Level Two Club

Best Gifts for EV Owners Who Rent

A renter cannot bolt a charger to a wall they don't own or ask the landlord for a new circuit. The chargers below plug in, unplug, and leave with them when the lease ends — which is what makes them a gift that actually gets used.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Most home-charger advice assumes the reader owns the garage. A renter’s situation is the reverse: the wall is not theirs, the electrical panel is not theirs, and the electrician is the landlord’s call. A hardwired 48-amp charger, however good, is a gift they cannot install. What a renter can use is a plug-in or portable charger— a unit that connects to a 240-volt outlet if one exists, packs into the trunk when they move, and in the best cases will also charge from an ordinary household socket on the road.

So this list is ranked for a gifter buying for a lease. The units that travel best and publish the most about what they can survive rise to the top. The one fact you need before buying is whether the recipient has a 240-volt outlet where they park — the big four-prong NEMA 14-50 socket, the kind an RV or a welder plugs into. If they do, every charger here is a no-electrician gift. If they do not, we explain below what the gift still does for them. We own none of these units and have not tested them; specs are the manufacturers’ published figures, and prices are checked daily and dated.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Ampure Go Portable Level 2 Charger

Ampure Go Portable Level 2 Charger

The only portable charger we track that is certified like a permanent one. UL 2594 / UL 2231, ENERGY STAR and an IP67 / NEMA 6P body rated from -22F to 122F, in a nine-pound module that ships with a NEMA 14-50 cord for 240V and a standard 5-15 cord for 120V. You give up eight amps against the 40A units and get, in exchange, a charger genuinely rated to live in a trunk and be rained on.

Best renter gift overall
$299.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

The full-speed portable. A genuine 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50, an IP67 station body rated -22F to 122F, and a 25-foot cable - the longest here by five feet - for less than the 32A unit costs. It is the heaviest thing here to coil and there is no app, but if the portable is also going to be your everyday charger, this is the one that does not make you choose.

Best full-speed gift
$209.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

One of the cheapest honest ways into real Level 2 charging. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, get a genuine 40A / 9.6 kW, and unplug it to take on a trip. No app and a shorter warranty are the trade-offs for the price.

Best budget gift
$269.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
EVIQO 40A NEMA 14-50 Charger

EVIQO 40A NEMA 14-50 Charger

The most charger you can get without an electrician's invoice. It plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet for a full 40 amps, keeps the WiFi app, the ENERGY STAR listing and the 25 ft cable from EVIQO's hardwired unit, and can be unplugged and taken with you when you move.

Best if they'll stay a while
$429.99 · View on Amazon

$469.999% off

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Lectron Portable Level 2 Tesla Charger (NACS)

Lectron Portable Level 2 Tesla Charger (NACS)

The portable to buy if your car has a NACS port and you would rather not travel with an adapter. It is the Lectron 40A portable with a Tesla connector on the end: a full 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50, a 16-foot cable, ETL to UL 2594 / UL 2231 and an ENERGY STAR listing. The gap is documentation - Lectron publishes no enclosure rating, temperature range or warranty term for this SKU.

Best for a Tesla
$279.89 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best renter gift overall

Ampure Go Portable Level 2 Charger

The only portable charger we track that is certified like a permanent one. UL 2594 / UL 2231, ENERGY STAR and an IP67 / NEMA 6P body rated from -22F to 122F, in a nine-pound module that ships with a NEMA 14-50 cord for 240V and a standard 5-15 cord for 120V. You give up eight amps against the 40A units and get, in exchange, a charger genuinely rated to live in a trunk and be rained on.

Strengths

  • Dual voltage: 32A / 7.7 kW on a 240V NEMA 14-50, or 12A / 1.4 kW on any standard 120V outlet
  • UL and cUL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231 / UL 817) and ENERGY STAR certified - rare on a portable
  • IP67 / NEMA 6P watertight body rated -22F to 122F, and the module weighs 9 lb

Trade-offs

  • 32 amps, not 40 - about 27 miles of range an hour against 34 from a 40A unit
  • No app or scheduling is published, so the charging schedule has to live in the car
  • Costs more than 40A portables that publish far less about themselves
Max output
32 A
Power
7.7 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 cord for 240V, NEMA 5-15 cord for 120V
Cable length
20 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Not published
Certifications
UL and cUL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231 / UL 817), ENERGY STAR, FCC

Our charging-speed math. At 32A (7.7 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 27 miles of range per hour; on the 120V cord (1.4 kW), roughly 5. Ampure's own page claims up to 25 mi/hr, so our arithmetic is the slightly more generous of the two.

Build note. Dual-voltage portable: 32A / 7.7 kW at 240V or 12A / 1.4 kW at 120V, input range 85-265 VAC, 20 ft cable, IP67 / NEMA 6P enclosure rated -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), 9 lb module.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best full-speed gift

ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

The full-speed portable. A genuine 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50, an IP67 station body rated -22F to 122F, and a 25-foot cable - the longest here by five feet - for less than the 32A unit costs. It is the heaviest thing here to coil and there is no app, but if the portable is also going to be your everyday charger, this is the one that does not make you choose.

Strengths

  • A real 40A / 9.6 kW, selectable down to 32, 24, 20 or 16 amps for a smaller circuit
  • 25 ft cable - the longest here, and enough to cross a garage
  • IP67 station body rated -22F to 122F, with a 1-to-12-hour delayed-start timer built in

Trade-offs

  • A 25 ft cable is the heaviest thing here to coil and carry - portability is relative
  • The connector is rated IP54, well below the station's IP67, so keep it off wet ground
  • No app, and ELEGRP does not publish an ENERGY STAR listing for this SKU
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
2 years
WiFi + app
No
Certifications
ETL listed

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour - the same speed as any 40A wall unit.

Build note. Portable plug-in unit with selectable output at 16, 20, 24, 32 or 40 amps and a 1-to-12-hour delayed-start timer, on a 25 ft cable; IP67 station and IP54 connector, rated -22F to 122F.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best budget gift

Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

One of the cheapest honest ways into real Level 2 charging. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, get a genuine 40A / 9.6 kW, and unplug it to take on a trip. No app and a shorter warranty are the trade-offs for the price.

Strengths

  • A real 40A / 9.6 kW at a budget price
  • Plug-in and portable — take it with you, no hardwiring
  • ETL listed to UL 2594 / UL 2231 safety standards

Trade-offs

  • No WiFi or app on the base model — the smart version is a separate SKU
  • Shorter 16 ft cable and a 2-year warranty
  • Brand doesn't publish an outdoor/IP enclosure rating
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
16 ft
Warranty
2 years
WiFi + app
No
Certifications
ETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour.

Build note. Portable plug-in unit — no hardwiring needed; the base model has no WiFi or app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best if they'll stay a while

EVIQO 40A NEMA 14-50 Charger

The most charger you can get without an electrician's invoice. It plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet for a full 40 amps, keeps the WiFi app, the ENERGY STAR listing and the 25 ft cable from EVIQO's hardwired unit, and can be unplugged and taken with you when you move.

Strengths

  • Plugs into an existing NEMA 14-50 outlet — no hardwiring, and it comes with you
  • Real WiFi app with 6-40A adjustment, scheduling and energy tracking
  • 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input lead, in an IP66 / NEMA 4 body

Trade-offs

  • 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling — for 48A you need the hardwired version
  • Needs a proper EV-grade 14-50 receptacle (an old dryer outlet is not the same thing)
  • Smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint or Wallbox
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour — an overnight charge for almost any daily commute.

Build note. Plug-in Gen-2 unit: 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in NEMA 14-50 input lead, with app-adjustable output from 6 to 40 amps.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best for a Tesla

Lectron Portable Level 2 Tesla Charger (NACS)

The portable to buy if your car has a NACS port and you would rather not travel with an adapter. It is the Lectron 40A portable with a Tesla connector on the end: a full 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50, a 16-foot cable, ETL to UL 2594 / UL 2231 and an ENERGY STAR listing. The gap is documentation - Lectron publishes no enclosure rating, temperature range or warranty term for this SKU.

Strengths

  • Native NACS connector - no adapter to lose in a hotel parking lot
  • A genuine 40A / 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50, and ENERGY STAR certified
  • ETL listed to UL 2594 / UL 2231, with a UL 2251 handle

Trade-offs

  • Lectron publishes no enclosure rating, temperature range or warranty term for this SKU
  • A 16 ft cable is short if the charger has to reach across a garage
  • The base unit has no app - the WiFi version is a separate, dearer SKU
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
NACS
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
16 ft
Warranty
Not published
WiFi + app
No
Certifications
ETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231), ENERGY STAR, FCC; UL 2251 handle

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour.

Build note. Portable NACS unit on a NEMA 14-50 plug with a 16 ft cable and LED status indicators; Lectron describes it as weather-resistant for indoor or outdoor use while advising against extreme weather exposure, and publishes no enclosure rating for it.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

What makes a charger a renter’s charger

Three things. It plugs in rather than wiring in, so nothing permanent is attached to the property. It is light enough to move— not just at the end of the lease but for a weekend away, since a 240-volt outlet at a campground or a relative’s house is a full-speed charge. And ideally it also takes a standard 120-volt socket, because a renter’s parking situation changes and the household outlet is the one thing every building has. Only one of our picks does all three; the rest trade the third for more speed or a lower price.

What each pick plugs into, what it charges, and whether the brand publishes a weather rating. “Not published” means the manufacturer does not state it — treat those units as indoor-only.
ChargerPlugs intoConnectorMax ampsCableEnclosure
Ampure Go Portable Level 2 ChargerNEMA 14-50 cord for 240V, NEMA 5-15 cord for 120VJ177232 A20 ftIP67 (NEMA 6P watertight)
ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 ChargerNEMA 14-50 plugJ177240 A25 ftIP67 (station), IP54 (connector)
Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 ChargerNEMA 14-50 plugJ177240 A16 ftNot published
EVIQO 40A NEMA 14-50 ChargerNEMA 14-50 plugJ177240 A25 ftIP66 / NEMA 4
Lectron Portable Level 2 Tesla Charger (NACS)NEMA 14-50 plugNACS40 A16 ftNot published

The picks, in gifter language

Ampure Go — best renter gift overall.The only portable we track that is certified like a permanent charger: UL listed to UL 2594 and 2231, ENERGY STAR, and an IP67 / NEMA 6P body rated from -22°F to 122°F, in a nine-pound module. It ships with two cords — a NEMA 14-50 for 32 amps at 240 volts, and a standard household plug for 12 amps at 120 volts — which is what makes it the safe gift when you do not know the recipient’s outlet situation: it charges from something in every building. Three-year warranty. The trade is speed: 32 amps is about 27 miles of range an hour against 34 from the 40-amp units. Read the portable roundup for the full comparison.

ELEGRP 40A — best full-speed gift.If you know they have a 14-50 outlet, this gives them the full 40 amps a plug can deliver, with a 25-foot cable — the longest here — and an IP67 station body rated to -22°F. Its output can be set down to 32, 24, 20 or 16 amps for a smaller circuit, and there is a built-in delay timer for cheap overnight rates. No app, a two-year warranty, and the connector is only rated IP54, so it should not lie in a puddle. Read the ELEGRP 40A review.

Lectron 40A — best budget gift.The least expensive real Level 2 charger on the site: a genuine 40 amps on a 14-50 plug, ETL listed to the relevant UL standards, light enough to travel. The cable is 16 feet, the warranty two years, and Lectron does not publish an enclosure rating — so this is a gift for a covered parking space, not an open lot. Read the Lectron 40A review.

EVIQO 40A — best if they’ll stay a while.This is a plug-in charger rather than a portable one — it mounts to a bracket and is meant to stay put — but the bracket comes off with four screws and the unit goes in a box. What it offers over the portables is a proper app with scheduling and energy tracking, output adjustable from 6 to 40 amps, a 25-foot cable and a weather-rated IP66 body, at 40 amps on a 14-50. For a renter with a stable lease and a garage, it is the most complete charger here. Read the EVIQO 40A review.

Lectron Portable Level 2 Tesla Charger — best for a Tesla.The Lectron 40A with a native NACS connector on the end, so a Tesla owner plugs it in without an adapter. Same 40 amps on a 14-50, same 16-foot cable, ETL listed and ENERGY STAR certified. Lectron publishes no enclosure rating, temperature range or warranty term for this SKU, which we record as “Not published” rather than guess. If the recipient drives a Tesla, our Tesla gift guide has the wider shortlist.

If they have no 240-volt outlet

Be honest with yourself about this before buying. Without a 240-volt outlet, four of the five picks above will sit in the box until the landlord agrees to an install — which happens, but not on Christmas morning. In that situation the Ampure Go is the right gift because its 120-volt cord works today, at roughly five miles of range an hour, and its 240-volt cord is ready for the day an outlet appears. The other useful gift is help with the conversation: our renter roundup lays out how to approach a landlord about a 14-50 outlet, and what that outlet costs to add.

One warning worth passing on with any of these: a dryer outlet is not a 14-50. A NEMA 14-30 or 10-30 sits on a 30-amp circuit, and a 40-amp charger plugged into one through an adapter is a fire risk unless the charger is turned down to 24 amps or less. Keep the box sealed until the outlet question is settled, so the return stays easy.

Frequently asked questions

Can a renter use a Level 2 charger at all?

Yes, if there is a 240-volt outlet where they park — most commonly a NEMA 14-50. A plug-in or portable charger connects to it with nothing permanent and comes with them when they move. Every pick on this page is that kind of unit. Without a 240-volt outlet, the portable units that also take a standard 120-volt socket still charge the car, just slowly; the rest would need the landlord to have an outlet installed.

What should I check before buying a charger for someone who rents?

Whether they have a 240-volt outlet at their parking spot, and which connector their car uses. Every pick here except the Lectron NACS unit uses J1772, which fits nearly every non-Tesla EV and works on a Tesla with the adapter that came with the car. If you cannot find out about the outlet, the Ampure Go is the safe choice because it charges from a standard household socket as well.

Why are these chargers all 40 amps or less?

Because that is the ceiling for anything on a plug. A NEMA 14-50 is a 50-amp receptacle, and the National Electrical Code's continuous-load rule limits a continuous draw to 80% of the circuit rating — 40 amps. Forty-eight-amp charging exists only on hardwired units, which a renter cannot install. Forty amps still adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour, which fills most cars overnight.

Is a dryer outlet the same as a NEMA 14-50?

No, and this matters. A dryer usually sits on a NEMA 14-30 or 10-30 outlet on a 30-amp circuit, which cannot safely supply a 40-amp charger. Plugging one in through an adapter without turning the charger down is a fire risk. Some picks here can be set to a lower amperage for a smaller circuit, but that is a conversation for the recipient and an electrician, not a gift assumption.

Will a portable charger survive being kept in the trunk and used outside?

It depends on what the brand publishes. The Ampure Go and ELEGRP 40A state IP67 enclosure ratings and operating ranges to -22F, which is a real claim about weather. Lectron publishes no enclosure rating for either of its portables here, so we treat them as indoor or sheltered-use units. The table on this page shows which is which.

What if it is the wrong one?

Keep it sealed until the recipient has confirmed the outlet and the connector. In 2025 Amazon's extended holiday window allowed most items bought between November 1 and December 31 to be returned until January 31; the dates are announced each year, so confirm the current policy at purchase.

Sources

  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger InstallationsNFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Electric Vehicle Charging StationsUS DOE on charging levels: Level 1 (~1.9 kW, ~5 mi/hr), Level 2 (2.9-19.2 kW, ~7.2 kW typical residential, ~25 mi/hr), and DC fast charging (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Charging Electric Vehicles at HomeUS DOE on home EV charging: most owners charge overnight on Level 1 or Level 2, installs follow NEC Article 625, with example home-charging costs (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • Ampure - Ampure Go portable Level 2 EV charger product pageAmpure's own specifications for the Go: 32 A / 7.7 kW at 240 V or 12 A / 1.4 kW at 120 V, input range 85-265 VAC at 45-65 Hz, SAE J1772 coupler, NEMA 14-50 and NEMA 5-15 cords, 20 ft (6 m) cable, IP67 rated 'submersible up to 3 feet' with a NEMA 6P watertight enclosure, operating range -30C to +50C (-22F to 122F), 9 lb (4.1 kg) module, and listings to UL, cUL, UL 2594, UL 2231, UL 817, ICES, FCC, ENERGY STAR, REACH and RoHS. Ampure states 'up to 25 miles of range per hour' at 240 V (accessed August 25, 2026)
  • Ampure Store - Ampure Go Level 2 plug-in EV chargerAmpure's own store listing for the same unit, read for the warranty term the product page omits: 3-year warranty, 32 A, 20 ft cable, NEMA 14-50 with 120 V/240 V cords, IP67, UL / ENERGY STAR / FCC / RoHS (accessed August 25, 2026)
  • ELEGRP Store - 40A Level 2 portable J1772 EV charger (NEMA 14-50)ELEGRP's own listing: 40 A / 9.6 kW on 240 V AC at 50/60 Hz with selectable output at 16, 20, 24, 32 or 40 A, SAE J1772 connector on a NEMA 14-50 plug ('For NEMA 14-50 Outlets Only'), 25 ft cable (16 ft and 21 ft also offered), IP67 charging station and IP54 connector, operating range -22F to +122F (-30C to +50C), 1-to-12-hour delayed-start timer, 2-year warranty, 'ETL & UL' listed. RE-READ September 5, 2026 for the review: the specification table is unchanged, and the page additionally states 'Fully ETL certified and built with UL-listed components - including the J1772 plug, cable, and NEMA 14-50 connector', a built-in display reporting charging current, voltage, total energy delivered (kWh) and internal temperature with LED fault patterns, a wall-mounted holder plus anchors and a carry bag in the box, Tesla compatibility via a J1772-to-NACS adapter sold separately, a 30-day return window and 60-day price protection. The page does not name the UL standards, publish a weight, publish an ENERGY STAR certification, or publish app support for this SKU, and its marketing copy carries two conflicting range claims ('Up to 37 Miles/H' and '30 Miles Per Hour') plus an operating range ('-21F to 121F') that disagrees with its own specification table (accessed September 5, 2026)
  • Lectron — Portable Level 2 J1772 EV Charger (40A) product pageLectron's own listing: 40A / 240V / 9.6 kW, NEMA 14-50 plug, 16 ft cable, UL 2594 / UL 2231 certified, 2-year warranty, app control on the WiFi version only (accessed July 23, 2026)
  • EVIQO — Level 2 EV Charger, 40A (9.6 kW), NEMA 14-50 plug-in (Gen 2)EVIQO's own product page: 40A / 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50 plug, SAE J1772, 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable, IP66 / NEMA 4 enclosure, UL / ETL / FCC / ENERGY STAR listings, 3-year standard warranty, app-adjustable 6-40A output, and a note that it needs an EV-grade 4-prong 14-50 receptacle rather than a dryer outlet. RE-READ September 15, 2026 for the garage roundup: the page additionally states an operating temperature range of -22F to 122F, that the app needs a 2.4 GHz WiFi connection, that the standard 3-year warranty is extendable to 4, and that the unit ships in 1-2 business days (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Lectron - Portable Level 2 Tesla (NACS) EV Charger, 240V, 40 Amp, NEMA 14-50Lectron's own product page: 40 A / 240 V / 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50 plug with a native NACS connector for Tesla Models S/3/X/Y/Cybertruck and any NACS EV, 16 ft cable, ETL listed to UL 2594 / UL 2231 with a UL 2251 handle plus ENERGY STAR and FCC, LED status indicators on the base SKU with app control only on the separate WiFi version. Lectron describes the unit as weather-resistant for indoor or outdoor use while advising against extreme weather exposure, and its spec block publishes no enclosure rating, no operating-temperature range and no warranty term (accessed August 25, 2026)
  • UL Solutions — EV Charging Infrastructure ServicesUL on EVSE safety certification: ANSI/UL 2594 is the Standard for Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • IEC 60529 — Degrees of protection provided by enclosures (IP Code), full textThe IP code standard (verbatim national adoption, IS/IEC 60529:2001): first numeral 6 = dust-tight; second numeral 6 = protected against powerful water jets; second numeral 7 = protected against temporary immersion, and a 7 alone does not imply water-jet protection unless dual coded (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • About Amazon - Amazon's holiday return policy 2025: what to knowAmazon's own statement of its 2025 extended holiday window: 'most items purchased between November 1 and December 31 can be returned until January 31, 2026' (Apple-branded products through January 15). The window is announced each year, so confirm the current year's dates on Amazon before relying on it for a gift (accessed September 13, 2026)

Keep reading