Level Two Club

Best Gifts for New EV Owners

Someone you know just brought home their first electric car and is charging it from a wall socket. A Level 2 home charger is the gift that changes that — here is how to buy one for a garage you have never seen.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Most new EV owners spend their first months charging from an ordinary 120-volt outlet with the cable that came in the trunk. The U.S. Department of Energy puts that at roughly two to five miles of range per hour, which is enough for a short commute and not much else. A Level 2 charger on a 240-volt circuit gives them thirty to forty miles an hour instead, and the car is simply full every morning. It is the single most useful thing you can buy an EV owner — and one they tend to put off, because it means an electrician and a decision.

That is also why it is a slightly risky gift. A charger has to match the car’s connector, the electrical panel and the wall it goes on, and you probably do not know all three. So this list is ranked for a gifter: the picks that forgive a wrong guess rise to the top, and the ones that only work in a specific house fall to the bottom. We own none of these units and have not tested them; every figure is the manufacturer’s published specification, and every price on the page is checked daily and dated.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that doesn't feel cheap: a full 48 amps, ENERGY STAR listing, WiFi with genuine energy monitoring, and a 25 ft cable — for well under what the big names charge. It's the one we point most people to first.

Best overall gift
$449.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Safest if you don't know their panel
$549.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
EVIQO 40A NEMA 14-50 Charger

EVIQO 40A NEMA 14-50 Charger

The most charger you can get without an electrician's invoice. It plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet for a full 40 amps, keeps the WiFi app, the ENERGY STAR listing and the 25 ft cable from EVIQO's hardwired unit, and can be unplugged and taken with you when you move.

Best plug-in gift
$429.99 · View on Amazon

$469.999% off

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

One of the cheapest honest ways into real Level 2 charging. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, get a genuine 40A / 9.6 kW, and unplug it to take on a trip. No app and a shorter warranty are the trade-offs for the price.

Best budget gift
$269.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A

Grizzl-E's cast-aluminum build with a WiFi radio in it. You get the IP67 body and the cold-flexible 25 ft cable that made the brand's name, plus scheduling, usage history and utility demand-response programs in the Grizzl-E Connect app — in a plug-in unit that comes off the wall when you move. The amperage is still set with a DIP switch, which is either charmingly honest or annoyingly analog depending on your taste.

Best for a cold or exposed driveway
$349.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall gift

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that doesn't feel cheap: a full 48 amps, ENERGY STAR listing, WiFi with genuine energy monitoring, and a 25 ft cable — for well under what the big names charge. It's the one we point most people to first.

Strengths

  • 48A output and ENERGY STAR at a value price
  • The app actually tracks energy use, not just on/off
  • Long 25 ft cable and a remote holster in the box

Trade-offs

  • 48A hardwired needs a 60A circuit; on a NEMA 14-50 plug it's limited to 40A
  • App polish trails ChargePoint's, and support is smaller
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds about 40 miles of range per hour hardwired; on a 40A plug-in circuit, about 34.

Build note. 48A hardwired, or 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, with a 25 ft cable and remote holder.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Safest if you don't know their panel

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A means it fits a small panel now and a bigger circuit later
  • The most mature app of the group — scheduling, reminders, usage history, over-the-air firmware
  • 3-year warranty and a long 23 ft cable
  • Sold hardwired or on a NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50 plug, in J1772 or NACS

Trade-offs

  • You pay a premium over value 48A chargers for the app and brand
  • Full 50A output needs a 60A circuit most older panels don't have to spare
  • The plug-in SKUs cap at 40A, so the top speed is a hardwired-only feature
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired, NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and a typical 3.5 miles per kWh, the Home Flex adds roughly 42 miles of range per hour. Dial it down to 40A to fit a 50A circuit and you get about 34. ChargePoint's own, more conservative claim is up to 37 miles per hour hardwired and 30 on the plug-in SKUs.

Build note. Amperage is set in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A. The plug-in SKUs are capped at 40A, so the full 50A is a hardwired-only figure. UL and cUL listed per UL 2594 and UL 2231; firmware updates over the air, and the station stores up to 90 days of session data locally if the network drops.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best plug-in gift

EVIQO 40A NEMA 14-50 Charger

The most charger you can get without an electrician's invoice. It plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet for a full 40 amps, keeps the WiFi app, the ENERGY STAR listing and the 25 ft cable from EVIQO's hardwired unit, and can be unplugged and taken with you when you move.

Strengths

  • Plugs into an existing NEMA 14-50 outlet — no hardwiring, and it comes with you
  • Real WiFi app with 6-40A adjustment, scheduling and energy tracking
  • 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input lead, in an IP66 / NEMA 4 body

Trade-offs

  • 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling — for 48A you need the hardwired version
  • Needs a proper EV-grade 14-50 receptacle (an old dryer outlet is not the same thing)
  • Smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint or Wallbox
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour — an overnight charge for almost any daily commute.

Build note. Plug-in Gen-2 unit: 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in NEMA 14-50 input lead, with app-adjustable output from 6 to 40 amps.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best budget gift

Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

One of the cheapest honest ways into real Level 2 charging. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, get a genuine 40A / 9.6 kW, and unplug it to take on a trip. No app and a shorter warranty are the trade-offs for the price.

Strengths

  • A real 40A / 9.6 kW at a budget price
  • Plug-in and portable — take it with you, no hardwiring
  • ETL listed to UL 2594 / UL 2231 safety standards

Trade-offs

  • No WiFi or app on the base model — the smart version is a separate SKU
  • Shorter 16 ft cable and a 2-year warranty
  • Brand doesn't publish an outdoor/IP enclosure rating
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
16 ft
Warranty
2 years
WiFi + app
No
Certifications
ETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour.

Build note. Portable plug-in unit — no hardwiring needed; the base model has no WiFi or app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best for a cold or exposed driveway

Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A

Grizzl-E's cast-aluminum build with a WiFi radio in it. You get the IP67 body and the cold-flexible 25 ft cable that made the brand's name, plus scheduling, usage history and utility demand-response programs in the Grizzl-E Connect app — in a plug-in unit that comes off the wall when you move. The amperage is still set with a DIP switch, which is either charmingly honest or annoyingly analog depending on your taste.

Strengths

  • Cast-aluminum NEMA 4 / IP67 body rated -22F to 122F, in a plug-in unit
  • WiFi and the Grizzl-E Connect app for scheduling, usage history and remote lockout
  • 25 ft cold-flexible output cable, offered with a J1772 or a NACS connector

Trade-offs

  • 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling — no 48A option in this model
  • Amperage is set by a physical DIP switch, not in the app
  • Grizzl-E's own pages don't publish an ENERGY STAR certification for this model
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL/cUL listed (file E510712)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour. The DIP switch also sets 32, 24 or 16 amps if your circuit is smaller.

Build note. Cast-aluminum enclosure with IP67 sealing, rated -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F); 25 ft output cable on an 18 in input lead, current set by DIP switch (16/24/32/40 A), status on an LED, and WiFi to the Grizzl-E Connect app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Why a home charger lands as a gift

Because the recipient feels it every day. An EV that charges from a wall socket has to be managed: plugged in the moment it gets home, topped up at a public charger before a longer trip, watched. A Level 2 charger removes all of that. The car goes on charge at night and is full by morning, on electricity that typically costs a few cents a mile. Most owners know this and still delay buying one, because it means choosing a unit, calling an electrician and finding a Saturday. A gift collapses the first of those three steps — and if you are generous, the card can address the second.

What to find out first, and how to ask without giving it away

You need three facts. All of them can be gathered from a casual conversation about the new car.

  • What car is it? This tells you the connector. Every pick here uses the J1772 plug, which fits nearly every non-Tesla EV sold in North America. A Tesla can use a J1772 charger with the adapter that ships in the car, but if the recipient drives a Tesla you will do better on our Tesla gift guide, where the chargers plug straight in.
  • “Do you have one of those big four-prong outlets in the garage, like for an RV?” That is a NEMA 14-50. If the answer is yes, the plug-in picks below are a genuine no-electrician gift: unbox, mount the bracket, plug in. If the answer is no, every option on this page means an electrician, and the cheapest route is usually to have that electrician fit a 14-50 outlet and then use a plug-in charger. Our NEMA 14-50 guide explains what to ask for.
  • How old is the house?This is a proxy for the electrical panel. A 48-amp charger needs a 60-amp circuit under the National Electrical Code’s continuous-load rule, and an older 100-amp service frequently cannot spare one. A 40-amp charger runs on a 50-amp circuit and is almost as fast. If the house is old or you simply do not know, buy something adjustable.
The gifter’s view of the five picks: how each one gets onto the wall, and how forgiving it is if you guessed wrong about the house.
ChargerHow it installsMax ampsCableWarranty
Emporia Level 2 EV ChargerHardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug48 A25 ft3 years
ChargePoint Home FlexHardwired, NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-5050 A23 ft3 years
EVIQO 40A NEMA 14-50 ChargerNEMA 14-50 plug40 A25 ft3 years
Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 ChargerNEMA 14-50 plug40 A16 ft2 years
Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40ANEMA 14-50 plug40 A25 ft3 years

The picks, in gifter language

Emporia Level 2 — best overall gift.This is the charger we point most people to for themselves, and it makes an equally good gift because it covers both install types in one box: hardwire it for a full 48 amps, or run it on a NEMA 14-50 plug at 40. The 25-foot cable reaches across a two-car garage, it carries the ENERGY STAR mark that many utility rebate programs require, and the app tracks exactly how much energy the car is using — the number a new owner wants to see in their first month, because it is what the electric bill will show. What to check: the recipient’s car uses J1772 (or they have their Tesla adapter). Read the Emporia review.

ChargePoint Home Flex — safest if you don’t know their panel. The Home Flex is the pick for a gifter working blind. Its output is set in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50 amps, so whatever circuit the electrician can provide, the charger fits it — and can be turned up later if the panel is upgraded. It is sold hardwired or on a NEMA 6-50 or 14-50 plug, in J1772 or NACS, has the most mature app of anything here and a three-year warranty. You pay a premium over the Emporia for that flexibility; for a gift, the premium is buying you the right not to know. Read the Home Flex review.

EVIQO 40A — best plug-in gift.If you have confirmed the 14-50 outlet, this is the easiest charger on the page to give. It plugs in, delivers a full 40 amps, and its output can be dialed anywhere from 6 to 40 amps in the app — useful if the outlet turns out to be on a smaller circuit than it should be. It keeps the 25-foot cable, the ENERGY STAR listing and the weather-rated body of EVIQO’s hardwired unit, and it comes with the recipient if they move. The trade-off is a smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint. Read the EVIQO 40A review.

Lectron 40A — best budget gift. The least expensive honest route to real Level 2 charging: a genuine 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50 plug, ETL listed to the relevant UL standards, and light enough to live in the trunk for trips. What you give up is the app, nine feet of cable against the 25-footers, and a two-year warranty against three. Lectron also does not publish an outdoor enclosure rating, so this is a gift for a garage, not a driveway. Read the Lectron 40A review.

Grizzl-E Classic Connect — best for a cold or exposed driveway. If the new EV lives outside in a real winter, this is the one. It is a cast-aluminum, NEMA 4 / IP67 unit rated from -22°F to 122°F with a 25-foot cable built to stay flexible in the cold — and it plugs into a 14-50 rather than hardwiring, which is rare at this build quality. Amperage is set on a physical switch at 16, 24, 32 or 40 amps, so it can be matched to the circuit without an app. Grizzl-E does not publish an ENERGY STAR certification for this model, which matters only if a rebate requires it. Read the Grizzl-E Classic Connect review.

What to write in the card

The most useful sentence you can add is an honest one about installation. If they do not have a 240-volt outlet, the charger will need an electrician, a permit in most places, and an inspection; our installation cost breakdown gives the realistic range, and hiring an electrician for an EV charger lists the questions to ask. Some gifters cover the install as the second half of the present. Either way, say it — a charger that sits in its box until spring is a worse gift than a cheaper one that goes up next weekend.

Two more things worth mentioning. Many utilities offer a rebate on a Level 2 charger or its installation, often conditional on ENERGY STAR certification or a connected charger; our utility rebate guide explains how to check, and the rule in nearly every program is to apply before installing. And keep the box sealed until the recipient has confirmed the connector: an unopened charger is an easy return inside the holiday window, an installed one is not.

Frequently asked questions

What do I need to find out before buying someone a home EV charger?

Three things, in this order. First, the connector: almost every non-Tesla EV in North America uses J1772, while Teslas and some newer EVs use NACS — every pick on this page is J1772, which works on a Tesla with the adapter that came with the car. Second, whether they already have a 240-volt NEMA 14-50 outlet in the garage; if they do, a plug-in charger is a no-electrician gift. Third, roughly how old the house's electrical panel is, because a 48-amp charger needs a 60-amp circuit that older panels often cannot spare. If you can only find out one thing, make it the connector.

Is a Level 2 charger really better than the cable that came with the car?

By a wide margin. DOE figures put Level 1 charging from a standard outlet at about two to five miles of range added per hour, and typical residential Level 2 at roughly 25 miles or more per hour, with the 40- and 48-amp chargers on this page in the mid-thirties to about forty. Practically, that is the difference between a car that is sometimes not ready and a car that is always full in the morning.

Will they need an electrician?

Unless the garage already has a 240-volt NEMA 14-50 outlet, yes — for any charger on this page, plug-in or hardwired. A 240-volt circuit is licensed electrical work in most jurisdictions and is usually permitted and inspected. The cost varies with the distance from the panel and whether the panel has room; our installation cost guide has the line items. It is worth saying in the card, so the gift does not become a chore.

Should I buy the biggest charger I can afford?

No. Charging speed is set by amperage, and a 48-amp charger needs a 60-amp circuit while a 40-amp charger runs on the much more common 50-amp circuit — for roughly six miles per hour less. If you do not know the panel, buy something adjustable: the ChargePoint Home Flex sets its output from 16 to 50 amps in the app, and the EVIQO 40A from 6 to 40, so the electrician can dial it to whatever the house can carry.

Which charger is the safest bet if I know nothing about their setup?

The ChargePoint Home Flex, because it adapts to the most situations: it is sold hardwired or on a NEMA 6-50 or 14-50 plug, in J1772 or NACS, and its output is set in the app from 16 to 50 amps. It costs more than the Emporia for the same charging speed, and that premium is what you are paying for the flexibility. If you know they have a 14-50 outlet, the EVIQO 40A is the easier gift.

What if it is the wrong one?

Keep it sealed until the recipient has confirmed the connector and the install type. In 2025 Amazon's extended holiday window allowed most items bought between November 1 and December 31 to be returned until January 31; the dates are announced each year, so confirm the current policy at purchase. An unopened charger is a straightforward return; an installed one is not.

Sources

  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Electric Vehicle Charging StationsUS DOE on charging levels: Level 1 (~1.9 kW, ~5 mi/hr), Level 2 (2.9-19.2 kW, ~7.2 kW typical residential, ~25 mi/hr), and DC fast charging (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Charging Electric Vehicles at HomeUS DOE on home EV charging: most owners charge overnight on Level 1 or Level 2, installs follow NEC Article 625, with example home-charging costs (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • SAE International — J1772 Conductive Charge CouplerThe SAE J1772 connector standard for AC Level 1 and Level 2 charging in North America (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger InstallationsNFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • Emporia — Classic Level 2 EV Charger spec sheet (PDF)Emporia's own spec sheet: watertight NEMA Type 4 indoor/outdoor enclosure, operating temperature -22F to 122F, 25 ft cable (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex datasheet (PDF)ChargePoint's own datasheet: enclosure rating Type 3R per UL 50E, operating temperature -22F to 122F, 23 ft cable, plus installer notes that an outdoor plug-in install requires an outdoor-rated GFCI breaker upstream while an external GFCI may conflict with the charger's internal ground-fault protection on a hardwired install. RE-READ September 3, 2026 for the review refresh: the same datasheet also publishes maximum 12 kW (240V AC x 50A) with output amperage adjustable via the mobile app to 16A, 24A, 32A, 40A, 48A or 50A; a required dedicated dual-pole breaker rated for 125% of maximum load; 'Software Updates: Firmware updated over-the-air (OTA)'; 2.4/5 GHz Wi-Fi (802.11 a/b/g/n); local storage of up to 90 days of charging session data (100 sessions) if the network drops; power measurement accuracy +/- 2.0%; ground-fault detection by 20 mA CCID with auto retry; and UL and cUL listing per UL 2594, UL 2231-1 and UL 2231-2, NEC Article 625 compliant. Ordering information lists the plug-in station models CPH50-NEMA6-50-L23 and CPH50-NEMA14-50-L23 (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • EVIQO — Level 2 EV Charger, 40A (9.6 kW), NEMA 14-50 plug-in (Gen 2)EVIQO's own product page: 40A / 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50 plug, SAE J1772, 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable, IP66 / NEMA 4 enclosure, UL / ETL / FCC / ENERGY STAR listings, 3-year standard warranty, app-adjustable 6-40A output, and a note that it needs an EV-grade 4-prong 14-50 receptacle rather than a dryer outlet. RE-READ September 15, 2026 for the garage roundup: the page additionally states an operating temperature range of -22F to 122F, that the app needs a 2.4 GHz WiFi connection, that the standard 3-year warranty is extendable to 4, and that the unit ships in 1-2 business days (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Lectron — Portable Level 2 J1772 EV Charger (40A) product pageLectron's own listing: 40A / 240V / 9.6 kW, NEMA 14-50 plug, 16 ft cable, UL 2594 / UL 2231 certified, 2-year warranty, app control on the WiFi version only (accessed July 23, 2026)
  • United Chargers — Grizzl-E Classic Connect 40A technical specificationsGrizzl-E's own spec table for the Classic Connect: Type 1 (J1772) or NACS Level 2, aluminum enclosure, operating temperature -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), IP67 protection, 25 ft output cable on an 18 in input lead, 208-240 VAC, nominal input current 16/24/32/40 A set by a DIP-switch power selector, maximum output current 40 A, LED indicator, 21 lb unit weight (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • About Amazon - Amazon's holiday return policy 2025: what to knowAmazon's own statement of its 2025 extended holiday window: 'most items purchased between November 1 and December 31 can be returned until January 31, 2026' (Apple-branded products through January 15). The window is announced each year, so confirm the current year's dates on Amazon before relying on it for a gift (accessed September 13, 2026)

Keep reading