Level Two Club

Best EV Chargers With Long Cables

Cable length is the spec that decides where the box can go and where you can park — and it's the one you can't change after the electrician leaves. These are the chargers that reach, and how to work out how much reach you need.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Cable length is the most underrated number on a charger’s spec sheet. Amps you can adjust; an app you can ignore; a cable is exactly as long as it is for the entire life of the unit. And it is the spec that quietly decides two expensive things: where the charger can be mounted — which drives how far the electrician has to run conductors, and therefore a large share of the install bill — and whether you can park the way you actually park, nose-in or backed-in, first bay or second.

The practical range is narrow. Most serious home chargers ship with 16 to 25 feet of cable, and 25 feet is effectively the top of the market. So we ranked on one: published cable length, read from each maker’s own sheet; two: total usable reach, which includes the input lead on plug-in units and how the cable is dressed at the box; three: the enclosure, because a long cable often means mounting the charger somewhere more exposed; four: how the cable is stored — a holster or hook that actually holds 25 feet is not a given; and five: the usual fundamentals, amperage, safety listing, warranty and price.

We own none of these units and haven’t bench-tested them; the lengths below are manufacturer figures from a dated visit, not measurements we took. One firm recommendation before you shop: the answer to “my cable doesn’t reach” is a better mounting position, not an extension cord.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money: a full 48 amps, WiFi with scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. A strong value alternative to Emporia if you want maximum reach.

Best total reach
$428.98 · View on Amazon

$479.0010% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that doesn't feel cheap: a full 48 amps, ENERGY STAR listing, WiFi with genuine energy monitoring, and a 25 ft cable — for well under what the big names charge. It's the one we point most people to first.

Best value
$449.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Wallbox Pulsar Plus

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to buy when wall space is tight: it's among the smallest 48A units you can get, with Power Boost load balancing so it can share a circuit without tripping the main. A polished premium charger — and priced like one.

Best compact
$614.99 · View on Amazon

$699.9912% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Autel MaxiCharger Home

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the harshest driveway. The NEMA 4X enclosure is rated to keep charging in extreme cold and heat, it pushes a full 50 amps, and the app is capable. If your charger lives fully exposed to the weather, this is the one.

Best weatherproof
$499.00 · View on Amazon

$568.0012% off

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Grizzl-E Smart 40A

Grizzl-E Smart 40A

Grizzl-E's cast-aluminum build with a WiFi radio bolted on. You get the IP67 body and the cold-flexible 25 ft cable that made the brand's name, plus scheduling and usage history in the Grizzl-E Connect app — in a plug-in unit that comes off the wall when you move. The amperage is still set with a DIP switch, which is either charmingly honest or annoyingly analog depending on your taste.

Best cold-weather cable
6
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app anywhere from 16A to 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, and the warranty is long.

Best app
$456.74 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 2, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best total reach

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money: a full 48 amps, WiFi with scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. A strong value alternative to Emporia if you want maximum reach.

Strengths

  • 48A output with WiFi scheduling at a value price
  • 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable — excellent reach
  • UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR listings

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired version needs a 60A circuit and an electrician
  • Smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint or Wallbox
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, about 40 miles of range per hour.

Build note. Ships with a 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable — among the longest reach in class.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best value

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that doesn't feel cheap: a full 48 amps, ENERGY STAR listing, WiFi with genuine energy monitoring, and a 25 ft cable — for well under what the big names charge. It's the one we point most people to first.

Strengths

  • 48A output and ENERGY STAR at a value price
  • The app actually tracks energy use, not just on/off
  • Long 25 ft cable and a remote holster in the box

Trade-offs

  • 48A hardwired needs a 60A circuit; on a NEMA 14-50 plug it's limited to 40A
  • App polish trails ChargePoint's, and support is smaller
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds about 40 miles of range per hour hardwired; on a 40A plug-in circuit, about 34.

Build note. 48A hardwired, or 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, with a 25 ft cable and remote holder.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best compact

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to buy when wall space is tight: it's among the smallest 48A units you can get, with Power Boost load balancing so it can share a circuit without tripping the main. A polished premium charger — and priced like one.

Strengths

  • Genuinely compact for a 48A charger — easy to place
  • Power Boost load balancing avoids a panel upgrade in some homes
  • Bluetooth plus WiFi, with a clean app

Trade-offs

  • One of the pricier chargers here
  • Hardwired only — no plug-in option for renters
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, about 40 miles of range per hour. Power Boost can throttle it to protect a shared circuit.

Build note. One of the most compact 48A chargers in its class, with both Bluetooth and WiFi.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best weatherproof

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the harshest driveway. The NEMA 4X enclosure is rated to keep charging in extreme cold and heat, it pushes a full 50 amps, and the app is capable. If your charger lives fully exposed to the weather, this is the one.

Strengths

  • NEMA 4X enclosure rated for very cold and hot conditions
  • Full 50A output with a 25 ft cable
  • WiFi, Bluetooth and a capable app

Trade-offs

  • 50A needs a 60A circuit and typically a hardwired install
  • App and ecosystem are newer than ChargePoint's
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
CSA certified, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 42 miles of range per hour.

Build note. NEMA 4X weatherproof enclosure rated for operation down to about -40 degrees F.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best cold-weather cable

Grizzl-E Smart 40A

Grizzl-E's cast-aluminum build with a WiFi radio bolted on. You get the IP67 body and the cold-flexible 25 ft cable that made the brand's name, plus scheduling and usage history in the Grizzl-E Connect app — in a plug-in unit that comes off the wall when you move. The amperage is still set with a DIP switch, which is either charmingly honest or annoyingly analog depending on your taste.

Strengths

  • Cast-aluminum NEMA 4 / IP67 body rated -22F to 122F, in a plug-in unit
  • WiFi and the Grizzl-E Connect app for scheduling, usage history and remote lockout
  • 25 ft output cable, and OCPP 1.6J support if you ever want third-party software

Trade-offs

  • 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling — no 48A option in this model
  • Amperage is set by a physical DIP switch, not in the app
  • Grizzl-E's own pages don't publish an ENERGY STAR certification for this model
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL tested and certified

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour. The DIP switch also sets 32, 24 or 16 amps if your circuit is smaller.

Build note. Cast-aluminum enclosure with IP67 sealing, rated -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F); 25 ft output cable on an 18 in input lead, current set by DIP switch (16/24/32/40 A), status on an LED, and WiFi to the Grizzl-E Connect app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 12, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#6Best app

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app anywhere from 16A to 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A means it fits a small panel now and a bigger circuit later
  • The most mature app of the group — scheduling, reminders, usage history
  • 3-year warranty and a long 23 ft cable

Trade-offs

  • You pay a premium over value 48A chargers for the app and brand
  • Full 50A output needs a 60A circuit most older panels don't have to spare
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired (plug-in NEMA 14-50 SKU also sold)
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and a typical 3.5 miles per kWh, the Home Flex adds roughly 42 miles of range per hour. Dial it down to 40A to fit a 50A circuit and you get about 34.

Build note. Flexible amperage is adjustable in the app from 16A up to 50A.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Measure before you buy anything

Most cable-length regret comes from measuring the wrong distance. The number you need is not the straight line from the wall to the car — it is the path the cable actually travels. Take a tape measure and walk it:

  1. Down from the mounting height. A charger at shoulder height means three or four feet of cable spent getting to floor level before it goes anywhere.
  2. Along the ground to the car’s parked position, following the route it would take — not through the vehicle.
  3. Around the body to the charge port. Ports live in wildly different places: front fender, rear quarter, behind the front wheel. If your port is on the far side from the wall, add the width of the car twice over.
  4. Plus two to three feet of slack. A cable under tension is a cable being damaged, and a taut cable is a trip hazard.
  5. Then check the other way round. If you ever back in, or your partner parks in the other bay, measure that case too — it is usually the one that decides the answer.

Do that and the required length is usually obvious. Most single-car garages with the charger on the port side are comfortable at 18–20 feet. Two bays, an awkward port position, or both parking directions push you to 25.

Published charging-cable lengths, read from each maker’s own spec sheet. “Usable reach” is always less than the number on the box — see the measuring section below.
ChargerCableInstallEnclosureMax amps
EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger25 ftHardwiredIP66 / NEMA 448 A
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger25 ftHardwired or NEMA 14-50 plugNEMA 448 A
Wallbox Pulsar Plus25 ftHardwiredNEMA 448 A
Autel MaxiCharger Home25 ftHardwiredNEMA 4X50 A
Grizzl-E Smart 40A25 ftNEMA 14-50 plugNEMA 4 (IP67)40 A
ChargePoint Home Flex23 ftHardwired (plug-in NEMA 14-50 SKU also sold)NEMA 3R50 A

Why the answer is never an extension cord

This deserves its own section because it is the most common dangerous shortcut in home charging. A Level 2 charger draws 40 amps continuously for hours — that is a load unlike anything else you plug in at home. Ordinary extension cords are not built for continuous high current: undersized conductors heat up along their whole length, the plug-and-socket junction becomes a hot spot, and outdoors the connection is an open invitation for water to enter a circuit carrying 240 volts. Charger manufacturers generally prohibit it outright, and doing it will typically void your warranty.

The factory cable is different because it is engineered as part of a listed product: conductor size, insulation and strain relief are all specified for that unit’s rated current and certified to the UL 2594 EVSE standard as a system. That is why a 25-foot factory cable delivers exactly the same amps as a 16-foot one, and a home-made extension does not deliver the same safety.

If your cable won’t reach, the fix is on the other end: move the charger. Having the electrician run conductors ten feet further along the wall is a modest addition to a job you are already paying for — see the installation cost breakdown — and it solves the problem permanently and safely.

The picks, by what their reach is good for

The EVIQO 48A takes the reach crown on total usable length: a 25-foot charging cable plus a 40-inch input lead, which is the longest combined span in this group. That input cable is the underrated part — it means the box can sit further from where the conductors terminate, giving the electrician and you more freedom about position. It also brings 48 amps, WiFi with scheduling, an IP66 / NEMA 4 body and UL/ETL/FCC/ENERGY STAR listings at a value price. The trade is brand track record and a hardwired-only install at full output. Our EVIQO review has the full picture.

The Emporia Level 2 is the value long-cable pick: the same 25 feet of cable, a watertight NEMA 4 enclosure, ENERGY STAR, real energy monitoring in the app, and the flexibility of running hardwired at 48 amps or plugged into a NEMA 14-50 at 40. It also ships with a remote holster in the box, which sounds trivial until you own 25 feet of cable and need somewhere for it to live. The app trails ChargePoint’s for polish. See our Emporia review.

The Wallbox Pulsar Plus pairs a 25-foot cable with the smallest body here, which is a genuinely useful combination: the box takes almost no wall, so you can put it in the awkward spot that happens to be electrically convenient, and let the cable do the work. Add Power Boost load balancing for homes with a full panel. It is the priciest pick and hardwired only. Read the Pulsar Plus review.

The Autel MaxiCharger is the one to pick when the long cable is going outdoors, because reach and exposure usually arrive together — if you need 25 feet, the box is often going somewhere less sheltered. Its NEMA 4X enclosure adds corrosion resistance to dust and hose-directed water protection, and Autel publishes an operating range down to about -40°F. A full 50 amps needs a 60-amp hardwired circuit. See the Autel review and our outdoor picks.

The Grizzl-E Smart 40A deserves a specific mention here because of how its 25 feet behaves rather than how far it goes: Grizzl-E builds the cable to stay flexible in cold weather, which is the difference between coiling it onto the holster in January and fighting a frozen hose. It runs the cable off an 18-inch input lead in a cast-aluminum, IP67 body rated to -22°F. The trade is that it caps at 40 amps and plugs into a NEMA 14-50 rather than hardwiring. Read the Grizzl-E Smart review or our cold-weather picks.

This entry was the Grizzl-E Ultimate 48A until Grizzl-E discontinued it in August 2026. The Smart carries the same 25-foot cold-flexible cable, so the reason it earned a place here is unchanged — only the amps and the install method are. The Ultimate’s review stays on record, with its buy link removed.

The ChargePoint Home Flex is the shortest cable here at 23 feet — still long, but the one place it gives ground to the others. You accept that for adjustable 16–50A output, the most mature app in the category and a three-year warranty. If your measurement came out at 22 feet, this is fine; if it came out at 24, buy one of the 25-foot units instead. Our Home Flex review has more.

Getting the most out of the cable you buy

Two units with identical 25-foot cables can behave completely differently depending on how they’re installed. A few things that cost nothing and buy you reach:

  • Mount at the right height. Chest to shoulder height, roughly level with the charge port when the car is parked. Too high wastes cable getting down; too low leaves the connector in the dirt.
  • Mount centrally if you have two bays. A charger at one end of a two-car garage needs to cross the whole space; one in the middle halves the worst case.
  • Use a proper holster or hook. Twenty-five feet of cable coiled on a purpose-made hook stays out of the way and lasts longer; the same cable dumped on the floor gets driven over.
  • Avoid tight bends at the box. The cable exit is where strain concentrates. Let it loop rather than kink.
  • Think about the second car. Households usually end up with two EVs eventually. Mounting for the harder parking position now saves a re-install later — and if you might share one charger between two cars, that is also an argument for 48 amps.

Get the position right and cable length stops being a constraint at all. Once it’s installed, our cost-to-charge calculator tells you what those overnight kilowatt-hours cost on your electricity rate — the number that actually recurs every month.

Frequently asked questions

How long should an EV charger cable be?

Measure, don't guess: run a tape from the proposed charger location to your car's charge port as the cable would actually travel — down the wall, along the floor, around the bumper — then add a few feet of slack so the cable isn't under tension. Most people find 18 to 20 feet covers a single-car garage with the charger on the same side as the port, and 25 feet covers a two-bay garage or a car parked either way round.

Is a 25-foot EV charger cable long enough for a two-car garage?

Usually, if the charger is mounted thoughtfully. Twenty-five feet will typically reach across two bays from a central wall position, or serve either bay from one end. What eats the margin is height and routing: a charger mounted high, with the cable draping down and around a vehicle, can lose four or five feet of effective reach compared with the number on the box.

Can I use an extension cord with an EV charger?

You should not. Level 2 charging is a continuous high-current load for hours at a time, and ordinary extension cords are not built for it — undersized conductors heat up, connections are a fire risk and outdoor connections invite moisture into the circuit. Charger manufacturers generally prohibit it, and doing it can void the warranty. Move the charger, or have the circuit run to a better location instead.

Does a longer cable slow down charging?

Not meaningfully at these lengths. A charger's cable is sized by the manufacturer for its rated current, so a 25-foot factory cable delivers the same amps as a 16-foot one from the same maker. The resistive loss over a few extra feet of properly sized conductor is negligible. This is precisely why a factory cable is safe and a homemade extension is not.

Where should I mount the charger to get the most out of the cable?

Somewhere between chest and shoulder height, roughly level with or slightly behind where your car's charge port sits when parked. That lets the cable drape rather than stretch, keeps the connector off the floor, and avoids the sharp bends that wear a cable out. If you have two vehicles or ever park backwards, mount it centrally rather than at one end.

Does cable length matter for outdoor installs?

More than indoors, for two reasons. Outside you often can't mount the box exactly where you'd like — you're constrained by the wall, the panel and the weather — so extra reach buys you options. And a long cable that ends up lying on the ground collects water, ice and grit, so plan for how it hangs, not just how far it goes.

Sources

  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger InstallationsNFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Electric Vehicle Charging StationsUS DOE on charging levels: Level 1 (~1.9 kW, ~5 mi/hr), Level 2 (2.9-19.2 kW, ~7.2 kW typical residential, ~25 mi/hr), and DC fast charging (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • UL Solutions — EV Charging Infrastructure ServicesUL on EVSE safety certification: ANSI/UL 2594 is the Standard for Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • EVIQO — Level 2 EV Charger, 40A (9.6 kW), NEMA 14-50 plug-in (Gen 2)EVIQO's own product page: 40A / 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50 plug, SAE J1772, 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable, IP66 / NEMA 4 enclosure, UL / ETL / FCC / ENERGY STAR listings, 3-year standard warranty, app-adjustable 6-40A output, and a note that it needs an EV-grade 4-prong 14-50 receptacle rather than a dryer outlet (accessed August 11, 2026)
  • Emporia — Classic Level 2 EV Charger spec sheet (PDF)Emporia's own spec sheet: watertight NEMA Type 4 indoor/outdoor enclosure, operating temperature -22F to 122F, 25 ft cable (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • Wallbox — Pulsar Plus (North America) datasheet (PDF)Wallbox's own datasheet: NEMA Type 4 per UL 50E for indoor and outdoor installation, operating temperature -22F to 104F, 25 ft cable (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • Autel Energy — MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 50A product pageAutel's own listing: compliant with NEMA 4X standards, operating temperature -40F to 131F, 25 ft cable, 3-year warranty (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Smart 40A technical specificationsGrizzl-E's own spec table for the Smart: Type 1 (J1772) Level 2, aluminum enclosure, operating temperature -30C to +50C (-22F to +122F), IP67 protection, 25 ft output cable on an 18 in input lead, 208-240 VAC, nominal input current 16/24/32/40 A set by DIP switch, maximum output current 40 A, LED indicator (accessed August 12, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Smart product overviewGrizzl-E's own overview for the Smart: described as a Wi-Fi connected charger shipping with the Grizzl-E Connect app, a NEMA 4 water-resistant cast aluminum enclosure, UL tested and certified with a 3-year or 5-year replacement warranty, built-in GFCI, over-current, over-voltage, ground fault and over-temperature protections, plug-in NEMA 14-50 or NEMA 6-50 and hardwire-ready configurations, and OCPP 1.6J compatibility (accessed August 12, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex datasheet (PDF)ChargePoint's own datasheet: enclosure rating Type 3R per UL 50E, operating temperature -22F to 122F, 23 ft cable, plus installer notes that an outdoor plug-in install requires an outdoor-rated GFCI breaker upstream while an external GFCI may conflict with the charger's internal ground-fault protection on a hardwired install (accessed July 20, 2026)

Keep reading