Level Two Club

Best EV Chargers for an Airbnb or Rental Property

A charger at a property you don't live in has a different job. It will be used by strangers, it cannot be reset by walking to the garage, and it has to survive whoever parks there next. Speed matters less than control, records and a body that shrugs off weather.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

EV drivers look for it. A Level 2 charger at a short-term rental or a long-term tenancy is one of the cheaper amenities you can add that a specific group of guests will actively search for, and it costs the same electricity as a dryer running for a few hours. But the buying question is not the one a homeowner asks. You will not be there. You cannot tell a guest which end goes in the car, you cannot walk out and press a reset button, and you cannot see whether the neighbor has been quietly charging on your driveway all winter.

So we ranked on four things a host actually needs, in this order. One: lockout from your phone, so the charger only runs when a paying guest is in residence. Two: a record of energy used, so you can price the amenity, bill a long-term tenant, or simply know what it costs. Three: a sealed, hard body, because a rental charger lives outdoors more often than a homeowner’s does and gets treated worse. Four: nothing that needs you on site— no schedule a guest has to understand, no WiFi pairing they have to redo.

One thing to know before the list: none of the units we list publishes a card reader or payment terminal. Those are commercial features and commercial prices. For a home-class charger, “access control” means an app switch, and “billing” means a kWh figure you read and apply to a rate yourself.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A

Grizzl-E's cast-aluminum build with a WiFi radio in it. You get the IP67 body and the cold-flexible 25 ft cable that made the brand's name, plus scheduling, usage history and utility demand-response programs in the Grizzl-E Connect app — in a plug-in unit that comes off the wall when you move. The amperage is still set with a DIP switch, which is either charmingly honest or annoyingly analog depending on your taste.

Best overall for a rental
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that doesn't feel cheap: a full 48 amps, ENERGY STAR listing, WiFi with genuine energy monitoring, and a 25 ft cable — for well under what the big names charge. It's the one we point most people to first.

Best energy records for billing
$449.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Best for guest self-service
$549.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A

Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A

One box, two cables, one circuit. The Duo Connect lets a two-EV household charge both cars overnight without a second charger, a second breaker or a panel upgrade — because it splits one 40-amp supply between the connectors rather than doubling it. That is the whole trade: convenience and a much cheaper install, at half the speed each when both cars are plugged in.

Best for two guest cars
$899.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Lectron Nexus 48A J1772

Lectron Nexus 48A J1772

A full 48 amps with nothing to log into. Lectron's Nexus body is IP66-sealed for an outdoor wall, the cable is a heavy 15 mm compound the brand says is built to stay flexible in freezing weather, and the safety paperwork is the real thing — ETL to UL 2594/2231/2251, plus ENERGY STAR. Hardwired only, and there is no app, which is the entire point.

Best if the driveway is private
$429.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall for a rental

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A

Grizzl-E's cast-aluminum build with a WiFi radio in it. You get the IP67 body and the cold-flexible 25 ft cable that made the brand's name, plus scheduling, usage history and utility demand-response programs in the Grizzl-E Connect app — in a plug-in unit that comes off the wall when you move. The amperage is still set with a DIP switch, which is either charmingly honest or annoyingly analog depending on your taste.

Strengths

  • Cast-aluminum NEMA 4 / IP67 body rated -22F to 122F, in a plug-in unit
  • WiFi and the Grizzl-E Connect app for scheduling, usage history and remote lockout
  • 25 ft cold-flexible output cable, offered with a J1772 or a NACS connector

Trade-offs

  • 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling — no 48A option in this model
  • Amperage is set by a physical DIP switch, not in the app
  • Grizzl-E's own pages don't publish an ENERGY STAR certification for this model
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL/cUL listed (file E510712)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour. The DIP switch also sets 32, 24 or 16 amps if your circuit is smaller.

Build note. Cast-aluminum enclosure with IP67 sealing, rated -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F); 25 ft output cable on an 18 in input lead, current set by DIP switch (16/24/32/40 A), status on an LED, and WiFi to the Grizzl-E Connect app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best energy records for billing

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that doesn't feel cheap: a full 48 amps, ENERGY STAR listing, WiFi with genuine energy monitoring, and a 25 ft cable — for well under what the big names charge. It's the one we point most people to first.

Strengths

  • 48A output and ENERGY STAR at a value price
  • The app actually tracks energy use, not just on/off
  • Long 25 ft cable and a remote holster in the box

Trade-offs

  • 48A hardwired needs a 60A circuit; on a NEMA 14-50 plug it's limited to 40A
  • App polish trails ChargePoint's, and support is smaller
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds about 40 miles of range per hour hardwired; on a 40A plug-in circuit, about 34.

Build note. 48A hardwired, or 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, with a 25 ft cable and remote holder.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best for guest self-service

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A means it fits a small panel now and a bigger circuit later
  • The most mature app of the group — scheduling, reminders, usage history, over-the-air firmware
  • 3-year warranty and a long 23 ft cable
  • Sold hardwired or on a NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50 plug, in J1772 or NACS

Trade-offs

  • You pay a premium over value 48A chargers for the app and brand
  • Full 50A output needs a 60A circuit most older panels don't have to spare
  • The plug-in SKUs cap at 40A, so the top speed is a hardwired-only feature
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired, NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and a typical 3.5 miles per kWh, the Home Flex adds roughly 42 miles of range per hour. Dial it down to 40A to fit a 50A circuit and you get about 34. ChargePoint's own, more conservative claim is up to 37 miles per hour hardwired and 30 on the plug-in SKUs.

Build note. Amperage is set in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A. The plug-in SKUs are capped at 40A, so the full 50A is a hardwired-only figure. UL and cUL listed per UL 2594 and UL 2231; firmware updates over the air, and the station stores up to 90 days of session data locally if the network drops.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best for two guest cars

Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A

One box, two cables, one circuit. The Duo Connect lets a two-EV household charge both cars overnight without a second charger, a second breaker or a panel upgrade — because it splits one 40-amp supply between the connectors rather than doubling it. That is the whole trade: convenience and a much cheaper install, at half the speed each when both cars are plugged in.

Strengths

  • Charges two EVs from one 40 A circuit — no second breaker, no panel upgrade
  • Grizzl-E's cast-aluminum, IP67-sealed body with two 25 ft cold-flexible cables
  • Per-connector current limits and scheduling in the Grizzl-E Connect app

Trade-offs

  • 40 A is the TOTAL, not per car — two cars charging at once get about 4.8 kW each
  • Costs roughly what two single chargers cost, so the saving is in the wiring, not the box
  • This Amazon SKU is NACS-to-NACS; a mixed-fleet household needs a different cable pairing
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
NACS
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug or hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
Not published
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL tested and certified

Our charging-speed math. The 40 A / 9.6 kW rating is for the whole unit. One car alone gets the full 9.6 kW — about 34 miles of range per hour at ~3.5 mi/kWh. Two cars at once split it: roughly 4.8 kW, or about 17 miles per hour, each.

Build note. Two 25 ft output cables from a single cast-aluminum, IP67-sealed body rated -30C to +50C, with an LED per connector and a DIP-switch current selector (16/24/32/40 A). Grizzl-E states dual charging automatically splits the available current in half, or you can set each connector's current in the Grizzl-E Connect app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 12, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best if the driveway is private

Lectron Nexus 48A J1772

A full 48 amps with nothing to log into. Lectron's Nexus body is IP66-sealed for an outdoor wall, the cable is a heavy 15 mm compound the brand says is built to stay flexible in freezing weather, and the safety paperwork is the real thing — ETL to UL 2594/2231/2251, plus ENERGY STAR. Hardwired only, and there is no app, which is the entire point.

Strengths

  • Full 48A / 11.5 kW hardwired, with ENERGY STAR and ETL listings to UL 2594/2231/2251
  • IP66 enclosure and a 15 mm cable Lectron builds to stay flexible in freezing weather
  • Ships with the wall-mount J-hook and plug holder, and there is no app or account

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired only — a licensed electrician and a 60-amp circuit, with no plug-in option
  • 23 ft cable is shorter than the 25 ft several rivals ship
  • Lectron publishes no operating-temperature range, so we can't state a cold rating
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
No
Certifications
UL 2594/2231/2251 (ETL listed), ENERGY STAR, FCC

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, about 40 miles of range per hour — a full overnight charge for almost any battery on the market.

Build note. IP66-sealed housing for indoor or outdoor mounting, with a heavy-duty 15.0 mm (±0.3 mm) 23 ft output cable Lectron states is engineered to stay flexible and easy to wrap in freezing weather. Wall-mount J-hook and plug holder included; hardwired install on a dedicated 240V circuit by a licensed electrician.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

The four things a host cares about, as published by each brand: whether you can lock it from your phone, what record it keeps, how it connects to the supply and how well it is sealed. Blanks read “Not published” because that is what the brand’s page says.
ChargerGuest lockoutEnergy recordsInstallEnclosure
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40AApp lockout 'to prevent unauthorized use' (Grizzl-E)Charging statistics in the Grizzl-E Connect appNEMA 14-50 plugNEMA 4 (IP67)
Emporia Level 2 EV ChargerNot publishedPer-session energy and cost in the Emporia appHardwired or NEMA 14-50 plugNEMA 4
ChargePoint Home FlexNot publishedSession history; 90 days stored locally if offlineHardwired, NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50NEMA 3R
Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40ARemote lockout in the app (Grizzl-E)Usage history per connector in the appNEMA 14-50 plug or hardwiredIP67
Lectron Nexus 48A J1772None - no app; control access by breakerNone - use the car's own log or a submeterHardwiredIP66

Lockout is the feature that matters most

A charger on a driveway is a 240-volt outlet anyone with a car can use. The fix is not a padlock on the handle; it is a charger whose output you can switch off remotely and back on for a booking. Grizzl-E publishes this explicitly — the Classic Connect’s app includes “lockout to prevent unauthorized use,” and the Duo Connect lists “remote lockout” — which is why the two Grizzl-E units take the top and the two-car slots. Emporia and ChargePoint both publish app scheduling and control, which gets you most of the way, but neither page names a lockout function, so we do not credit one.

The no-app alternative is the breaker. A Lectron Nexus on its own circuit can be switched off at the panel between guests, which works fine if the panel is inside a locked space and you or a cleaner is there between stays. It does not work for a remote host with weekly turnovers.

Records: what to bill, and how to know

Most hosts fold charging into the nightly rate and want only a rough idea of the cost. For that, the arithmetic is simple: a typical overnight session might add 30 to 40 kWh, and the EIA puts the 2025 US residential average at 17.30 cents per kWh, so a full session is in the range of five to seven dollars at that rate. Your own rate is on your bill; our cost-to-charge guide has the per-mile version.

A long-term tenancy is different: you may want to bill actual use. Emporia’s app reports per-session energy and cost and is the clearest of the group for that; ChargePoint’s datasheet publishes power measurement to ±2% and keeps session history, storing up to 90 days locally if the network drops. Neither is a utility-grade revenue meter, and for a formal sub-metered lease you should ask your electrician about a dedicated submeter on the circuit. For an informal monthly figure both are more than adequate.

Where it lives decides the body

A rental charger is more likely to be outdoors, more likely to be mounted where a guest backs into it, and less likely to have its cable coiled properly. That argues for a cast-aluminum body and a high sealing rating. Grizzl-E publishes IP67 on a cast-aluminum enclosure for both units here; Emporia publishes NEMA Type 4; Lectron publishes IP66; ChargePoint publishes Type 3R, which is a rain-and-sleet rating rather than a hose-down one and is the lowest of the group. Our ratings explainer covers what those codes actually promise.

Plug-in or hardwired matters more at a rental than at home. A plug-in unit on a NEMA 14-50 can be unplugged and taken — by a departing tenant, or by anyone — while a hardwired charger cannot. ChargePoint’s datasheet also notes that an outdoor plug-in install needs an outdoor-rated GFCI breaker upstream. If the charger is outside and in public view, hardwire it.

How we separated them

Grizzl-E Classic Connectis first because it is the only 40-amp unit here that publishes a lockout, in a cast-aluminum IP67 body rated -22°F to 122°F, on a NEMA 14-50 plug that an electrician can also hardwire. The DIP switch sets 40, 32, 24 or 16 amps to match whatever circuit the property has. Grizzl-E publishes no ENERGY STAR mark for it, which matters only if a rebate program requires one.

Emporia Level 2takes the records slot: per-session energy and cost in the app, 48 amps hardwired or 40 on a plug, UL listed and ENERGY STAR, NEMA 4. If your main question is “what did that guest cost me,” this answers it best.

ChargePoint Home Flex is here for the guest who has never used a charger: the handle, the light and the app are the most familiar in the category, and there is nothing to configure at the unit. The trade is the Type 3R enclosure and no published lockout. Best in a garage, less so on an open driveway.

Grizzl-E Duo Connectis the two-car answer for a property that sleeps two households: two 25 ft cables from one 40-amp circuit, per-connector current limits and remote lockout in the app. The Amazon SKU we link is the NACS-to-NACS cable pair — a rental serving mixed cars would want the J1772 or mixed pairing Grizzl-E sells direct. Read our two-car roundup for the amps math.

Lectron Nexus 48Ais the private-driveway pick: 48 amps, IP66, ETL listed to UL 2594, ENERGY STAR, and no app, no WiFi and no account a guest could log out of. Control is at the breaker. If your property’s parking is behind a gate or in a locked garage, that is enough, and it is the cheapest unit on this page to own.

What we left off, and why

The portable units — Lectron 40A, ELEGRP, Ampure Go — because a charger that lives in a bag walks away from a rental. The Wallbox Pulsar Plus, which publishes Bluetooth and app control and would suit a host well, but at a premium the lockout-equipped Grizzl-E undercuts. And the Autel units, whose apps we cannot verify carry a lockout from the pages we cite.

Before you list it as an amenity

Have the circuit installed and permitted by a licensed electrician — our permits guideexplains why that matters more at a property you rent out. Post a one-line card by the charger: how to start, and who to message if the light is red. And decide the pricing before the first guest asks; a flat “charging included” is the simplest answer and the one most hosts land on.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best EV charger for an Airbnb?

A hardwired or plug-in Level 2 unit you can lock from your phone, in a sealed body. The Grizzl-E Classic Connect is our top pick because Grizzl-E publishes an app lockout 'to prevent unauthorized use' in a cast-aluminum IP67 enclosure. The Emporia Level 2 is the pick if per-session energy records matter more than lockout.

Can I stop guests or neighbors using the charger when nobody is booked?

With a charger that publishes a lockout, yes — the Grizzl-E Classic Connect and Duo Connect both do, from the app. Emporia and ChargePoint publish app scheduling and control but not a named lockout. A no-app charger like the Lectron Nexus can be switched off at its breaker between stays if you or a cleaner has panel access.

How much does it cost me when a guest charges?

Roughly the kWh delivered times your rate. A typical overnight session adds around 30 to 40 kWh; at the EIA's 2025 US residential average of 17.30 cents per kWh that is about five to seven dollars. Your own rate is on your bill, and a charger with per-session records — the Emporia is clearest — tells you the actual figure.

Should a rental charger be plugged in or hardwired?

Hardwired if it is outdoors or in public view. A plug-in unit on a NEMA 14-50 can be unplugged and removed; a hardwired one cannot. ChargePoint's datasheet also notes an outdoor plug-in install needs an outdoor-rated GFCI breaker upstream. In a locked garage a plug-in is fine and cheaper to install.

Do any home chargers take payment from guests?

None in our registry publishes a card reader or payment function — those are commercial-charger features. For a home-class unit, 'access control' means an app switch and 'billing' means reading a kWh figure and applying your rate. Most hosts include charging in the nightly rate instead.

Do I need a charger for both Tesla and non-Tesla guests?

Practically, a J1772 charger covers everyone: non-Tesla EVs plug straight in, and Lectron's FAQ notes Tesla owners use the J1772-to-Tesla adapter included with most Teslas. Keeping a spare adapter at the property is the cheap insurance. Our Tesla-plus-non-Tesla guide covers the dual-cable route if you want no adapter at all.

Sources

  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A product overviewGrizzl-E's own overview for the Classic Connect: 'the Wi-Fi Connected Smart Level 2 EVSE for home use' at 40A / 9.6 kW, shipping with the Grizzl-E Connect app for charging statistics, schedules, Demand/Response utility programs, remote control, lockout to prevent unauthorized use, updates and diagnostics; a UL Type 4 water-resistant cast aluminum enclosure with IP67 sealing, a NEMA 14-50 input cable and a 25 ft output cable with a J1772 or NACS connector, 'UL Tested and Certified' with built-in GFCI, over-current, over-voltage, ground-fault and over-temperature protections, and adjustable maximum current set with DIP switches at 40A / 32A / 24A / 16A for a 50A / 40A / 30A / 20A breaker. No ENERGY STAR certification and no OCPP support are published for this model (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A technical specificationsGrizzl-E's own spec table for the Classic Connect: Type 1 (J1772) or NACS Level 2, aluminum enclosure, operating temperature -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), IP67 protection, 25 ft output cable on an 18 in input lead, 208-240 VAC, nominal input current 16/24/32/40 A set by a DIP-switch power selector, maximum output current 40 A, LED indicator, 21 lb unit weight (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A product overviewGrizzl-E's own overview for the Duo Connect 40A: a dual-port Wi-Fi connected 40A plug-in charger whose dual charging 'automatically splits the available current in half, or you can set individual charging currents for each connector with the Grizzl-E Connect app', with scheduling, usage history, remote lockout, monitoring and diagnostics in the app (accessed August 12, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A technical specificationsGrizzl-E's own spec table for the Duo Connect 40A: two output cables, Type 1 (J1772) and NACS Level 2 connections, aluminum enclosure, operating temperature -30C to +50C, IP67 protection, 25 ft output cable length, 18 in input cable, 208-240 VAC, nominal input current 16/24/32/40 A, maximum output current 40 A, one LED indicator per connector, DIP-switch power selector, 40 lb unit weight (accessed August 12, 2026)
  • Emporia — Classic Level 2 EV Charger spec sheet (PDF)Emporia's own spec sheet: watertight NEMA Type 4 indoor/outdoor enclosure, operating temperature -22F to 122F, 25 ft cable (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • Emporia - EV Chargers (Classic vs Pro)Emporia's own Classic-vs-Pro comparison page: both units publish a 25 ft cable, 'NEMA Plug or Hardwire' installation, 'Up to 48A' and a 3-year warranty. The feature rows list Smart Scheduling, Home Energy Monitoring, Solar Charging Integration, Peak Demand Management and PowerSmart Load Management, footnoted for the Classic as 'Requires Vue Home Energy Monitor' and for the Pro as 'Requires Vue Home Energy Monitor and PowerSmart upgrade'. The Classic section states 'Add the Vue Home Energy Monitor and we'll manage Peak Demand and automatically charge with your excess solar power', and Emporia's platform lists 'Excess Solar Management' as a named feature. The page also states 'PowerSmart comes standard with the Emporia Pro, but can be added to the Emporia Classic for an extra cost'. Emporia's own listed prices on the date accessed are not reprinted here (accessed September 17, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex datasheet (PDF)ChargePoint's own datasheet: enclosure rating Type 3R per UL 50E, operating temperature -22F to 122F, 23 ft cable, plus installer notes that an outdoor plug-in install requires an outdoor-rated GFCI breaker upstream while an external GFCI may conflict with the charger's internal ground-fault protection on a hardwired install. RE-READ September 3, 2026 for the review refresh: the same datasheet also publishes maximum 12 kW (240V AC x 50A) with output amperage adjustable via the mobile app to 16A, 24A, 32A, 40A, 48A or 50A; a required dedicated dual-pole breaker rated for 125% of maximum load; 'Software Updates: Firmware updated over-the-air (OTA)'; 2.4/5 GHz Wi-Fi (802.11 a/b/g/n); local storage of up to 90 days of charging session data (100 sessions) if the network drops; power measurement accuracy +/- 2.0%; ground-fault detection by 20 mA CCID with auto retry; and UL and cUL listing per UL 2594, UL 2231-1 and UL 2231-2, NEC Article 625 compliant. Ordering information lists the plug-in station models CPH50-NEMA6-50-L23 and CPH50-NEMA14-50-L23 (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • Lectron — NEXUS Level 2 J1772 EV Charging Station, 240V, 48 Amp, HardwiredLectron's own product page: up to 48 A continuous at 240 V for 11.5 kW, hardwire-only install by a licensed electrician on a dedicated 240 V circuit, IP66 weatherproof housing for indoor or outdoor use, 23 ft output cable of 15.0 mm (±0.3 mm) heavy-duty compound the brand states is 'engineered to stay flexible and easy to wrap around the wall mount, even in freezing weather', wall-mount J-hook and plug holder included, ETL listed to UL 2594 / UL 2231 / UL 2251 with ENERGY STAR and FCC certification, and a 3-year Lectron warranty. No operating-temperature range and no Wi-Fi or app support are published for this model (accessed August 20, 2026)
  • Lectron - EV Charging FAQLectron's own FAQ, read for its plug-and-cord guidance: 'It's recommended to plug the charger directly into a dedicated outlet without extension cords', with a safety list that reads 'Always match plug and outlet ratings (volts/amps)', 'Use GFCI protection for outdoor plugs', 'Avoid extension cords or daisy-chaining', 'Inspect plugs and cables regularly' and 'Hire a licensed electrician for installation'. Its NEMA table publishes 5-15 as 120V / 15A, 5-20 as 120V / 20A, 6-20 as 240V / 20A, 10-30 / 14-30 as 240V / 30A ('Common in older dryers') and 14-50 as 240V / 50A, and states that Lectron offers NEMA 5-15, 14-50 and 10-30 plug options for portable charging. Also states that a Tesla owner can use the J1772-to-Tesla adapter 'included with most Tesla', and that adapters 'don't generate power - they only enable compatibility between chargers and vehicles' (accessed September 17, 2026)
  • U.S. Energy Information Administration — Electricity prices and factors affecting pricesEIA on US electricity pricing: residential electricity averaged 17.30 cents per kWh in 2025; some utilities offer time-of-day pricing to reduce peak demand; prices are usually highest in summer, and the cost to supply electricity is higher in the afternoon and early-evening peak hours even though most customers pay a seasonal average rate (accessed August 11, 2026)
  • NEMA — Enclosure Types (definitions from NEMA 250)NEMA's own definitions: Type 3R protects against falling dirt and rain, sleet and snow; Type 4 adds windblown dust, splashing and hose-directed water; Type 4X adds protection against corrosion. NEMA also states its NEMA-to-IP table cannot be used to convert IP designations back to NEMA types (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • IEC 60529 — Degrees of protection provided by enclosures (IP Code), full textThe IP code standard (verbatim national adoption, IS/IEC 60529:2001): first numeral 6 = dust-tight; second numeral 6 = protected against powerful water jets; second numeral 7 = protected against temporary immersion, and a 7 alone does not imply water-jet protection unless dual coded (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger InstallationsNFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading