Level Two Club

Best EV Chargers for a Garage

Most charger roundups quietly assume a garage and then never mention it again. This one takes the garage seriously: a fixed wall, a car that parks the same way every night, an outlet that may already exist, a router two walls away, and a winter that an attached garage only half hides from.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

A garage is the easiest place to put a Level 2 charger and the easiest place to put one badly. Easy, because the wall is dry, the panel is often in the same room or the next one, and a 240V outlet may already be there. Badly, because the mounting point is permanent, the car parks in one spot, and a cable that comes up three feet short is a mistake you notice every single night for ten years.

So we ranked these on five things, in this order. One: reach from a fixed wall— cable length, plus the input lead on a plug-in unit, because the outlet is rarely exactly where the charger wants to hang. Two: how it connects, since a garage is the one place a plug-in install is genuinely the easy route and the one place hardwiring to 48 amps is cheap to run. Three: a published operating range, because an attached garage is unconditioned space and a detached one is effectively outdoors. Four: what happens without WiFi, because garages are where home networks go to die. Five: a named safety listing— UL or ETL to the EVSE standard, with the number, not a badge in a product photo.

This is the indoor counterpart to our outdoor and weatherproof picks. Every charger here is rated by its maker for outdoor use too; the difference is which specs decide the ranking. Outdoors, the enclosure rating comes first. In a garage, reach and the install path do, and the enclosure is a tie-breaker.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Best overall for a garage
$549.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that doesn't feel cheap: a full 48 amps, ENERGY STAR listing, WiFi with genuine energy monitoring, and a 25 ft cable — for well under what the big names charge. It's the one we point most people to first.

Best value at 48 amps
$449.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
EVIQO 40A NEMA 14-50 Charger

EVIQO 40A NEMA 14-50 Charger

The most charger you can get without an electrician's invoice. It plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet for a full 40 amps, keeps the WiFi app, the ENERGY STAR listing and the 25 ft cable from EVIQO's hardwired unit, and can be unplugged and taken with you when you move.

Best plug-in for an existing 14-50
$429.99 · View on Amazon

$469.999% off

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A

Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A

One box, two cables, one circuit. The Duo Connect lets a two-EV household charge both cars overnight without a second charger, a second breaker or a panel upgrade — because it splits one 40-amp supply between the connectors rather than doubling it. That is the whole trade: convenience and a much cheaper install, at half the speed each when both cars are plugged in.

Best for a two-car garage
$899.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Lectron Nexus 48A J1772

Lectron Nexus 48A J1772

A full 48 amps with nothing to log into. Lectron's Nexus body is IP66-sealed for an outdoor wall, the cable is a heavy 15 mm compound the brand says is built to stay flexible in freezing weather, and the safety paperwork is the real thing — ETL to UL 2594/2231/2251, plus ENERGY STAR. Hardwired only, and there is no app, which is the entire point.

Best for a garage with no WiFi
$429.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A

Grizzl-E's cast-aluminum build with a WiFi radio in it. You get the IP67 body and the cold-flexible 25 ft cable that made the brand's name, plus scheduling, usage history and utility demand-response programs in the Grizzl-E Connect app — in a plug-in unit that comes off the wall when you move. The amperage is still set with a DIP switch, which is either charmingly honest or annoyingly analog depending on your taste.

Best for an unheated or detached garage
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall for a garage

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A means it fits a small panel now and a bigger circuit later
  • The most mature app of the group — scheduling, reminders, usage history, over-the-air firmware
  • 3-year warranty and a long 23 ft cable
  • Sold hardwired or on a NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50 plug, in J1772 or NACS

Trade-offs

  • You pay a premium over value 48A chargers for the app and brand
  • Full 50A output needs a 60A circuit most older panels don't have to spare
  • The plug-in SKUs cap at 40A, so the top speed is a hardwired-only feature
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired, NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and a typical 3.5 miles per kWh, the Home Flex adds roughly 42 miles of range per hour. Dial it down to 40A to fit a 50A circuit and you get about 34. ChargePoint's own, more conservative claim is up to 37 miles per hour hardwired and 30 on the plug-in SKUs.

Build note. Amperage is set in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A. The plug-in SKUs are capped at 40A, so the full 50A is a hardwired-only figure. UL and cUL listed per UL 2594 and UL 2231; firmware updates over the air, and the station stores up to 90 days of session data locally if the network drops.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best value at 48 amps

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that doesn't feel cheap: a full 48 amps, ENERGY STAR listing, WiFi with genuine energy monitoring, and a 25 ft cable — for well under what the big names charge. It's the one we point most people to first.

Strengths

  • 48A output and ENERGY STAR at a value price
  • The app actually tracks energy use, not just on/off
  • Long 25 ft cable and a remote holster in the box

Trade-offs

  • 48A hardwired needs a 60A circuit; on a NEMA 14-50 plug it's limited to 40A
  • App polish trails ChargePoint's, and support is smaller
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds about 40 miles of range per hour hardwired; on a 40A plug-in circuit, about 34.

Build note. 48A hardwired, or 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, with a 25 ft cable and remote holder.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best plug-in for an existing 14-50

EVIQO 40A NEMA 14-50 Charger

The most charger you can get without an electrician's invoice. It plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet for a full 40 amps, keeps the WiFi app, the ENERGY STAR listing and the 25 ft cable from EVIQO's hardwired unit, and can be unplugged and taken with you when you move.

Strengths

  • Plugs into an existing NEMA 14-50 outlet — no hardwiring, and it comes with you
  • Real WiFi app with 6-40A adjustment, scheduling and energy tracking
  • 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input lead, in an IP66 / NEMA 4 body

Trade-offs

  • 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling — for 48A you need the hardwired version
  • Needs a proper EV-grade 14-50 receptacle (an old dryer outlet is not the same thing)
  • Smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint or Wallbox
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour — an overnight charge for almost any daily commute.

Build note. Plug-in Gen-2 unit: 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in NEMA 14-50 input lead, with app-adjustable output from 6 to 40 amps.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best for a two-car garage

Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A

One box, two cables, one circuit. The Duo Connect lets a two-EV household charge both cars overnight without a second charger, a second breaker or a panel upgrade — because it splits one 40-amp supply between the connectors rather than doubling it. That is the whole trade: convenience and a much cheaper install, at half the speed each when both cars are plugged in.

Strengths

  • Charges two EVs from one 40 A circuit — no second breaker, no panel upgrade
  • Grizzl-E's cast-aluminum, IP67-sealed body with two 25 ft cold-flexible cables
  • Per-connector current limits and scheduling in the Grizzl-E Connect app

Trade-offs

  • 40 A is the TOTAL, not per car — two cars charging at once get about 4.8 kW each
  • Costs roughly what two single chargers cost, so the saving is in the wiring, not the box
  • This Amazon SKU is NACS-to-NACS; a mixed-fleet household needs a different cable pairing
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
NACS
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug or hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
Not published
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL tested and certified

Our charging-speed math. The 40 A / 9.6 kW rating is for the whole unit. One car alone gets the full 9.6 kW — about 34 miles of range per hour at ~3.5 mi/kWh. Two cars at once split it: roughly 4.8 kW, or about 17 miles per hour, each.

Build note. Two 25 ft output cables from a single cast-aluminum, IP67-sealed body rated -30C to +50C, with an LED per connector and a DIP-switch current selector (16/24/32/40 A). Grizzl-E states dual charging automatically splits the available current in half, or you can set each connector's current in the Grizzl-E Connect app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 12, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best for a garage with no WiFi

Lectron Nexus 48A J1772

A full 48 amps with nothing to log into. Lectron's Nexus body is IP66-sealed for an outdoor wall, the cable is a heavy 15 mm compound the brand says is built to stay flexible in freezing weather, and the safety paperwork is the real thing — ETL to UL 2594/2231/2251, plus ENERGY STAR. Hardwired only, and there is no app, which is the entire point.

Strengths

  • Full 48A / 11.5 kW hardwired, with ENERGY STAR and ETL listings to UL 2594/2231/2251
  • IP66 enclosure and a 15 mm cable Lectron builds to stay flexible in freezing weather
  • Ships with the wall-mount J-hook and plug holder, and there is no app or account

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired only — a licensed electrician and a 60-amp circuit, with no plug-in option
  • 23 ft cable is shorter than the 25 ft several rivals ship
  • Lectron publishes no operating-temperature range, so we can't state a cold rating
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
No
Certifications
UL 2594/2231/2251 (ETL listed), ENERGY STAR, FCC

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, about 40 miles of range per hour — a full overnight charge for almost any battery on the market.

Build note. IP66-sealed housing for indoor or outdoor mounting, with a heavy-duty 15.0 mm (±0.3 mm) 23 ft output cable Lectron states is engineered to stay flexible and easy to wrap in freezing weather. Wall-mount J-hook and plug holder included; hardwired install on a dedicated 240V circuit by a licensed electrician.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#6Best for an unheated or detached garage

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A

Grizzl-E's cast-aluminum build with a WiFi radio in it. You get the IP67 body and the cold-flexible 25 ft cable that made the brand's name, plus scheduling, usage history and utility demand-response programs in the Grizzl-E Connect app — in a plug-in unit that comes off the wall when you move. The amperage is still set with a DIP switch, which is either charmingly honest or annoyingly analog depending on your taste.

Strengths

  • Cast-aluminum NEMA 4 / IP67 body rated -22F to 122F, in a plug-in unit
  • WiFi and the Grizzl-E Connect app for scheduling, usage history and remote lockout
  • 25 ft cold-flexible output cable, offered with a J1772 or a NACS connector

Trade-offs

  • 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling — no 48A option in this model
  • Amperage is set by a physical DIP switch, not in the app
  • Grizzl-E's own pages don't publish an ENERGY STAR certification for this model
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL/cUL listed (file E510712)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour. The DIP switch also sets 32, 24 or 16 amps if your circuit is smaller.

Build note. Cast-aluminum enclosure with IP67 sealing, rated -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F); 25 ft output cable on an 18 in input lead, current set by DIP switch (16/24/32/40 A), status on an LED, and WiFi to the Grizzl-E Connect app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

The five specs a garage install turns on: how much power it makes, how far the cable reaches from a fixed wall position, whether it plugs into an outlet or needs a hardwired circuit, the temperature range the brand publishes, and whether it depends on WiFi. Every figure is as published by the brand; blanks read “Not published” because that is what the source says.
ChargerMax ampsCablePlugs intoRated rangeWiFi app
ChargePoint Home Flex50 A23 ftHardwired, NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50-22°F to 122°FYes
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger48 A25 ftHardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug-22°F to 122°FYes
EVIQO 40A NEMA 14-50 Charger40 A25 ftNEMA 14-50 plug-22°F to 122°FYes
Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A40 A (shared)25 ft x2NEMA 14-50 plug or hardwired-22°F to 122°FYes
Lectron Nexus 48A J177248 A23 ftHardwiredNot publishedNo
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A40 A25 ftNEMA 14-50 plug-22°F to 122°FYes

What a garage changes, and what it doesn’t

It does not change charging speed. A 40-amp charger in a garage adds about 34 miles of range an hour at our reference 3.5 miles per kWh; a 48-amp unit adds about 40; the ChargePoint at its full 50 amps, about 42. Those are the same numbers as on a driveway, and the same what-size-charger arithmetic applies: buy for the circuit you have, not the biggest number on the box.

What changes is everything around the charger. The wall position is fixed, so reach is settled once. The outlet, if there is one, is where a previous owner or a builder put it, not where you would. The panel is close, which makes a hardwired 60-amp circuit cheaper than it would be anywhere else in the house. The temperature inside an attached garage tracks the outside far more closely than people expect, and a detached garage is the outdoors with a roof. And the router is in the house, on the far side of a concrete or foil-insulated wall. Those five facts are the whole ranking.

The five criteria, in full

1. Reach from a wall you cannot move

A charger mounted on a driveway post can often be placed wherever the cable reaches best. A garage charger goes where the structure, the door track, the shelving and the panel allow, and the car’s charge port goes where the manufacturer put it. Measure the real cable path — down the wall, along the floor, around the bumper — and add slack. Five of these six carry a 25-foot cable; the ChargePoint and the Lectron Nexus carry 23 feet, which is enough for a single bay with the charger on the port side and marginal for reaching across a two-car garage from one end.

On a plug-in unit, the input lead matters almost as much. The EVIQO 40A ships with a 40-inch lead from body to plug, so the charger can hang where you want it rather than directly over the outlet. Grizzl-E’s plug-in units carry an 18-inch input lead, which is honest but short: the outlet effectively decides the mounting point. If reach is your binding constraint, our long-cable roundup ranks on that alone, and the placement guide walks the measuring method step by step.

2. Plug-in or hardwired: the garage is where this decision is cheapest

Every charger here installs one of two ways. A plug-in unit ends in a NEMA 14-50 plug and goes into a 50-amp receptacle; a hardwiredunit is wired to the circuit by an electrician with no plug at all. Under the National Electrical Code’s continuous-load rule, a circuit serves 80% of its rating, so a 14-50 on a 50-amp breaker caps any plug-in charger at 40 amps. Every 48- and 50-amp charger is hardwired for that reason, on a 60-amp circuit. The full argument is in hardwired vs plug-in.

In a garage, two things tilt the decision. If a 14-50 is already on the wall — common in newer builds and anywhere a previous owner ran a welder or an RV hookup — a plug-in charger is a ten-minute job with no electrician, and the EVIQO 40A and both Grizzl-E units are built for exactly that. If nothing is there yet, the panel is usually close enough that a hardwired 60-amp circuit costs little more than a new 50-amp outlet would, and you get 48 amps for the difference. Our installation cost guide breaks down what a garage run actually adds, and the NEMA 14-50 guide explains why an existing outlet needs to be an EV-grade receptacle rather than the cheapest one from the hardware store, and why a dryer outlet is not the same thing.

3. A published operating range, because “indoor” is not “heated”

An attached garage in a northern winter routinely sits well below freezing, and a detached one sits at whatever the outdoor temperature is. The charger does not care about the roof; it cares about the air. So we treat a published operating-temperature range as a garage requirement, not an outdoor one. Five of the six publish -22°F to 122°F on their own spec pages. Lectron publishes no range for the Nexus 48A, which is why it appears as Not published in the table and why it does not take the cold-garage award despite an IP66 body and a cable the brand says stays flexible in freezing weather. The cold side of this question, including what the car does when the pack is cold, is in our cold-weather picks.

4. What the charger does when WiFi never arrives

Concrete block, poured slab, foil-faced insulation in the ceiling and a large metal door: a garage is built almost perfectly to block a home network, and the router is usually at the far end of the house. Our garage WiFi guide covers the fixes, but the buying question is simpler: what does each charger lose offline?

The Lectron Nexus 48A loses nothing, because it has no radio and no app; you set a charging schedule in the car. Grizzl-E’s units set their amperage on a physical DIP switch, so the charger’s output never depends on the network, only the app’s scheduling and history do. ChargePoint’s datasheet states the Home Flex stores up to 90 days of session data locally if the network drops, which is the most graceful failure in the group. The EVIQO sets its amperage in the app, and the Emporia keeps its scheduling and energy history there, so with either you want the connection working at least once, at install, before you rely on it. Whether you need an app at all is the subject of smart vs dumb chargers.

5. Name the standard

Every EVSE sold in the US should be listed to UL 2594 and UL 2231, by UL itself or by a rival lab such as Intertek, whose mark is ETL. The ChargePoint is UL and cUL listed to UL 2594 and UL 2231. The Lectron Nexus is ETL listed to UL 2594, 2231 and 2251. The EVIQO states UL and ETL listings, the Emporia a UL listing, the Grizzl-E Classic Connect a UL/cUL file number, and the Grizzl-E Duo states “UL tested and certified” without publishing the file. All six state a listing; four of the six add ENERGY STAR, which is the certification that gates most utility rebates. Grizzl-E does not publish ENERGY STAR for either unit here, so we do not claim it.

How we separated them

ChargePoint Home Flexwins because a garage is where its flexibility pays off most. It sells as a plug-in on a NEMA 14-50 or a NEMA 6-50, or hardwired, and the amperage is set in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50, so it fits a crowded panel today and a bigger circuit later without a second purchase. It publishes -22°F to 122°F, stores 90 days of sessions locally when the network drops, and carries a 3-year warranty. The honest cons: you pay a premium for the brand and the app, the plug-in SKUs are capped at 40 amps so the full 50 is a hardwired-only figure, the enclosure is Type 3R rather than the Type 4 or IP66 bodies most of the others carry, and the 23-foot cable is two feet shorter than the field. Our ChargePoint Home Flex review has the spec-by-spec picture.

Emporia Level 2is the pick if you are running a fresh 60-amp circuit and want the full 48 amps for the least money. A 25-foot cable, a watertight NEMA 4 body rated -22°F to 122°F, ENERGY STAR, real energy monitoring in the app and a 3-year warranty, at a price that undercuts the big names. The cons are the same everywhere we rank it: 48 amps hardwired means a 60-amp breaker, the plug-in version is limited to 40 amps like everything else on a 14-50, and the app trails ChargePoint’s. Full detail in the Emporia review.

EVIQO 40A NEMA 14-50is what to buy when a 14-50 is already on the garage wall. The 40-inch input lead is the feature that matters here: it lets the charger hang where the cable reaches the car instead of directly over the outlet. It carries a 25-foot cable, an IP66 / NEMA 4 body, a published -22°F to 122°F range, ENERGY STAR, app adjustment from 6 to 40 amps and a 3-year warranty. The cons: 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling, the receptacle behind it must be an EV-grade 14-50 rather than a dryer outlet, and EVIQO is a smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint. See the EVIQO 40A review.

Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40Ais the answer to the two-car garage with one circuit. One cast-aluminum IP67 body, two 25-foot cables, and one 40-amp supply that Grizzl-E states splits in half automatically when both cars are plugged in, or can be set per connector in the app. No second breaker, no panel upgrade. The cons are real: 40 amps is the total, so two cars charging at once get about 17 miles of range an hour each; the box costs roughly what two single chargers do, so the saving is in the wiring; this Amazon SKU is NACS-to-NACS, so a mixed household needs a different cable pairing; and Grizzl-E publishes no warranty term for it. The alternatives — a load-sharing pair, or one charger and a routine — are worked through in best chargers for two cars and the Duo Connect review.

Lectron Nexus 48A is for the garage where the WiFi will never reach and you have made peace with that. A full 48 amps hardwired, an IP66 body, a heavy 15 mm cable Lectron says stays flexible in freezing weather, ETL listing to UL 2594 / 2231 / 2251, ENERGY STAR and a 3-year warranty, with no app, no account and no firmware. Scheduling happens in the car. The cons: hardwired only, so there is no plug-in route; 23 feet of cable against 25 on most rivals; and no published operating-temperature range, which is why it does not take the cold-garage award. It leads our no-app charger roundup for the same reasons; the Lectron Nexus 48A review has the full spec table.

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40Atakes the unheated and detached garage. A cast-aluminum body sealed to IP67, rated -30°C to +50°C (-22°F to 122°F), with a 25-foot cable the brand builds to stay flexible in the cold, a NEMA 14-50 plug, a UL/cUL file number and a 3-year warranty. It is the toughest build here and the one we would hang in a garage that is effectively outside. The cons: 40 amps is the ceiling, the amperage is set on a DIP switch rather than in the app, the 18-inch input lead means the outlet decides where it hangs, and Grizzl-E publishes no ENERGY STAR certification for it, which can matter for a rebate. Full detail in the Classic Connect review.

What we left off, and why

The Lectron 40A portable and the ELEGRP 40A, our budget picks elsewhere, both work perfectly well in a garage — the Lectron arguably belongs nowhere else, since it publishes no enclosure rating. They are portables, designed to be unplugged and carried, and a garage roundup is about a charger that stays on the wall. If price is the constraint, our budget picks cover both.

The Autel MaxiCharger Home and the Wallbox Pulsar Plusare excellent chargers that lead other pages here. The Autel’s defining feature is a NEMA 4X enclosure rated to about -40°F, which is an outdoor argument rather than a garage one; if your garage genuinely sees -30°F, it is the right call and our Autel review covers it. The Wallbox is the compact choice for a tight wall, and its dynamic load management is the feature to want on a small panel; it sits on our small-panel picks for that reason.

Before the electrician arrives

Three things settle most of the cost and all of the regret. First, park the way you actually park and measure the cable path to the port, then measure the awkward case — backing in, the other bay, the other car. Second, find the panel and count the spare capacity honestly; the panel-capacity guide shows how, and a 100-amp service does not rule out Level 2. Third, if an outlet is already there, identify it exactly: a 14-50 on a 50-amp breaker is the good case, a 14-30 dryer receptacle is not, and a receptacle that has fed a dryer for fifteen years is not an EV-grade one. A permit is normal for the new circuit, and permits and inspection explains what the inspector is checking for.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need a weatherproof EV charger for a garage?

Not for the water, but for the cold. A garage keeps rain off the charger, so the enclosure rating matters less than it does on a driveway. What an attached garage does not do is stay warm: in a northern winter it routinely sits below freezing, and a detached garage sits at the outdoor temperature. So the spec to insist on is a published operating-temperature range, not a NEMA or IP code. Five of our six picks publish -22F to 122F; the Lectron Nexus publishes no range, which we record as not published.

Is a plug-in or a hardwired charger better in a garage?

If a NEMA 14-50 outlet is already on the wall on a 50-amp circuit, plug-in is the easy answer: no electrician, and the charger comes with you if you move. Its ceiling is 40 amps, because the NEC limits a continuous load to 80% of the circuit. If nothing is installed yet, the garage is usually close enough to the panel that a hardwired 60-amp circuit costs little more than a new 50-amp outlet, and it is the only route to 48 amps. Either way, an existing outlet must be an EV-grade 14-50 receptacle, not a dryer outlet and not the cheapest receptacle on the shelf.

How long a cable do I need for a garage?

Measure it rather than guess. Run a tape from the proposed mounting point down the wall, along the floor and around the car to the charge port as the cable would actually travel, then add a few feet of slack. Most single-car garages with the charger on the port side are comfortable at 18 to 20 feet; a two-bay garage, an awkward port position or parking either way round pushes the answer to 25. Five of our six picks carry 25 feet; the ChargePoint and Lectron Nexus carry 23.

What if my garage has no WiFi signal?

Decide before you buy what the charger loses offline. A charger with no app, like the Lectron Nexus 48A, loses nothing, and your car's own scheduler handles overnight charging. Grizzl-E units set their amperage on a physical switch, so output never depends on the network. The ChargePoint stores 90 days of session data locally if the connection drops. A charger that sets its amperage in the app, like the EVIQO, needs the connection working at least at install, and the Emporia keeps its scheduling and energy history in the app. A mesh node on the house side of the garage wall fixes most cases; our garage WiFi guide covers the options in order of cost.

Can one charger serve a two-car garage?

Yes, three ways. The cheapest is one charger mounted centrally with a 25-foot cable and a routine: whichever car is lower plugs in that night, and most two-EV households find one Level 2 session per car every second night is plenty. The next step is a dual-port unit such as the Grizzl-E Duo Connect, which charges two cars from one 40-amp circuit by splitting the supply, at half speed each when both are plugged in. The most expensive is two chargers on two circuits, or a load-sharing pair, which needs the panel capacity to match.

Where in the garage should the charger go?

On the side the car's charge port is on, if the run back to the panel allows it, at a height between chest and shoulder so the connector never rests on the floor. If two cars have ports on opposite sides, or you sometimes reverse in, mount centrally so the worst case is halved rather than doubled. Keep it clear of the door track and anything that swings. Our placement guide has the measuring method; check the charger's own manual for its permitted mounting range and follow it over any general rule.

Does a garage EV charger need a permit?

A new 240V circuit almost always does, whether it ends in a hardwired charger or a new NEMA 14-50 outlet, and the inspection is what confirms the breaker, wire gauge and ground-fault protection match the load. Plugging a charger into an outlet that already exists and was permitted when installed does not normally need a new permit. Rules vary by jurisdiction, so ask the permitting office or your electrician rather than assuming.

Sources

  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger InstallationsNFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex datasheet (PDF)ChargePoint's own datasheet: enclosure rating Type 3R per UL 50E, operating temperature -22F to 122F, 23 ft cable, plus installer notes that an outdoor plug-in install requires an outdoor-rated GFCI breaker upstream while an external GFCI may conflict with the charger's internal ground-fault protection on a hardwired install. RE-READ September 3, 2026 for the review refresh: the same datasheet also publishes maximum 12 kW (240V AC x 50A) with output amperage adjustable via the mobile app to 16A, 24A, 32A, 40A, 48A or 50A; a required dedicated dual-pole breaker rated for 125% of maximum load; 'Software Updates: Firmware updated over-the-air (OTA)'; 2.4/5 GHz Wi-Fi (802.11 a/b/g/n); local storage of up to 90 days of charging session data (100 sessions) if the network drops; power measurement accuracy +/- 2.0%; ground-fault detection by 20 mA CCID with auto retry; and UL and cUL listing per UL 2594, UL 2231-1 and UL 2231-2, NEC Article 625 compliant. Ordering information lists the plug-in station models CPH50-NEMA6-50-L23 and CPH50-NEMA14-50-L23 (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex home charger product pageChargePoint's own current product page for the Home Flex, read for the 2026-09-03 review refresh: three install configurations are offered — hardwired, NEMA 6-50 plug and NEMA 14-50 plug — with 'up to 50 amps of power delivered to your EV' on the hardwired model and 'up to 40A of power' on the plug-in models. ChargePoint's own range claim is 'up to 37 miles of range per hour' hardwired and '30 miles of range per hour' plug-in. J1772 and NACS connectors are offered across all configurations, and ChargePoint states the unit is 'UL Listed for safety', 'ENERGY STAR certified for efficiency' and carries a '3-year warranty' (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • Emporia — Classic Level 2 EV Charger spec sheet (PDF)Emporia's own spec sheet: watertight NEMA Type 4 indoor/outdoor enclosure, operating temperature -22F to 122F, 25 ft cable (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • EVIQO — Level 2 EV Charger, 40A (9.6 kW), NEMA 14-50 plug-in (Gen 2)EVIQO's own product page: 40A / 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50 plug, SAE J1772, 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable, IP66 / NEMA 4 enclosure, UL / ETL / FCC / ENERGY STAR listings, 3-year standard warranty, app-adjustable 6-40A output, and a note that it needs an EV-grade 4-prong 14-50 receptacle rather than a dryer outlet. RE-READ September 15, 2026 for the garage roundup: the page additionally states an operating temperature range of -22F to 122F, that the app needs a 2.4 GHz WiFi connection, that the standard 3-year warranty is extendable to 4, and that the unit ships in 1-2 business days (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A technical specificationsGrizzl-E's own spec table for the Duo Connect 40A: two output cables, Type 1 (J1772) and NACS Level 2 connections, aluminum enclosure, operating temperature -30C to +50C, IP67 protection, 25 ft output cable length, 18 in input cable, 208-240 VAC, nominal input current 16/24/32/40 A, maximum output current 40 A, one LED indicator per connector, DIP-switch power selector, 40 lb unit weight (accessed August 12, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A product overviewGrizzl-E's own overview for the Duo Connect 40A: a dual-port Wi-Fi connected 40A plug-in charger whose dual charging 'automatically splits the available current in half, or you can set individual charging currents for each connector with the Grizzl-E Connect app', with scheduling, usage history, remote lockout, monitoring and diagnostics in the app (accessed August 12, 2026)
  • Lectron — NEXUS Level 2 J1772 EV Charging Station, 240V, 48 Amp, HardwiredLectron's own product page: up to 48 A continuous at 240 V for 11.5 kW, hardwire-only install by a licensed electrician on a dedicated 240 V circuit, IP66 weatherproof housing for indoor or outdoor use, 23 ft output cable of 15.0 mm (±0.3 mm) heavy-duty compound the brand states is 'engineered to stay flexible and easy to wrap around the wall mount, even in freezing weather', wall-mount J-hook and plug holder included, ETL listed to UL 2594 / UL 2231 / UL 2251 with ENERGY STAR and FCC certification, and a 3-year Lectron warranty. No operating-temperature range and no Wi-Fi or app support are published for this model (accessed August 20, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A technical specificationsGrizzl-E's own spec table for the Classic Connect: Type 1 (J1772) or NACS Level 2, aluminum enclosure, operating temperature -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), IP67 protection, 25 ft output cable on an 18 in input lead, 208-240 VAC, nominal input current 16/24/32/40 A set by a DIP-switch power selector, maximum output current 40 A, LED indicator, 21 lb unit weight (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A product overviewGrizzl-E's own overview for the Classic Connect: 'the Wi-Fi Connected Smart Level 2 EVSE for home use' at 40A / 9.6 kW, shipping with the Grizzl-E Connect app for charging statistics, schedules, Demand/Response utility programs, remote control, lockout to prevent unauthorized use, updates and diagnostics; a UL Type 4 water-resistant cast aluminum enclosure with IP67 sealing, a NEMA 14-50 input cable and a 25 ft output cable with a J1772 or NACS connector, 'UL Tested and Certified' with built-in GFCI, over-current, over-voltage, ground-fault and over-temperature protections, and adjustable maximum current set with DIP switches at 40A / 32A / 24A / 16A for a 50A / 40A / 30A / 20A breaker. No ENERGY STAR certification and no OCPP support are published for this model (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • UL Solutions — EV Charging Infrastructure ServicesUL on EVSE safety certification: ANSI/UL 2594 is the Standard for Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • ENERGY STAR — Electric Vehicle ChargersENERGY STAR on EVSE efficiency: certified chargers use about 40% less energy in standby than non-certified units (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • NEMA — Enclosure Types (definitions from NEMA 250)NEMA's own definitions: Type 3R protects against falling dirt and rain, sleet and snow; Type 4 adds windblown dust, splashing and hose-directed water; Type 4X adds protection against corrosion. NEMA also states its NEMA-to-IP table cannot be used to convert IP designations back to NEMA types (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • IEC 60529 — Degrees of protection provided by enclosures (IP Code), full textThe IP code standard (verbatim national adoption, IS/IEC 60529:2001): first numeral 6 = dust-tight; second numeral 6 = protected against powerful water jets; second numeral 7 = protected against temporary immersion, and a 7 alone does not imply water-jet protection unless dual coded (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Electric Vehicle Charging StationsUS DOE on charging levels: Level 1 (~1.9 kW, ~5 mi/hr), Level 2 (2.9-19.2 kW, ~7.2 kW typical residential, ~25 mi/hr), and DC fast charging (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Charging Electric Vehicles at HomeUS DOE on home EV charging: most owners charge overnight on Level 1 or Level 2, installs follow NEC Article 625, with example home-charging costs (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading