Level Two Club

Best Level 2 EV Chargers for the Hyundai IONIQ 5

Our top pick is the Lectron Nexus NACS 48A: a native NACS plug on the wall, and 48 amps of headroom over everything the car can take. This is the first per-vehicle guide we have written where the manufacturer publishes no onboard-charger rating at all, so we derive the ceiling from Hyundai's own charge times and show the arithmetic.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Our top pick for a Hyundai IONIQ 5 is the Lectron Nexus NACS 48A. It puts a native North American Charging System plug on the wall, so it mates with the IONIQ 5’s port with nothing in between, and its 48 amps comfortably exceed what the car can accept on AC — which is exactly the right shape for this purchase. If you want a mature app and are willing to pay for it, the ChargePoint Home Flex NACS does the same job for more money. If there is already a 240-volt outlet where the car parks, a 40-amp plug-in NACS unit is the cheapest sensible answer on this page, and it loses you almost nothing.

Now the part other IONIQ 5 charger guides skip. Hyundai does not publish an onboard-charger power rating for the IONIQ 5 anywhere we can read it. Not on the model page, and not in the compare-specs tables — there is no “Onboard Charger Power” row at all. Every other per-vehicle guide on this site quotes a figure the automaker printed. For this car we cannot, so we are not going to invent one. What Hyundai does publish is a charge time: 10% to 100% on a 240-volt Level 2 charger in 7 hours 20 minutes on the 84 kWh trims, and 5 hours 40 minutes on the 63 kWh SE Standard Range. Work backwards from those and the ceiling falls out.

The second decisive fact is the connector. The 2027 IONIQ 5 ships with a native NACS port— Hyundai’s own words are that it gives “instant access to over 30,000 Tesla Superchargers — no adapter required” — and comes with a CCS adapterfor other DC networks. For AC charging at home, Hyundai names no adapter and the string “J1772” does not appear on either page. That absence is why this guide leads with native-NACS hardware and puts a caveat, rather than a shrug, on the J1772 picks further down.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) Charger

Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) Charger

For a Tesla owner who doesn't want to babysit an adapter: a native NACS (J3400) connector plugs straight into the car, at a full 48 amps, with the safety listings you want. No app, but Teslas schedule charging in the car anyway.

Best overall
$449.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
ChargePoint Home Flex NACS

ChargePoint Home Flex NACS

The Home Flex smarts with a factory NACS cable. Tesla owners who want ChargePoint's mature app and adjustable 16-50A amperage — rather than a plain no-app NACS unit — pay a premium for exactly that.

Best NACS with an app
$516.71 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Lectron Portable Level 2 Tesla Charger (NACS)

Lectron Portable Level 2 Tesla Charger (NACS)

The portable to buy if your car has a NACS port and you would rather not travel with an adapter. It is the Lectron 40A portable with a Tesla connector on the end: a full 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50, a 16-foot cable, ETL to UL 2594 / UL 2231 and an ENERGY STAR listing. The gap is documentation - Lectron publishes no enclosure rating, temperature range or warranty term for this SKU.

Best plug-in NACS
$279.89 · View on Amazon

$319.9913% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A

Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A

One box, two cables, one circuit. The Duo Connect lets a two-EV household charge both cars overnight without a second charger, a second breaker or a panel upgrade — because it splits one 40-amp supply between the connectors rather than doubling it. That is the whole trade: convenience and a much cheaper install, at half the speed each when both cars are plugged in.

Best for two NACS cars
$899.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Best J1772 pick
$516.71 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Ampure Go Portable Level 2 Charger

Ampure Go Portable Level 2 Charger

The only portable charger we track that is certified like a permanent one. UL 2594 / UL 2231, ENERGY STAR and an IP67 / NEMA 6P body rated from -22F to 122F, in a nine-pound module that ships with a NEMA 14-50 cord for 240V and a standard 5-15 cord for 120V. You give up eight amps against the 40A units and get, in exchange, a charger genuinely rated to live in a trunk and be rained on.

Best travel charger
$299.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) Charger

For a Tesla owner who doesn't want to babysit an adapter: a native NACS (J3400) connector plugs straight into the car, at a full 48 amps, with the safety listings you want. No app, but Teslas schedule charging in the car anyway.

Strengths

  • Native NACS connector — no J1772-to-Tesla adapter to lose
  • Full 48A output and a weather-rated IP66 body
  • UL/ETL safety listings plus ENERGY STAR

Trade-offs

  • No WiFi app — you schedule in the Tesla app instead
  • NACS connector is best for Tesla/NACS cars; other EVs need a NACS-to-J1772 adapter
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
NACS
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
No
Certifications
UL 2594/2231/2251 (ETL listed), ENERGY STAR, FCC

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, about 40 miles of range per hour into a Tesla.

Build note. Native NACS (J3400) connector plugs straight into a Tesla with no adapter; includes a holster.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best NACS with an app

ChargePoint Home Flex NACS

The Home Flex smarts with a factory NACS cable. Tesla owners who want ChargePoint's mature app and adjustable 16-50A amperage — rather than a plain no-app NACS unit — pay a premium for exactly that.

Strengths

  • Native NACS cable with ChargePoint's flexible 16-50A amperage
  • The most mature app of the NACS options here
  • 3-year warranty and outdoor-rated NEMA 3R body

Trade-offs

  • Priciest NACS pick — you're paying for the app and brand
  • 50A output needs a 60A circuit to use fully
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
NACS
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, roughly 42 miles of range per hour into a Tesla.

Build note. Same Home Flex hardware with a factory NACS cable for Tesla and NACS EVs.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best plug-in NACS

Lectron Portable Level 2 Tesla Charger (NACS)

The portable to buy if your car has a NACS port and you would rather not travel with an adapter. It is the Lectron 40A portable with a Tesla connector on the end: a full 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50, a 16-foot cable, ETL to UL 2594 / UL 2231 and an ENERGY STAR listing. The gap is documentation - Lectron publishes no enclosure rating, temperature range or warranty term for this SKU.

Strengths

  • Native NACS connector - no adapter to lose in a hotel parking lot
  • A genuine 40A / 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50, and ENERGY STAR certified
  • ETL listed to UL 2594 / UL 2231, with a UL 2251 handle

Trade-offs

  • Lectron publishes no enclosure rating, temperature range or warranty term for this SKU
  • A 16 ft cable is short if the charger has to reach across a garage
  • The base unit has no app - the WiFi version is a separate, dearer SKU
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
NACS
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
16 ft
Warranty
Not published
WiFi + app
No
Certifications
ETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231), ENERGY STAR, FCC; UL 2251 handle

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour.

Build note. Portable NACS unit on a NEMA 14-50 plug with a 16 ft cable and LED status indicators; Lectron describes it as weather-resistant for indoor or outdoor use while advising against extreme weather exposure, and publishes no enclosure rating for it.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best for two NACS cars

Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A

One box, two cables, one circuit. The Duo Connect lets a two-EV household charge both cars overnight without a second charger, a second breaker or a panel upgrade — because it splits one 40-amp supply between the connectors rather than doubling it. That is the whole trade: convenience and a much cheaper install, at half the speed each when both cars are plugged in.

Strengths

  • Charges two EVs from one 40 A circuit — no second breaker, no panel upgrade
  • Grizzl-E's cast-aluminum, IP67-sealed body with two 25 ft cold-flexible cables
  • Per-connector current limits and scheduling in the Grizzl-E Connect app

Trade-offs

  • 40 A is the TOTAL, not per car — two cars charging at once get about 4.8 kW each
  • Costs roughly what two single chargers cost, so the saving is in the wiring, not the box
  • This Amazon SKU is NACS-to-NACS; a mixed-fleet household needs a different cable pairing
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
NACS
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug or hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
Not published
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL tested and certified

Our charging-speed math. The 40 A / 9.6 kW rating is for the whole unit. One car alone gets the full 9.6 kW — about 34 miles of range per hour at ~3.5 mi/kWh. Two cars at once split it: roughly 4.8 kW, or about 17 miles per hour, each.

Build note. Two 25 ft output cables from a single cast-aluminum, IP67-sealed body rated -30C to +50C, with an LED per connector and a DIP-switch current selector (16/24/32/40 A). Grizzl-E states dual charging automatically splits the available current in half, or you can set each connector's current in the Grizzl-E Connect app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 12, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best J1772 pick

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A means it fits a small panel now and a bigger circuit later
  • The most mature app of the group — scheduling, reminders, usage history, over-the-air firmware
  • 3-year warranty and a long 23 ft cable
  • Sold hardwired or on a NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50 plug, in J1772 or NACS

Trade-offs

  • You pay a premium over value 48A chargers for the app and brand
  • Full 50A output needs a 60A circuit most older panels don't have to spare
  • The plug-in SKUs cap at 40A, so the top speed is a hardwired-only feature
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired, NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and a typical 3.5 miles per kWh, the Home Flex adds roughly 42 miles of range per hour. Dial it down to 40A to fit a 50A circuit and you get about 34. ChargePoint's own, more conservative claim is up to 37 miles per hour hardwired and 30 on the plug-in SKUs.

Build note. Amperage is set in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A. The plug-in SKUs are capped at 40A, so the full 50A is a hardwired-only figure. UL and cUL listed per UL 2594 and UL 2231; firmware updates over the air, and the station stores up to 90 days of session data locally if the network drops.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#6Best travel charger

Ampure Go Portable Level 2 Charger

The only portable charger we track that is certified like a permanent one. UL 2594 / UL 2231, ENERGY STAR and an IP67 / NEMA 6P body rated from -22F to 122F, in a nine-pound module that ships with a NEMA 14-50 cord for 240V and a standard 5-15 cord for 120V. You give up eight amps against the 40A units and get, in exchange, a charger genuinely rated to live in a trunk and be rained on.

Strengths

  • Dual voltage: 32A / 7.7 kW on a 240V NEMA 14-50, or 12A / 1.4 kW on any standard 120V outlet
  • UL and cUL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231 / UL 817) and ENERGY STAR certified - rare on a portable
  • IP67 / NEMA 6P watertight body rated -22F to 122F, and the module weighs 9 lb

Trade-offs

  • 32 amps, not 40 - about 27 miles of range an hour against 34 from a 40A unit
  • No app or scheduling is published, so the charging schedule has to live in the car
  • Costs more than 40A portables that publish far less about themselves
Max output
32 A
Power
7.7 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 cord for 240V, NEMA 5-15 cord for 120V
Cable length
20 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Not published
Certifications
UL and cUL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231 / UL 817), ENERGY STAR, FCC

Our charging-speed math. At 32A (7.7 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 27 miles of range per hour; on the 120V cord (1.4 kW), roughly 5. Ampure's own page claims up to 25 mi/hr, so our arithmetic is the slightly more generous of the two.

Build note. Dual-voltage portable: 32A / 7.7 kW at 240V or 12A / 1.4 kW at 120V, input range 85-265 VAC, 20 ft cable, IP67 / NEMA 6P enclosure rated -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), 9 lb module.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

What Hyundai publishes, and what it does not

Start with the table, because every recommendation on this page comes out of it. These are Hyundai’s own figures for the 2027 IONIQ 5, read from its compare-specs tables across all five trims.

Hyundai’s own 2027 IONIQ 5 figures, read from its compare-specs tables. The Level 2 column is Hyundai’s row “AC Level II, Standard 240V (from 10% to 100% charge)”. There is no onboard-charger row anywhere in these tables — see the arithmetic below for where the amperage ceiling comes from.
TrimBatteryPack voltage240V Level 2, 10–100%NACS DC 10–80%V2L
SE Standard Range63 kWh523 V5 hrs 40 min24 minNot available
SE84 kWh697 V7 hrs 20 min30 minNot available
SEL84 kWh697 V7 hrs 20 min30 minNot available
XRT84 kWh697 V7 hrs 20 min30 minStandard
Limited84 kWh697 V7 hrs 20 min30 minStandard

Two things are missing from that table, and both are conspicuous. There is no onboard-charger powerrow — the phrase does not appear anywhere in Hyundai’s IONIQ 5 specifications. And there is no maximum AC amperage. Kia publishes both for the mechanically related EV6 and EV9; Volkswagen publishes an AC acceptance rate for the ID.4; Toyota prints “11-kW onboard charger” on the bZ page. For the IONIQ 5, Hyundai publishes a charge time and leaves you to infer the rest.

So we did the arithmetic, and here it is

This is ourcalculation from Hyundai’s published numbers, not a manufacturer claim, and the assumptions are printed so you can check them.

The 84 kWh trims. Hyundai says 10% to 100% in 7 hours 20 minutes on a 240-volt Level 2 charger. Ninety percent of 84 kWh is 75.6 kWh. Divide that by 7.33 hours and you get about 10.3 kW delivered to the battery on average.

The 63 kWh SE Standard Range. Hyundai says 5 hours 40 minutes. Ninety percent of 63 kWh is 56.7 kWh, over 5.67 hours, which is about 10.0 kW.

Two independent batteries landing within 0.3 kW of each other is a strong sign we are looking at the same hardware limit rather than an artifact of rounding. At 240 volts, 10.3 kW is roughly 43 amps.

Three honest caveats. An average over a full charge is slightly lowerthan the peak, because charging tapers near 100%. AC charging loses a few percent to heat and to the car’s own conversion, so draw at the wall is a little higher than delivery at the battery — our charge-time guide works through where that goes. And Hyundai’s charge times, like everyone’s, assume conditions you will not always have. Treat 43 amps as the neighborhood, not a decimal place. The useful conclusion survives all three: 48 amps covers this car completely, and anything above 48 amps is dead weight.

Worth one more line, because it is a check on the arithmetic rather than a source for it: the Kia EV6 runs the same 63 and 84 kWh batteries and Kia publishes the identicalLevel 2 charge times — 5 hours 40 minutes and 7 hours 20 minutes. Kia also publishes a 10.9 kW onboard charger and labels its charge-time row “@ 240V / 11kw”. We are not going to transplant Kia’s rating onto a Hyundai; the cars are not the same product and we have not seen Hyundai confirm it. But it does tell you our ~10 kW derivation is in sensible territory.

The connector decides this purchase first

Before amperage, settle the plug. The 2027 IONIQ 5 has a native NACSport — the SAE J3400 connector. Hyundai’s page frames that entirely in terms of DC fast charging: Supercharger access with no adapter, plus an included CCS adapterfor networks like Electrify America and ChargePoint. On AC home charging, Hyundai says only that a 240-volt Level 2 charger is “not included”, and never mentions J1772 or an AC adapter at all.

That silence has a practical consequence. If you buy a NACS home charger, the cable plugs into the car and the matter is closed. If you buy a J1772charger — which is most of the market, and most of our registry — you need a J1772-to-NACS AC adapter, and you are sourcing it yourself against a manufacturer that has published nothing about it. Adapters in that direction exist and are widely used. We will not tell you Hyundai has approved one, and we will not pretend the question does not exist. It is the mirror image of the Toyota bZ, where Toyota puts a J1772 adapter in the box and says so in writing, and it is the same position Kia EV6 buyers are in.

One adapter rule worth carrying over from a different brand: Volkswagen explicitly tells ID.4 owners notto use a NACS DC adapter on a Level 2 AC charger. Different adapter, different direction, different car — but it is a reminder that a DC adapter is not an AC adapter, and the one in your IONIQ 5’s glovebox is the DC kind. Our connector guide keeps the two straight.

Our six picks against the two things that decide an IONIQ 5 purchase: the plug shape, and whether the charger can feed the car’s roughly 10 kW ceiling. Every spec is read from the maker’s own sheet on a dated visit; a figure a maker does not publish reads “Not published”.
ChargerConnector fitRated maxInstallCableEnclosure
Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) ChargerNative NACS plug — goes straight into the port48 AHardwired23 ftIP66
ChargePoint Home Flex NACSNative NACS plug — goes straight into the port50 AHardwired23 ftNEMA 3R
Lectron Portable Level 2 Tesla Charger (NACS)Native NACS plug on a portable body40 ANEMA 14-50 plug16 ftNot published
Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40ATwo native NACS cables from one unit40 ANEMA 14-50 plug or hardwired25 ftIP67
ChargePoint Home FlexJ1772 — needs a J1772-to-NACS AC adapter you source yourself50 AHardwired, NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-5023 ftNEMA 3R
Ampure Go Portable Level 2 ChargerJ1772 — needs a J1772-to-NACS AC adapter you source yourself32 ANEMA 14-50 cord for 240V, NEMA 5-15 cord for 120V20 ftIP67 (NEMA 6P watertight)

The picks, in plain terms

The Lectron Nexus NACS 48Ais our overall pick because it is the cleanest answer to both facts above: a native NACS cable, 48 amps of headroom over the car’s roughly 43, an IP66 enclosure for an outdoor wall, and ETL listings to UL 2594/2231/2251 plus ENERGY STAR. There is no app, which on this car costs you very little — the IONIQ 5 schedules charging in the vehicle. It is hardwired only, so budget an electrician and a 60-amp circuit; our full review has the detail.

The ChargePoint Home Flex NACSis the same idea with a far more mature app and a factory NACS cable, and its amperage is set in software from 16 to 50 amps, which means one unit fits whatever circuit you can spare. You pay a premium for that flexibility and for ChargePoint’s software. If you want scheduling, usage history and over-the-air firmware rather than a sealed box, it is the pick — see the Home Flex NACS review.

The Lectron Portable Level 2 NACSis the value answer, and on this car it is a better value than it looks. It is 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50 plug, which by our arithmetic sits a fraction of a kilowatt under what the IONIQ 5 can take — so the thing you give up by not buying 48 amps is almost nothing. If there is already a 14-50 outlet where you park, this is the cheapest way to charge an IONIQ 5 properly, and it unplugs and travels. The trade-offs are honest: a 16-foot cable rather than 23 or 25, and no published warranty term.

The Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40Aearns its place only in one specific household: two NACS cars, one circuit. It has two NACS cables and shares its output between them, which is the part to understand before you buy — 40 amps is the total for the unit, not per connector, so two cars charging at once each get roughly half. For two cars that both sit overnight that is usually fine, and it is far cheaper than two circuits. Our two-car roundup weighs the alternatives.

The ChargePoint Home Flexis here as the J1772 pick, and it carries the adapter caveat openly. If you already own a Home Flex, or you have a mixed-connector household, or you simply want the best app on the market and are comfortable sourcing an AC adapter, it is the J1772 unit we would buy — adjustable 16 to 50 amps, UL and cUL listed, ENERGY STAR, and a long warranty. Read the Home Flex review, then decide whether you want an adapter in the chain for the next decade.

Finally the Ampure Go, which is not a wall charger at all. It is a 32-amp portable with swappable cords — NEMA 14-50 for 240 volts, NEMA 5-15 for 120 — in an IP67 body, UL and cUL listed and ENERGY STAR certified. On a 240-volt outlet it delivers 7.7 kW, below what the car can take, so it is not the charger to rely on at home. It is the one to keep in the trunk for the rental cabin with a dryer outlet, and it is also a J1772 unit, so the same adapter note applies. The Ampure Go review covers it properly, and our portable roundup ranks the segment.

How to choose, in order

One: decide the connector.If this is your only EV and you are buying new hardware, buy NACS and never think about adapters again. If the driveway has a J1772 car in it too, buy J1772 and accept one adapter on the IONIQ 5 — our mixed-household guide covers that trade.

Two: check the panel before the charger. A 48-amp unit needs a 60-amp circuit; a 40-amp unit needs 50. Since the car caps out near 43 amps, a 50-amp circuit is genuinely enough here, and that can be the difference between a simple job and a service upgrade. Work it through with our panel-capacity guide, and get the whole bill in view with the installation cost breakdown.

Three: ignore the top of the amperage range. This is the clearest conclusion on the page. An 80-amp charger delivers 19.2 kW into a car that by our arithmetic accepts about 10, on a circuit most houses cannot spare. Our fastest-chargers roundup exists for the handful of vehicles that can use it, and the IONIQ 5 is not one of them.

Four: do the running-cost math once. An 84 kWh battery is a large overnight load, and what it costs depends entirely on your rate and whether you charge off-peak. Our cost-to-charge calculator takes your own price per kWh, and time-of-use chargingis where the money actually is — the IONIQ 5 will schedule itself, so you do not need to pay a charger for the privilege.

Frequently asked questions

How many amps does a Hyundai IONIQ 5 draw on a Level 2 charger?

Hyundai does not publish the figure, so this is our arithmetic rather than a quoted spec. Hyundai states 10% to 100% in 7 hours 20 minutes on the 84 kWh battery; 90% of 84 kWh is 75.6 kWh, and 75.6 kWh over 7.33 hours averages about 10.3 kW at the battery. At 240 volts that is roughly 43 amps. The 63 kWh trim's 5 hours 40 minutes works out almost identically, about 10.0 kW. Real draw at the wall is a little higher than at the battery because AC charging is not perfectly efficient, so treat 43 amps as a floor rather than a precise ceiling — and a 48-amp charger covers it either way.

Is a 48-amp charger worth it for an IONIQ 5?

Yes, but not for the speed. By our arithmetic the car tops out near 10 kW, which a 40-amp charger (9.6 kW) already nearly delivers — the gap between 40 and 48 amps on this car is a fraction of a kilowatt, not the 2 kW the labels imply. Buy 48 amps for headroom and resale, not because the IONIQ 5 will use it. What you should not buy is an 80-amp charger: 19.2 kW is roughly double anything this car can accept on AC, and it needs a far bigger circuit to deliver a number the car will refuse.

Can I use a J1772 home charger with an IONIQ 5?

Only with a J1772-to-NACS AC adapter, and Hyundai does not list one. The 2027 IONIQ 5's port is NACS, the adapter in the box is a CCS adapter for DC fast charging, and the word J1772 does not appear on Hyundai's model page or its spec tables. Third-party J1772-to-NACS AC adapters exist and many owners use them, but we are not going to tell you Hyundai has blessed one when it has not published anything on the subject. If you are buying new hardware for this car, buying a NACS charger removes the question entirely.

Does the IONIQ 5 come with a home charging cable?

Hyundai's own home-charging line says a 240V Level 2 home charger is "not included", and it does not publish a portable cable's amperage or connector type for the IONIQ 5 on the pages we read. That is a real difference from the Kia EV6 and EV9, where Kia lists a "Dual Level 120V / 240V Portable Charging Cable" as standard equipment. Check what is actually in the trunk of the car you are buying rather than relying on either our reading or a dealer's summary.

What circuit does an IONIQ 5 home charger need?

It depends on the charger, not the car. EV charging is a continuous load, so the National Electrical Code sizes the circuit to 125% of the charger's draw — the 80% rule. A 40-amp charger needs a 50-amp circuit, which is what a NEMA 14-50 outlet is wired for; a 48-amp charger needs a 60-amp circuit and is usually hardwired. Since the car is the limit here rather than the charger, a 50-amp circuit with a 40-amp plug-in charger is a completely reasonable IONIQ 5 install and the cheapest one that does not leave speed on the table.

Which IONIQ 5 trims can power your house?

Hyundai lists "Vehicle-to-Load (V2L) Two-way on-board charger (2nd row)" as standard on the XRT and Limited trims and not available on SE Standard Range, SE and SEL. That is V2L — an outlet in the car you can plug appliances into — not whole-home backup, which needs a far more involved install. Our bidirectional charging guide covers the difference and why no charger on this page performs that function.

Sources

  • Hyundai - 2027 IONIQ 5 (official US model page, charging panels + disclaimers) — Hyundai's own US IONIQ 5 page. The home-charging line reads: '240V AC home charging Go from 10 to 100% in about 7 hours and 20 minutes. A 240V AC Level 2 home charger (not included) can also charge the SE Standard Range trim in 5 hours, 40 minutes.' The charging-network panel reads: 'The 2027 IONIQ 5 comes with a Tesla Supercharger-compatible NACS port, giving you instant access to over 30,000 Tesla Superchargers-no adapter required. Plus, it comes with a CCS adapter for other networks like Electrify America and ChargePoint.' DC fast charging is 'from 10-80% in as little as 20 min' on a 350-kW 800V charger using the included CCS adapter, and 'With NACS V3/V4 DC Level 3 charging, it can go from 10 to 80% in approximately 30 minutes.' EPA-estimated range is up to 318 miles. The string 'J1772' does not appear anywhere on the page, and no J1772-to-NACS AC adapter is listed. Hyundai does NOT publish an onboard-charger kW rating or a maximum AC amperage anywhere on this page - so the ~10 kW and ~43 A figures on our page are OUR arithmetic from Hyundai's own published battery sizes and Level 2 charge times, with the assumption printed (accessed October 11, 2026)
  • Hyundai - 2027 IONIQ 5 Compare Specs (official specification tables) — Hyundai's own IONIQ 5 specification tables, read across the 2027 trims (SE Standard Range, SE, SEL, XRT, Limited). 'Battery system capacity' is 63 kWh on SE Standard Range and 84 kWh on SE, SEL, XRT and Limited; battery 'Voltage' is 523 Volts on SE Standard Range and 697 Volts on the rest. The decisive row for a home-charger purchase, 'AC Level II, Standard 240V (from 10% to 100% charge)', reads '5 hours 40 minutes' on the 63 kWh battery and '7 hours 20 minutes' on every 84 kWh trim. 'DC Fast Charging (10~80%) NACS 150 kW (400V)' reads 24 minutes / 30 minutes; 'w/CCS Adapter 50 kW' reads 1 hour 1 minute / 1 hour 21 minutes; 'w/CCS Adapter >250 kW (800V)' reads 20 minutes on every trim. 'Vehicle-to-Load (V2L) Two-way on-board charger (2nd row)' is Standard on XRT and Limited and Not Available on SE Standard Range, SE and SEL. A 'Battery heating system' is Standard across the line. Power output is 125 kW (168 hp) RWD on SE Standard Range, 168 kW (225 hp) RWD elsewhere and 74 kW + 165 kW (320 hp) AWD. There is NO 'Onboard Charger Power' row anywhere in these tables - the phrase does not appear - which is why this site derives the AC ceiling from the charge-time rows instead of printing a kW figure Hyundai has not published (accessed October 11, 2026)
  • SAE International — J3400 North American Charging System (NACS) — The SAE J3400 / NACS standard (the Tesla-derived connector) now being adopted industry-wide (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • SAE International — J1772 Conductive Charge Coupler — The SAE J1772 connector standard for AC Level 1 and Level 2 charging in North America (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Electric Vehicle Charging Stations — US DOE on charging levels: Level 1 (~1.9 kW, ~5 mi/hr), Level 2 (2.9-19.2 kW, ~7.2 kW typical residential, ~25 mi/hr), and DC fast charging (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger Installations — NFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • Lectron — NEXUS Level 2 J1772 EV Charging Station, 240V, 48 Amp, Hardwired — Lectron's own product page: up to 48 A continuous at 240 V for 11.5 kW, hardwire-only install by a licensed electrician on a dedicated 240 V circuit, IP66 weatherproof housing for indoor or outdoor use, 23 ft output cable of 15.0 mm (±0.3 mm) heavy-duty compound the brand states is 'engineered to stay flexible and easy to wrap around the wall mount, even in freezing weather', wall-mount J-hook and plug holder included, ETL listed to UL 2594 / UL 2231 / UL 2251 with ENERGY STAR and FCC certification, and a 3-year Lectron warranty. No operating-temperature range and no Wi-Fi or app support are published for this model (accessed August 20, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex datasheet (PDF) — ChargePoint's own datasheet: enclosure rating Type 3R per UL 50E, operating temperature -22F to 122F, 23 ft cable, plus installer notes that an outdoor plug-in install requires an outdoor-rated GFCI breaker upstream while an external GFCI may conflict with the charger's internal ground-fault protection on a hardwired install. RE-READ September 3, 2026 for the review refresh: the same datasheet also publishes maximum 12 kW (240V AC x 50A) with output amperage adjustable via the mobile app to 16A, 24A, 32A, 40A, 48A or 50A; a required dedicated dual-pole breaker rated for 125% of maximum load; 'Software Updates: Firmware updated over-the-air (OTA)'; 2.4/5 GHz Wi-Fi (802.11 a/b/g/n); local storage of up to 90 days of charging session data (100 sessions) if the network drops; power measurement accuracy +/- 2.0%; ground-fault detection by 20 mA CCID with auto retry; and UL and cUL listing per UL 2594, UL 2231-1 and UL 2231-2, NEC Article 625 compliant. Ordering information lists the plug-in station models CPH50-NEMA6-50-L23 and CPH50-NEMA14-50-L23 (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • Lectron - Portable Level 2 Tesla (NACS) EV Charger, 240V, 40 Amp, NEMA 14-50 — Lectron's own product page: 40 A / 240 V / 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50 plug with a native NACS connector for Tesla Models S/3/X/Y/Cybertruck and any NACS EV, 16 ft cable, ETL listed to UL 2594 / UL 2231 with a UL 2251 handle plus ENERGY STAR and FCC, LED status indicators on the base SKU with app control only on the separate WiFi version. Lectron describes the unit as weather-resistant for indoor or outdoor use while advising against extreme weather exposure, and its spec block publishes no enclosure rating, no operating-temperature range and no warranty term. RE-READ October 17, 2026 for the review, and the page is unchanged on every spec above. Additional detail captured on that visit: the page sells two SKUs at different prices, a WiFi version and a 'Plug & Play' version, and states that the Lectron App works on the 'WiFi version ONLY'; the range claims are inconsistent across the same page - '260+ miles overnight', 'up to 36 miles of range per hour' and '30+ miles of range per hour' - with a disclaimer that actual speed depends on the vehicle, state of charge and temperature; the enclosure figures appear only in image copy and disagree with each other (IP65 described as dust and water resistance, IP54 described as dust-tight and splash-resistant), while the body copy publishes no rating at all; the UL references are likewise inconsistent (the sidebar and FAQ read 'UL2594 / UL2231 Certified' while the body text attributes UL 2251 to the handle); a carrying case is included; a CCS1-to-NACS adapter is offered as a paid bundle add-on rather than included; J1772 cars are said to work through a Tesla/NACS-to-J1772 adapter; shipping is quoted at 1-2 working days with 30-day returns. Still NOT published anywhere on the page: operating-temperature range, warranty term, weight, dimensions, a complete box inventory, a single consistent IP rating or a single consistent UL standard for the charger itself (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Duo Connect 40A technical specifications — Grizzl-E's own spec table for the Duo Connect 40A: two output cables, Type 1 (J1772) and NACS Level 2 connections, aluminum enclosure, operating temperature -30C to +50C, IP67 protection, 25 ft output cable length, 18 in input cable, 208-240 VAC, nominal input current 16/24/32/40 A, maximum output current 40 A, one LED indicator per connector, DIP-switch power selector, 40 lb unit weight (accessed August 12, 2026)
  • Ampure - Ampure Go portable Level 2 EV charger product page — Ampure's own specifications for the Go: 32 A / 7.7 kW at 240 V or 12 A / 1.4 kW at 120 V, input range 85-265 VAC at 45-65 Hz, SAE J1772 coupler, NEMA 14-50 and NEMA 5-15 cords, 20 ft (6 m) cable, IP67 rated 'submersible up to 3 feet' with a NEMA 6P watertight enclosure, operating range -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), 9 lb (4.1 kg) module, and listings to UL, cUL, UL 2594, UL 2231, UL 817, ICES, FCC, ENERGY STAR, REACH and RoHS. Ampure states 'up to 25 miles of range per hour' at 240 V. RE-READ October 10, 2026 for the review: every figure above is unchanged on the page. Confirmed again that this page publishes NO warranty term (that figure is on the store listing), NO app, WiFi or scheduling feature, and NO description of the unit's internal safety protections (no GFCI / CCID figure, no over-temperature behavior). The page describes the unit as an 'IP67-rated IC-CPD', i.e. an in-cable control and protection device, and the specification block gives the plug types as 'NEMA 14-50 & NEMA 5-15' alongside an 'IEC grid plug'. Ampure's current line separates this unit from a distinct 'Go 2 (NACS)' model; the specifications above are the Gen 1 J1772 unit Amazon lists as the 'Go 1' (accessed October 10, 2026)
  • FuelEconomy.gov — Electric Vehicles: Learn More About the Label — DOE/EPA on EV efficiency: kWh per 100 miles and MPGe, accounting for AC charging losses (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading