Level Two Club

Best Cheap Smart EV Chargers

Our pick is the Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A: the cheapest charger we track that pairs a WiFi app with a published UL file and a cast-aluminum, IP67 body. This page is the intersection our other two roundups miss — a real app from the brands that do not charge premium money for one.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Our pick for a cheap smart charger is the Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A. It is the least expensive unit we track that gives you a WiFi radio and a real app — scheduling, usage history, remote lockout, utility demand-response programs — and a published UL/cUL file, in a cast-aluminum IP67 body you can unplug and take with you. If you want the amperage set in software rather than with a screwdriver, the Autel MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 40A is the next step. If you want the safety paperwork complete, the EVIQO 40A is the only pick here that publishes UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR.

This page exists because our two obvious roundups both miss this buyer. Our smart-charger roundup is ranked on app capability, so it leads with premium hardware. Our budget roundupis ranked on price, so it leads with units that have no radio in them at all. The real question — what is the cheapest charger that still schedules and reports? — sits between them, and this is it.

We ranked on four things, in this order. One: does the app do work you will actually use— scheduling for an off-peak rate, and energy data you can check against a bill. Two: the safety paperwork, because this is exactly the price band where a UL or ETL listing quietly goes missing, and two of our five picks have a published gap we name. Three: the hardware — enclosure, cable length, install type. Four: price, pulled live and stamped with the date, never anchored to a number we typed. We own none of these units and have not bench-tested them; we read the specs off the makers’ own sheets on a dated visit and argue the ranking in plain language.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A

Grizzl-E's cast-aluminum build with a WiFi radio in it. You get the IP67 body and the cold-flexible 25 ft cable that made the brand's name, plus scheduling, usage history and utility demand-response programs in the Grizzl-E Connect app — in a plug-in unit that comes off the wall when you move. The amperage is still set with a DIP switch, which is either charmingly honest or annoyingly analog depending on your taste.

Best overall
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Autel MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 40A

Autel MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 40A

Autel's weather-hardened hardware in the install almost everyone can actually have. It is the 50A MaxiCharger's smaller sibling: same 25 ft cable and app, same NEMA 4 body, but it ends in a NEMA 14-50 plug instead of a wire nut — so it goes on an existing outlet, comes off the wall when you move, and needs a 50-amp circuit rather than a 60. The in-body holster is a small thing that stops mattering only if you have never coiled a cold cable.

Best app control
$375.99 · View on Amazon

$470.0020% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
EVIQO 40A NEMA 14-50 Charger

EVIQO 40A NEMA 14-50 Charger

The most charger you can get without an electrician's invoice. It plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet for a full 40 amps, keeps the WiFi app, the ENERGY STAR listing and the 25 ft cable from EVIQO's hardwired unit, and can be unplugged and taken with you when you move.

Best paperwork
$449.99 · View on Amazon

$510.9912% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money: a full 48 amps, WiFi with scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. A strong value alternative to Emporia if you want maximum reach.

Cheapest 48 amps
$449.99 · View on Amazon

$510.0012% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Autel MaxiCharger Home

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the harshest driveway. The NEMA 4X enclosure is rated to keep charging in extreme cold and heat, it pushes a full 50 amps, and the app is capable. If your charger lives fully exposed to the weather, this is the one.

Best for outdoors
$499.00 · View on Amazon

$568.0012% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A

Grizzl-E's cast-aluminum build with a WiFi radio in it. You get the IP67 body and the cold-flexible 25 ft cable that made the brand's name, plus scheduling, usage history and utility demand-response programs in the Grizzl-E Connect app — in a plug-in unit that comes off the wall when you move. The amperage is still set with a DIP switch, which is either charmingly honest or annoyingly analog depending on your taste.

Strengths

  • Cast-aluminum NEMA 4 / IP67 body rated -22F to 122F, in a plug-in unit
  • WiFi and the Grizzl-E Connect app for scheduling, usage history and remote lockout
  • 25 ft cold-flexible output cable, offered with a J1772 or a NACS connector

Trade-offs

  • 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling — no 48A option in this model
  • Amperage is set by a physical DIP switch, not in the app
  • Grizzl-E's own pages don't publish an ENERGY STAR certification for this model
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL/cUL listed (file E510712)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour. The DIP switch also sets 32, 24 or 16 amps if your circuit is smaller.

Build note. Cast-aluminum enclosure with IP67 sealing, rated -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F); 25 ft output cable on an 18 in input lead, current set by DIP switch (16/24/32/40 A), status on an LED, and WiFi to the Grizzl-E Connect app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best app control

Autel MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 40A

Autel's weather-hardened hardware in the install almost everyone can actually have. It is the 50A MaxiCharger's smaller sibling: same 25 ft cable and app, same NEMA 4 body, but it ends in a NEMA 14-50 plug instead of a wire nut — so it goes on an existing outlet, comes off the wall when you move, and needs a 50-amp circuit rather than a 60. The in-body holster is a small thing that stops mattering only if you have never coiled a cold cable.

Strengths

  • Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet — no electrician needed if the outlet already exists
  • NEMA 4 enclosure with a 25 ft cable and an in-body holster, so nothing dangles
  • Output adjustable up to 40 A in the Autel Charge app, with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and Ethernet

Trade-offs

  • 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling — the hardwired 50A sibling is the one to buy for more
  • Autel's page for this SKU does not publish a UL or ENERGY STAR listing, or a temperature range
  • Needs a genuine EV-grade 14-50 receptacle, which an old dryer outlet is not
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
Not published

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour — an overnight charge covering any ordinary commute.

Build note. Plug-in NEMA 14-50 unit in a NEMA 4 enclosure with a 25 ft J1772 cable and an in-body holster; output is adjustable up to 40 A in the Autel Charge app, with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Ethernet, CAN and RS485 on board.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best paperwork

EVIQO 40A NEMA 14-50 Charger

The most charger you can get without an electrician's invoice. It plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet for a full 40 amps, keeps the WiFi app, the ENERGY STAR listing and the 25 ft cable from EVIQO's hardwired unit, and can be unplugged and taken with you when you move.

Strengths

  • Plugs into an existing NEMA 14-50 outlet — no hardwiring, and it comes with you
  • Real WiFi app with 6-40A adjustment, scheduling and energy tracking
  • 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input lead, in an IP66 / NEMA 4 body

Trade-offs

  • 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling — for 48A you need the hardwired version
  • Needs a proper EV-grade 14-50 receptacle (an old dryer outlet is not the same thing)
  • Smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint or Wallbox
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour — an overnight charge for almost any daily commute.

Build note. Plug-in Gen-2 unit: 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in NEMA 14-50 input lead, with app-adjustable output from 6 to 40 amps.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Cheapest 48 amps

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money: a full 48 amps, WiFi with scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. A strong value alternative to Emporia if you want maximum reach.

Strengths

  • 48A output with WiFi scheduling at a value price
  • 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable — excellent reach
  • UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR listings

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired version needs a 60A circuit and an electrician
  • Smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint or Wallbox
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, about 40 miles of range per hour.

Build note. Ships with a 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable — among the longest reach in class.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best for outdoors

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the harshest driveway. The NEMA 4X enclosure is rated to keep charging in extreme cold and heat, it pushes a full 50 amps, and the app is capable. If your charger lives fully exposed to the weather, this is the one.

Strengths

  • NEMA 4X enclosure rated for very cold and hot conditions
  • Full 50A output with a 25 ft cable
  • WiFi, Bluetooth and a capable app

Trade-offs

  • Autel's own page specifies a 70A circuit for full output, and the unit is hardwired only
  • App and ecosystem are newer than ChargePoint's
  • Autel publishes CSA and ENERGY STAR for this unit, not a UL listing
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
CSA certified, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 42 miles of range per hour.

Build note. IP65 / NEMA 4X enclosure with a published operating range of -40F to 131F (-40C to 55C), output adjustable from 16 to 50 A, a 25 ft cable, Bluetooth / WiFi / Ethernet / CAN / RS485 connectivity, and a 13.2 x 7.4 x 3.8 in body weighing 15.4 lb. Autel states a 70 A circuit is required for full output, and that its Adaptive Load Management 'requires compatible additional hardware' while charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing does not.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on October 10, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

What “smart” has to mean to count

“Smart” is a marketing word, so here is the definition this page uses. A charger qualifies if it has a WiFi radio and a manufacturer app that does at least one of three jobs: schedule a charge for an off-peak window, measure the energy it has delivered, or lockthe unit so someone else cannot use it. Bluetooth-only setup does not count — that is a configuration tool, not a connected charger. Nor does a phone app whose only function is a firmware update.

Judged that way, the field thins out fast. In our registry of twenty chargers, exactly nine publish a WiFi radio and an app, and most of those are premium hardware. The five on this page are the ones where the price is the point.

One honest note on where the ranking comes from. Scheduling is the headline feature of every charger app on the market, and it is also the feature your car almost certainly already has. So we have deliberately ranked the other two jobs higher: measurement, which cars do badly or not at all, and lockout, which matters on a shared driveway or an Airbnb charger. If scheduling is all you want, read this first— you may not need this page at all.

What the money actually buys

What you actually get for the money. The “App does” and “Amps set by” columns are ours, derived from each maker’s own published feature list; every other cell is read off the spec sheet on a dated visit. A spec a maker does not publish reads “Not published” rather than being filled in.
ChargerApp doesAmps set byMaxInstallListingsENERGY STAR
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40AScheduling, usage history, remote lockout, utility demand responseDIP switch (16/24/32/40 A)40 ANEMA 14-50 plugUL/cUL listed (file E510712)Not published
Autel MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 40AScheduling plus output set in the app, over WiFi, Bluetooth or EthernetIn the app, up to 40 A40 ANEMA 14-50 plugNot publishedNot published
EVIQO 40A NEMA 14-50 ChargerScheduling plus output set 6-40 A in the appIn the app, 6-40 A40 ANEMA 14-50 plugUL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STARYes
EVIQO 48A Level 2 ChargerScheduling over WiFiNot published48 AHardwiredUL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STARYes
Autel MaxiCharger HomeScheduling plus output set 16-50 A, over WiFi, Bluetooth or EthernetIn the app, 16-50 A50 AHardwiredCSA certified, ENERGY STARYes

Three things in that table are worth dwelling on, because they are the real differences between these five units.

How you set the amperage. This is the most practical difference and the one buyers notice last. The Autel and EVIQO units set current in the app, so moving the charger to a different circuit is a tap. The Grizzl-E Classic Connectuses a physical DIP switch — four positions, 16, 24, 32 or 40 amps — which means opening the unit to change it. For a charger you install once, that is a non-issue. For a renter who may move it, or anyone who might later downsize it onto a smaller circuit, it is a mild annoyance worth knowing about up front. For the EVIQO 48A, no adjustable range is published at all, so our table says so.

The paperwork gaps.Two cells in that table are the reason we built it. Autel’s own store page for the AC Elite Home 40A publishes the enclosure, the cable, the connectivity and the warranty but does notpublish a UL or ENERGY STAR listing, or an operating-temperature range — unlike Autel’s pages for the 50-amp and 80-amp MaxiChargers, which publish all three. We have deliberately notlet it inherit its siblings’ certifications, which is why it is kept off our ENERGY STAR roundup and why the gap appears on its card. Separately, marketplace listings for the Grizzl-E Classic Connectcarry an ENERGY STAR badge, but Grizzl-E’s own pages do not state the certification, so we record it as not published rather than guessing in either direction. Grizzl-E does publish a UL/cUL file for it, which is the listing that matters most.

Plug-in versus hardwired.Three of these plug into a NEMA 14-50 outlet and two are hardwired. If the outlet already exists, the plug-in units save you an electrician entirely and come off the wall when you move — which in this price band is often a bigger saving than the difference between the chargers. Our hardwired versus plug-in comparison weighs the whole trade, and the NEMA 14-50 guide covers what that receptacle needs to be legal.

The picks, in plain terms

The Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40Awins because nothing else at its price gives you both halves. The app does the most actual work of any unit here — scheduling, usage history, remote lockout, and enrollment in utility demand-response programs, which is the one app feature that can pay you money. The body is the cast-aluminum, IP67-sealed design that made the brand’s name, rated -22°F to 122°F, on a 25-foot cold-flexible cable. The honest limits: 40 amps is the ceiling in this model, the DIP switch is analog, and no ENERGY STAR certification is published. Our Classic Connect review has the full picture, and the Classic comparison shows exactly what the radio adds over the no-app version.

The Autel MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 40A is the pick if app control is what you are paying for. Output is adjustable in the Autel Charge app, with WiFi, Bluetooth andEthernet on board — a wired option that very few chargers at any price offer, and the right answer in a garage where WiFi does not reach. It is a NEMA 4 body with a 25-foot cable and an in-body holster so nothing dangles. Set against that: the missing listings above, and the fact that it needs a genuine EV-grade 14-50 receptacle — an old dryer outlet is not one. The full review covers it.

The EVIQO 40A is the pick for anyone who wants the paperwork complete. It is the only unit on this page publishing UL, ETL, FCC andENERGY STAR together, in an IP66 / NEMA 4 body, with output adjustable from 6 to 40 amps in the app and the longest reach here — a 25-foot charging cable plus a 40-inch input lead, which is the detail that decides where you can mount it. The brand is younger and less proven than ChargePoint or Wallbox, which is a fair thing to weigh. See the EVIQO 40A review.

The EVIQO 48A is the same hardware story hardwired, and it is the cheapest route to a genuine 48 amps with an app that we track. Buy it only if your panel can carry a 60-amp circuitand your car can actually use 11.5 kW — many cannot, and the limit is inside the car, not on the wall. It publishes no adjustable amperage range, so treat 48 amps as the configuration you are buying. The 48A review and our 48-amp roundup both go deeper.

The Autel MaxiCharger Home(the 50-amp hardwired unit) is the stretch pick, and the one to take if the charger has to live fully outdoors. Unlike its smaller sibling, Autel publishes the full set for this one: CSA certification, ENERGY STAR, an IP65 / NEMA 4X enclosure — 4X being the rating that adds corrosion resistance — and an operating range from -40°F to 131°F, the widest we track. Output is adjustable 16 to 50 amps in the app. One number to read carefully: Autel states a 70-amp circuit is required for full output, so the headline 50 amps is a bigger electrical job than people expect. Dial it to 40 amps on a 50-amp circuit and it is a straightforward install. Our MaxiCharger review and the Grizzl-E versus Autel head-to-head set the two philosophies on this page against each other directly.

How to choose between these five

Start with the outlet. If you already have a NEMA 14-50, buy a plug-in unit and stop — the Grizzl-E if you want the toughest body, the Autel 40A if you want app control, the EVIQO 40A if you want the certifications and the reach. You will spend nothing on labor and keep the ability to take the charger with you.

If you are paying an electrician anyway, the calculation changes. The hardwired units are in play, and the question becomes whether your car can use 48 amps and whether the charger lives outside. If yes to the first, the EVIQO 48A is the cheapest way there; if yes to the second, the Autel 50A’s NEMA 4X body is the one built for it.

And one honest exit. If scheduling is the only feature you want, your car already does it, and you should probably be on our no-app roundupinstead — a charger with nothing to log into cannot be orphaned when a company changes its mind about an app, and the money goes into the cable and the enclosure instead. The only reason to buy a radio is that you want the measurement, the lockout, or a utility program that pays for it. Our utility rebates page is the place to check whether that last one applies where you live, and the cost-to-charge calculator shows what the overnight kilowatt-hours are actually worth on your rate.

Frequently asked questions

What is the cheapest smart EV charger worth buying?

Of the chargers we track, the Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A. It is the least expensive unit in our registry that combines a WiFi app with a published UL/cUL listing (file E510712) and a weather-rated enclosure. Below it in price, our registry's cheaper units — the ELEGRP 40A portable and the Lectron 40A portable — have no app and no radio at all, which is a legitimate choice but a different product. Prices on this page are pulled live and carry an "as of" date; we do not publish a price we cannot currently confirm.

Do I actually need a smart EV charger?

Only if your car cannot do the job itself. The single most valuable thing a smart charger does is start charging when electricity is cheap, and almost every EV sold today schedules charging in the vehicle for free. Where a charger app genuinely earns its keep is energy measurement you can reconcile against a utility bill, remote lockout on a shared or rented driveway, and enrollment in a utility demand-response program that pays you. If none of those three apply to you, buy a no-app unit and spend the difference on cable length.

What do cheap smart chargers leave out?

Two things, and both are visible in our table rather than hidden. The first is safety paperwork: Autel's own page for the AC Elite Home 40A does not publish a UL or ENERGY STAR listing or a temperature range, unlike its 50-amp and 80-amp siblings' pages, and Grizzl-E's pages do not publish an ENERGY STAR certification for the Classic Connect. The second is app control of amperage — the Grizzl-E sets current with a physical DIP switch, so a circuit change means opening the unit rather than tapping a phone.

Is a cheap smart charger safe?

What makes a charger safe is a listing to the EV-charging standards — UL 2594 for the equipment and UL 2231 for personnel protection — by a recognized lab, whether that is UL itself or ETL. Three of our five picks publish those listings; one publishes nothing on the subject, and we say so on its card rather than assuming it inherits its siblings' certification. Our safety-certifications guide explains what each label actually tests, and we would treat an unlisted charger as off the table at any price.

Will a cheap smart charger's app still work in ten years?

Nobody will promise you that, and that is the honest answer to the one risk this whole category carries. A connected charger depends on a cloud service and a phone app that no manufacturer in our registry publishes a support commitment for. The hardware will almost certainly outlive the software. It is the strongest argument for buying a unit that still charges perfectly well with the app dead — every pick here does, because the amperage setting lives in the charger rather than in the account.

Can a cheap smart charger do load management?

Rarely, and read the footnotes. Autel states that its Adaptive Load Management "requires compatible additional hardware" while charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing does not. Emporia's Pro bundles the Vue 3 energy monitor that its PowerSmart throttling depends on — which is a real feature, and a large part of why that unit costs premium money rather than appearing on this page. If whole-home load management is what you need, our small-panel roundup is the right page, not this one.

Sources

  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A technical specifications — Grizzl-E's own spec table for the Classic Connect: Type 1 (J1772) or NACS Level 2, aluminum enclosure, operating temperature -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), IP67 protection, 25 ft output cable on an 18 in input lead, 208-240 VAC, nominal input current 16/24/32/40 A set by a DIP-switch power selector, maximum output current 40 A, LED indicator, 21 lb unit weight (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A product overview — Grizzl-E's own overview for the Classic Connect: 'the Wi-Fi Connected Smart Level 2 EVSE for home use' at 40A / 9.6 kW, shipping with the Grizzl-E Connect app for charging statistics, schedules, Demand/Response utility programs, remote control, lockout to prevent unauthorized use, updates and diagnostics; a UL Type 4 water-resistant cast aluminum enclosure with IP67 sealing, a NEMA 14-50 input cable and a 25 ft output cable with a J1772 or NACS connector, 'UL Tested and Certified' with built-in GFCI, over-current, over-voltage, ground-fault and over-temperature protections, and adjustable maximum current set with DIP switches at 40A / 32A / 24A / 16A for a 50A / 40A / 30A / 20A breaker. No ENERGY STAR certification and no OCPP support are published for this model (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • Autel Energy — MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 40A (NEMA 14-50) product page — Autel's own listing: output adjustable up to 40 A / 9.6 kW, SAE J1772 connector on a NEMA 14-50 input cord, 25 ft cable, NEMA 4 enclosure, Wi-Fi / Bluetooth / Ethernet, three-year limited warranty; the page does not publish a UL or ENERGY STAR listing or an operating-temperature range (accessed August 18, 2026)
  • EVIQO — Level 2 EV Charger, 40A (9.6 kW), NEMA 14-50 plug-in (Gen 2) — EVIQO's own product page: 40A / 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50 plug, SAE J1772, 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable, IP66 / NEMA 4 enclosure, UL / ETL / FCC / ENERGY STAR listings, 3-year standard warranty, app-adjustable 6-40A output, and a note that it needs an EV-grade 4-prong 14-50 receptacle rather than a dryer outlet. RE-READ September 15, 2026 for the garage roundup: the page additionally states an operating temperature range of -22F to 122F, that the app needs a 2.4 GHz WiFi connection, that the standard 3-year warranty is extendable to 4, and that the unit ships in 1-2 business days (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Autel Energy — MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 50A product page — Autel's own listing: compliant with NEMA 4X standards, operating temperature -40F to 131F, 25 ft cable, 3-year warranty. RE-READ October 10, 2026 for the Emporia head-to-head, and the page now publishes materially more: 'Maximum Output | 12 kW / 50 A' with output 'Adjustable 16-50 A'; installation given as 'Hardwired - 70 A Circuit for Full Output'; an 'SAE J1772' connector; an enclosure rating of 'IP65 / NEMA 4X'; an operating range of '-40 to 131 F (-40 to 55 C)'; a '3 Years' warranty quoted as a single term with no component split; 'CSA and ENERGY STAR compliance' (no UL listing is claimed on this page); connectivity listed as 'Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Ethernet, CAN, RS485'; app control to start, stop and schedule charging, monitor activity and adjust current; dimensions of 13.2 x 7.4 x 3.8 in (336 x 187 x 97 mm) and a weight of 15.4 lbs (7 kg); and the load-management sentence this comparison turns on - 'Supports both Adaptive Load Management (ALM) and charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing (DLB). ALM requires compatible additional hardware, while DLB works between chargers without additional hardware.' The page publishes no solar-specific feature (accessed October 10, 2026)
  • ENERGY STAR — Electric Vehicle Chargers — ENERGY STAR on EVSE efficiency: certified chargers use about 40% less energy in standby than non-certified units (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • UL Solutions — EV Charging Infrastructure Services — UL on EVSE safety certification: ANSI/UL 2594 is the Standard for Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger Installations — NFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Electric Vehicle Charging Stations — US DOE on charging levels: Level 1 (~1.9 kW, ~5 mi/hr), Level 2 (2.9-19.2 kW, ~7.2 kW typical residential, ~25 mi/hr), and DC fast charging (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. Energy Information Administration — Electricity prices and factors affecting prices — EIA on US electricity pricing: residential electricity averaged 17.30 cents per kWh in 2025; some utilities offer time-of-day pricing to reduce peak demand; prices are usually highest in summer, and the cost to supply electricity is higher in the afternoon and early-evening peak hours even though most customers pay a seasonal average rate (accessed August 11, 2026)

Keep reading