Level Two Club

EV Charger Gifts by Budget

Two picks at each of three price tiers — budget, mid-range and splurge — with live prices on every card, and a plain account of what each step up actually buys the person you're giving it to. In this category, it is rarely speed.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

The useful thing to know about home EV chargers before you spend anything is that price does not buy charging speed. Speed is set by amperage, and a 40-amp charger adds about 34 miles of range an hour whether it is the cheapest unit on this page or one costing twice as much. What the extra money buys is an app, a tougher enclosure, a longer cable, a longer warranty, or the ability to turn the output down to fit a smaller electrical panel. Those are real, and for some recipients they are the whole gift — but they are optional, and a gifter should know which one they are paying for.

We group the chargers we cover into three price bands, and this page picks the two best gifts in each. The bands are ours; the prices are not written here at all, because they change. Every card below carries the live price from a daily retailer check, with the date it was verified, so what you see is what the listing says today. We own none of these units and have not tested them; the specs are the manufacturers’ published figures.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, charging speed, electrical fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not bench-tested these chargers — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

The full-speed portable. A genuine 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50, an IP67 station body rated -22F to 122F, and a 25-foot cable - the longest here by five feet - for less than the 32A unit costs. It is the heaviest thing here to coil and there is no app, but if the portable is also going to be your everyday charger, this is the one that does not make you choose.

Budget: most charger for the money
$209.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

One of the cheapest honest ways into real Level 2 charging. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, get a genuine 40A / 9.6 kW, and unplug it to take on a trip. No app and a shorter warranty are the trade-offs for the price.

Budget: lightest and simplest
$269.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that doesn't feel cheap: a full 48 amps, ENERGY STAR listing, WiFi with genuine energy monitoring, and a 25 ft cable — for well under what the big names charge. It's the one we point most people to first.

Mid-range: best overall value
$449.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
EVIQO 40A NEMA 14-50 Charger

EVIQO 40A NEMA 14-50 Charger

The most charger you can get without an electrician's invoice. It plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet for a full 40 amps, keeps the WiFi app, the ENERGY STAR listing and the 25 ft cable from EVIQO's hardwired unit, and can be unplugged and taken with you when you move.

Mid-range: best plug-in
$429.99 · View on Amazon

$469.999% off

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
ChargePoint Home Flex

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Splurge: fits any house
$549.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Wallbox Pulsar Plus

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to buy when wall space is tight: it's among the smallest 48A units you can get, with dynamic load management so it can share a circuit without tripping the main. A polished premium charger — and priced like one.

Splurge: the polished compact
$799.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Budget: most charger for the money

ELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

The full-speed portable. A genuine 40 amps on a NEMA 14-50, an IP67 station body rated -22F to 122F, and a 25-foot cable - the longest here by five feet - for less than the 32A unit costs. It is the heaviest thing here to coil and there is no app, but if the portable is also going to be your everyday charger, this is the one that does not make you choose.

Strengths

  • A real 40A / 9.6 kW, selectable down to 32, 24, 20 or 16 amps for a smaller circuit
  • 25 ft cable - the longest here, and enough to cross a garage
  • IP67 station body rated -22F to 122F, with a 1-to-12-hour delayed-start timer built in

Trade-offs

  • A 25 ft cable is the heaviest thing here to coil and carry - portability is relative
  • The connector is rated IP54, well below the station's IP67, so keep it off wet ground
  • No app, and ELEGRP does not publish an ENERGY STAR listing for this SKU
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
2 years
WiFi + app
No
Certifications
ETL listed

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour - the same speed as any 40A wall unit.

Build note. Portable plug-in unit with selectable output at 16, 20, 24, 32 or 40 amps and a 1-to-12-hour delayed-start timer, on a 25 ft cable; IP67 station and IP54 connector, rated -22F to 122F.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Budget: lightest and simplest

Lectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger

One of the cheapest honest ways into real Level 2 charging. Plug it into a NEMA 14-50 outlet, get a genuine 40A / 9.6 kW, and unplug it to take on a trip. No app and a shorter warranty are the trade-offs for the price.

Strengths

  • A real 40A / 9.6 kW at a budget price
  • Plug-in and portable — take it with you, no hardwiring
  • ETL listed to UL 2594 / UL 2231 safety standards

Trade-offs

  • No WiFi or app on the base model — the smart version is a separate SKU
  • Shorter 16 ft cable and a 2-year warranty
  • Brand doesn't publish an outdoor/IP enclosure rating
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
16 ft
Warranty
2 years
WiFi + app
No
Certifications
ETL listed (UL 2594 / UL 2231)

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour.

Build note. Portable plug-in unit — no hardwiring needed; the base model has no WiFi or app.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Mid-range: best overall value

Emporia Level 2 EV Charger

The value pick that doesn't feel cheap: a full 48 amps, ENERGY STAR listing, WiFi with genuine energy monitoring, and a 25 ft cable — for well under what the big names charge. It's the one we point most people to first.

Strengths

  • 48A output and ENERGY STAR at a value price
  • The app actually tracks energy use, not just on/off
  • Long 25 ft cable and a remote holster in the box

Trade-offs

  • 48A hardwired needs a 60A circuit; on a NEMA 14-50 plug it's limited to 40A
  • App polish trails ChargePoint's, and support is smaller
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired or NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds about 40 miles of range per hour hardwired; on a 40A plug-in circuit, about 34.

Build note. 48A hardwired, or 40A on a NEMA 14-50 outlet, with a 25 ft cable and remote holder.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Mid-range: best plug-in

EVIQO 40A NEMA 14-50 Charger

The most charger you can get without an electrician's invoice. It plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet for a full 40 amps, keeps the WiFi app, the ENERGY STAR listing and the 25 ft cable from EVIQO's hardwired unit, and can be unplugged and taken with you when you move.

Strengths

  • Plugs into an existing NEMA 14-50 outlet — no hardwiring, and it comes with you
  • Real WiFi app with 6-40A adjustment, scheduling and energy tracking
  • 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input lead, in an IP66 / NEMA 4 body

Trade-offs

  • 40 amps is the plug-in ceiling — for 48A you need the hardwired version
  • Needs a proper EV-grade 14-50 receptacle (an old dryer outlet is not the same thing)
  • Smaller brand with a shorter track record than ChargePoint or Wallbox
Max output
40 A
Power
9.6 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
NEMA 14-50 plug
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL, ETL, FCC, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 40A (9.6 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh it adds roughly 34 miles of range per hour — an overnight charge for almost any daily commute.

Build note. Plug-in Gen-2 unit: 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in NEMA 14-50 input lead, with app-adjustable output from 6 to 40 amps.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on August 11, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Splurge: fits any house

ChargePoint Home Flex

The safest default for most homes: you set the amperage in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A, so one charger fits whatever circuit your panel can spare today and scales up if you upgrade later. The app is the most mature here, firmware arrives over the air, and the warranty is long.

Strengths

  • Adjustable 16-50A means it fits a small panel now and a bigger circuit later
  • The most mature app of the group — scheduling, reminders, usage history, over-the-air firmware
  • 3-year warranty and a long 23 ft cable
  • Sold hardwired or on a NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50 plug, in J1772 or NACS

Trade-offs

  • You pay a premium over value 48A chargers for the app and brand
  • Full 50A output needs a 60A circuit most older panels don't have to spare
  • The plug-in SKUs cap at 40A, so the top speed is a hardwired-only feature
Max output
50 A
Power
12 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired, NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50
Cable length
23 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL/cUL listed, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At its 50A max (12 kW) and a typical 3.5 miles per kWh, the Home Flex adds roughly 42 miles of range per hour. Dial it down to 40A to fit a 50A circuit and you get about 34. ChargePoint's own, more conservative claim is up to 37 miles per hour hardwired and 30 on the plug-in SKUs.

Build note. Amperage is set in the app to 16, 24, 32, 40, 48 or 50A. The plug-in SKUs are capped at 40A, so the full 50A is a hardwired-only figure. UL and cUL listed per UL 2594 and UL 2231; firmware updates over the air, and the station stores up to 90 days of session data locally if the network drops.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#6Splurge: the polished compact

Wallbox Pulsar Plus

The one to buy when wall space is tight: it's among the smallest 48A units you can get, with dynamic load management so it can share a circuit without tripping the main. A polished premium charger — and priced like one.

Strengths

  • Genuinely compact for a 48A charger — easy to place
  • Dynamic load management avoids a panel upgrade in some homes
  • Bluetooth plus WiFi, OCPP 1.6j, and a clean app
  • Now offered with a factory NACS connector as well as J1772

Trade-offs

  • One of the pricier chargers here
  • The 48A model is hardwired only — plugging in means dropping to the 40A version
Max output
48 A
Power
11.5 kW
Connector
J1772
Install
Hardwired (40A model plugs in)
Cable length
25 ft
Warranty
3 years
WiFi + app
Yes
Certifications
UL 2594/2231, ENERGY STAR

Our charging-speed math. At 48A (11.5 kW) and ~3.5 miles per kWh, about 40 miles of range per hour. Dynamic load management can throttle it to protect a shared circuit.

Build note. One of the most compact 48A chargers in its class (7.8 x 7.9 x 3.9 in, 4.4 lb without the cable), with Bluetooth, WiFi and OCPP 1.6j, and a hardware current selector from 16A alongside 6A software control. The 48A model is hardwired; Wallbox's separate 40A model is offered on a NEMA 14-50 plug or hardwired, and both are sold with a J1772 or a factory NACS connector.

Specs read from the manufacturer spec sheet, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

What each step up actually buys

Think of the three tiers as answers to three different gifter situations rather than as good, better, best.

  • Budget:you know they have a NEMA 14-50 outlet in a garage, and they schedule charging from the car’s own app (nearly every modern EV can). A budget charger is then a complete gift — a real 40 amps, safety listed, nothing missing that they would use.
  • Mid-range:the charger may live outside, they want to see what the car costs to run, or a utility rebate is in play — many programs require ENERGY STAR certification or a connected charger, and both mid-tier picks publish both. Our rebate guide explains why that can make the mid tier cheaper overall.
  • Splurge:you do not know the house. The splurge picks are the ones that adapt — adjustable output to fit whatever circuit the electrician can provide, every install type, both connectors — from the brands with the longest records. You are paying for the right not to know.
The six picks by tier. Tiers are our price bands, not the price — the live, dated price sits on each card below.
TierChargerMax ampsInstallAppWarranty
BudgetELEGRP 40A Portable Level 2 Charger40 ANEMA 14-50 plugNo2 yr
BudgetLectron 40A Portable Level 2 Charger40 ANEMA 14-50 plugNo2 yr
Mid-rangeEmporia Level 2 EV Charger48 AHardwired or NEMA 14-50 plugYes3 yr
Mid-rangeEVIQO 40A NEMA 14-50 Charger40 ANEMA 14-50 plugYes3 yr
SplurgeChargePoint Home Flex50 AHardwired, NEMA 6-50 or NEMA 14-50Yes3 yr
SplurgeWallbox Pulsar Plus48 AHardwired (40A model plugs in)Yes3 yr

Budget tier

ELEGRP 40A — most charger for the money.A genuine 40 amps on a 14-50 plug, a 25-foot cable, an IP67 station body rated from -22°F to 122°F, and output selectable down to 32, 24, 20 or 16 amps for a smaller circuit. It is ETL listed, has a built-in delay timer for off-peak rates, and it costs less than units that publish far less. What it lacks: an app, an ENERGY STAR listing, and its connector is only rated IP54. Two-year warranty. Read the ELEGRP 40A review.

Lectron 40A — lightest and simplest. The same 40 amps in a lighter, more portable package with a 16-foot cable, ETL listed to UL 2594 and 2231. It is the cheapest honest way into Level 2 charging and it travels well. Lectron publishes no enclosure rating, so it belongs in a garage, and the warranty is two years. Read the Lectron 40A review.

Mid-range tier

Emporia Level 2 — best overall value.The charger we point most people to: 48 amps hardwired or 40 on a 14-50 plug, real energy monitoring in the app, a 25-foot cable, a NEMA 4 outdoor-rated body and ENERGY STAR — for well under what the splurge tier costs. For a recipient who owns their garage, this is the gift that leaves nothing on the table. Read the Emporia review.

EVIQO 40A — best plug-in. If they have a 14-50 outlet, this is the mid-tier gift: 40 amps on a plug, output adjustable from 6 to 40 amps in the app, scheduling and energy tracking, a 25-foot cable and an IP66 body, with an ENERGY STAR listing. It installs in minutes and leaves with them if they move. Read the EVIQO 40A review.

Splurge tier

ChargePoint Home Flex — fits any house. Output set in the app from 16 to 50 amps; sold hardwired or on a 6-50 or 14-50 plug, in J1772 or NACS; the most mature app in the category and a three-year warranty. It is the charger to give when you cannot find out about the panel, because the electrician can make it fit anything. The premium over the Emporia buys flexibility and brand, not speed. Read the Home Flex review.

Wallbox Pulsar Plus — the polished compact.Among the smallest 48-amp chargers made, with dynamic load management that lets it share a circuit without tripping the main, Bluetooth plus WiFi, and a clean app — now offered with a NACS connector as well as J1772. It is a design object as much as an appliance, which is a legitimate reason to give it. The 48-amp model is hardwired only. Read the Wallbox Pulsar Plus review.

Before you buy at any tier

Confirm the connector (J1772 for nearly every non-Tesla EV; NACS for a Tesla, in which case see our Tesla gift guide), and find out whether they have a 240-volt outlet. If they do not, any charger here means an electrician, and the install costcan rival the charger — something to say in the card, or to make the second half of the gift. Keep the box sealed until both questions are answered, so the return stays easy.

Frequently asked questions

How much should I spend on an EV charger as a gift?

Spend on the features the recipient will use, not on speed. A budget-tier 40-amp charger charges a car as fast as a mid-range 40-amp one; the mid tier adds an app, energy tracking and better weatherproofing; the splurge tier adds adjustable output and the most established brands. If you do not know their panel or their car well, the splurge tier's adjustability is worth paying for. If they have a 14-50 outlet in a dry garage, the budget tier is a complete gift.

Is a more expensive EV charger faster?

Not by itself. Charging speed is amps times volts; a 40-amp charger delivers 9.6 kW and a 48-amp charger 11.5 kW regardless of price, and the 48-amp units need a 60-amp hardwired circuit that many homes cannot spare. Within this page, the cheapest and the dearest 40-amp picks push identical power into the car.

What does the mid-range tier buy over the budget tier?

Mostly an app and better documentation. The Emporia and EVIQO both publish energy monitoring, scheduling, ENERGY STAR certification and a weather-rated enclosure, and both carry 25-foot cables against 16 on the Lectron. The Emporia also hardwires to 48 amps if the house can carry it. The budget units are honest chargers, but Lectron publishes no enclosure rating and neither budget pick has an app.

What does the splurge tier buy over the mid-range?

Flexibility and pedigree rather than speed. The ChargePoint Home Flex sets its output from 16 to 50 amps in the app and is sold in every install type and both connectors, so it fits a house you have never seen. The Wallbox Pulsar Plus is among the smallest 48-amp units made and can share a circuit through its load-balancing feature. Both have longer track records than the mid-tier brands. Neither charges a car faster than the Emporia.

Should I wait for a Black Friday price on any of these?

Our Black Friday hub works through this by product class using dated deal records rather than predictions. In short: some brands have discounted almost exclusively in November in past years, others discount steadily across the year with their lowest tracked prices falling outside Black Friday. The hub is updated when this year's deals actually go live; we do not forecast prices.

What if the gift is the wrong one?

Keep it sealed until the recipient has confirmed the connector and the install type. In 2025 Amazon's extended holiday window allowed most items bought between November 1 and December 31 to be returned until January 31; the dates are announced each year, so confirm the current policy at purchase.

Sources

  • U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Electric Vehicle Charging StationsUS DOE on charging levels: Level 1 (~1.9 kW, ~5 mi/hr), Level 2 (2.9-19.2 kW, ~7.2 kW typical residential, ~25 mi/hr), and DC fast charging (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • NFPA — Using the Latest NEC for EV Charger InstallationsNFPA on NEC (NFPA 70) Article 625: EV charging is a continuous load, so circuits are sized to 125% of load (the 80% rule) (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • ELEGRP Store - 40A Level 2 portable J1772 EV charger (NEMA 14-50)ELEGRP's own listing: 40 A / 9.6 kW on 240 V AC at 50/60 Hz with selectable output at 16, 20, 24, 32 or 40 A, SAE J1772 connector on a NEMA 14-50 plug ('For NEMA 14-50 Outlets Only'), 25 ft cable (16 ft and 21 ft also offered), IP67 charging station and IP54 connector, operating range -22F to +122F (-30C to +50C), 1-to-12-hour delayed-start timer, 2-year warranty, 'ETL & UL' listed. RE-READ September 5, 2026 for the review: the specification table is unchanged, and the page additionally states 'Fully ETL certified and built with UL-listed components - including the J1772 plug, cable, and NEMA 14-50 connector', a built-in display reporting charging current, voltage, total energy delivered (kWh) and internal temperature with LED fault patterns, a wall-mounted holder plus anchors and a carry bag in the box, Tesla compatibility via a J1772-to-NACS adapter sold separately, a 30-day return window and 60-day price protection. The page does not name the UL standards, publish a weight, publish an ENERGY STAR certification, or publish app support for this SKU, and its marketing copy carries two conflicting range claims ('Up to 37 Miles/H' and '30 Miles Per Hour') plus an operating range ('-21F to 121F') that disagrees with its own specification table (accessed September 5, 2026)
  • Lectron — Portable Level 2 J1772 EV Charger (40A) product pageLectron's own listing: 40A / 240V / 9.6 kW, NEMA 14-50 plug, 16 ft cable, UL 2594 / UL 2231 certified, 2-year warranty, app control on the WiFi version only (accessed July 23, 2026)
  • Emporia — Classic Level 2 EV Charger spec sheet (PDF)Emporia's own spec sheet: watertight NEMA Type 4 indoor/outdoor enclosure, operating temperature -22F to 122F, 25 ft cable (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • EVIQO — Level 2 EV Charger, 40A (9.6 kW), NEMA 14-50 plug-in (Gen 2)EVIQO's own product page: 40A / 9.6 kW on a NEMA 14-50 plug, SAE J1772, 25 ft charging cable plus a 40 in input cable, IP66 / NEMA 4 enclosure, UL / ETL / FCC / ENERGY STAR listings, 3-year standard warranty, app-adjustable 6-40A output, and a note that it needs an EV-grade 4-prong 14-50 receptacle rather than a dryer outlet. RE-READ September 15, 2026 for the garage roundup: the page additionally states an operating temperature range of -22F to 122F, that the app needs a 2.4 GHz WiFi connection, that the standard 3-year warranty is extendable to 4, and that the unit ships in 1-2 business days (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • ChargePoint — Home Flex datasheet (PDF)ChargePoint's own datasheet: enclosure rating Type 3R per UL 50E, operating temperature -22F to 122F, 23 ft cable, plus installer notes that an outdoor plug-in install requires an outdoor-rated GFCI breaker upstream while an external GFCI may conflict with the charger's internal ground-fault protection on a hardwired install. RE-READ September 3, 2026 for the review refresh: the same datasheet also publishes maximum 12 kW (240V AC x 50A) with output amperage adjustable via the mobile app to 16A, 24A, 32A, 40A, 48A or 50A; a required dedicated dual-pole breaker rated for 125% of maximum load; 'Software Updates: Firmware updated over-the-air (OTA)'; 2.4/5 GHz Wi-Fi (802.11 a/b/g/n); local storage of up to 90 days of charging session data (100 sessions) if the network drops; power measurement accuracy +/- 2.0%; ground-fault detection by 20 mA CCID with auto retry; and UL and cUL listing per UL 2594, UL 2231-1 and UL 2231-2, NEC Article 625 compliant. Ordering information lists the plug-in station models CPH50-NEMA6-50-L23 and CPH50-NEMA14-50-L23 (accessed September 3, 2026)
  • Wallbox — Pulsar Plus (North America) datasheet (PDF)Wallbox's own datasheet: NEMA Type 4 per UL 50E for indoor and outdoor installation, operating temperature -22F to 104F, 25 ft cable (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • ENERGY STAR — Electric Vehicle ChargersENERGY STAR on EVSE efficiency: certified chargers use about 40% less energy in standby than non-certified units (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • About Amazon - Amazon's holiday return policy 2025: what to knowAmazon's own statement of its 2025 extended holiday window: 'most items purchased between November 1 and December 31 can be returned until January 31, 2026' (Apple-branded products through January 15). The window is announced each year, so confirm the current year's dates on Amazon before relying on it for a gift (accessed September 13, 2026)

Keep reading