Level Two Club

Best EV Chargers for a Smart Home

Our pick is the ChargePoint Home Flex, because it is the only home charger we track whose maker publishes voice control at all. The uncomfortable finding behind that: in this category, 'smart' almost always means one app, owned by one brand, that talks to nothing else in your house.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

If you own a smart home — a hub, some routines, a dashboard that shows what the house is doing — you will probably arrive at this category expecting EV chargers to behave like thermostats and door locks do. They do not. Not one charger in our registry publishes support for Matter, Apple Home, Google Home or Home Assistant.We looked at every manufacturer’s own pages again for this roundup, and that row is empty across the board.

What exists instead is four narrower routes, and only some brands publish any of them. Voice control:ChargePoint’s own app page says “Control charging with Alexa, Siri and widgets” — the only voice claim anyone in our registry publishes. An open protocol: Wallbox publishes OCPP 1.6j on its datasheet, and Grizzl-E now publishes OCPP on the Ultimate 48A, which is the door a third-party system can knock on. A wired network: Autel puts an Ethernet port on the MaxiCharger, which solves the problem that actually breaks smart garages. The brand’s own energy ecosystem: Emporia will manage your whole house against your panel and your solar, as long as every piece is Emporia.

So this page ranks the field by how far outside its own app each charger will let you go, which is a different question from which charger is best. If you want the straight buying guide, start with our smart-charger roundup; if you want to know whether any of this is worth paying for, the answer for many people is in smart versus dumb chargers.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Best overall
$516.71 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Wallbox Pulsar Plus

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to buy when wall space is tight: it's among the smallest 48A units you can get, with dynamic load management so it can share a circuit without tripping the main. A polished premium charger — and priced like one.

Best open protocol
$699.00 · View on Amazon

$799.9913% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Autel MaxiCharger Home

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the harshest driveway. The NEMA 4X enclosure is rated to keep charging in extreme cold and heat, it pushes a full 50 amps, and the app is capable. If your charger lives fully exposed to the weather, this is the one.

Best wired networking
$499.00 · View on Amazon

$568.0012% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Emporia Pro

Emporia Pro

The answer to a panel that says no. The Pro ships with Emporia's Vue 3 energy monitor in the same box, watches what the rest of the house is drawing, and throttles the car in real time so the total never exceeds what the service can carry — which is how a 48-amp charger ends up on a panel that a load calculation says has no room for one. You pay roughly Home Flex money for it, and only the load management justifies that.

Best whole-home energy picture
$599.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A

Grizzl-E's cast-aluminum build with a WiFi radio in it. You get the IP67 body and the cold-flexible 25 ft cable that made the brand's name, plus scheduling, usage history and utility demand-response programs in the Grizzl-E Connect app — in a plug-in unit that comes off the wall when you move. The amperage is still set with a DIP switch, which is either charmingly honest or annoyingly analog depending on your taste.

Best connected charger for less
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money: a full 48 amps, WiFi with scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. A strong value alternative to Emporia if you want maximum reach.

Best value if the app is enough
$449.99 · View on Amazon

$510.0012% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A means it fits a small panel now and a bigger circuit later
  • The most mature app of the group — scheduling, reminders, usage history, over-the-air firmware
  • 3-year warranty and a long 23 ft cable
  • Sold hardwired or on a NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50 plug, in J1772 or NACS

Trade-offs

  • You pay a premium over value 48A chargers for the app and brand
  • Full 50A output needs a 60A circuit most older panels don't have to spare
  • The plug-in SKUs cap at 40A, so the top speed is a hardwired-only feature
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired, NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and a typical 3.5 miles per kWh, the Home Flex adds roughly 42 miles of range per hour. Dial it down to 40A to fit a 50A circuit and you get about 34. ChargePoint's own, more conservative claim is up to 37 miles per hour hardwired and 30 on the plug-in SKUs.

Build note. Amperage is set in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A. The plug-in SKUs are capped at 40A, so the full 50A is a hardwired-only figure. UL and cUL listed per UL 2594 and UL 2231; firmware updates over the air, and the station stores up to 90 days of session data locally if the network drops.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best open protocol

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to buy when wall space is tight: it's among the smallest 48A units you can get, with dynamic load management so it can share a circuit without tripping the main. A polished premium charger — and priced like one.

Strengths

  • Genuinely compact for a 48A charger — easy to place
  • Dynamic load management avoids a panel upgrade in some homes
  • Bluetooth plus WiFi, OCPP 1.6j, and a clean app
  • Now offered with a factory NACS connector as well as J1772

Trade-offs

  • One of the pricier chargers here
  • The 48A model is hardwired only — plugging in means dropping to the 40A version
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired (40A model plugs in)
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL 2594/2231, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, about 40 miles of range per hour. Dynamic load management can throttle it to protect a shared circuit.

Build note. One of the most compact 48A chargers in its class (7.8 x 7.9 x 3.9 in, 4.4 lb without the cable), with Bluetooth, WiFi and OCPP 1.6j, and a hardware current selector from 16A alongside 6A software control. The 48A model is hardwired; Wallbox's separate 40A model is offered on a NEMA 14-50 plug or hardwired, and both are sold with a J1772 or a factory NACS connector.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best wired networking

Autel MaxiCharger Home

Built for the harshest driveway. The NEMA 4X enclosure is rated to keep charging in extreme cold and heat, it pushes a full 50 amps, and the app is capable. If your charger lives fully exposed to the weather, this is the one.

Strengths

  • NEMA 4X enclosure rated for very cold and hot conditions
  • Full 50A output with a 25 ft cable
  • WiFi, Bluetooth and a capable app

Trade-offs

  • Autel's own page specifies a 70A circuit for full output, and the unit is hardwired only
  • App and ecosystem are newer than ChargePoint's
  • Autel publishes CSA and ENERGY STAR for this unit, not a UL listing
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
CSA certified, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 42 miles of range per hour.

Build note. IP65 / NEMA 4X enclosure with a published operating range of -40F to 131F (-40C to 55C), output adjustable from 16 to 50 A, a 25 ft cable, Bluetooth / WiFi / Ethernet / CAN / RS485 connectivity, and a 13.2 x 7.4 x 3.8 in body weighing 15.4 lb. Autel states a 70 A circuit is required for full output, and that its Adaptive Load Management 'requires compatible additional hardware' while charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing does not.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on October 10, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best whole-home energy picture

Emporia Pro

The answer to a panel that says no. The Pro ships with Emporia's Vue 3 energy monitor in the same box, watches what the rest of the house is drawing, and throttles the car in real time so the total never exceeds what the service can carry — which is how a 48-amp charger ends up on a panel that a load calculation says has no room for one. You pay roughly Home Flex money for it, and only the load management justifies that.

Strengths

  • PowerSmart throttles charging against real-time whole-home load, so a small service can host a big charger
  • 48 A hardwired or 40 A on a NEMA 14-50 plug — one unit covers both installs
  • UL listed, ENERGY STAR certified and NEMA 4 rated for indoor or outdoor, with a 25 ft cable

Trade-offs

  • PowerSmart depends on the bundled Vue 3 monitor being installed in your panel too — it is not a charger-only feature
  • Costs meaningfully more than Emporia's own Classic, which charges just as fast
  • 48 A still needs a 60-amp circuit; PowerSmart manages the load, it does not create capacity
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A hardwired (11.5 kW by our arithmetic of 48 x 240 V) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds about 40 miles of range per hour; on a NEMA 14-50 plug it is capped at 40A, about 34 miles per hour. When PowerSmart is protecting the service it will deliberately deliver less than that at peak household load.

Build note. Ships bundled with Emporia's Vue 3 energy monitor, which reads the whole home's draw at the panel; the charger then raises or lowers its own current to keep total service load inside its limit. NEMA 4 body, 25 ft cable, and a J1772 or NACS cable option.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best connected charger for less

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A

Grizzl-E's cast-aluminum build with a WiFi radio in it. You get the IP67 body and the cold-flexible 25 ft cable that made the brand's name, plus scheduling, usage history and utility demand-response programs in the Grizzl-E Connect app — in a plug-in unit that comes off the wall when you move. The amperage is still set with a DIP switch, which is either charmingly honest or annoyingly analog depending on your taste.

Strengths

  • Cast-aluminum NEMA 4 / IP67 body rated -22F to 122F, in a plug-in unit
  • WiFi and the Grizzl-E Connect app for scheduling, usage history and remote lockout
  • 25 ft cold-flexible output cable, offered with a J1772 or a NACS connector

Trade-offs

  • 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling — no 48A option in this model
  • Amperage is set by a physical DIP switch, not in the app
  • Grizzl-E's own pages don't publish an ENERGY STAR certification for this model
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL/cUL listed (file E510712)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour. The DIP switch also sets 32, 24 or 16 amps if your circuit is smaller.

Build note. Cast-aluminum enclosure with IP67 sealing, rated -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F); 25 ft output cable on an 18 in input lead, current set by DIP switch (16/24/32/40 A), status on an LED, and WiFi to the Grizzl-E Connect app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#6Best value if the app is enough

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money: a full 48 amps, WiFi with scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. A strong value alternative to Emporia if you want maximum reach.

Strengths

  • 48A output with WiFi scheduling at a value price
  • 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable — excellent reach
  • UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR listings

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired version needs a 60A circuit and an electrician
  • Smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint or Wallbox
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, about 40 miles of range per hour.

Build note. Ships with a 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable — among the longest reach in class.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

What “smart home” has to mean on this page

Every charger in this category calls itself smart, so the word is useless as a filter. Before any picks, here is what we ranked on — five questions, each answerable from a manufacturer’s own published page rather than from a reviewer’s impression.

One: does the maker publish a named platform or assistant?Alexa, Siri, Google Home, Apple Home, Matter, Home Assistant, IFTTT, a public API. Not “works with your smart home” in marketing copy — a named thing we can point at. This is the question the category mostly fails.

Two: does it publish an open protocol? OCPP is the one that exists here. A proprietary cloud is not a defect, but it means your integration options are permanently whatever that vendor decides they are.

Three: how does it get on the network? A garage is the worst room in the house for WiFi, and most of these chargers want 2.4 GHz specifically. An Ethernet port is worth more than three app features, and exactly one unit here has one.

Four: what does whole-home energy management cost in hardware? Several brands advertise panel-aware charging and solar matching. Read the footnotes: most of them need a second device you buy separately. We have put the footnote in the table instead of the headline.

Five: what happens when the network drops? The feature nobody markets. A charger that stops charging, loses its schedule or forgets its session history when the WiFi hiccups is a worse charger than one with no WiFi at all.

What each brand actually publishes

This is the table the category does not want to print. Every cell is read from the manufacturer’s own pages on a dated visit, and an empty answer is recorded as an absence rather than filled in from a forum.

What each manufacturer publishes about controlling the charger from outside its own app, read from the brand’s own pages on the dated visits in our sources. “Not published” means exactly that — the brand does not state it, and we do not infer it from a community project or a marketplace listing. No charger in this table publishes Matter, Apple Home / HomeKit, Google Home or Home Assistant support, so there is no column for them.
ChargerVoice controlOpen protocolNetworkWhole-home energy
ChargePoint Home FlexAlexa, SiriNot publishedWiFi (2.4 / 5 GHz)Utility connections; 90 days of sessions stored locally
Wallbox Pulsar PlusNot publishedOCPP 1.6jWiFi, BluetoothStatic + dynamic load management, solar (power meter accessory)
Emporia ProNot publishedNot publishedWiFiPowerSmart, excess-solar and peak-demand management (Vue monitor)
Autel MaxiCharger Home 50ANot publishedNot publishedWiFi, Bluetooth, Ethernet, CAN, RS485ALM (extra hardware) + charger-to-charger DLB (no extra hardware)
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40ANot publishedNot published for this modelWiFi (2.4 GHz)Utility demand-response programs in the app
Grizzl-E Ultimate 48ANot publishedOCPPWiFi (2.4 GHz)Utility demand-response programs in the app
EVIQO 48ANot publishedNot publishedWiFi (2.4 GHz)Amperage set in the app (6-48 A); no load management published

Three things stand out. The voice column has one entry. ChargePoint publishes Alexa and Siri on its own app page; nobody else publishes a voice claim at all. The open-protocol column has two.Wallbox publishes OCPP 1.6j in its North America datasheet, and Grizzl-E publishes OCPP on both of its Ultimate 48A pages as of our October 17, 2026 reading — a change from our September reading of the same spec page, which published no connectivity for that unit at all. Note that Grizzl-E publishes OCPP for the Ultimate and not for the Classic Connect, so this is a model-by-model answer rather than a brand-wide one. And the whole-home column is mostly footnotes:Emporia’s features are gated behind the Vue monitor, Wallbox’s solar behind a power meter accessory, Autel’s whole-home ALM behind “compatible additional hardware” — though Autel publishes charger-to-charger load balancing as needing none.

The four routes in, and what each one actually buys you

Voice controlsounds like the headline feature and is the least useful of the four. “Alexa, start charging” is a party trick next to a schedule that runs every night without being asked. It earns its place for one real case: asking whether the car is plugged in without walking to the garage, which is a question people genuinely have at bedtime.

An open protocolis the one that matters if you run your own dashboards. OCPP was designed for public and fleet networks, not houses, which is why so few home units publish it — and why the two that do are interesting to anyone with a home energy system. Go in clear-eyed: publishing OCPP is not a promise that a particular third-party platform will work on the first try, and Wallbox explicitly notes that its solar charging is not compatible with OCPP. Confirm the model and firmware before buying on this basis.

A wired networkis the unglamorous winner. Most “my smart charger is useless” stories are WiFi stories: a 2.4 GHz radio at the far end of a house, behind a block wall, next to a steel door. Autel’s Ethernet port removes the entire problem if you can get a cable there — and if you are building or remodeling, pulling a data line to the charger location costs almost nothing while the wall is open. That is one of the rough-in items on our new-construction page, and the connectivity guide covers the retrofit version.

The maker’s own ecosystemis the deepest integration available today, with the obvious catch that it is a walled garden. Emporia is the clearest example: with its Vue monitor installed, the charger can be managed against whole-home demand, enrolled in peak-demand management and pointed at excess solar. That is real, published capability that no amount of OCPP gets you — and it is only available in Emporia’s own world, with Emporia’s own hardware.

There is a fifth route worth naming because it is where the money is: your utility’s program.Managed-charging and demand-response programs pay drivers to let the utility shift charging, and enrollment usually requires a connected charger — frequently an ENERGY STAR certified one. Autel publishes OpenADR 2.0b on its 80-amp unit, which is the protocol those programs speak. Our utility rebates page is where to check what your own utility runs, and it is a better use of a smart charger than any voice command.

The picks, in plain terms

The ChargePoint Home Flexwins because it is the only unit here whose maker publishes voice control, and because the rest of the package backs it up: output adjustable 16 to 50 amps in the app, over-the-air firmware, 2.4 and 5 GHz WiFi, up to 90 days of session data stored locally if the network drops, and a 3-year warranty. Honest cons: you pay a premium for it, the full 50 amps is a hardwired-only figure on a 60-amp circuit, and ChargePoint publishes no OCPP and does not name Google Home or Matter anywhere — so if your house runs on Google rather than Amazon or Apple, the one differentiator on this page does not help you. Read the review.

The Wallbox Pulsar Plusis the pick for an open protocol: OCPP 1.6j published on Wallbox’s own datasheet, plus static and dynamic load management and solar charging, and a genuinely small body — 7.8 by 7.9 inches and 4.4 pounds without the cable. Honest cons: it is the most expensive unit here, the load management and solar features are footnoted “may require power meter accessory”, solar charging is explicitly not compatible with OCPP or multi-charger installs, and Wallbox publishes an operating range topping out at 104°F, the narrowest on this page. Read the review.

The Autel MaxiCharger Home 50Ais here for the Ethernet port, and for the widest published temperature range we track: −40°F to 131°F, IP65 / NEMA 4X, with WiFi, Bluetooth, Ethernet, CAN and RS485 all published. Charger-to-charger dynamic load balancing needs no extra hardware, which is unusual. Honest cons: Autel’s own page specifies a 70-amp circuit for full output, whole-home ALM needs additional hardware, the page publishes CSA and ENERGY STAR compliance without claiming a UL listing, and no voice or smart-home platform is published. Read the review.

The Emporia Prois the pick if what you mean by smart home is “I want the house to manage the car.” PowerSmart comes standard on the Pro, and with the Vue monitor you get peak-demand management and excess-solar charging, plus Intelligent Load Sharing between multiple chargers. Honest cons: four of its five headline features are footnoted as requiring the Vue monitor, nothing outside Emporia’s own ecosystem is supported or published, and 48 amps means a 60-amp circuit. Read the review.

The Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40Ais the cheapest connected charger on this page, and the only one of our picks you can unplug: a NEMA 14-50 plug, WiFi and the Grizzl-E Connect app for scheduling, usage history, remote lockout and utility demand-response programs, in the cast-aluminum IP67 body rated −22°F to 122°F with a 25-foot cold-flexible cable and a J1772 or NACS connector. Honest cons: 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling, the amperage is set by a physical DIP switch rather than in the app, Grizzl-E publishes no ENERGY STAR certification for it — which can cost you a utility rebate — and no OCPP is published for this model, which is the one place its bigger sibling now goes further. On our October 17, 2026 reading, Grizzl-E’s own Ultimate 48A pages publish WiFi, the Connect app and OCPP, where our September reading of the same spec page published no connectivity at all. If OCPP is the reason you are here, that unit is the one to look at — and to confirm the SKU on, because the Amazon listing we link for it does not mention an app. The EVIQO head-to-head goes through all of it, and the Classic Connect review covers the pick itself.

The EVIQO 48A is the honest value answer for anyone who, having read the table, has concluded that one good app is enough: UL and ETL, ENERGY STAR for the rebate form, IP66 / NEMA 4, a 25-foot cable with a 40-inch input lead, scheduling, cost tracking, over-the-air updates and a 6-to-48-amp slider. Honest cons: no protocol, no API, no voice, no integration of any kind published; the 50-amp DIP setting its page mentions wants a 70-amp circuit; and its published speed claims contradict each other four ways. Read the review.

Two things worth doing instead of chasing integration

Let the car do the scheduling.It is free, it already works, and it survives a WiFi outage. Set the departure time or the off-peak window in the vehicle, and the single most valuable automation in this whole category is done. Charger-side schedules are then a backup rather than the plan — which is the right way around, because the car always knows its own state of charge.

Spend the integration budget on the circuit instead. Across every charger on this page, the thing that most changes your charging experience is amps and reach: a 60-amp circuit instead of a 50, a longer cable, a charger mounted where the car actually parks. Our install-cost breakdown and placement guide are both better reading than any app feature list, and the choosing guide puts the whole decision in order.

Frequently asked questions

Is there an EV charger that works with Home Assistant?

None of the chargers we track publishes Home Assistant support, and we will not list a community integration as a manufacturer feature. The nearest thing to a real answer is OCPP: Wallbox publishes OCPP 1.6j on its own North America datasheet, and Grizzl-E publishes OCPP on its Ultimate 48A pages. OCPP is the open charge-point protocol that third-party energy platforms speak, so a charger that publishes it is the one most likely to be reachable from something that is not the maker's app. Treat that as a better starting point rather than a guarantee, and confirm the current firmware and SKU before you buy on that basis.

Which EV charger works with Alexa?

ChargePoint is the only brand in our registry that publishes a voice-assistant claim: its own app page reads 'Control charging with Alexa, Siri and widgets'. ChargePoint does not explain on that page how the integrations work, and it does not name Google Home, Google Assistant, Apple Home or Matter anywhere on it. Every other brand we track publishes nothing about voice control at all - which does not prove an integration cannot exist, only that the manufacturer is not standing behind one.

Do I need a smart charger if my car already schedules charging?

Probably not, and this is the most money-saving sentence on the page. Nearly every EV sold today schedules its own charging from the car's own menu, so the single most valuable 'smart' feature is one you already own. What a connected charger adds that a car cannot is energy measured at the wall (useful for reimbursement or for a rental), eligibility for utility managed-charging programs that require a connected charger, and load management that throttles the car against the whole house. If none of those apply, buy the cheaper charger.

What is OCPP and why does it matter for a smart home?

OCPP - the Open Charge Point Protocol - is the standard language charging stations use to talk to management platforms. It was built for networks of public and fleet chargers rather than for houses, which is why only two of the chargers we track publish it. For a home it matters for one reason: it is an open door. A charger that only speaks its maker's proprietary cloud API can be integrated with whatever that maker chooses to integrate with, and nothing else. A charger that publishes OCPP can in principle be pointed at a third-party system. In practice this is advanced-user territory, and it needs the specific model and firmware confirmed.

Will my garage WiFi be good enough?

This is the failure mode that actually ruins connected chargers, and it gets far less attention than the feature lists do. Garages are at the end of the house, often behind masonry, and most of these chargers need a 2.4 GHz network specifically - EVIQO and Grizzl-E both publish 2.4 GHz, and ChargePoint's datasheet publishes 2.4 and 5 GHz. Two fixes are worth more than any app feature: run Ethernet to the charger if the wall is open, which is why the Autel MaxiCharger's Ethernet port is on this page, or put a mesh node in the garage. ChargePoint also stores up to 90 days of session data locally if the network drops, which is a quietly excellent feature.

Does a smart charger help with solar?

Two brands publish something real here, and both ask for extra hardware. Wallbox publishes solar charging on the Pulsar Plus, footnoted as 'may require power meter accessory', and notes that solar charging is not compatible with multi-charger installations or OCPP. Emporia states that adding its Vue Home Energy Monitor lets the charger use excess solar power. Neither is a software toggle on the charger you already bought - both are a second device. Our solar-and-charging guide works through whether that is worth it.

Can a smart charger lower my electricity bill by itself?

Only by moving when you charge, and your car can usually do that for free. The real money is in your utility's rate plan and its programs: a time-of-use rate rewards charging after midnight, and a managed-charging or demand-response program pays you to let the utility shift your charging - and those programs often require a connected, frequently ENERGY STAR certified charger to enroll. That eligibility, not the app, is the strongest financial argument for buying a smart charger.

Sources

  • ChargePoint - the ChargePoint mobile app (official app page) — ChargePoint's own app page, read for the smart-home roundup. Under 'Simplify your home charging' it publishes 'Control charging with Alexa, Siri and widgets', and elsewhere 'Schedule charging when electricity rates are low', 'Get reminders to plug in', 'Stay up to speed with custom widgets', real-time insights on 'cost, energy use, and more' across home and public sessions, utility-connection savings and adjustable station LED brightness. It does not explain how the Alexa or Siri integrations work, does not publish an amperage control in this list, and does NOT name Google Home, Google Assistant, Apple Home / HomeKit, Matter, Home Assistant, IFTTT, OCPP or a public API anywhere on the page (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex datasheet (PDF) — ChargePoint's own datasheet: enclosure rating Type 3R per UL 50E, operating temperature -22F to 122F, 23 ft cable, plus installer notes that an outdoor plug-in install requires an outdoor-rated GFCI breaker upstream while an external GFCI may conflict with the charger's internal ground-fault protection on a hardwired install. RE-READ September 3, 2026 for the review refresh: the same datasheet also publishes maximum 12 kW (240V AC x 50A) with output amperage adjustable via the mobile app to 16A, 24A, 32A, 40A, 48A or 50A; a required dedicated dual-pole breaker rated for 125% of maximum load; 'Software Updates: Firmware updated over-the-air (OTA)'; 2.4/5 GHz Wi-Fi (802.11 a/b/g/n); local storage of up to 90 days of charging session data (100 sessions) if the network drops; power measurement accuracy +/- 2.0%; ground-fault detection by 20 mA CCID with auto retry; and UL and cUL listing per UL 2594, UL 2231-1 and UL 2231-2, NEC Article 625 compliant. Ordering information lists the plug-in station models CPH50-NEMA6-50-L23 and CPH50-NEMA14-50-L23 (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex home charger product page — ChargePoint's own current product page for the Home Flex, read for the 2026-09-03 review refresh: three install configurations are offered — hardwired, NEMA 6-50 plug and NEMA 14-50 plug — with 'up to 50 amps of power delivered to your EV' on the hardwired model and 'up to 40A of power' on the plug-in models. ChargePoint's own range claim is 'up to 37 miles of range per hour' hardwired and '30 miles of range per hour' plug-in. J1772 and NACS connectors are offered across all configurations, and ChargePoint states the unit is 'UL Listed for safety', 'ENERGY STAR certified for efficiency' and carries a '3-year warranty' (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • Wallbox — Pulsar Plus North America technical datasheet (NACS edition, version 10/25, PDF) — Wallbox's own current North America datasheet (document version Wallbox_Datasheet_PulsarPlus_NA_NACS_EN_b, 10/25) for the Pulsar Plus, model PUP2. Two electrical models: the 40A model is 9.6 kW with connection type 'NEMA 14-50 or hardwired', and the 48A model is 11.5 kW and hardwired. Charging protocol 'SAE J1772 or NACS'; connector type 'SAE J1772 Type 1 and NACS'; 25 ft cable; 7.8 x 7.9 x 3.9 in and 4.4 lbs without cable; environmental rating 'Indoor & Outdoor: NEMA Type 4 per UL 50E'; operating temperature -22F to 104F and storage -40F to 158F; rated voltage 208/240V (Level 2) 60Hz; configurable current by hardware selector 16A to rated current and by software 6A to rated current; connectivity WiFi and Bluetooth with the Wallbox App and Portal; OCPP 1.6j; energy management listing 'Static Load Management, Dynamic Load Management' and 'Solar Charging supported', both footnoted 'May require power meter accessory'; electrical safety 'UL Certification (NRTL) UL 2594 - UL 2231'; integrated CCID20 plus ground monitoring per UL 2231; ENERGY STAR certification: Yes. The part-number structure confirms both a Type 1 and a NACS EVC code and both a hardwired and a NEMA 14-50P version code (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • Wallbox — Pulsar Plus (US) product page — Wallbox's own US product page for the Pulsar Plus: sold in '40 and 48 Amps', with the 40A variant offering 'easy NEMA 14-50 plug installation'; 'Up to 11.5kW'; available with 'J1772 or NACS connectors' and 'No adapters needed'; 25 ft cable; Bluetooth and WiFi controlled through the Wallbox app; 'Dynamic Load Management' described as 'Maximize charging speed while staying within your home's power limit'; solar charging supported with the separately sold Power Meter accessory, with the caveat that 'Solar charging is not compatible with multiple-charger installations and OCPP'. Wallbox's own listed starting price on this page was $649.99 and the Power Meter accessory $299.00 on the date accessed (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • Emporia - EV Chargers (Classic vs Pro) — Emporia's own Classic-vs-Pro comparison page: both units publish a 25 ft cable, 'NEMA Plug or Hardwire' installation, 'Up to 48A' and a 3-year warranty. The feature rows list Smart Scheduling, Home Energy Monitoring, Solar Charging Integration, Peak Demand Management and PowerSmart Load Management, footnoted for the Classic as 'Requires Vue Home Energy Monitor' and for the Pro as 'Requires Vue Home Energy Monitor and PowerSmart upgrade'. The Classic section states 'Add the Vue Home Energy Monitor and we'll manage Peak Demand and automatically charge with your excess solar power', and Emporia's platform lists 'Excess Solar Management' as a named feature. The page also states 'PowerSmart comes standard with the Emporia Pro, but can be added to the Emporia Classic for an extra cost'. Emporia's own listed prices on the date accessed are not reprinted here. RE-READ October 17, 2026 for the smart-home roundup: every figure above is unchanged, the page additionally publishes 'Intelligent Load Sharing' for multiple chargers on one circuit and an in-app assistant ('Ask questions about your energy usage and get instant answers'), and it names NO third-party or smart-home integration of any kind - no Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home / HomeKit, Matter, Home Assistant, IFTTT, OCPP or public API appears anywhere on it (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • Emporia Energy — Pro EV Charger product page — Emporia's own listing for the Pro: up to 48 A hardwired on a 60-amp circuit or up to 40 A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, 25 ft cable, NEMA 4 rated for indoor or outdoor, UL listed and ENERGY STAR certified, 3-year warranty, and PowerSmart load management that requires the bundled Vue 3 energy monitor (accessed August 18, 2026)
  • Autel Energy — MaxiCharger AC Elite Home 50A product page — Autel's own listing: compliant with NEMA 4X standards, operating temperature -40F to 131F, 25 ft cable, 3-year warranty. RE-READ October 10, 2026 for the Emporia head-to-head, and the page now publishes materially more: 'Maximum Output | 12 kW / 50 A' with output 'Adjustable 16-50 A'; installation given as 'Hardwired - 70 A Circuit for Full Output'; an 'SAE J1772' connector; an enclosure rating of 'IP65 / NEMA 4X'; an operating range of '-40 to 131 F (-40 to 55 C)'; a '3 Years' warranty quoted as a single term with no component split; 'CSA and ENERGY STAR compliance' (no UL listing is claimed on this page); connectivity listed as 'Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Ethernet, CAN, RS485'; app control to start, stop and schedule charging, monitor activity and adjust current; dimensions of 13.2 x 7.4 x 3.8 in (336 x 187 x 97 mm) and a weight of 15.4 lbs (7 kg); and the load-management sentence this comparison turns on - 'Supports both Adaptive Load Management (ALM) and charger-to-charger Dynamic Load Balancing (DLB). ALM requires compatible additional hardware, while DLB works between chargers without additional hardware.' The page publishes no solar-specific feature (accessed October 10, 2026)
  • Autel Energy — MaxiCharger 80A 19.2kW Residential EV Charger (US store listing) — Autel's own US listing: 19.2 kW (240V AC 80A), 208/240V AC 50/60 Hz, SAE J1772, hardwired, 25 ft (7.5 m) cable, output adjustable from 6A to 80A in the app and 16/24/32/40/48/50/64/72/80 A by DIP switch, UL 2594, UL 2231-1, UL 2231-2, UL 1998, CSA C22.2 No. 280, FCC Part 15 Class B, ENERGY STAR, OpenADR 2.0b, NEC Article 625, Wi-Fi / Ethernet / RS485 with the Autel Charge app and cloud, and a warranty of 5 years on the charger body, backplate and internal components with 1 year on the display screen, charging cable and connector (accessed August 12, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Ultimate 48A specifications — Grizzl-E's own spec page for the Ultimate 48A: 11.5 kW max output on J1772 or NACS, aluminum enclosure, 25 ft output cable, 208-240 VAC, selectable 48/40/32/24/16 A input current, operating temperature -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), IP67 protection, LED indicator, DIP-switch power selector, hardwire-only install. RE-CHECKED September 28, 2026: every spec above is unchanged, and the page sells the Ultimate 48A at $383.99 with a J1772 or a NACS connector, listed alongside the 80A / 19.2 kW unit rather than replaced by it. This corrects our August 20, 2026 note, which recorded the 48A as no longer sold on the strength of a dead Amazon listing. RE-READ October 17, 2026 for the EVIQO head-to-head, and the page HAS CHANGED in two ways worth recording. (1) Connectivity is now published: the smart-function row reads 'Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz); Mobile Application' and the communication-protocol row reads 'OCPP', where our September reading of this same page published no app support for the unit. (2) The enclosure row now reads 'UL Type 4 Indoor/Outdoor Rating' with no IP figure alongside it, where the September reading carried IP67. Also published on this visit: an adjustable-current list of '40A, 32A, 24A, 16A' (the 48 A headline is not repeated in that list), 'Hardwire Only', a 25 ft output cable, -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), 'UL E510712', enclosure dimensions of 10.25 x 6.25 x 3.75 in, a unit weight of 11.00 kg / 24.25 lbs, country of origin Canada, a price of $479.99, SKU GRS-HW-25NACS48-B, and a warranty selector offering '3 Year' or '5 Year' without stating what either covers. No ETL and no ENERGY STAR certification is published, and no Alexa, Google Home, HomeKit, Matter or Home Assistant integration is published (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • United Chargers - Grizzl-E Ultimate 48A product overview — Grizzl-E's own overview for the Ultimate 48A, read alongside the spec page on the same visit and describing only ONE version of the unit - the connected one. It calls the Ultimate 'a smart Wi-Fi-enabled Level 2 EVSE' and states 'Grizzl-E Ultimate connects to Wi-Fi and the Grizzl-E Connect Application', with charging statistics, schedules, cost tracking, remote control and management under an 'Always connected' heading; the smart-function row again reads 'Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz); Mobile Application' and the protocol row 'OCPP'. Current is published as 'Adjustable current: 40A, 32A, 24A, 16A' against a '48A 11.5 kW' headline, the enclosure as 'UL Type 4 Indoor/Outdoor Rating' with no IP figure, the plug type as 'Hardwire Only', and the output cable as J1772 or NACS. The warranty selector again offers '3 Year' and '5 Year' without saying what either includes. No DIP switch is mentioned anywhere on this page, and no Alexa, Google Home, HomeKit, Matter or Home Assistant integration is published (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A technical specifications — Grizzl-E's own spec table for the Classic Connect: Type 1 (J1772) or NACS Level 2, aluminum enclosure, operating temperature -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), IP67 protection, 25 ft output cable on an 18 in input lead, 208-240 VAC, nominal input current 16/24/32/40 A set by a DIP-switch power selector, maximum output current 40 A, LED indicator, 21 lb unit weight (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A product overview — Grizzl-E's own overview for the Classic Connect: 'the Wi-Fi Connected Smart Level 2 EVSE for home use' at 40A / 9.6 kW, shipping with the Grizzl-E Connect app for charging statistics, schedules, Demand/Response utility programs, remote control, lockout to prevent unauthorized use, updates and diagnostics; a UL Type 4 water-resistant cast aluminum enclosure with IP67 sealing, a NEMA 14-50 input cable and a 25 ft output cable with a J1772 or NACS connector, 'UL Tested and Certified' with built-in GFCI, over-current, over-voltage, ground-fault and over-temperature protections, and adjustable maximum current set with DIP switches at 40A / 32A / 24A / 16A for a 50A / 40A / 30A / 20A breaker. No ENERGY STAR certification and no OCPP support are published for this model (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • EVIQO - Level 2 EV Charger, 48A hardwired (Gen 2), 240V — EVIQO's own product page for the hardwired unit, read for the Grizzl-E head-to-head. The product title reads '48A (50A Max)', and the description states that 50 A is unlocked by setting DIP switches 4 and 5 with 'a dedicated 70A circuit required'; the dedicated circuit for 48 A is given as 60 A. The FAQ's DIP-switch list offers 16A, 32A, 40A and 48A - it does not list the 50A setting - while the app slider is published as '6-48A' in 1 A steps. Other published figures: 240 V, 11.5 kW at 48 A described as '11.5 kW continuous (hardwired)', an SAE J1772 connector with a metal latch, a 25 ft charging cable on a 40 in input cable, an 'IP66/NEMA-4 weatherproof enclosure', a 3-year standard warranty with a 4-year extension offered at checkout, 'UL/ETL/FCC/Energy Star certified' in the description against 'Certified by ETL, Energy Star, and FCC' in the FAQ and 'UL & ETL listed' in its comparison table, enhanced 2.4 GHz WiFi with start/stop, current setting, reminders, consumption and cost tracking, up to three off-peak schedules and over-the-air updates, and FAQ wiring guidance of THWN-2 copper with 6 AWG L1/L2 and a 10 AWG ground. Temperature is given as 'tested' from -22F to 122F rather than as an operating range. The page's own speed claims are inconsistent with each other: '45 MPH CHARGING', 'Up to 50 miles of range per hour', 'up to 46 miles per hour (48A)' and '~23 miles per hour' in its savings calculator. NOT published: weight, dimensions, an explicit operating-temperature range, solar integration, whole-home load management, or any Alexa, Google Home, HomeKit, Matter, Home Assistant or OCPP integration. A J1772-to-NACS adapter is required for a Tesla and is not included (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • ENERGY STAR — Electric Vehicle Chargers — ENERGY STAR on EVSE efficiency: certified chargers use about 40% less energy in standby than non-certified units (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Utility Incentives — DOE's catalog of utility incentives by customer type: 114 utilities listed offering residential Level 2 charging station purchase rebates and 74 offering Level 2 installation rebates, plus make-ready/pre-wiring rebates, managed-charging programs and EV time-of-use rates. RE-READ September 3, 2026: the residential counts were unchanged at 114 participating utilities for the EV Level 2 Charging Station Purchase Rebate and 74 for the EV Level 2 Charging Station Installation Rebate, alongside 17 for the Make-Ready or Pre-Wiring Rebate for EV Chargers, 109 for the EV Time-of-Use (TOU) Rate and 9 for the EV Managed Charging Program (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • U.S. Department of Energy (FEMP) — Managed and Bidirectional Charging — DOE on managed and bidirectional charging: managed charging (V1G) is 'an adaptive means of charging EVs which considers both vehicle energy needs and control objectives, typically designed to provide grid support or mitigate the impacts of EV charging'; a bidirectional EV 'can receive energy from an EVSE (charge) and provide energy to an external load (discharge)' and is usually paired with a similarly capable EVSE; bidirectional vehicles can back up buildings (V2B) or export to the grid (V2G), though DOE notes programs to incentivize those grid services 'are not yet widely in place for vehicle applications' and that a site must confirm its utility interconnection agreement permits reverse power flow (accessed August 12, 2026)
  • FuelEconomy.gov — Electric Vehicles: Learn More About the Label — DOE/EPA on EV efficiency: kWh per 100 miles and MPGe, accounting for AC charging losses (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading