Level Two Club

Best Smart Wi-Fi EV Chargers

An app-connected charger schedules around cheap overnight rates and tracks how much energy you use. Here are the smart units worth buying — and an honest note on when your car's own app already does the same thing for free.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

A “smart” charger is a Level 2 unit with WiFi and a phone app. The two things that app genuinely buys you are scheduling — charge only during your utility’s cheap overnight window — and energy monitoring, so you can see exactly how many kilowatt-hours each session drew and what it cost. On a time-of-use electricity plan, shifting a full charge into off-peak hours can meaningfully cut what you pay, and that alone can justify the feature.

But here’s the honest part most roundups skip: many EVs already schedule charging in the car’s own app. If your vehicle can set a departure time or a charge window itself, a smart charger is largely doing something you already have. The case for buying smart anyway is when your car can’t schedule, when you want per-session energy data the car won’t give you, or when you’re managing charging across a shared or load-limited panel. Every pick below is a real, safety-listed unit; we’ve ranked them for where the smarts actually earn their keep.

There is also a reason to buy smart that has nothing to do with the app, and it is the one with real money attached: rebates. DOE’s Alternative Fuels Data Center lists 114 utilities offering a residential Level 2 charger purchase rebate and 74 offering an installation rebate, and a large share of those programs require a connected or ENERGY STAR certified unit. We give that its own section below.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that doesn't feel cheap: a full 48 amps, ENERGY STAR listing, WiFi with genuine energy monitoring, and a 25 ft cable — for well under what the big names charge. It's the one we point most people to first.

Best value smart
2
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Best app
$516.71 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Wallbox Pulsar Plus

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to buy when wall space is tight: it's among the smallest 48A units you can get, with dynamic load management so it can share a circuit without tripping the main. A polished premium charger — and priced like one.

Best compact smart
$699.00 · View on Amazon

$799.9913% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money: a full 48 amps, WiFi with scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. A strong value alternative to Emporia if you want maximum reach.

Best budget 48A smart
$449.99 · View on Amazon

$510.0012% off

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best value smart

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that doesn't feel cheap: a full 48 amps, ENERGY STAR listing, WiFi with genuine energy monitoring, and a 25 ft cable — for well under what the big names charge. It's the one we point most people to first.

Strengths

  • 48A output and ENERGY STAR at a value price
  • The app actually tracks energy use, not just on/off
  • Long 25 ft cable and a remote holster in the box

Trade-offs

  • 48A hardwired needs a 60A circuit; on a NEMA 14-50 plug it's limited to 40A
  • App polish trails ChargePoint's, and support is smaller
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds about 40 miles of range per hour hardwired; on a 40A plug-in circuit, about 34.

Build note. 48A hardwired, or 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, with a 25 ft cable and remote holder.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best app

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A means it fits a small panel now and a bigger circuit later
  • The most mature app of the group — scheduling, reminders, usage history, over-the-air firmware
  • 3-year warranty and a long 23 ft cable
  • Sold hardwired or on a NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50 plug, in J1772 or NACS

Trade-offs

  • You pay a premium over value 48A chargers for the app and brand
  • Full 50A output needs a 60A circuit most older panels don't have to spare
  • The plug-in SKUs cap at 40A, so the top speed is a hardwired-only feature
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired, NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and a typical 3.5 miles per kWh, the Home Flex adds roughly 42 miles of range per hour. Dial it down to 40A to fit a 50A circuit and you get about 34. ChargePoint's own, more conservative claim is up to 37 miles per hour hardwired and 30 on the plug-in SKUs.

Build note. Amperage is set in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A. The plug-in SKUs are capped at 40A, so the full 50A is a hardwired-only figure. UL and cUL listed per UL 2594 and UL 2231; firmware updates over the air, and the station stores up to 90 days of session data locally if the network drops.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best compact smart

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to buy when wall space is tight: it's among the smallest 48A units you can get, with dynamic load management so it can share a circuit without tripping the main. A polished premium charger — and priced like one.

Strengths

  • Genuinely compact for a 48A charger — easy to place
  • Dynamic load management avoids a panel upgrade in some homes
  • Bluetooth plus WiFi, OCPP 1.6j, and a clean app
  • Now offered with a factory NACS connector as well as J1772

Trade-offs

  • One of the pricier chargers here
  • The 48A model is hardwired only — plugging in means dropping to the 40A version
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired (40A model plugs in)
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL 2594/2231, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, about 40 miles of range per hour. Dynamic load management can throttle it to protect a shared circuit.

Build note. One of the most compact 48A chargers in its class (7.8 x 7.9 x 3.9 in, 4.4 lb without the cable), with Bluetooth, WiFi and OCPP 1.6j, and a hardware current selector from 16A alongside 6A software control. The 48A model is hardwired; Wallbox's separate 40A model is offered on a NEMA 14-50 plug or hardwired, and both are sold with a J1772 or a factory NACS connector.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best budget 48A smart

EVIQO 48A Level 2 Charger

A lot of charger for the money: a full 48 amps, WiFi with scheduling, ENERGY STAR, and the longest usable reach in this group thanks to a 25 ft cable plus a 40-inch input lead. A strong value alternative to Emporia if you want maximum reach.

Strengths

  • 48A output with WiFi scheduling at a value price
  • 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable — excellent reach
  • UL, ETL, FCC and ENERGY STAR listings

Trade-offs

  • Hardwired version needs a 60A circuit and an electrician
  • Smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint or Wallbox
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, about 40 miles of range per hour.

Build note. Ships with a 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable — among the longest reach in class.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

What a smart charger actually does for you

Strip away the marketing and a smart charger earns its price in three ways. Scheduling is the big one: on a time-of-use rate you tell the app to run only during the cheap overnight window, and the charger handles it every night without you thinking about it — our cost-to-charge guide shows how much that shift can save. Energy monitoring is the second: the Emporia in particular reports per-session kilowatt-hours so you can see real numbers instead of guessing. The third is amperage control and load balancing — dialing the charger down to fit a smaller circuit, or letting a unit like the Wallbox share capacity so it doesn’t overload a panel that’s also feeding the house.

A fourth, quieter one is worth adding: the charger stays current. ChargePoint’s datasheet specifies over-the-air firmware updates, and Wallbox publishes a release-notes archive for each hardware revision. A dumb charger is finished the day it ships; a connected one can gain features and fixes for years. It can also, in fairness, change behaviour you liked — which is exactly the argument our no-app picks make.

One narrower case deserves its own page: a home with solar panels, where the question is whether the charger can see what the roof is producing. Our picks for homes with solar cover the two units that publish an excess-solar mode and what each needs to use it.

The rebate angle: where a smart charger pays for itself

This is the part of the smart-charger case that has actual dollars attached, and most roundups skip it. Your utility — the same company that bills you for the electricity — will frequently pay part of the cost of the charger, the installation, or both. DOE’s Alternative Fuels Data Center keeps the running count, and as of our September 2026 check it stands at:

Residential programUtilities offering it
EV Level 2 charging station purchase rebate114
EV time-of-use (TOU) rate109
EV Level 2 charging station installation rebate74
Make-ready or pre-wiring rebate17
EV managed charging program9

Three of those five rows effectively require a smart charger. A managed charging program pays you to let the utility shift or throttle your charging at peak times, which is only possible if the charger can talk to something. An EV time-of-use rate is worthless unless you actually charge off-peak, which is what the scheduler is for. And a large share of the purchase-rebate programs set ENERGY STAR certification as an eligibility condition — a label that, conveniently, every pick on this page carries.

The rules that trip people up are procedural rather than technical, and they are consistent across programs:

  • Apply before you buy, or at least before the work is done. Most programs are pre-approval; a receipt from last month is often simply ineligible. This is the single most common way people lose the money.
  • Check the qualifying model list. Many utilities publish a specific list of approved chargers rather than a general standard, and being ENERGY STAR certified does not guarantee being on it.
  • A permitted, inspected install is often a condition. Which is one more reason not to skip the permit — see permits and inspection.
  • Enrolment may be ongoing. Managed-charging programs typically pay an annual credit in exchange for the utility being allowed to adjust your charging during peak events, with an opt-out per event.

Our utility rebates guide walks the ten-minute process of finding yours, and tax credits and rebates covers the wider picture — including why the federal 30C credit stopped applying to chargers placed in service after June 30, 2026, which makes the utility programs the main game now. Worth stressing: a $300–$500 rebate is often larger than the entire price gap between a smart charger and a basic one. If your utility runs a program, the smart unit can be the cheaper purchase.

One more reason ENERGY STAR is the certification to look for: it also means about 40% less standby draw, which matters on a device that sits energized roughly 22 hours a day. Our ENERGY STAR certified picks list the units where the manufacturer publishes it, and UL, ETL and ENERGY STAR explained sets out what each mark on the box actually covers.

The mistake buyers make: paying for an app you won’t open

The most common smart-charger regret is paying extra for scheduling you already own. If your EV lets you set a departure time or a charge window in its own app, the charger’s scheduling is redundant — you’d control the same off-peak charging from the car. In that case the honest question is whether you still want the other smart features: per-session energy data, remote start/stop, load balancing, or eligibility for the rebate programs above. If you don’t, a simpler charger does the job and a budget unit like the EVIQO gives you full 48-amp output with WiFi in reserve, without a premium for an app you’d rarely open. Don’t buy the app; buy the feature you’ll actually use.

How to choose between these four

Go Emporia for the best all-round value: a full 48 amps, genuine per-session energy monitoring, hardwired or a NEMA 14-50 plug, and one of the longer 25-foot cables. Pick the ChargePoint Home Flex if the app itself is the point — it’s the most mature software here, with amperage set in the app at 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50, over-the-air firmware, and a choice of hardwired, NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50 SKUs in J1772 or NACS (the plug-in versions cap at 40 amps). Choose the Wallbox Pulsar Plus when space is tight: it’s the compact pick, hardwired at 48 amps, with dynamic load management for panels that need it, Bluetooth alongside WiFi for garages with no signal, and OCPP 1.6j if you ever want to point it at a utility platform instead of the vendor’s. And the EVIQO is the budget route to 48 amps with WiFi — the least you’ll spend for smart-capable, full-speed charging. Full write-ups: ChargePoint Home Flex and Wallbox Pulsar Plus.

Speed and the circuit behind it

None of these is faster because it’s smart — speed is amps × 240 volts. A 48-amp charger is about 11.5 kW, which at roughly 3.5 miles of range per kWh (a fair average; your car varies) adds near 40 miles an hour; the 50-amp ChargePoint is about 12 kW and near 42. Running either safely means respecting the National Electrical Code’s 80% continuous-load rule: a 48-amp charger needs a 60-amp circuit, and a 40-amp charger needs a 50-amp circuit. On a plug-in circuit, the Emporia caps at 40 amps for about 34 miles an hour. If your panel is tight, a smart charger’s adjustable amperage — see our 40A vs 48A comparison — lets you dial it down to fit. What the circuit behind it costs is itemized in our install cost breakdown, and installation cost by state shows how much of that bill is decided by where you live.

Frequently asked questions

Do I actually need a smart EV charger?

Only if you'll use what the app adds. Its real value is scheduling around cheap overnight rates, per-session energy monitoring, amperage or load control, and eligibility for utility programs that require a connected charger. But many EVs already schedule charging in the car's own app — if yours does, the charger's scheduling is redundant and you're really deciding whether you want the energy data, the load balancing and the rebate eligibility. Buy the feature you'll use, not the app itself.

Can I get a utility rebate on a smart EV charger?

Often, yes. DOE's Alternative Fuels Data Center lists 114 utilities with a residential Level 2 charger purchase rebate and 74 with an installation rebate. Many set ENERGY STAR certification as an eligibility condition, and managed-charging programs specifically require a connected charger. Almost all of them require you to apply before you buy or before the work is done, so check your utility's program first — a rebate is frequently larger than the price gap between a smart charger and a basic one.

What is a managed charging program, and is it worth joining?

It's a utility program — DOE lists 9 offering one to residential customers — where you let the utility shift or reduce your charging during peak demand events in exchange for a credit or bill discount. It requires a connected charger or a connected car. It's worth joining if you charge overnight anyway, because the events you'd be asked to shift are usually in the late afternoon and early evening. Programs normally let you opt out of any individual event.

Will a smart charger save me money?

Two ways, and neither is by using less electricity. It can shift your charging to off-peak hours on a time-of-use plan — DOE lists 109 utilities offering an EV TOU rate — and it can unlock a purchase rebate, an installation rebate or a managed-charging credit that a basic charger isn't eligible for. If your utility charges the same rate around the clock, offers no rebate, and your car already schedules off-peak charging, the app won't save you anything on its own.

Is a smart charger faster than a basic one?

No. Charging speed is set by amperage, not by WiFi. A 48-amp smart charger and a 48-amp basic charger add the same miles per hour. The app buys scheduling, energy data, remote control and rebate eligibility — never extra speed.

What's the difference between scheduling in the charger's app and in my car?

For basic off-peak charging, very little — both delay charging to your cheap window. The charger's app adds things the car often won't, like per-session kilowatt-hour tracking, remote start/stop, and load balancing across a shared circuit. Some utility programs also require the charger itself to be enrolled, not the car. If you only want off-peak scheduling and your car already does it, you may not need the charger to be smart at all.

Do smart chargers work if my WiFi goes down?

Yes. Every unit here still charges as a normal Level 2 charger without a connection — you just lose the app features until WiFi returns. Some also hold their last schedule locally, and the ChargePoint Home Flex stores up to 90 days of session data on the station itself so the history survives an outage. The Wallbox adds Bluetooth, which keeps local control working in a garage WiFi never reached. WiFi is for the smarts, not for delivering power.

Sources

  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Utility Incentives — DOE's catalog of utility incentives by customer type: 114 utilities listed offering residential Level 2 charging station purchase rebates and 74 offering Level 2 installation rebates, plus make-ready/pre-wiring rebates, managed-charging programs and EV time-of-use rates. RE-READ September 3, 2026: the residential counts were unchanged at 114 participating utilities for the EV Level 2 Charging Station Purchase Rebate and 74 for the EV Level 2 Charging Station Installation Rebate, alongside 17 for the Make-Ready or Pre-Wiring Rebate for EV Chargers, 109 for the EV Time-of-Use (TOU) Rate and 9 for the EV Managed Charging Program (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — State Laws and Incentives — DOE's searchable index of laws and incentives for all 50 states and DC, with a per-state count of applicable programs and a separate utility-incentive search (accessed August 18, 2026)
  • ENERGY STAR — Electric Vehicle Chargers — ENERGY STAR on EVSE efficiency: certified chargers use about 40% less energy in standby than non-certified units (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • FuelEconomy.gov — Save Money (U.S. DOE / EPA) — The official DOE/EPA calculator comparing vehicle fuel costs, including EV electricity price per kWh (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger Installations — NFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading