Level Two Club

Best Gifts for Tesla Owners

A Tesla uses a different plug from almost every other EV, which is exactly what makes a home charger a good gift for one — the right unit plugs straight in with nothing to adapt, and the wrong one is a daily nuisance. Here is how to buy the right one.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Every Tesla sold in North America charges through the NACS connector — the slim plug Tesla designed, now standardized by SAE as J3400 and being adopted by other automakers. Almost every other EV on the road today still uses the larger J1772 plug. A Tesla owner can use a J1772 charger through the adapter that came with the car, and plenty do; but a charger with a native NACS connector plugs straight in, with no adapter to fit every night and nothing to lose. For a gift, that difference is the whole point.

Before you buy anything on this page, ask one question, ideally in passing: “Do you already have a wall charger, or are you using the cable that came with the car?”Many Tesla owners charge from Tesla’s own portable Mobile Connector on a 240-volt outlet and have never installed a fixed charger. Those are the owners this guide is for. If they already have a wall unit, see our guide for the EV owner who has everything instead. Tesla also sells its own Wall Connector; we do not rank it here because we have not been able to verify its specifications at source, and this site only recommends what it can check. We own none of the units below and have not tested them; specs are the manufacturers’ published figures, and prices are checked daily and dated.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) Charger

Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) Charger

For a Tesla owner who doesn't want to babysit an adapter: a native NACS (J3400) connector plugs straight into the car, at a full 48 amps, with the safety listings you want. No app, but Teslas schedule charging in the car anyway.

Best NACS gift overall
$429.99 · View on Amazon

$459.997% off

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
ChargePoint Home Flex NACS

ChargePoint Home Flex NACS

The Home Flex smarts with a factory NACS cable. Tesla owners who want ChargePoint's mature app and adjustable 16-50A amperage — rather than a plain no-app NACS unit — pay a premium for exactly that.

Best smart NACS gift
$516.71 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Lectron Portable Level 2 Tesla Charger (NACS)

Lectron Portable Level 2 Tesla Charger (NACS)

The portable to buy if your car has a NACS port and you would rather not travel with an adapter. It is the Lectron 40A portable with a Tesla connector on the end: a full 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50, a 16-foot cable, ETL to UL 2594 / UL 2231 and an ENERGY STAR listing. The gap is documentation - Lectron publishes no enclosure rating, temperature range or warranty term for this SKU.

Best no-electrician gift
$279.89 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that doesn't feel cheap: a full 48 amps, ENERGY STAR listing, WiFi with genuine energy monitoring, and a 25 ft cable — for well under what the big names charge. It's the one we point most people to first.

Best if the household may add a non-Tesla EV
$449.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best NACS gift overall

Lectron Nexus NACS (Tesla) Charger

For a Tesla owner who doesn't want to babysit an adapter: a native NACS (J3400) connector plugs straight into the car, at a full 48 amps, with the safety listings you want. No app, but Teslas schedule charging in the car anyway.

Strengths

  • Native NACS connector — no J1772-to-Tesla adapter to lose
  • Full 48A output and a weather-rated IP66 body
  • UL/ETL safety listings plus ENERGY STAR

Trade-offs

  • No WiFi app — you schedule in the Tesla app instead
  • NACS connector is best for Tesla/NACS cars; other EVs need a NACS-to-J1772 adapter
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
NACS
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
No
Certifications
UL 2594/2231/2251 (ETL listed), ENERGY STAR, FCC

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, about 40 miles of range per hour into a Tesla.

Build note. Native NACS (J3400) connector plugs straight into a Tesla with no adapter; includes a holster.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best smart NACS gift

ChargePoint Home Flex NACS

The Home Flex smarts with a factory NACS cable. Tesla owners who want ChargePoint's mature app and adjustable 16-50A amperage — rather than a plain no-app NACS unit — pay a premium for exactly that.

Strengths

  • Native NACS cable with ChargePoint's flexible 16-50A amperage
  • The most mature app of the NACS options here
  • 3-year warranty and outdoor-rated NEMA 3R body

Trade-offs

  • Priciest NACS pick — you're paying for the app and brand
  • 50A output needs a 60A circuit to use fully
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
NACS
Install
Hardwired
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, roughly 42 miles of range per hour into a Tesla.

Build note. Same Home Flex hardware with a factory NACS cable for Tesla and NACS EVs.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best no-electrician gift

Lectron Portable Level 2 Tesla Charger (NACS)

The portable to buy if your car has a NACS port and you would rather not travel with an adapter. It is the Lectron 40A portable with a Tesla connector on the end: a full 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50, a 16-foot cable, ETL to UL 2594 / UL 2231 and an ENERGY STAR listing. The gap is documentation - Lectron publishes no enclosure rating, temperature range or warranty term for this SKU.

Strengths

  • Native NACS connector - no adapter to lose in a hotel parking lot
  • A genuine 40A / 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50, and ENERGY STAR certified
  • ETL listed to UL 2594 / UL 2231, with a UL 2251 handle

Trade-offs

  • Lectron publishes no enclosure rating, temperature range or warranty term for this SKU
  • A 16 ft cable is short if the charger has to reach across a garage
  • The base unit has no app - the WiFi version is a separate, dearer SKU
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
NACS
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
16 ft
Warranty
Not published
WiFi + app
No
Certifications
ETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231), ENERGY STAR, FCC; UL 2251 handle

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour.

Build note. Portable NACS unit on a NEMA 14-50 plug with a 16 ft cable and LED status indicators; Lectron describes it as weather-resistant for indoor or outdoor use while advising against extreme weather exposure, and publishes no enclosure rating for it.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best if the household may add a non-Tesla EV

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that doesn't feel cheap: a full 48 amps, ENERGY STAR listing, WiFi with genuine energy monitoring, and a 25 ft cable — for well under what the big names charge. It's the one we point most people to first.

Strengths

  • 48A output and ENERGY STAR at a value price
  • The app actually tracks energy use, not just on/off
  • Long 25 ft cable and a remote holster in the box

Trade-offs

  • 48A hardwired needs a 60A circuit; on a NEMA 14-50 plug it's limited to 40A
  • App polish trails ChargePoint's, and support is smaller
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds about 40 miles of range per hour hardwired; on a 40A plug-in circuit, about 34.

Build note. 48A hardwired, or 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, with a 25 ft cable and remote holder.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

The one question, and why it matters

Tesla sells a portable Mobile Connector: a cable that charges from a household outlet slowly, or from a 240-volt outlet at a respectable pace. Because it works, a lot of Tesla owners never buy a fixed charger at all. That is good news for a gifter — it means the field of “Tesla owners who would love a wall charger” is large — but it also means you need to know which camp your recipient is in. Ask whether they have a charger on the wall. If the answer is “no, I just use the cable,” you are in the right place.

Then find out whether that cable is plugged into a 240-volt outlet in the garage. If it is, they have a NEMA 14-50 (or occasionally a 6-50) receptacle, and the portable pick below becomes a no-electrician gift. If they are charging from an ordinary household socket, every option here needs an electrician to run a 240-volt circuit — worth saying in the card, and worth reading our installation cost guide before you decide how much of the present is the charger and how much is the install.

The picks, in gifter language

Lectron Nexus NACS — best NACS gift overall.A full 48 amps through a factory Tesla connector, in an IP66-sealed body rated for an outdoor wall, with a 23-foot cable, a three-year warranty and the safety paperwork done properly: ETL listed to UL 2594, 2231 and 2251, plus ENERGY STAR. There is no app, and for a Tesla owner that is not the omission it sounds like — the car’s own app already schedules charging and reports energy use, so a second app would mostly duplicate it. It is hardwired, so it needs a 60-amp circuit and an electrician. What to check: that the recipient does not already have a wall unit. See the full Tesla charger ranking for how it compares.

ChargePoint Home Flex NACS — best smart NACS gift.The Home Flex is the most established smart charger in the category, and this is the version with a factory NACS cable. Its output is set in the app from 16 to 50 amps, so if you do not know what the recipient’s panel can spare, the electrician can dial it to fit; it carries a three-year warranty and an outdoor-rated NEMA 3R body. You pay a clear premium over the Lectron for the app, the adjustability and the brand, and a Tesla owner will use the app less than most. Buy it for the adjustability. Read the Home Flex NACS review.

Lectron Portable Level 2 Tesla Charger — best no-electrician gift. If they already charge from a 14-50 outlet with the Mobile Connector, this is the upgrade that costs nothing to install: a genuine 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50 plug, a native NACS connector, ETL listing to UL 2594 and 2231 and an ENERGY STAR mark. It also travels, which the hardwired units do not. The honest gap is documentation — Lectron publishes no enclosure rating, temperature range or warranty term for this SKU — and the 16-foot cable is short if the car parks far from the outlet. Read the portable charger roundup for the full comparison.

Emporia Level 2 — best if the household may add a non-Tesla EV. This is a J1772 charger, and it is on a Tesla gift list for one reason: if the recipient’s household is likely to add a second, non-Tesla EV, a J1772 unit plus the Tesla adapter they already own serves both cars, where a native NACS charger would need a different adapter for the newcomer. It is also the best value 48-amp smart charger we cover, with energy monitoring, a 25-foot cable and ENERGY STAR. The cost is the nightly adapter. Read the Emporia review.

What not to buy a Tesla owner

A second adapter. They have one; it came with the car. A charger described as “Tesla compatible”without a stated connector — that phrase usually means a J1772 unit that works via the adapter, which is true of every charger on the market and tells you nothing. A 48-amp hardwired unit for someone in an apartment, who cannot install it; our renter gift guide covers that case. And anything opened early: keep the box sealed until the connector and the install type are confirmed, so an easy return stays easy.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need a special charger for a Tesla?

Not strictly — a Tesla can charge from any J1772 Level 2 charger using the adapter that ships with the car. But a charger with a native NACS connector plugs straight in with no adapter, which is a real daily convenience and the reason a NACS unit makes the better gift. Every pick on this page except the Emporia has a factory NACS connector.

What is the difference between NACS and J1772?

They are the two AC charging connectors used in North America. J1772 is the older standard that most non-Tesla EVs use for Level 1 and Level 2 charging. NACS is the connector Tesla designed, standardized by SAE as J3400, and it is being adopted by other automakers. The charging itself is identical — same 240 volts, same speeds — only the plug shape differs, and inexpensive adapters bridge the two in either direction.

Does a Tesla owner need a smart charger with an app?

Less than most EV owners do. The Tesla app already schedules charging, sets a charge limit and reports energy use from the car's side, so a charger's own app duplicates much of that. That is why our top NACS pick has no app at all and costs less for it. The case for the ChargePoint Home Flex NACS is its adjustable 16-to-50-amp output and its long track record, not the app.

Will they need an electrician?

For the two hardwired picks, yes — a 48- or 50-amp charger needs a 60-amp circuit run by a licensed electrician, usually with a permit and inspection. The Lectron portable NACS charger plugs into a 240-volt NEMA 14-50 outlet, so if they already have one (many Tesla owners do, because the Mobile Connector uses it) there is nothing to install. If they have no 240-volt outlet at all, any charger means an electrician.

What if their next car is not a Tesla?

Then a native NACS charger will need a NACS-to-J1772 adapter for the new car, which exists but is one more thing. If the household is likely to add a non-Tesla EV, the Emporia Level 2 with its J1772 connector plus the Tesla adapter they already own covers both cars — that is the only reason it is on a Tesla gift list. The NACS transition means more new EVs will have NACS ports each year, so this concern is shrinking.

What if the gift is the wrong one?

Keep it sealed until they have confirmed they want a fixed charger and which install type suits the garage. In 2025 Amazon's extended holiday window allowed most items bought between November 1 and December 31 to be returned until January 31; the dates are announced each year, so confirm the current policy at purchase.

Sources

  • SAE International — J3400 North American Charging System (NACS)The SAE J3400 / NACS standard (the Tesla-derived connector) now being adopted industry-wide (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • SAE International — J1772 Conductive Charge CouplerThe SAE J1772 connector standard for AC Level 1 and Level 2 charging in North America (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Electric Vehicles for ConsumersUS DOE on connector types: J1772 for Level 1/2, and CCS, CHAdeMO or NACS (J3400) for DC fast charging (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger InstallationsNFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • Lectron - Portable Level 2 Tesla (NACS) EV Charger, 240V, 40 Amp, NEMA 14-50Lectron's own product page: 40 A / 240 V / 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50 plug with a native NACS connector for Tesla Models S/3/X/Y/Cybertruck and any NACS EV, 16 ft cable, ETL listed to UL 2594 / UL 2231 with a UL 2251 handle plus ENERGY STAR and FCC, LED status indicators on the base SKU with app control only on the separate WiFi version. Lectron describes the unit as weather-resistant for indoor or outdoor use while advising against extreme weather exposure, and its spec block publishes no enclosure rating, no operating-temperature range and no warranty term (accessed August 25, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex datasheet (PDF)ChargePoint's own datasheet: enclosure rating Type 3R per UL 50E, operating temperature -22F to 122F, 23 ft cable, plus installer notes that an outdoor plug-in install requires an outdoor-rated GFCI breaker upstream while an external GFCI may conflict with the charger's internal ground-fault protection on a hardwired install. RE-READ September 3, 2026 for the review refresh: the same datasheet also publishes maximum 12 kW (240V AC x 50A) with output amperage adjustable via the mobile app to 16A, 24A, 32A, 40A, 48A or 50A; a required dedicated dual-pole breaker rated for 125% of maximum load; 'Software Updates: Firmware updated over-the-air (OTA)'; 2.4/5 GHz Wi-Fi (802.11 a/b/g/n); local storage of up to 90 days of charging session data (100 sessions) if the network drops; power measurement accuracy +/- 2.0%; ground-fault detection by 20 mA CCID with auto retry; and UL and cUL listing per UL 2594, UL 2231-1 and UL 2231-2, NEC Article 625 compliant. Ordering information lists the plug-in station models CPH50-NEMA6-50-L23 and CPH50-NEMA14-50-L23 (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • Emporia — Classic Level 2 EV Charger spec sheet (PDF)Emporia's own spec sheet: watertight NEMA Type 4 indoor/outdoor enclosure, operating temperature -22F to 122F, 25 ft cable (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • About Amazon - Amazon's holiday return policy 2025: what to knowAmazon's own statement of its 2025 extended holiday window: 'most items purchased between November 1 and December 31 can be returned until January 31, 2026' (Apple-branded products through January 15). The window is announced each year, so confirm the current year's dates on Amazon before relying on it for a gift (accessed September 13, 2026)

Keep reading