Vehicle Charging Stations — US DOE on charging levels: Level 1 (~1.9 kW, ~5 mi/hr), Level 2 (2.9-19.2 kW, ~7.2 kW typical residential, ~25 mi/hr), and DC fast charging (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • NEMA — Enclosure Types (definitions from NEMA 250) — NEMA's own definitions: Type 3R protects against falling dirt and rain, sleet and snow; Type 4 adds windblown dust, splashing and hose-directed water; Type 4X adds protection against corrosion. NEMA also states its NEMA-to-IP table cannot be used to convert IP designations back to NEMA types (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • UL Solutions — EV Charging Infrastructure Services — UL on EVSE safety certification: ANSI/UL 2594 is the Standard for Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • ENERGY STAR — Electric Vehicle Chargers — ENERGY STAR on EVSE efficiency: certified chargers use about 40% less energy in standby than non-certified units (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading